(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

luving_daddy, dun worry, not "auntie" at all, we're not aunties (yet) leh... haha... if so, i wish my hubby can be more "auntie" also...

ahnah, lol, u and ur wife are really cute.

xiaozhuzhu - now I know why your nick is xiaozhuzhu hehehe

ask your hb bring you go eat after confinement loh, we mummies also deserve a reward!

now I think suckling pig too high in cholesterol and fat for us to consume at the moment

Mdm yip,

after confinement, first things to make my wife run, swim, jog .. to slim down first .. then chiong for 2nd one.

MVH, where got high clas.. i'm those will drink 70 cents tea at HDB downstairs coffee shop.

mdm yip,

haha.. yah.. i very 贪吃 de.. so i always crave for all these food one.. Slurp!!!

Hehe.. yah.. he owes me my sashimi, cockles, oysters, now additional suckling pig.. hehe.. Yummy!!!

AhNah,

woah.. u so fast ask ur wife cheong for 2nd one.. she agree liao ah?

weiling,

hehe.. yah.. heard peach garden roasted pig is good.. Last time long beach one oso nice.. My dad will ask the waitress to chop out the head for me to dabao home.. then the waitress will give me a stunned face.. haha.. Cos the head has the BEST meat and skin.. hehe..

mdm Yip / Zhu zhu. my wife wants it fast mah ... i have to be more "hard"working lor. I'm ok with 1 kid.

Peachgarden... eat until sian or not . my boss also order catering from them. This year we are buying mooncake from them again.

xiaozhuzhu.. haiz don't mention those food to me le :~~~~

you know I got free buffet lunch (credit card reward thingie) at The Line few months back. I can only look at all the raw food in misery. All my favorite sashimi... oysters all don't dare to eat :~~~~~

I must go eat my fill after confinement!! all my black pepper crabs... and la la!!

I have darken armpits issue too. Before pregnancy was already slightly dark and now is worse. Really hope that the colour will fade after giving birth.

Regarding the white dirt in nipples, I'm thinking if those are caused by leaking colostrum? Maybe leaked abit and they dried up? I do have some trapped in nipples once in awhile too. Just use my fingers to dig them out when bathing.

Earlier posts on KFC made me have craving for KFC too. Maybe will have that for dinner tonight.

Told my boss that I will continue to work till I deliver and he was shocked. Asked me, are you sure? His expression was so cute. Probably he haven't encountered any staff who have contractions or waterbag burst in the office be4 before ba.

By the way, I suddenly (just today) had increased v discharge. Is that signs of labour coming soon? Worried.

After confinement still breastfeeding?

You should be very careful if you are a lactating mother. Because any thing bad or good you eat is incorporated in your blood and also secreted in milk. This can have bad or good impact on your child. Lala and seafood tends to have higher risks of poisoning and HepA etc.

ahNah,

haha.. but u better not ask her if she wants #2 right after ur #1 comes out.. cos her answer sure is NO de.. keke.. but after that will be okie liao.

Pig head NICE!!!!

Weiling,

yah yah.. chop into small pieces.. then either fry or stew it.. BEST!!!

Mdm yip,

hehe.. yah.. same lor.. but the food at The Line.. really BEST leh.. shall we have a gathering there after all our confinement ended?? Haha.. but someone must have the discount.. cos its very expensive..

Ah.. u reminded me.. CRABS!!! i want eat too!!!

Xuan,

haha.. yah.. i was thinking whether those were dried up colostrum oso.. but mine is one side got a lot, the other side very little only..

Me too.. sudden increase in discharge.. but friends told me if discharge is not red, pink or brown then shld be fine..

Xuan any streaks of blood? (brown or red)?

Becareful if it's your mucus plug usually as a form of gooey deposit in your underwear or on the toilet tissue after wiping..

MVH: I am 37 wks on next Monday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really hope to pop on that day hehe..

I also miss raw food.. RAWR...

ahNah,

haha.. woah.. good planning.. but remember the gap cannot be too close hor.. cos she has to recover well for her 1st confinement. Hehe.. then u be daddy again very soon..

ktm, of course I'm not breastfeeding. I already bought a premium cow to feed my boy premium milk. Has own stall at Hay Dairies. certified and passed by HPB.

xiaozhuzhu, I don't mind going back to The Line! I think their lunch buffet really worth it.

xuan, I have extra discharge too.. sent my hb and ownself into a panic coz thought water broke.. but actually its just leukorrhea, quite normal for us in 3rd trimester.

