(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

re: backache

Anyone having very bad backache that u cant sleep? I got it last nite.. whole nite didnt sleep. End up sitting posture then can sleep but cant turn.

re: red date drink

Oh.. other than red dates, can add dried longan, and can oso add 糟米水 (brown rice water). These can help to keep u warm and reduce water retention de.

Dreymin,

u take care hor.. not good to be sick now le..

Ann,

Can share the list to buy for confinement? Thx ya.

dreymin,

for my #1 we got him to sleep in his room with maid quite early on so he is used to it. he is quite a light sleeper, don't think he will appreciate sharing a room with a nb. in fact after i deliver, i am considering to get my hb to sleep with him in his room and get maid to sleep in my room so that she can help me with night feeds and hb don't get disturbed so much. i'm not engaging a CL.

charmaine,

hey you can exercise your rights later when you feel better, pizza sounds very nice aft all the bland food!

you are right eating small meals will help, and less drinking water/soup during eating.

i m like you sticking to eating very light meals.

i juz drank soy milk, nd to wait 30 mins before i eat bread.

hubby aso promised to bring me to a 'nice italian place', it will be our anniversary v soon.

hope we can make time tis wkend and i feel gd enuff to venture out.

eeyore,

I just buy normal ones with bra padding le... got size one. I saw some pretty okay one at ILT

Dreymin,

Which one you get from MIM?

Mothercare I saw cost around 90 le.

Tube bra only normal elastic support lor

but much easier to get, no need to worry about the straps get to show and also easy to pull down and put breast pad.

re: tube bras

i bought a few of those cheapo ones from this fashion. some of my gf's also using. the bras don't last very long but are comfy and so cheap that can throw away if the elastic comes loose.

morning ALL!!

seems like all have gotten milkbags liao....mi like got lots of stuffs no buy not done yet.....haizzz

for those who wants the glass bottles from hospital, do inform the nurses when u delivered so they can keep some for u.....

Sorry to interrupt. I am a mummy from Jan 2010 thread and have the extra TM Organic Mother's Milk Tea / Raspberry Leaf to sell.

I have the following BNIB:

1) 2 boxes of Traditional Medicinals Organic Mother's Milk Tea. Expiry Date: Dec 2012 to let go at $8 per box or letting go $15 for 2 boxes.

2) 1 box of Traditional Medicinals Organic Raspberry Leaf. Expiry Date: Sep 2012 to let go at $8 per box.

Collection: Redhill or MRT from Raffles Place to Redhill or Circle Line - Dhoby Ghaut to Promenade.

Interested, please pm me.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4196082.jpg]

Some write-ups:

Organic Mother’s Milk

Organic Mother's Milk promotes healthy lactation and is traditionally used to increase breast milk production. This traditional combination of anise, fennel, and coriander has been used for centuries by European women, often recommended by lactation counselors and medical herbalists. Organic Mother's Milk has a pleasantly aromatic balance of sweet, spicy, and slightly bitter.*

100% organic ingredients. Certified by the USDA and the California Certified Organic Farmers (CCOF).

Organic Raspberry Leaf

Supports the Female System*

Herbal Dietary Supplement

Organic Raspberry Leaf tea supports the female system* by aiding healthy menstruation as well as toning the uterus.* For millennia European and Native American women have safely used raspberry leaf for irregular menstruation, menstrual cramps and during pregnancy.* Today naturopaths and nurse-midwives often recommend raspberry leaf tea for these traditional uses. Raspberry leaf has a robust, full-bodied flavor reminiscent of fine black tea, making it an excellent choice for a caffeine-free breakfast or afternoon tea

SunFlower, and KKH. My sis also keep reminding me to get the bottles from KKH nurse before I discharge after my delivery.

MVH, can order red date teas from hospital? that is new to me. ok i go ask next time. like that wont be so leceh! great!

*maybe ann is busy consolidating her herb list. haha*

charmaine, ok 2K is common thanks. i am also applying work permit for mine. it is fine la.

jascmy,

ok thanks! will ask kkh during delivery . [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

QQ. Am fine with that but she only raise up last min when I called 2 weeks ago to consult on the wine.

So, a bit last min lor

Jascmy,

GlenEagles dun have the bottle de ma?

