(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahNah, Faint! Tot u pampered your wife so much? U dare to left her alone to fight the pain ah. U might wan to go youtube to watch some of the natural birth processes first to be mentally prepared.

wah purelyz,

your method very relax and detail leh...

I just keep very relax, talk to my hubby, we even have time to take photo and video, say our exp while waiting...

then hb kept monitoring on the contraction chart and tell me when it's coming...

then i just keep myself concentrate on the contraction, prepare for the peak...

then aft fully dilate, mid-wife will tell u when to push then came the bb...

ahNah, I think hubby's support very impt leh. That time when I'm admitted to KKH. My hubby was came after my injection for stenghten of BB lung injection. I'm so scare and loss loh. When he arrived, the doc did the insert of needle for the drip for me, hubby gave me his finger to grab, even though I shouted loudly during the insert but I feel safe and secured cos my hubby is beside me.

purelyz,

haiz lost the info i type n have to type again... :-{

Which day is the central Gethering 15 or 17 June? Can dont go sudoku? I dont know what to eat there liao... Been there a few times.

sunflower,

ya, i remem a lot of epid free mummies here. We shd encourage 1st time mummies to go w/o (if possible).

eeyore,

urs very fast labour right? Ya, we also take pictures. Cos nothing to do mah. My whole labour is 5hrs. My gynae say this time maybe faster... wow...

ahnah,

must be inside mah. U dun see bottom part la. Jus accompany ur wife mah. But i did hear true story that hubby jelly legs when he see blood. Nurse got to carry him to sit down

leobaby,

i also dunno who is goin, can't find the past entry. I vote for sakae sushi

Ednique : I've pain at my pelvis bone too and yes, i cannot lift up my leg anymore. i can feel that my below like got dilate abit. i've been asking my gynae and he keep saying its normal and ask me don walk too much can already. -_-

Ednique,

that is serious. You better rest well.

I ever did ask my gynae but he said it's normal. I already have this pain for almost 2 weeks and i am planning to do massage if she can push my womb up. Sometimes i do feel that my baby can be quite low but luckily she is active enough to move about inside my tummy.

purelyz

those relax method u done were in delivery ward?? or at home... for me.. i didnt know i dilate so fast..& i was told to admit at night after 1030pm. before that i was at home doing my daily stuff.. & knowing tat i am delivering.. i bathe 3 times within 2hrs!! eat dinner with contraction pain.. wait for hb to come back from work.. & that time he was still trying to finish off his paperwork to hand over to his colleague... then i was already in pain..keep running to toilet to "try" pan sai... & got the strong push urge while otw to hospital... quite dramatic.... have to be cautious this time round... many considered me as lucky... saying my boy sayang me. dun wan me in pain for too long... ermmm.. i tink mainly is due to individual pain tolerance level bah.. guess i have v v high pain tolerance.. maybe to others already admitted to hospital. haha..

purelyz,

i cant find our archive posts. This is the date, time and venue.

Venue: Raffles City Sakae Sushi

Date: 15 June 2010

Time: 7:00pm

RE: C-section

C-S can aso have hubby support if the mummy is conscious, and not under GA. My hubby was there for my #1 birth.

xpink and cheekrene--> if u feel that you're under alot of pain, do go and check again..shouldnt take any chances.. my gynae also told me its normal at first..but when i insisted its very painful, then she did a check on my below and found that it has dilated.

ahNah,

I also dare not see bb come out.. I saw the video and it freaks me out. It's good to have hubby by my side cos more moral support. And he can help massage the back or distract me when in pain.

White lady,

I dunno how hard is breatfeeding cos this is my first child. But i think i will try my best loh. When we attended the antenatal class,the trainer said it's good to latch on cos it's the best way to get milk flowing and also prevent engorgement.

