(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Saffy,

When I had my elder daughter, my dad was still working full time so not so free to come torment me.... Now he's retired and feeling very free....

Oh dear, seems like our hormones are really pushing our emotional buttons.... Hope u are feeling better now... *pat pat*

Saffy: dun care abt them lah.. as long as we know we are competent mothers can le.. =P by the time first month, they will be others ard you who will be supportive so watever comments they give.. one ear in and the other out.. bo chap.. we make our own happiness.. why let others make our lives miserable just becos they feel miserable abt themselves..

im also one sensitive gal but gradually learning to tune out to unwanted comments.. still in the learning process.. =)

N_g, Nature lover

Thanks, I just found a new way to bathe, will try it on not so hot days when I dun sweat so much!

Wow, 3 days of feasting you gain 3kg? Did your bb put on any weight?

Scent,

I hav giant baby both time. My boy at birth 3.75kg. But din scan every visit to gynae so din know how much baby gain during tat 3 days.

N_g

The last time I ate 4 seeds of durian, one of my twins gained 500g, but the other twin didn't gain weight at all. This time, hopefully the other twin can grow.

I can't wait to scan each gynae visit, how come you dun need to?

Scent,

I am seeing gynae at SGH. Probably their practice is not every visit must scan. So I din scan every visit lor.

N_g

I see. Everytime I so look fwd to the scan I didn't know it is not compulsory. Maybe as first time mum I worry too much..

Scent,

dun need to worry lah. Your gynae will definitely take gd care of u n your babies. =)

relax n just wait for the poping time to come. =D

Wau, think I eat too much liao. 1 big popcorn chicken +fish soup n rice. Now nua at foodcourt chair cannot move liao... Anymore space for breadtalk floss bread??? They r having promotion now. Ea floss bread only $0.80!

nature_lover,

ya lor. my hb also told me to be a bit more thick-skinned. one ear in, one year out ... gd advice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann,

gambatte! pls feel free to come in here and rant after your aunts' visit tmr. nature_lover is right, our babies need us. can your elder one entertain your relatives for you? i usually let my 3-yr old son do that, he loves the attention.

Saffy n ann, dun be upset.. Just ignore them n concentrate on yr baby.. Most impt now is u getting well n baby growing well.. Smile.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann,

How come they don’t know u shld be very busy during confinement, and u need a lot rest..still can come your hse to eat pig trotter? U shld tell ur dad that you will only invite them during full mth, now is not the right time..

Saffy,

Aiyo, please take care, don’t think so much..look on the bright side that you have a supportive hb and your own family..thats enough already.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

n_g,

ur boy at 3.75kg, did u deliver him naturally?

Madam yip,

last time can eat more. Now much lesser liao. Tats y fat fat mah. But oledi looking forward these food for few days liao. When my mom at my pl she will cook, so can only eat homecook food. Today she went back liao then me tou tou eat outside food lor. =p

Sunflower,

I try natural delivery but after struggling at delivery ward for 16 hours, still unable to. In the end e-sec lor. Tats y I always think as long as baby n mummy safe, e-sec oso doesn't matter. Just need to pay more due to e-sec lah. =)

But no worry, me fail to deliver my boy naturally partly due to position of my boy not right. Not only bcos his big size. =)

n_g,

oic..wat position is he in? posterior?

my boy is big now..me very scared cant deliver him naturally, will run the risk of c-sec...so i've decided to induce.

Sunflower,

me oso not sure leh. Cos din ask. =p

I oso induced my boy but tats bcos I got GD n high blood pressure. N gynae say since oledi 40 week just induce lor. Then me Ben Ben 1 just admit directly to hospital. Din even go home to take my hospital bag. =p

ann,

is it? i really dont know how to make a decision .. i scAre of inducing cos of long labour since its the first baby,and in the end might end up c-sec.

but if i dont induce now..later also scare end up emergency c-sec if i cant push a huge bb out

i have to make a decision now already..either walk-in today, tmr or monday the latest..

very upset now..

nature,

my gynae say let nature takes its course, but also better i induce now..

ann, that time when u saw blood, u straight admit to hosp..so urs also induced?

Sunflower,

Dun be upset. Ultimately at the end of the day, all we want is our baby safe and healthy in our arms.

