(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

jasmine and luving daddy,

i heard TMC will give us a pack of diapers, however during our stay, when baby need to change, they will use the pack that given to us for baby and if there is balance, we will bring home. so it's better to back up 2 packs.

Back from lunch! Scenty, you stay queenstown or work there? I'm working in bukit merah just came back from farewell lunch treat from colleagues. Yeah also pouring but now back to sunny sunshine. Crazy weather really.

lurving_daddy, I think someone here don't know you are already daddy of one, so assume you know nuts about parenting. Our advise, just ignore that someone.

jasmine,

previously in this thread, there is someone mentioning small breast cup will have more milk than big breast cup. yup, week 37 then can do breast massage. do early will trigger early contractions.

Mummies and Daddies, I'm going to KKH for checkup now cos my V area suddenly become so itchy this morning till now. Think its a bit swollen too (can't see but can feel). Think my infections got worst. Called KKH nurse and she suggest me to go now instead of wait till Mon appt.

Hope everything is fine.

jascmy, take care!

NB diapers, my colleague advised me not to buy any yet, cos we will not know the size of bb bottom until they are born. And some bbs can already fit into "s" size. So I didn't buy any, just play by ear.

I had penang laksa for lunch... + have to handle a crisis + have s&*%^ ppl. Hope all these trigger early contraction so that I can be on leave immediately!

wow, this thread moves so fast!

Another mummy has popped, congrats to Ah Bee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pd0513, ya we have the same edd, hehe. but i think i'm the only one at kkh, i remember not many ladies here with kkh...

sunfl@wer, hmm, my gynae never mentioned that i should restrict my diet either, but she also never mentioned i cannot go 40 weeks. i really prefer not to be induced... trying now to reduce my carbo intake, but v v hard loh, keep hungry all the time.

wl, good to know. my mum said its good cos big babies easier to take care of. but i'm a scaredy cat, somemore i'm really skinny size so i'm afraid will have a hard time pushing out a big bb.

cheekrene, really small size will have more milk?? hehe... that's good... haha, for me at least. i'm 37 weeks now, so if i do massage, will help stimulate milk production?

jascmy, take care. better treat the infection early...my v area also swollen for some time now, gynae said normal.

huffpuff,

that is what my lactation consultation told me to massage so that it can stimulate our milk production. dunno how true.

today my boy child care center closed, at home with my wife. apparently my boy is having a good time with all the mess he created and the free flow of snacks from the fridge.

just called home, and mummy was having that "OMG" exclaimation when talking to me and ask me how.

ha, so i just tell her to just sit one side and enjoy the "mess" lor...

Small Breast cup will have more milk is a myth!

Milk production does not depend on size BUT if your cup size is small then you have LIMITED storage capacity.

Current research suggests that there are two factors that control milk synthesis:

Milk contains a small whey protein called Feedback Inhibitor of Lactation (FIL) – the role of FIL appears to be to slow milk synthesis when the breast is full. Thus milk production slows when milk accumulates in the breast (and more FIL is present), and speeds up when the breast is emptier (and less FIL is present).

The hormone prolactin must be present for milk synthesis to occur. On the walls of the lactocytes (milk-producing cells of the alveoli) are prolactin receptor sites that allow the prolactin in the blood stream to move into the lactocytes and stimulate the synthesis of breastmilk components. When the alveolus is full of milk, the walls expand/stretch and alter the shape of prolactin receptors so that prolactin cannot enter via those receptor sites – thus rate of milk synthesis decreases. As milk empties from the alveolus, increasing numbers of prolactin receptors return to their normal shape and allow prolactin to pass through - thus rate of milk synthesis increases. The prolactin receptor theory suggests that frequent milk removal in the early weeks will increase the number of receptor sites. More receptor sites means that more prolactin can pass into the lactocytes and thus milk production capability would be increased.

Breast size can certainly limit the amount of milk that can be stored. Moms with large or small storage capacities can produce plenty of milk for baby. A mother with a larger milk storage capacity may be able to go longer between feedings without impacting milk supply and baby's growth. A mother with a smaller storage capacity, however, will need to nurse baby more often to satisfy baby’s appetite and maintain milk supply since her breasts will become full (slowing production) more quickly.

penguin, i m 37w+3d today..

i m already 2cm dilated 4 days ago.. but till now besides mild cramps.. nothing happens leh.. but i hope to drag as long as possible.. u leh? how many weeks liao?

congrats to ah bee, ducklingeshop.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jascmy, i went to see dentist last week leh.. i was 36weeks.. at Q&M. the dentist very nice to me leh.. did polishing too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she said i might have one wisdom tooth underneath another tooth.. need X-ray to confirm but have to wait after my delivery.