I will try asking my hub to ask too le

charmaine,

sorry wrong info, shld be amk hub's mums and babes, not mothercare.

bra price - MIM $50+ for 3 pieces (v simple design, plastic clip in front), mums and babes $40+ a piece, carrefour not more than $15 a piece

charmaine, still got time la. no worry.

hey about glass bottles.

i dun dare to use cause my fren said she tried before, it is advisable to throw the glass bottles after a few uses cause the side of the bottle might chip and small glass pieces will drop into the milk. that's her personal experience. so though i took some bottles back home, i still did not use it after her advice.

be carefule if u wanna use glass bottles ok?

apparently she found the glass chips oni when her dotter finished the milk after warmed up.

dreymin, so i still got hope la. haha! thanks.

i can still feel that baby turns here turns there now. but i dunno his exact position in my tummy now. it keeps changing.

My galfren told me there is herbal shop next to guanyin temple, they will issue confinement herbs list.

the shop name is called 'red horse'.. once i gotten a copy, i will also post here to share.

wl,

unless ur CL request for it.. or scare kena caught, then u appy.. mine didnt ask for it. she says so far quite safe.

Charmaine, jia you, for the sake of pizza!

Dreymin, take care. Virus is all around man... I was down with fever too, but was lucky to recover fast.

Littlepiggy, I also got very very bad backache. It's more like back pain. I'm walking like a dowager now! whahahaa

wl, if your CL never request, then ok. they are able to come in for 60 days within 3-4 months. so she will arrange accordingly. but if u ask mom, then surely need to apply de.

for those CL who requested for permit, they already exceeded the entry requirement, so must apply otherwise unable to come in anymore cause limit is hit.

sunflower,

i noe MtA n TMC giving out the bottles under request but for other hospitals i'm not too sure

but i think mostly gives if they hv ba.....they'll oso give u 1-2bot of FM n i'll request for mayb like 1more

Thanks sunflower.

WL, is not a must. just in case the immigration officer ask and then check.. other than that usually no problem

My CL come very often so she scare kena checked.

winnie,

from last check up till now, is 3wks..this fri seeing gynae.. i think next checkup shld be 2 wks later ba..

yours?

suika,

oic, can request for more har? hopefully they dont charge us..

CL :

how much ang bao to give when she arrived?

Charmaine, I'm not sure of other hospitals. I will be in KKH so I know.

Suika, yup u r right, KKH also will give FM.

Sunflower, remember to request for 1 or 2 more FM.

wah, like alot things to request..

i also heard can request for the bed liner..those that they line during your stay in the hosp...so when u go home, u can line on your bed so that you dont dirty your bed with blood.. if they dont give, we can also buy from the pharmacy at the hosp...

my agency charge me $1.8k for confinement lady and $200 for commission and $168 for the permit.

and of course not forgetting the long whole list of items required for confinement.

too long unable to digest...

For pots & pans it's better if u invest in slow cooker. Not only u can use during confinement... you also can use it to cook porridge when yr bb is abt to eat solid food (abt 5-6mths old). You should have both (medium & small). Medium size will b good for boiling yr dates tea and thereaft, could also brew chix sp for the whole family (yr hubby & yourself) esp. after a stressful day at work, after confinement. Next, will be pots requiring for preparation of your bath water (this pot should not have any grease/oil in it as it's only use for brewing yr bath water). Alternatively, you can 'ask' from yr mum the following: frying pans (medium size), soup pot (medium size) or even a claypot (brewing vinegar). Get yourself a vacuum flask so that you could bring yr dates tea wherever u r. to sum up...

Slow cooker x 1 med

slow cooker x 1 small

pots x 1 med

pots x 1 big (bathe)

frying wok

vacuum flask

claypot x 1 med (remember to soak it under water for 30min if you buy)

Next, plastic pails and bowls....

Big x 1 (bb bath)

med x 2 (bb's clothes)

2 pails laundry (dirty cloths)

3 small tub (cleaning bb's buttocks, eye, mouth)

one more med for CL's clothes(washing).

As for herbs,

your red dates tea ingredients (per day consumption) would need:

hong zao, red dates 20-25 pcs

hei zao, black dates 4-5pcs

nan zao 4-5 pcs

dang sheng (depending on the size,med size= 8 sticks (3-4cm each) smal size=12 sticks

bei qi 5-6 slice (cut into 3 sections)

gou qizi, wolfberry one handful

water should be 1.5litre (brew in med slow cooker)

The list is for reference and however is still subjected to your own health well-being...

For the herbs I really don't know how to compile and how much u can understand from here. Listed below were tonics which can be bought from the medical hall and the next list was herbs needed to cook for your confinement diet... to promote lactation and reduce pain & swelling of breast & lower part of the body...