Nature_Lover> my #1 popped abt a mth earlier. so this time rd, my EDD is 4 Aug, and already prepared for bb to come early... Jul, guess don't dare to move liao even if bb not pop yet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my bb not only hiccup, but sometimes the "kick" moves from left to right, and going to cut open my tummy like that. still like 1st pregnancy, feel like having an alien living inside my womb. haha... everytime wanna show my #1 the funny movement of the tummy, bb stops moving. seems like playing with us. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahNah> hehe, i thought can play some funny music or what to shock the baby so hiccup will stop. just joking lah. :p

ann> you have gastric problem? for me, if i eat some spicy or "banned" food, my stomach will be bloated and i will start to burp. you take care. hope you feel better soon.

Fumiko> my old tommee tippee sterilizer, which i used for #1 like 3 years back, has the same problem. it's common problem even for electric kettle/hotpot, due to the impurities in our tape water. last time i did follow the descale method as described in the manual but guess not completely cleaned. recently took it out, tried both citric acid and white vinegar methods, just failed to remove those white dots (hate it coz the metal plate is also hidden under the plastic base like most of the brands). finally i bought a new pigeon sterilizer for #2 at the motherhood fair.

backaches:

stretching does help. thanks bakaholic for the info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bakaholic

if by the side then it is ok. You have to think like a man than can understand why man fear to see it.

Haitang,

You can try and let us know. Can you sms me your number ?

Ednique - do take care!! Good thing you have strong instinct to ask yr gynae to check further...

Haitang - Dunno if its gastric or what..... Probably abdominal colic...

Ednique, Actually quite scary hor. My gynea also everything say its normal and small matters. Even that time when I'm at admitted to KKH, she also say small matter. A few drop of blood is ok.

How do i know if its really serious?

i can feel my bb is very low now leh.. i keep on feel my tummy very heavy..'

wah saluate to those mummy who never use epi.. i hope i can make it without also....

did u all intend to take leave before ur edd?

Ednique> wah, i thought your pain was gone after the "Sengkak" massage? the pain at my right "pelvic joint" area is not that bad these few days after i try to do some stretching. but will still check with my gynae when i see him next Tues. during my last visit, he already prescribed me the med. to prevent early contraction since i gave birth my #1 abt a mth earlier than EDD. you take care ya. have a good rest at home.

winnie> guess that's why all maternity pads emphasize on soft cotton top bah.

jascmy> MC given is really depends on the gynae one. my #1 time, i had 2 colleagues kena chicken pox, and my gynae immediately gave me 1 wk MC to stay home. another 2 pregnant colleagues in my office also notified their gynaes but no MC was issued. their gynaes didn't even ask them to take leaves and avoid going to office.

ahNah, my gynea in KKH. She nvr give us her contact no. We have to either call the nurse helpline to check with them or go down to KKH Delivery suite (more than 24 weeks cannot go A&E). Meaning no walk in too.

dreymin> hehe, coz i got updates fr. Metro mah. but still find it too expensive for such a design/look. :p

ah_bee> why put over your tummy? the pillow is to apply some pressure on the chest of bb to give them the secure feeling lah... put on your tummy will only cover the light to your bb leh. :p

will msg u in fb for meeting up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bakaholic> i bought Pigeon now coz its metal plate is exposed, and if necessary, some gentle scrubbing still possible, unlike other brands.

I keep going to toilet leh. Feel bladder full just 30 mins after going to toilet. How I wish the toilet is just beside my workstation.

Jascmy: i also leh, keep on having full bladder...

Haitang: Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]will get another pkt of maternity pads...

winnie, u wan I return u the maternity pads?

Better to buy those stick ones instead of the loop hor.

I realized that the pack I bought is srick ones. Hehee...

ahNah> yaloh, you need to company your wife in the labor rm to fight together with her lah. you don't need to watch how the bb is out if you don't wish, just that after the bb is born, the nurse will carry the bb with blood ard the body and show you. telling you where is the birthmark and mole before they "label" the bb...

i have downloaded a documentary by Discovery Channel abt baby in the womb, guess includes the delivery process too. played the part I to my #1 that day but have yet seen the part 2. probably watching one of such documentary will prepare yourself better for the labour rm with your wife later? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Purelyz> glad that your son has recovered.

wah, you still can remember so well your #1 delivery. salute! i only remember that before my gynae arrived the nurse gave me laughing gas, and told me not to push hard. after my gynae arrived, i just follow his instruction on breathing and pushing until the bb was out. :p will try your method this round.

how come so early your gynae can tell your this delivery will be faster?