I think we really shd monitor or call gynae if see red, leaking water non-stop or contraction pains at regular intervals.

Not breastfeeding?

In case you are still contemplating:

Advantages of breastfeeding include:

Breast milk is the most complete source of naturally balanced nutrition available for your baby. The only food an infant needs during the first six months of life is breast milk.

Breast milk contains antibodies that protect your baby from illness.

Breastfed babies tend to have fewer allergies than bottle-fed babies.

Breast milk is less expensive and easier for babies to digest than formula.

Breastfeeding can be both relaxing and convenient. There are no bottles to wash, sterilize, or prepare.

Breastfeeding can help your uterus return to normal size more quickly after delivery because of the release of the hormone oxytocin.

Breastfeeding can also help you lose weight.

Here's a list of excuses for not breastfeeding, and why they are wrong

It is not modern

Hey, haven't you noticed, going green is all the trend as of late, and what's more ecological than nursing your child? No waste, no packaging, no chemical process, no nothing really...

My boobs will get ugly/sag

Towards the end of pregnancy, wheter you have decided to breastfeed or not, your breast will already prepare for nourishing your child (guess your body didn't get the memo), so wheter you nurse or not, pregnancy will influence your breasts, so maybe you should have gotten an incubator.

My breasts are too small

There is no such thing as too small breast for breastfeeding. Storage capacities differs depending on your morphology, so you might have to nurse more frequently, but you will most likely have enough milk to satisfy your child. Moreover, small pointy breasts are best for breastfeeding.

My breasts are too large

Again, even if you have very large breast, you will still be able to breastfeed. Having bigger breast doesn't mean you will suffocate your child. When your child is latched on correctly, he will have his nose free for breathing.

Breasts are for sex

Really? Then why are we mammals? Why do you lactate? And so is your vagina, so does that mean you are getting an elective c-section?

Now that’s just disgusting

If that's how you are reasoning, then so is childbirth and so is having sex, so you shouldn't be pregnant in the first place, unless you have immaculately conceived.

I am lactose intolerant

Being lactose intolerant doesn't mean you child will be. And even if he is, suppressing dairy from your diet might be enough.

My mother couldn’t so I won’t be able to

First off all why 'couldn't' your mother breastfeed? Maybe it was just a case of misinformation. Secondly, wether or not your mother did or could breastfeed has nothing to do with wether you will be able too. Only very few women are truly unable to breastfeed.

Nobody does it these days

Who exactly are you calling a nobody? There are millions of women on this planet breastfeeding, as millions have before them. Otherwise our species simply wouldn't have survived.

Saying nobody is breastfeeding is not only ignorant, it is racist!

I won’t be able to buy bottles

But you will be able to buy a nursing pillow, and nursing bras... If you are really eager on having those bottles, you can get them to give your child water, herbal tea or juice once he is a little older.

My husband won’t bond with my baby

You husband can do about a billion other things than feeding your child to bond. Think about it, would't you rather have him change your baby' diaper :p Plus the exclusive breastfeeding period is so short, you should really benefit from the priviledge you have as a mother.

Other people won’t be able to feed my child

You can always express and give a bottle of your own milk. And as I said before, the period of exclusive breastfeeding is very short, they will be able to feed your child all sorts of stuff when he's older.

I was sick/on medication

Being sick or requiring medication doesn't prevent you from breastfeeding. Ask your doctor for medication that is compatible with breastfeeding. If there is none available, you can always express and pick up breastfeeding right after your treatment. Plus if you are sick, breastfeeding is the easiest option, getting up to make a bottle is infinitely more work.

It's too much work

Seriously? Getting up in the middle of the night to find a can of formula, open a bottle of water, warm the water, measure the formula, mix it, bring it back to your - by now - screaming child seems less work than just pulling the baby closer to the breast and sleeping on?

I won't know how much my child is drinking

You can see wether your child is gaining enough weight, wether he is active, wether he is playing. Aren't these enough indications to see your child is thriving? Why should everything be measured? Doesn't it strike you as odd that every infant should get the same amount of formula, no matter his constitution?