1st wk herbs

------------------

Sheng Hua Tang x 2 pkt (natural birth or x 1 if c-sect)

Bazhen Bu Qi Tang x 3 pkt

RenShen Bu Qi Tang x 2 pkt

Shi Shen Tang x 2 pkt

2nd wk herbs

-------------------

He Shou Wu x 3 pkts

Ming Mu yu tang x 3 pkts

Tian Qi Bu Tang x 2 pkts

Ren Shen Dun Ji Tang x 2 pkts

3rd & 4th wk herbs

----------------------------

Du Zhong Bu Yao Tang x 5 pkts

Dang Gui Bu Xue Tang x 3 pkts

Dong Cong Cao (flower) (mix w red dates & wolfberries only) x 2 pkts

Shi Quan Da Bu Tang x 3 pkts

Herbs for Diet

==========

This recipe promotes lactation, suitable during first wk aft delivery.

Sea Bass w Astragalus Root

----------------------------------------

Ingredients

========

1 sea bass

4 slices ginger

1 teaspoon of chinese wine

salt to taste

Chinese Herbs

===========

3g cinnamon twigs (gui zhi)

15g codonopis (dang shen)

15g astragalus root (huang qi)

3g rice-paper pith (tong cao)

This recipe moistens the lungs and invigorates the function of the stomach. Promote lactation too. Have 3pkts. Only u can consume not yr hubby... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Otherwise, u need to consume the fish head / bones with papaya soup.

This soup next is suitable to consume aft yr menses finished. It replenishes the vital essence of the liver, heart & spleen, helps to prevent dizziness and headaches during postpartum period.

Chix w Wine

Ingredients

---------------

half chix

5 dired black mushrooms

600ml chinese rice wine

Salt to taste

Chinese Herbs

----------------------

6g eucommia bark (du zhong)

3g ligusticum (chuan xiong)

3g cinnamon twigs (gui zhi)

3g chinese angelica root (dang gui)

12g wolfberry fruit (gou qi)

8 red dates (hong zao) Suitable for yr hubby & u to consume

Can have 3-4 pkts.

This recipe could be taken during 3rd/4th wk confinement period. Elliminates general aches and anaemia.

Cordyceps & Grouper Sp

------------------------------------

Ingredients

========

1 grouper (abt 400g)

1 teaspoon of chinese wine

salt to taste

Chinese herbs

---------------------

12g cordyceps (dong chong cao)

12g wolfberry fruit (gou qi)

6g eucommia bark (du zhong)

Have 3pkts.

Generally these are the main stuff surely not enough for the whole period and I also don't know how much can u prepare.... Just do yr best.

Next, was items to buy (dry food stuffs) and wet market items.

Dry food stuffs e.g. black fungus, black & red beans, one pkt of qou qi zi & hong zao, yu zhu, ginger, sesame oil, light soy sauce, shallots, chinese rice wine (white or shao xing/hua tiao jiu), black vinegar sauce, brown coconut sugar, mushroom (dried chinese type) mien sian, bee hoon, red glutinous rice wine and etc.. can buy when needed.

Wet market,

1st & 2nd wk

-------------------

Pork (without fats)

Pork ribs

Pork kidneys

Red spinach, Kai lan (small type), Chye Sim (small type), Brocolli, french beans

Thread Fin fish head (2 cut into 4 pcs) or bones

Black/Red garoupa (Black is cheaper now)

Buy sufficient for two week's supply. From 3rd wk onwards, can consume chix options -(hen/black/chix drumsticks only).

Hmmm... I think I will ask my hubby to bring my CL to a medical hall to buy lah. Cos we really don know what and how much she will need leh. So I will jus buy red dates for the drink 1st bah.

weiling,

Walking i am still fine just slow like turtle lor.. but not stand for too long.. and once lie down.. can feel the backache real bad.. haiz..

sunflower,

hehe.. i dun intend to put the bed liner.. but just buy one more of the mattress protection mat for bb de.. since its quite huge oso, bb use one, i will use another one..

eeyore,

woah.. thanks for the list.. copy down copy down..

I just got an email from Nanny milkbag distributor coz i used to buy from them...

Nanny Milkbags

Now only $8.50 for a box of 25 bags!

Buy 12 boxes & get 1 box FREE! ($7.85 per box)

Plus, FREE DELIVERY via normal mail to all Singapore addresses!

