(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

hi xpink, take care and rest well ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nature lover, what's on sale for MIM?

xpink, how many weeks are you now? Yesterday there's an insurance agent who told me that I better be prepared as my babies might come out as early as 34 weeks... I so began to panic, I hope to carry them till full term!

For now try to relax your body and mind as well, lots of rest, drink more water and try not to walk too much!

May I know how exactly those contractions feels like?? Sometimes I feel tummy pain but later I let out gases a d realize it's due to wind in stomach...

wa the sales look good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

what did you buy naturelover? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

count me in for the waist comp..

nekowong 37" week 28

fumiko

so which means if bb has jaundice on day 1..cannot eat ginger at all till she is well?

Scent,

Every individual body is different. Pls do not be affected by other words. Most impt thing is that you have to take care of yourself and that should work well. Stay positive.

wa ! bought so many things ah.. hehe.. sounds like great savings ;)

by the way, anyone intend to buy those hands free accessories for the breast pump?

or anyone used before? can share your experience? is it useful?

something like this :

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4101467.gif]

anyone bought or intend to buy the pumpin pal handsfree strap or the super shields?

Super Shields:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4101468.jpg]

Handsfree Strap:

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4101469.jpg]

Thanks, leobaby

I've been reading abt contraction pains to get myself prepared. Also, hubby told me not to rub or sayang my tummy too much, something which I like to do all the time. Does the mummies here hv the same tendency to do so too??

thanks mummies... im resting alot... have been sleeping for the whole day.

scent : im only 30weeks and 3 days now. i think its becos of my body weight, i gain too much and yet i've moving ard too much becos of my 2 kids.

xuanx,

How did you know it was water bag leak? if you may descript it. Do rest well and leave the rest of the things to be handled by others. no use stressing up on unnecessary things. I guess you need to have a peaceful mind now too. So take deep and long breath when necessary.

i saw shop and save selling huggies nb 24 pcs for $7/pack.

Scent,

Contraction pain is like menstrual cramp and the pain intensity and interval will increase over time. Those that come and go is just braxton hicks. Should be ok. I get BH on and off. Sometimes, i also wonder if it's contractions.

Dun worry too much.

CLOTH DIAPERS SHELLS/INSERTS

Hullo Mommies!

I'm a July mommy. Is anybody keen to get diaper shells? Seller's min order is 20 pieces so I'm hoping to pull orders and share. Diaper shells are S$10 each and Inserts are S$2 each. Excludes postage to you. Do PM me if you are keen...Thank you!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4101851.jpg]

leo_baby : Cos the night before, suddenly there's a small gush of water came out. i tot i pee without i knowing, so i went to the toilet. The smell doesn't smell like urine so i suspect maybe water bag leaking. Went to gynae the next day, gynae confirm there's a leakage but had start stopping already.

xpinkxuanx,

waterbag leakage, got to be v v careful leh. cos i read doc can stop contractions & dilations etc with injections & medications but if waterbag continues to leak, there's nothing the doc could do. and if the water falls to dangerous level then mummy has no choice but to give birth to bb. if u experienced leakage again, think its wiser to rush to KKH liao. dun wait k. rest well & take care!!

leobaby,

i have replied ur PM with my hp no. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re. waist competition,

so tdy, i finally gather the courage to measure my waist but surprise, surprise! its 42" @ 33wks. i was expecting 50" or sth. lol. but i also have noted that my preggie tummy is not as big as others. so we all need to retake again when we hit 35wks ahhh?? then i'll take mine again in 2wks time.

xpink,

ya i also heard the same thing..doc can only stop contractions and dilations...if waterbag starts to leak, there's nothing the doc can do..r u sure its leakage? it should be continuous and not just once-off.

bakholic,

contractions need not be menstrual cramp, depends on individual..it can also run through the entire tummy as u thought u have food poisoning, need to run to toilet.

Angel : Yup am on medication but no injection becos my gynae say still have alot of water.

So now my gynae visit become every week.

mommyxuanx : take care , rest well...

and prevent chasing after ur 2 kids le(knw hard to prevent coz i've a 20mths to chase after also)

Anyone know if anywhere got sell those nappy cloth? like cloth diaper de. loose pcs? intend to get 2 to swaddle baby...

xpink> do take care and have a good rest.

ann> ya, i know. don't remind me of age leh... so sad. hehe...

June> i used that before. you still need to hold the bottles till the suction stabilized, then can let go your hand. and you need to keep your body/back straight else will affect also the suction between your breast and the shield. but i have to admit it has been quite useful. when i expressed in the midnight, i did express till i fall asleep on the sofa with the TV turned on!

Scent> rub & sayang bb in tummy ok mah. i do that few times a day leh. sometimes my #1 also sayang and kiss my tummy woh. why your hubby said cannot leh?

Mamyvelle> are you referring to those traditional nappy cloth, like gauze kind of material one is it? most places selling bb stuff like kiddy palace will have, even some NTUCs too, only that they may be selling different brands...

xpink> last time when my water bag burst, my dr. gave me the dripping to reduce the contraction, and injection to boost the bb's lung development. he also told me to bed rest in hospital to prevent further leakage. maybe coz yours stop leaking and still too early fr. EDD bah... Like what Angel said, if leak again better rush down to hospital and contact gynae. my confinement lady told me once water bag burst, there is tendency for bb to get infection also wor... not sure how true. have not search on this info yet.