I don't make enough milk

Even though this can be a valid condition, it is rare. There are a multitude of ways to up your milk production.

Formula is just as good

No. It is not. It even says so on the box.

Nobody told me to breastfeed

If nobody tells you to eat, will you then starve? And seriously, what hole are you living in if you have never heard one should breastfeed.

My husband wouldn't let me

I'm finding it very very hard to give a response to this one, because there are about a million things wrong with this. First of all, you are not your husband's property. Wether or not to breastfeed is something you and only you can decide (but of course it is very helpful to be supported). If your husband doesn't let you, I think there is something seriously wrong with your relationship.

I am too tired

See 14. Breastfeeding releases hormones that make you relax and benefit more from the sleep you are getting. Moreover, breastfeeding forces you to sit down every so often, which you probqably wouldn't do if you were giving your child a bottle.

Mdm Yip

Yes I stayed in Queenstown, not working for past 6 years cos spent 5 years in the states when hubby studying there. In fact I just moved to queenstown in May this year, loved this neighbourhood. Took a cab to vivocity just now for lunch n stopover at Mothercare to buy washcloth n nose cleaner, too bad they dun sell washcloth...sianz.

Hv anyone tried the mothercare nappy cream? May I ask if I hv to use it every diaper change?

mdm yip,

yah yah.. that time i had company lunch there.. their food really worth it.. Onz lar.. after confinement.. we meet up for gathering there.. hehe..

yeah xiaozhuzhu, I love their dessert section.. their selection of food is really quite good.

scenty: I was recommended drapolene. economical and good, but not really fantastic for treating diaper rash, more like to prevent diaper rash. for diaper rash Desitin is good.

yeah during antenatal class we were encouraged to apply a thin layer on baby's bottom at each diaper change.

haiz... save me from all the scrolling from those long long posts.. it's really hard to scroll with my phone.. And should one really not able to produce bm also bo bian right..... also, it's up to one's choice to bf or not mah...

Penguin,

u can ignore those long long post de..just read those short ones..

Mdm yip,

yeah yeah.. their best oen is the dessert section (esp the teppanyaki ice cream and their creme bulee) and the starter section (oysters and sashimi).. Oh.. talking abt it.. i am drooling..

all this talk of food is making me feel like a deprived maniac...count me in for any pig out gatherings after confinement. lol.

ahnah, why is ur wife so kan chiong to have 2nd kid? i agree her body needs to recover first and also, must see how u cope with the 1st one..

xuan82, i've been having increased discharge too. how many weeks are u now? i think all of us are jittery now. as the other ladies have said above, monitor and call gynae if u see red, pink or brown.

penguin_88, I work with a government board at bukit merah.. but monday's my last day! Plan to be a sahm for a while to look after baby.

The Blah Blah Blah-ing goes round and round. Round and Round.

Round and Round.

The Blah Blah Blah-ing goes round and round.

All through the forum!

(Sing to the tune of Wheels on the bus!)

My discharge is white with abit of yellowish in colour. No show of blood. My colleagues also said that it's normal to have more in last trimester. Anyway, will keep monitoring.

Xiaozhuzhu, same here, my colostrum leakage is also slightly more on my right breast.

littlepiggy: my phone will auto scroll up sometimes when i scroll to the bottom.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so have to rescroll again..

I have increased discharge last week but ever since i started to rest this week, it reduced..

Wow, let's go for buffet and exercising session after confinement can?

hihi all...2 days never log-in here & the really not able to catch up the archives, u guys are sooo fast...

Thanks all for the wishing!! & congrat to Ahbee!! Our bb choice to born on the same date while our planned dated was 28th Jul!! ha!

I am now still in TMC... hopefully can go home soon... will post some photos at FB later...

For those mummy still waiting... Jia You Jia you ya!!

nw i really hate taking MRT!!

when i go down to orchard, no one give seats..

come back fr orchard..OSO NO ONE GIVE SEATS!!

wow piang...and those teenagers girls OSO JUS SIT THERE N play wit their phones and chit chat on the phone..

so piss..

i wish i have the courage to take foto and ask them which sch they are from!!!

argh!!