(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

suika,

My gal borned on 乞巧节 which is 七月初七, but she seems to be here to 讨债, 好像我们欠她似的.

suika, yup, I hope for that too. Cos I already know my parents in law very traditional thinking. So mil no need hint me lah. They are also very happy when they know the scan result is boy.

ahnah,

that means i buy not good quality bb cot lor...

alamak but it can last me until now...

i already thinking when will it spoilt so that 旧的不去,新的不来。

eeyore

RE: Baby cot

Dun think that way, maybe your baby cot can last longer than mine.. maybe mine $189 will spoilt within 1 year ?

It also depends on how the baby use it ?

if like my 2yrs old nephew, he like shake the side door of the cot (like the king kong), kick on it (machan prison break) ... then life span of the cot is shorter lor.

WL, which part of serangoon u moving to? I be moving there after my confinement too.

Woah.. seems like quite a number of you oso have this issues with in laws of having boy as #1. I have this prob too.. the moment they know that I am preg, they didnt even hint.. first thing they say "definitely is boy, cos our family genes are boys first".. in the end.. during my detail scan, found out is gal, their first reaction to my hubby was "Why issit gal? U quickly try for the 2nd one.".. both of us are so disappointed.. cos #1 not even out, they already expect #2 to be boy.

littlepiggy,

ur hb is the elder son har? old ppl is like that 1 lah...my MIL oso like that 1 juz she dare not say oni lor...when my boi born 1st thing she asked is wad time he born wan buy 4D...that's in the middle of the nite lor....see lah

littlepiggy,

dont be sad...

I dunno if my mil say anything about my gal but i too fierce to allow her to say anything infront of me...

however, this #2 is boy, she keep hinting to my mum that she did told my hb to employ a maid so that she can help us to look aft him...

i wanted to see woody yesterday but he'll only be in his clinic earliest fr thurs afternoon (think maybe have deliveries to do bah).

my appt is due next wk but i'm still nursing a bad flu & sore throat so wanted to get more meds fr him. each time, he only give like 3 days' supply. >_<

but the main reason i wanted to see him is becos i realised over these 2 days, i lost 2kg!! even though i'm sick but i'm still eating quite alot so i couldnt understand the drop in weight. i read this is the stage that mummy & bb start to pile on more weight so its kinda alarming that i'm going the reverse instead. my girl still pretty active in my womb though.

penguin, u looking for someone EDD 12th ah? Me lor.. hehe.. mine on 12th.. kekeke..

penguin, suika,

yah.. my hub is eldest son.. haiz.. during days when the presume is boi (cos i yet do detailed scan mah).. they here tell me "becareful hor".. there tell me "dun hit this dun hit that hor..".. once they know its gal liao.. treatment diff le.. chairs just leave it in the middle of the way, toilet leave it wet, sharp things and stuffs just dump it anywhere.. Yet.. their own daughter give birth to a gal, they didnt say a single word.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Even before i get preg already very stressful, cos hub and i tried for slightly more than 1 yr, but we didnt tell my in laws abt our prob.. every day my MIL will ask me "are u preg".. i was so stress lor.. When preg liao every day is say "confirm is boi"..

Now sianz lor.. have to do confinement at my in laws place, cos they ask master and say i am not supposed to shift to my new house to do confinement.. but luckily i got employ my own CL..

RE: Gender

I think it is an older generation preference, most like boys.

My MIL openly expressed her desire for a boy when i was preggie with #1, coz she had 2 girls and 1 boy (my hubby). Who knows we might behave the same way when we are MILs ourselves, keke! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eeyore,

last week i black face at them lor.. cos they insist on want their way in putting the cot.. bb is ours and cot shld fit the way we want mah.. but they insist they want to place it the way they like. Wierd right? I fedup tell them to not shift anything without asking hub and me.

Angel,

Good that he didnt give u much medication. I oso kena flu and sorethroat last week. MC for 3 days and no medication at all. Gynae only say, if sore throat, gargle salt water. If flu, can only take the yellow flu tab. If cough, drink more water and bedrest. He oso say, as long as bb still very active.. no worries..

littlepiggy,

yah i wl be v mad if i am you, it is like dat when u stay with in laws.

they have their own way of doing things. try not to be too upset, not good for you and baby. cheer up!

dreymin, I agree. Cos last time I also have problems with my in-laws. Then I ask my cousin why all mil are like that. Jus bcos we are not their own daughter and they can treat us this way. But their own daughters, treat like gold.

My cousin say we will only knoe the ans when we become mil. Hahaa.... I wan to be a gd mil loh. Cos I know the suffering that my Mum and I went thru so I don wan my daughter-in-law to go thru the same. My mum say too bad she don have son so can't be good mil.

