(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

pekkle> many mommies here are also using medela. i find free style is quite heavy. fr. Amazon is cheaper, the Avent i paid only US$213. local shipping is free, but not sure abt the shipping charges to SG yet. i use the vpost service. 1st time trying. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pekkle - I used both Ameda and Medela PIS for #1 and I think Ameda is a good value for $ pump.... except that the motor is not as durable as Medela PIS. If you wanna get the Medela freestyle, you can order fr the spree here. I just gotten the Medela Freestyle fr the spree here for S$460 nett.

starz> ya, very uncomfortable for putting on seat belt that's why i use the belt clip for my hubby's car loh. if taking cab, i usually choose to sit in the middle so the seat belt will cross over below my tummy. :p

Re: tummy pulling

you may want to check with your gynae if it could be brixton hicks or contraction. for me, if bb moves inside, i can see my tummy having a hump moving fr. right to left or vice-versa. or funny shape. not really muscle pulling loh.

Re: Ameda breast pump

any standard bottles are compatible. only the wide-neck bottles have different "standard" across different brands i heard.

Re: BB hiccups

just like we hiccups ourself, instead of in our stomach, you feel the "frog jumping" in your womb. sometimes not sure if he is facing down, i can feel the "hiccups" are towards my backside. very funny.

thanks haitang.....i saw that the advent electric double breast pump is selling at $670 at the recent baby fair at expo...likely to be the same model u bought? if so, then buying online is really alot cheaper.

ann> so your Medela Freestyle arrived liao? with shipping $460 really quite cheap loh. even motherhood fair with free gifts also need $799.

Starz,

For Ameda pump, any standard size bottles are compatible.

I experience the pulling sensation on my right size every now and then cos I think baby keeps kicking or pushing on my right... Sometimes it can be quite painful esp when its a sudden kick!

I came across this article in Yahoo.

Pregnancy myths busted

http://www.idiva.com/bin/idiva/Pregnancy-myths-busted?ApReferalURL=yahoo

Do you really believe that the missionary position can increase your chances of getting pregnant? Well, women trying to conceive are often surrounded by such questions as there are so many urban myths and wives tales that make it difficult to know whether a person is doing the right thing, the wrong thing or simply wasting time.

Now, Heidi Murkoff has just released the latest in her popular What to Expect series, titled What to Expect Before You're Expecting. The book is aimed at women who are trying to conceive, reports the Sydney Morning Herald.

Here she sorts out some common pregnancy myths:

1. The longer it takes you to get pregnant, the more likely you are to conceive a boy.

Partly true - Women who take longer to conceive are more likely to have thicker cervical mucus, and boy sperm swim better in thicker mucus.

2. A woman in her early 20s not using birth control has a 50 per cent chance of getting pregnant each month.

False - Getting pregnant isn't as easy as you'd think. When you're under 25, your monthly chances of hitting baby bingo are just 20 to 25 per cent. The monthly odds for a woman who is over 35 are about 15 per cent.

3. Saliva is the most fertility friendly lubricant to use when you're trying to conceive.

False - Saliva is a sperm killer. In fact, most lubricants and massage oils are fertility unfriendly, so best to go without when you're baby making.

4. Boxers are a better bet than briefs when you're trying to conceive.

True - Though in most cases, not true enough to make a big difference. Sperm production can be affected by overheating, whether it's in a hot tub, a sauna, spandex bike shorts, or a pair of tighty-whities.

5. Laptops can impair sperm production.

True - The heat is on when you use a laptop on your lap, and heat is not a friend of male fertility. To keep the family jewels in top family-generating shape, treat your laptop like a desktop. The same may hold true for mobile phones so keep them out of your pocket.

6. The average couple conceives within 3 months of trying.

False - Conception doesn't typically happen overnight, even after a really hot night. Egg and sperm may meet up on your first try, of course, but it actually takes take the average couple who doesn't have any fertility issues between 6 and 12 months of active efforts before mission is accomplished.

7. The more sex you have during your fertile days, the more likely you are to conceive.

True, to a point - Until recently, an every-other-day sex strategy was recommended but the latest research suggests that more is more after all. For a man who has a normal sperm count, having sex every day during his partner's fertile days is most likely to result in conception. More than once a day, on the other hand, is less. The more performances in a day, the less packed they're likely to be with sperm. A guy needs time to build up his troops between deployments. In fact, a man with a lower sperm count may want to wait a day in between ejaculations to build up his numbers.