Just consult your gynae for the best option.

All the best!

ahNah,

Your bb will take in all the nutrients he needs. Dun worry.

Usually at last few wks, the growth will be exponetial. It's better that your wife do not put on too much weight cos movement and labour will be hard if mummy is too big.

Now, i already find it hard to get on and off seats and bed. Even walking is tough.

Sunflower: All the best, listen to yr gynae bah, as long as you and bb safe, natural or being induce is the secondary consideration.. Jia you!! Dun fret too much and stay positive! =)

ahNah,

My bb is always on the small side, 10th percentile. And at times, my doc will warn us if growth no good, have to delivery early. So, it's always worrying for us to go for checkups. Anyway, it's beyond our means to control his growth so we just hope for the best and be ready to accept any outcome.

Morning All!

Bakaholic, ahNah, how about durians? heard that some mummies' babies put on weight when they take durians. Not too much though

Sunflower,

no worry, just opt for best solution. Consult your gynae. They will choose the best for u n your baby. Pat pat.

Ahnah,

promotion lor! Think near national day a lot promotion. But super long q leh. Even saw some ppl buy a mountain of floss bread last nite. Should b ard 20 bread oh. Really cheap!

Bakaholic,

same same here. Pain here pain there. Me always need to hold on baby cot next to my bed to help me get out of bed.

morning mummies n daddies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes, can take durians but not too much.. when woody said my boy's weight wasnt good, i had 2 consercutive days of durian feast.. and when i went for the next checkup, he did gain some weight which woody never mentioned anything again..

im gog for my checkup later, hopefully can have some good news n escape c-sect... hahahahah..

morning mummies n daddies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes, can take durians but not too much.. when woody said my boy's weight wasnt good, i had 2 consercutive days of durian feast.. and when i went for the next checkup, he did gain some weight which woody never mentioned anything again..

im gog for my checkup later, hopefully can have some good news n escape c-sect... hahahahah..

Just seen woody. Baby nv grow in the last week. So he say mon must go back see him. If baby still nv grow or water level low then must give birth earlier. =(

Pd> Yup. I seeing him at the cck clinic. I tot my baby will be big. Been eating durian the last few days. Hopefully Monday go back everything ok, cos I now only just reach 36 weeks, not yet 37

Sigh, just brought my little gal to see pd.. super high jaundice.. Need phototherapy.. Borrow e equipment back instead of staying in hospital.. Mon need to do blood test again..

My nurse fren recommend me to stop breast-feeding for 3 days to lower e jaundice level.. But I dun wish to leh.. Scare bb later dun wan to latch on? But my fren insists that it is e best way.. How? In dilemma now..

Sunflower: when I had bleeding, I juz admit myself n waited for regular contractions. I didn't induce ... Probably becos I know I dilate very fast (based on my #1 experience). Like what bakaholic said, let's see what yr gynae advise u. So don't be too upset. Yr baby is healthy so that's most impt.

I think it depends whether the breastmilk is the main cause of the jaundice. Cos too much ginger in the breastmilk could be the cause of the breastfeeding jaundice... So gt to check with pd what's the best for the bb.. If nt could reduce the breastfeeding and mix with formula if needed...

Check with pd ba... Jaundice is a very common symptom in newborn bb.. Dun worry.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MVH: keep latching on but also supplement with FM or EBM to ensure she is hydrated n poo out her meconium. Once the meconium is out, the jaundice will drop. I syringes my boy with FM on day 4-5 and then bottle feed 1-2 feeds a day on day 6 onwards. My boy's jaundice level was ok thereafter so no need phototheraphy. For bottle feed, pple recommend using NUK rubber teat to prevent nipple confusion.

MVH: I also scared baby dun wanna latch on after having bottle feeds... In fact, he refused my breast for the whole day on day 10. Keep screaming n crying when I tried to latch. Until after 6 hrs of fighting with him, then I gave him bottle. After he drank fr bottle, he gave me big smile.... Wah Lao. After day 10, I eliminated all bottle feeds. Make him cold turkey. Very tough for 1-2 days but now he's okay with latching. So what I m saying is at this early stage of newborn, still possible to get then switch back to latching once jaundice levels r ok. They have natural instinct to suckle at mummy's breast.