Angel: Doc Woody gives flu medi? As far as i know, he is partner of doc ang, take care, as long as eat healthy should be alright le..

littlepiggy: your in law so weird loh.. haiz.. my MIL nags every single day, and i'm so bored at my hb house.. nothing to do. nowhere to walk about.. just stay in the room sleep and sleep.. now i'm back at my own house at least feel better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel,

if not wrong u can call n request for more med if he've prescribe to u earlier...u seeing him at SK rite? i'll b seeing him at CCK on thurs evening

littlepiggy,

the cot's in ur room rite?

anyway, looooong posts to catch up, din managed to read thru everything...

qq,

sorry to hear abt ur contractions. hope everything is under control now & that u have been discharged & is now resting at home. dun tired urself out & take care k.

re. confinement herbal bath,

i bought a shower gel & shampoo fr a BP here. both are said to contain herbs that expel wind. my mil did recommend that i buy da feng cao instead but i decided not to since still need to boil the herbs etc.

penguin,

welcome to the thread! wow, u r very young indeed! i'm one of the oldest mtb here & this is only my #1. lol. btw, c-sect will make mummy fatter??!! oh dear, i'm alr plus sized before preggie & i'm having a c-sect too. *faintz*

re. shaving of pubic hair,

i'm also wondering abt that... cos i read that natural birth, some will shave for u but for c-sect, will they still shave for u?? since nothing to do with down under... me at TMC, i hearsay, they do shaving but dun know if this applies to c-sect as well. i never went for wax before, mostly i trim myself lah but of course, unable to do so now. i read that the nurse dun use shaving cream too so its *ouch* when they shave for u. was thinking of getting my hb to do the job but he no experience too. *stressed*

leobaby,

i got ur email. sorry, we havent really discuss abt this yet as my hb was busy these 2 days. i understand time is running out so will revert asap k.

penguin,

yes woody does gives flu medi...the yellow tablet lor....it's safe to take

u good lor boi mah so ur mil treats u like queen....although my mil likes grandson more she no bothers abt me at all....ask her cook something for me eat for dinner she can gives lots of excuses lor but when born liao it's diff lor....everyday come to my plc n disturb here n there

suika, my mil also like that leh. She only come my hse once since married. Hope she won't come my hse everyday after Bb born to disturb leh.

jascmy,

actually my parents aso wish for a grandson but they dun dare to say to my bro and SIL.

so it is not just my MIL but aso my own parents who desire for a boy.

for the record, daughters are also filial!

angel,

they cleaned me up down there during my C-S previously [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dreymin, penguin,

yah.. i am cheering up.. or shld be trying to cheer up.. for the last one year, i end up having phobia staying with my in laws.. if hubby working late, i rather stay in office till late then go home. Cos i dun want go home alone face my in laws and they start nag and nag and nag.. very 烦 and cant rest well.. If hub, sometimes will ask them to diam diam. So i dun dare go home alone de. If go home alone, i quickly go home, bathe and lock myself in room whole nite till hub comes home.

suika,

no ah.. cot in another room. cos my room too small. (I cant have the master bedroom since the first day i shifted in).. the other room belongs to my brother in law de.. but they ask my BIL to shift to their daughter's place to make space for my confinement lady and bb cot.

ahnah,

i din call him but i did sms him abt my cond. guess he may be in the midst of delivery or sth as he still have not replied my msg. he's usually quite prompt though. anyway, i believe he'll get back to me when he's avail lah.

littlepiggy & penguin,

yes woody still give meds, they are safe for bb. the dosage is very mild hence usually take long long time to recover lor. the flu meds he gave are the small yellow types. the lozenges are the super sweet orange flavor ones, think they are meant for kids too.

suika,

yup, seeing him at sk clinic. will catch him on thurs afternoon lor. no choice.

dreymin: counting down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] me too!!

littlepiggy: i think if you can, don't stay with your in laws.. I have no choice cause my hb only son.. i stay at his house cause

#1: not enough to get a new house.

#2: In laws cannot use "seat" toilets, i wouldn't want guests to be at my house to see a squatting toilet bowl at my toilet.

#3: MIL washes clothes every single day, washes bowls and cleans them several times per day.

She complains it is difficult to hang the clothes, if we store the soiled clothes 2 - 3 days for washing. She has her way to hang the clothes, female - one bamboo stick, male - another one.

And when it starts to rain after washing the clothes, she will then nag again..