8. After an egg is released, it can be fertilised for up to two days.

False - While sperm can hang out and wait for their date for three days or more, an egg has only a 12 to 24 hour shelf life. So sperm have to catch it while they can.

9. Position matters.

False, mostly - Healthy sperm are excellent swimmers and pretty much any position can get you pregnant. But if you'd like to give the little guys a head start, try man on top, with the woman's hips slightly elevated.

10. If you want to get pregnant, order up some oysters.

True - Believe it or not, the cliche holds up under scientific scrutiny. Oysters are the food chain's most concentrated source of zinc, one of nature's most fertile minerals. It's also a libido booster. The benefits extend to both sexes, so share a dozen.

11. Cough medicine can help you get pregnant.

True - Expectorants loosen up mucus in your chest but they're also able to loosen up cervical mucus, and looser cervical mucus is easier for sperm to hitch a ride in. However, read the ingredients carefully. Some cough medicines also contain an antihistamine, and that's an ingredient that dries up mucus of all varieties, giving sperm a hard time.

12. Watching a sexy movie can help you get pregnant.

True - As long as the man in your life is watching it too! Studies show that men produce more sperm after watching a sexy movie. And it doesn't have to be X-rated, either. So grab some popcorn, and then grab each other.

13. Men don't have a biological clock.

False - It's a clock with a much longer-lasting battery, but it's still ticking away. While guys can produce viable sperm and father babies well into their 50 amd 60s, older men are more likely to have dipping testosterone levels and a decrease in the quantity and quality of sperm.

hi mummies, im from dec 09 thread and I have this Cot Mobile to let go at $50. Used 2 mths only and my gal has outgrown it. In brand new condition.

Collection: Yew Tee or Raffles Plc

pls pm me or sms 92375402 if keen =)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4086247.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4086248.jpg]

pekkle> yes, it's the same model. during the fair they also gave plenty of free gifts and the sure win lucky draws. just that the one i order fr. Amazon will not have warranty covered i guess. but considering the price diff. i still choose to go for Amazon one loh.

haitang - yeah I should receive it next week cos I asked for courier.. too lazy to go and self-collect the pump.. I think now order is cheaper due to US exchange rate.... I heard those who ordered mid last year paid about S$550, maybe exch rate was alot higher then.

haitang: the maternity pad that can stick on is kotex brand.. u must check before u buy cuz they also came in loop de...

Jascmy: the one i pass to u only left a few pcs nia..nvm u keep it.. i go and ger another pack from mother care.. hehehe..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leo_baby,

the previous posts for the gathering is missing. sigh!

This is what I can recall, can those who are going please update this as well?

Also can the admins add this in FB events?

I do not have the rights to do so, thanks!

Venue: Raffles City Sakae Sushi

Date: 15 June 2010

Time: 7:00pm

Dreymin

MVH

Haitang

Ann

ahNah

Charmaine

Purelyz

haitang > anyways the avent pump was out of stock! i suppose it is also quite popular....and i m using the palmer stretch mark cream since i conceived....so far so good....no marks yet...but the real test on its effectiveness is after delivery i guess...

how much does the avent pump cost if there is no sale? $700+?

dreymin> thanks for sharing! it's interesting to know. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winnie> noted w thx.

ann> ya, the exchange rate does matter. in fact i checked out the website your spree order fr. (mybreastpump.com i think), they sell the Avent Duo more ex. Guess Amazon is having large promotion on the Avent Duo, since the Medela fr. Amazon don't have that much discount.

pekkle>

Re: Palmer's

i used that for my #1, hubby complaining smell too strong and he couldn't sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i didn't have stretch mark for #1, but my friend commented that probably due to my early delivery. she said she used the same cream and her stretch mark appeared at wk 38 or 39... i just got a bottle of Palmer's Stretch Mark Lotion (tried the tester at motherhood fair and found the scent was lighter than cream), but still don't really like the texture. if you like, i can give to you. just used a few times only.