Scent,

hmm.. then u better not climb the overhead bridge le.. My hubby will park opposite, cos TMC carepark always full one..

Scent, Cheekrene, Jascmy,

I oso having this prob leh.. tot not many pple have it.. issit those white white stuffs in between nipples? Then sometimes is abit solidify and like oil like that? Every nite i bathe will clean it up.. but next day will come back again.

luving_daddy, u can call some diaper company for some samples..

jascmy, take care..

yes, my fren also told me to massage breasts for milk production.. i did for my 1st pregnancy and breastfeeding was considered smooth for me.. but now #2, a bit lazy to massage.. coz i always shower with my gal and dont want to massage in front of her.. hehee..

mvm,

thanks for your suggestion, anyway see how big bb will be lah then see how, should not be a big issue as diapers can get easily from supermart mah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahnan,

csy posted before, just do the rolling of the breasts. one hand top and one hand bottom of the breast. then roll in different directions. the next type is using 2nd and 3rd finger "giap" the nipple, and the whole palm to massage the breasts in circular motions.

no lah .. i wan to learn and then forward her the method mah. she never been to forum b4. She only read wat I forward to her.

Massage aside, a good pump is very important. If you invest in a good pump it will be easy. Those who got manual pumps, good luck!

cheekrene,

ooo.. but actually what are those white discharge ah? some are quite deep leh.. and quite hard de.

AhNah,

before u massage ur wife breast hor, make sure her breast not sore hor.. else hor.. u sure get a box on ur eyes.. hehe..

wl : Yah .. if not wrong KKH's book got teach before. I only read a few chapter.

I do for her har .... my hand will get tired easily.

LittlePiggy, she will scream at me first before I attach her breast. So the boxing can be save.

ahNah, ya lor likewise for me im feeding my wife with all the nice and cool infor shared in this friendly forum.. but hor, she say i very "auntie" leh but she does appreciate all i did at the end of the day tho.. hahah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

during my #1, i tried to massage everyday or alternate days.. but i also lazy to massage for long time.. u know we need to massage after our monthly menses rite? same method.. use 2nd n 3rd finger go round the breasts starting from outside then slowly go towards the nipples.. for me clockwise or anticlockwise doesnt matter.. then use thumb and 2nd finger to 'squeeze' the nipple for 3-4 times, diff angles each time. this is my method la.. :p

well, ktm, i used manual pump for my #1. and i breastfeed her for 22mths. so i think as long as you are comfortable with the pump u have, manual or electric doesnt make much diff.. of course manual needs more work as hands might be tired..

oh ahNah, good to help yr wife massage if she doesnt mind.. hehe.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LOL first time I hear guy massage woman's breast will feel tired. sorry, hahahaha

Eh I think the massage only take about 10 mins bah, not very long right..

ahNah... first time I hear man complaint abt being tired from breast massaging...

Think along the romantic side of view and not the functional side. Will that help??? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luving_daddy, don't worry, we are the more sensitive species and will be able to detect any form of TLC.

Both of u are great husband just being here!

luving_daddy

my wife didn't comment anything, i will ask her to "appreciate" all this months of me reading this forum by treating me to 1st class steak in Singapore.

MVh, she won't mind .. she also wan me to massage her foot as well.

Mdm Yip. 10 mins still ok. Well ... massage n foreplay are different. Man are such a straight forward animal.

huffpuff

But her pocket won't be that lucky. She is asking me to give her all the bb bonus after give birth, and when using CPF .. use mine .. I say FINE. Any cash ... use yours !

hey ladies, stop teasing mr nice husband(ahnah) lah.. well at least he is trying to help somehow.. ha... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahNah, you got my back... steady!! *fist on chest*

LOL...

weiling

if think abt romantic side ... i think 2 of us will get more "tired" right ? some more CL will be around, pai seh lah.

luving_daddy - haha yeah I know. I'm sure his wife appreciates his help..

My hb has been great throughout my pregnancy too.. but if he suddenly come here and help me do research, I will stick my head out of my window to check got pigs flying or not LOL

ahNah, luvingdaddy,

u 2 are good husbands.. nothing to shy abt lar.. Its really nice of u both to come in get info for your wives woh..