Once my hb got so irritated and told her off, he said she can open a school to teach people how to hang clothes already!

littlepiggy,

me moving to serangoon north ave 1.

and pls don worry about what the in-laws want and say. Its your child. Not theirs. Plus, it's their son's sperm that determine the sex of the bb you are carrying.

dreymin,

oh really ahh... how was it? painful??

was wondering if i can get my admission letter fr TMC when i see woody on thurs? left only 4 wks to my c-section leh.

littlepiggy,

hey i think ur in laws r not all that bad, they make special arrangement for the baby and CL by asking your bro-in-law to move out.

think of it this way, they are concerned about u and the baby so they nag better than those who dun care at all.

aso when u hv become a parent, u might understand wat they do is mostly out of love, whether their advice make sense or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika: Although mine's a boy, but it does not help much to the nagging... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my MIL hates cooking, but anyway, only thing she knows how to cook is frying stuffs and cooking "yong tau fu" style soup.. Her nagging makes me super irritated PLUS my hb house no air-con every night sleep in sweat, it's very difficult to find a house that has no air con and has squatting toilet bowls now :/

She complains she have no time to rest, but her hands and mouth won't stop, cleaning the dishes, mopping the floor. sweep here sweep there.. and the house is like a storeroom, she buys 4 - 5 tins of milo at one time, a few cartons of maggie mee, stores very very old newspaper and refusing to sell or throw them.. ohh my.. the house is already tiny enough but she's still doing that..

Angel: i once visit gp and he prescribed me antibiotics which i left in my bag for a long time.. didn't dare to take.. however, i often had blocked nose which feels like i am dying sometimes, so i take the yellow tablet.

Angel,

The nurses r v fast, i hardly had time to prepare mentally for the emergency C-S, not to mention to feel paiseh being shaved in full view of people.

Within 30 mins after my gynae said let's go for the op, i hv already delivered!

angel,

when is your C-S? i think you are prob the first among us to deliver [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlepiggy: i am like you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i sleep till super late in the afternoons and my MIL complains i sleep too much.. i locked myself and my hb in the room.. days when im alone at home with his parents, i just stayed in the room and do my things, when i go to the living room, they will ask me want to eat what..

sometimes, i'm really not hungry, when my parents came, she complained that i often don eat.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ahnah, i called his clinic but i think the no. is diverted to one of the nurses' mobile. she just told me the clinic is closed till thurs. in case of emergency, call woody's mobile so i just sms him lor.

dreymin,

oic, me shy but its not so much that. i'm more concerned if it'll hurt since no shaving cream is used. also i've sensitive skin so i'm afraid it might lead to allergy or rashes.

my c-sect is scheduled on 15jul, 1pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha... i think there will be some mummies who will pop naturally & earlier than me lah. we'll see.

Angel: i hope my edd is 15july or rather 15 june [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i can't wait to end this pregnancy haha..

penguin,

lol. but i also heard fr those who have popped that by then, u'll be wishing that bb is still in ur tummy... due to the many challenges one will face when the bb is out.

i'm terrified of my c-sect lah. alr asked my hb to stand by din xin wan, on the day itself, me & my hb will take one each. wahaha.

Angel: yup, i told my colleague, now we want to see how the baby looks like mah, so anxious, wait for the baby to come out, so naughty, you would want to open up your tummy and put them back inside haha.

din xin wan? what is it?

Penguin,

why you envy me? I have cravings sometimes. But just take a bit. It's all about self control. hehe..

Unless one gets GD, otherwise,i dun think it should affect the bb's insulin production. Dun worry so much. Just eat in moderation.

Angel,

best is still drink more warm water.. (normal temp water will cause water retention de).. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

penguin,

i have my own house le.. doing reno now.. will complete by July but i am not allowed to shift in to do my confinement.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] At first i am so happy, thinking can do confinement at my own home so that i can have peace and rest well. My MIL every nite come home make noise de.. little bit will nag..small things can say until big big.. and likes to force my hub and I to eat.. 2 person eat she can cook 5 person portion and force us to finish it.

WL,

Oh.. quite near.. me shifting to serangoon central. hehe.. next time we can go visit each others bb.. keke..

their thinking so old fashion, to them, if cannot give birth or give birth to gal, its always the DIL's fault.

dreymin,

u see like very nice hor.. in fact.. they just want everything for themselves. When they shift the things in the room hor, they did not even ask or discuss with my hub and me hor.. Its suddenly we found out then question them why they want to do all these stuffs. Cos they not young le and always sprain back, hands and legs.. so if they gei kiang go and shift, anything goes wrong, we have to bare the responsibility. Oh.. and its not that they arrange for my BIL to shift out, they didnt even ask or discuss with him, just ask him to shift out becos I need to do confinement. Now my BIL abit reluctant to shift oso. Haiz.. if they really concern abt me and my bb, i wont have to feel so terrible already.. they just want the room to suit their needs and complain that my bb cot too big thus they need to shift.. in fact.. my hub and i find that the cot fit in nicely, okie.. and still have quite a lot of space to walk. Everything they want to interfere even thou they dunno anything, thats y during confinement, i am sure my MIL sure will argue with my CL..