Re: Avent Duo usual price costs $855 or $899 i think. one thing i don't like is, it cannot operate on battery if no power supply. there is a manual handle for you to connect and it just works like normal manual pump. my friends who have been using said said their manual pump is as effective as those electric ones, and insist me should try it out... Medela PIS and Freestyle both allow battery operation.

dreymin - I think the light weight of freestyle is a definite plus point for u since u will be carrying yr pump to and fro work place... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahnah,

then u can go in to accompany ur wife. I got one friend, her hubby cried when he saw the baby. He say aft he see how difficult the wife deliver, he love her and baby more. So touching...

alibaba,

at delivery ward. cos i dilate 4 cm and didn't feel contraction. Only put on the monitor then the nurse say got. Maybe i can take pain bah. Like u lo... Haha...

haitang,

my boy recover is gd, but he really got attitude now. That delivery is an unforgettable experience. Hee...

As i need to "warn" my boss, so I ask my gynae. He say usually for #2, should go into labour abt the same wks as #1. My #1 is abt 38.5 wks. So i "bet" 30 jul to 3 aug. Countdown less than 60 days le... exciting!

ann > the online spree for the medela freestyle pump - does it come with a bag for us to carry it around? or need to get it separately? does it come with warranty?

haitang > don't find the smell of the Palmer cream overwhelming lei....so what have u been using your hubby cannot take the smell? hee...

ann/haitang,

i hv not tested my PIS if stl working but i think shld be ok coz i only stopped using it some months back.

one more thing to add on my to-do list.

just now a bit bo liao, masure my tummy... it's about 38"... hehe~

ahNah,

my hubby like u, dun want to go into delivery ward... he see blood, he will feel light-headed one.. ask him if wan to cut bb's umbilical cord, he say no wor... i thot this should be quite a unique experience...

purelyz,

your breathing method is what i learnt from the classes... the consultant told us it important to keep urself relax at the initial part to reserve energy for the last part...

Thanks Haitang! will check with my gynae this sat on the muscle pulling. will take note of the "frog jumping" feeling... 1st time mummy, so a lot of experiences all very new...

i tried Palmers earlier in the pregnancy but it gives me the itch... so stop using le.

Re: Breast pump

Mummies here make me tempted to get Medela Freestyle... am thinking of getting Ameda cuz cheaper...

Ann,

yes! it's always quite sudden for me and can be very uncomfortable...

purelyz - you really have high pain threshold.... My labour was only 3 hours and I was already screaming for epidural after 1.5 hrs... I guess my threshold is super low. Cos of this, I'm still undecided if I should try for epi-free delivery for #2..... alot of my friends told me to just ask for epidural even before I feel the pain but there are also pple who keep warning me of the possible side-effects.

pekkle - yeah, it comes with the tote bag. You can check the link I gave you cos Tan Leng Leng (spree organizer) did indicate all her T&C and what comes in the box. The only thing you need to purchase separately is the plug to convert US plug to Singapore plug.

Purelyz> probably the time in the labor rm was short bah and i was really irritated by the contraction measurement machine. only remember when my gynae arrived, he told me, "ok, i'm going to cut now..." next he told me breathe and push... then asked for the forceps fr. the nurse, and bb was pulled out. i think less than an hour bah. both me and my hubby was stunt there before we realized what were going on.

why ur #1 has attitude now? coz when sick he got really "pampered" is it? hehe... mine too... but these 2 days i tried to wake up early and have breakfast with him before he left to school, he then not as grumpy as last few days.

pekkle> i switched to those skincare brand with lighter scent loh. this Palmer's lotion i thought the smell is lighter than the cream already, but he still said dislike the shea butter smell. even my #1 said it's "smelly". [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starz> hm, considering the price of freestyle ordering fr. overseas (without warranty), it's worth to give it a try even you may not be sure how long you intend to bf yet.

waist line - actually i thought of measuring it too few days ago, but busy rushing my maid to wash the bb cloths and pack the wardrobe, and forgot abt it. it's interesting to take note actually. :p

pregnancy experience - actually the experience of my #2 movement is quite different fr. my #1 also. sometimes also find it new and interesting. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starz> i remember at certain stage in my last pregnancy, my tummy felt itchy too. read in some magazines said that's actually the tummy stretching, so even though i suspect it could be the cream, i didn't really conclude. probably our skin more "sensitive" to such rich texture cream?

haitang, huh oso no use after descale..

ok then, will get maid to boil hot water then...since she say she ok to boil hot water...

haitang,

initially i also thot it was tummy stretching... but the itch only happens after i apply the cream... so i switch to other brand and the itching stops... maybe i'm those that cannot use ba...

wah, u convince me of Medela lor... need to check whether I have enough budget...