Pigeon Breast Pads at $11.90 for a box of 60 pieces! Cheapest in town, available whilst stocks last!

wah.. I just login only ........ Was having quite bad menstrual cramps last night till this morning....Keep feeling the pressure pushing down and had to curl up in bed.... Frankly, even though this is my #2, I still don't really know whether its real contractions or false... I only know to go hospital if waterbag burst...

Here's my herbs list from my CL agent.... Its alot shorter than eeyore's....

1. Longan (1 box)

2. Ginger (1kg)

3. Red and black dates - 2 packets each (1.5kg each)

4. Gou Qi Zi - 1 packet

5. Bei Qi - 2 packets

6. Dang Shen - 1kg

7. Dang Gui - buy better grade @ $40

8. Nan Zao - 1 packet (1kg)

9. Da Feng cao for bathing - 25 packets

Saffy: Yeah, the cramps finally went away after 10am this morning... I really don't recall having menstrual cramps like this for #1 though.... Anyway, I'm taking Ventolin pills that my gynae gave me. It helps to relieve... if not, I won't be able to sleep whole night.

ann,

ventolin? as in for asthmatics? you know if i had the same experience i would have checked myself into the hospital already... lol. same as you, even though this is my #2, i still don't quite recognize true labour pains since I was "discovered" to be contracting while strapped onto the CTG the first time round.

Saffy: haha... I still keep thinking that waterbag gotta break first b4 checking into hospital..... that's why the thought of checking myself in never crossed my mind! Yes, Ventolin is also used for asthma. For pregnancy, its used to relax the muscles... to stop the over-zealous cramping.

ann,

ha, i learn something new everyday! i think if waterbag breaks, will deliver within the next hour or something, esp. for subsequent pregnancies. think i watch too much drama ...

littlepiggy,

me too having serious back ache. not only sleep, sit oso pain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

saffy,

so u do confinement with the help of your maid only? maid cook n bath nb? me oso planning do my own confinement.

charmaine,

re the cover, if me remember correctly, Mt A pharmacy selling. my husband bought 2 year ago when i giv birth to my son. ard $7 for 10 sets.

sunflower,

me giv birth to my son at SGH n got all my glass bottle from SGH. me remind nurse to keep glass bottle for me n after discharge, found that not enuff, my husband actually go back to SGH and ask for more glass bottle from nurse there. so end up have more than 100 glass bottle at home. but they r really useful n save a lot compare to using milk bag. plan to use back the same bottle this time.

jascmy,

should ask from nurse on and off rather than when discharge. must giv them time to collect more bottle for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dreymin,

re nursing bra, if dun mind design, OG oso hav good bargain. i remember i got mine at OG few months back at less than $10 each.

re confinement herb list,

think most of shop around bugis kuan yin temple have list on wat to buy. just chk out from them.

breast pad,

i remember my hubby bought for me lucky baby (disposable type) 24pcs x 3 box @ ard $9 from sheng siong, tats the cheapest i ever buy. but of course if wanna save $$$, buy those washable 1. cheapest ard $4 per pair. need abt 3 pairs for changing purpose.

ann,

your list seem short, enuff for 1 month???

paiseh, long post n many nenek moyang story. just try to share from my experience 2 year back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me been having menses-like cramps nightly too. strange though as these cramps only came at night.

gg to see woody tmr, shd be my final visit before my c-sect on 15. hope i still stay at 3cm dilated only.

during my last visit @ 35wks, woody also told me bb's head is up but since i'm opting for c-sect anyway so shd not matter lah.

was told to fast 6hrs before the ops. e.g, my ops start at 1pm so no food fr 7am onwards. whoa... scare i go weak w/o any food in my stomach.

just to cfm again, cannot wear glasses or contact lenses during the ops right??

Saffy: No lar... if waterbag break, will give birth not within 1 hour but I think within the day itself....

n_g: Frankly, I have no idea on the completeness of the confinement herbs list...... I also don't recall who bought or when bought all these for my #1.... The only thing I'm wondering is why my CL agent never ask me to buy those tonic cooking wine...

ann,

mayb can chk out with those shop selling herb. cos for me i feel that your list seem short n quantioty not many. so i doubt they r enuff for 1 month. new mummy should hav a good confinement for their health in future.

Angel,

i'm seeing woody tml oso...i heard no lenses but did hear that some of them wore glasses so i'm not sure which is which...y not juz wear n if cannot them remove lor

suika,

haha... i'm quite 'blind' w/o my glasses. scare cant see my bb's face v clearly when gynae show her to me. lol.