Babe> i did have tummy rashes once in my #1 pregnancy. i thought i have applied too much the stretch mark cream, too rich/oily and i sweat. after i stopped for a while the rashes gone. you may check with your gynae if the rashes irritate probably he can prescribe you some gentle and "safe" cream to apply and stop the rashes.

haitang, can the shield be sterilised ah? and the handsfree strap can it be detached from the rods to throw in washing machine to wash?

i am thinking of getting 2nd hand one instead of brand new... safe to buy 2nd hand for the handsfree strap and shield?

june: yup i bought that many... its like a mad shopper on the loose.. haha..

Angel: yes you will do the measurement at 35 weeks... =P

Haitang: I did hear before as well that bb may be prone to infection but i also have yet to verify the info

June> i washed and sterilized the shield also, can't remember if i checked before if can be sterilized. :p

the strap is a rubber like material, so i only use handsoap to wash and hang-dry if sweat a lot. All parts can be detached. i didn't detach because it's really a hassle to re-adjust the length and "settings" to your comfortable level. i'm lazier lah.

i guess for the 2nd-hand handsfree strap should be ok. but i just checked my shield, color seems a bit yellowish. so depends on condition of the 2nd hand shields that you found and if you could accept it.

Nature_Lover> do share with us if you find any info on the bb infection after water bag leakage ah. thx. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann> i just found a Mothercare spring/summer 2006 catalog fr. my book shelf and surprised enough to see that Avent Isis Duo Twin Electric was available in the catalog! hehe... guess just not common in the malls that time thus we didn't see it. :p

Haitang and all: read this:

Your waters have broken

Your waters may break in a big gush or fluid may leak out slowly, because there's a tear in the amniotic sac. Sometimes you can't tell the difference between broken waters and an accidental leak of urine.

If you aren't sure whether your waters have broken, contact your midwife or doctor straight away. If your waters have broken early, you're at risk of infection if you don't then go into labour.

You may be prescribed antibiotics to guard against infection. They are safe for you and your baby. Depending on your stage of pregnancy, you may be advised to have your labour induced. This means your labour will be started artificially. If your baby's birth isn't induced, you'll be monitored until labour starts naturally

source: http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/complications/oligohydramnios/

Yes, for waterbag burst, we are required to go to the hospital within 24 hrs. As such, I have heard of mothers who took time to take bath, pack etc and then go to hospital. As for me, I won't delay...

Haitang - my time was 2005... :p

haitang, it will turn yellow with time? when was the last time u used the shields ah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 2 yrs ago?

do u intend to use the same shields after your delivery or u gonna get new ones?

can u recall how much u bought ur shields and the strap?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nature_Lover> Thx for the info. I still remember last time when my water bag burst, i called my gynae and asked him if i could have lost control of urine, he laughed and told me to go to hospital immediately.

ann> aiyah, forgot you are more senior than i am. :p

June> hm, i guess slightly more than 2 yrs bah. not sure if the yellowish is due to age or the heat of sterilization for many times... let me see if i still have the "expense database" in my pc... :p

June> found it. the Handsfree i paid $36 and Super Shield I paid for $32 more than 3 years back.

Don't think will be using the shield since my old breast pump spoilt and getting the Avent Twin Electric. if i use the shield, i won't be able to "enjoy" the Avent's massage... will see how it goes later.

Nature_lover> you meant my water bag burst? it was my last pregnancy, abt 35wks 5/6days. my gynae actually said was safe to deliver, but knowing my friend who gave birth at 36wks were given 2 japs to boost bb's lung development, i requested for that. so my gynae gave me 1 jap (which took 1 day to be effective), then dripping to prevent the contraction. bed rest at hospital and delivered i think at 36wks1day bah...

Haitang: Wow.. its like drama series like that.. so what causes water bag leak or early delivery? Is it the activity level of the mother? If so, does that mean if we can reduce our activity level i.e. in the last trimester, we have higher chance of carrying bb to full term?

Sorry to bombard so many questions.. I read and read the books but they all don't seem to answer the queries I have.. and being 1st time mummy.. im still at a loss sometimes

Nature_lover> mine not dramatic liao loh... i was lucky to spend short hours in labor ward.

i also dunno what cause early delivery. since beginning of this pregnancy, my gynae warned me not to walk to much. i guess activity level does play a part, but individual's strength/health also play a part bah. my MIL told me her all her 3 pregnancies carried to full-time. first 2 pregnancy she was 20 over years old and #3 over 30 years old. but she has been doing house chores, going to market and taking care of own kids. not any lesser activities than we work i suppose?

Re: Premature Birth Prediction

(Quoted fr. the pregnancy week by week)

"some 2% of women have a very short cervix and it is thought that half of these may give birth very prematurely (before 30wks) as a result... Some hospitals offer progesterone treatment to prevent contractions... "

Nature_Lover> My gynae prescribed me a medicine to prevent early contraction for this pregnancy... not sure if it's the same as mentioned in the book...

Haitang

My hubby said if I rub too often might result in low placenta... That's what he heard about but dunno how true... Lately I've been experiencing Alot of tightness in my stomach, so I tend to rub my tummy, after I heard what hubby said I try to rub in an upwards movement... Rubbing makes me feel much better.

Also, I know we all hv to take lots of fluid, however, I tend to forget to drink water in the day, this drinking lesser but comes night time, I'm always super thirsty, this my water by the bed I can finished it very fast and go for more, as a result, every two hrs run to toilet to pee..... After pee continue to gush water down my throat, I wonder if it is Becos of the aircon...

Today my mil came over to tell me it's time to buy the herbs to bathe during confinement, and told me I can't drink any water during my confinement period... I wonder if I can really survive the night without water....