Talk about breastpump.

I dont have spare money to buy breastpump.

But luckily someone giving away a medela mini electric & i pick it up. =X

Though i very much wanted to have a freestyle. But guess, i just do with medela mini electric pump la. haha...

ahNah,

Thanks for creating the event in FB for Central gathering on 15 June [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Please indicate your attendance, thanks!

xpink_xuanx, ya my cousin oso pass me her electric medela pump..

but i havent really explore ..dunno is it difficult to use..

some ppl say avent pump is beta cos got different speed... so u can adjust the speed if u feel pain when pumping..

medela has no speed..

so if use the speed to pump n feel pain..then tat it liao..

dunno hw true..

hopefully i dun feel pain when using medela..

I ask my office female colleauge, they told me better dun see the process of child birth, stand by a side is ok.

Cause they say it is very messy and bloody.

fumiko : medela mini electric is v easy to operate. All medela pump have control on speed unless manual pump.

i am from May mother. i have extra breastpump and willing to let go this USED MINI ELECTRIC PUMP @$60. Pls PM me if interested. Tks

★ 100% ORIGINAL, MADE IN SWITZERLAND

★ Lightweight, compact and portable

★ Fully automatic breastpump with dual power source options (AC/DC)

★ Can use AC Power with the included adaptor

★ Can also run on 2 AA batteries, which is great for travelling/outside

★ Easy on/off switch

★ Adjustable one-handed suction control for maximum comfort

★ Safe for the collection, storage & feeding of breastmilk (BPA-free material)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4086978.jpg]

Pump :

this is the link to the medela spree..i have been contemplating to buy medela freestyle or pump-in-style for a long time.. still thinking if i should go for cheaper alternative. but the price is alot cheaper than singapore, so quite tempting. but there is no warranty becos its an export set.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/3147559.html

Palmer cream :

i heard its not suitable for all women. some pple complain getting rashes from using this brand.

Fumiko> actually i was thinking to use my steamer pot to sterilize too, but after some consideration, i chose to get another sterilizer. I worry later with a new-born, my maid will get even more blur with the noise and stress, so the electrical sterilizer which auto switch off should be safer. else i would like to save the money too.

Starz> go for it. in fact there are good reviews on Medela mid to high-range models. but i chose to try out Avent for 3 reasons:

1. strong recommendation of friends

2. after reading this link http://www.breast-pumps.org/v/vspfiles/asp/compare-ameda-medela.html

3. i had bad experience with Medela Harmony manual pump.

SunFl@wer> Is it? Palmer's cream is not suitable for all women? how come? it's designed for pregnancy and of course targeting women right? i bought that last pregnancy coz reading very good reviews of it. i guess its rich texture is good for overseas dry weather and may not suit many of us due to the hot and humid weather here bah... anyway, anyone who likes it do feel free to PM here. i don't mind to give away my Palmer's lotion coz it doesn't suit my skin type. just bought it from motherhood fair on Sun and used only a few pumps.

xpink> wah, so good got give away one. actually i also more "she de" to spend on breastpump this pregnancy only. hehe, even i said more "she de", i still choose to order fr. overseas coz much cheaper than in SG!

during my #1 time, i'm not sure how long and how strong my will is on bfing, too many uncertainty, no money also lah, thus didn't dare to invest, even after reading those articles telling how much we can save on milk powder by investing in breastpump. it's good for you to try out with the mini electric 1st, before you go for those higher-end model once you think you want to bf for longer term. all the best! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starz> ya ya, i think i asked my doctor also and he just said "if you suspect the cream then apply lesser loh". that day at the motherhood fair, the promoter told me, "you all need to be patient and really massage till the cream absorbed lah." then she started to massage on my arm and asked me if it's greasy... thus i bought the lotion to try loh. last time using cream. can't imagine if i use the butter. just not for my skin type. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haitang : I also wanna invest on gd breastpump. But my hubby say since this is the last baby, no point getting so good one as long it works the same function. Sigh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]