Eeyore> do take care. it seems like the kids nowadays are taking turn to fall sick. can't imagine with #2, how busy will we be just take care of the kids if they fall sick.

you still can take photos and video ah? so good. i remember that time the machine measuring my contraction beeped so loud and made me more nervous, till my hubby found it irritating and asked the nurse to turn it softer.

Bakaholic> yes, it's good to latch the bb on. in the labour rm, the nurse will ask if you want to bf then will bring the newly born bb to the breast to try to "latch on". i remember it was funny to me, coz just after the hard pushing and i was so tired, the bb's eyes not really open yet, the nurse just pushed his lips towards the breast...

but since my #1 was born nearly a mth earlier, he has prob. latching on till i think 3 mths old. so before that i have been expressing with the breast pumps loh. engorgement also boh bian, found other ways to solve.

ahNah,

my labour was spilt into 2 stages; induced labour of 11 hrs and later emergency C-S.

through it all my hubby was around and i was thankful he gave me support and we were both emotional when my son was born.

he being there was v important; he is the father of the child.

aso he ever told me, seeing the whole process he treasures me even more.

the bonding between a couple after gg thru childbirth is rather amazing.

ahNah> i have pm'ed your my no. before the motherhood fair right? you didn't get it? ok, will sms you again later.

ann> colic... i thought this term only applied to bb? :p you take care ya.

jascmy> ic, so that's hospitalization leaves loh. maybe can ask for more MCs fr. gynae to rest at home.

pekkle> i used Ameda before. it's good for its price range, very portable too. but can't really last loh. i used it for like a year for my #1. now already spoilt, so getting new bp for #2.

dreymin, I agree. After my hubby see me go thru all the sufferings to stop pre-term labour, he treasure me more. He told me how he wish he is the one suffering cos he pain tolerance level a lot higher them me. Just that this days, his usually self came bk again lah.

jascmy> which brand of maternity pad you bought is stick one? i think last time the one i bought also loop but forgot the brand liao. still thought of using my usual sanitary pad, but now think again, just standby 1 pack better.

ahNah> agree to dreymin. it's not only the bonding between the couples (which we already know you treasure your wife a lot), but the involvement of father in taking care of the bb will also be more, and so the family bond is stronger.

thanks haitang....so for #2, which brand you intending to get? i have bought some avent bottles and understand that it is not compatible with medela and ameda breast pumps.

haitang, I will go home check tonite and let u know. I also bought 1 pack to stand by. Then my friend gave me 2 packs of those loop type.

Why maternity pads do not have wings ah. Can we suggest those companies to add wings for maternity pads.

pekkle,

I used Ameda and Medela PIS for #1. I got the Ameda brand new.

I felt the Ameda was quite harsh and my yield was very little so I got quite frustrated.

In the end i got a 2nd-hand PIS which served me very well.

pekkle> ya, avent bottles are all wide-neck while medela & ameda are both standard. what u can do is use the standard bottles to store the milk and the avent bottles just for feeding your bb loh. for bp, i have ordered avent isis duo (or twin electric) fr. Amazon US, coz many of my friends have been recommending Avent manual bp to me since my #1 but i found it exp. furthermore that time i was unsure how long i would like to bfing also. so the Ameda bp just nice to fit my budget and needs.

jascmy> can pm me? in case i miss your post. thx. ya, all no wings, and i remember for my #1, the soft cotton top actually is not as absorbing well as my usual sanitary pads, tat's why i don't like to use one. i think i didn't even finish 1 pack before i switched to my sanitary pad. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haitang > how much did you pay for the avent isis duo? so far i think most colleagues and frens that i know of are using the medela free style and they find it quite good.

trying to catch up the post since yesterday afternoon...

haitang,

yah, have to put on seat belt. Used to put when i'm not preggy... but now preggy, very uncomfortable leh...

on and off my the left side of my tummy will have this pulling sensation, like bb pulling the tummy in. Is that normal fetus movement or something else? Anyone knows?

Re: Ameda Breast Pump

Anyone using this breast pump? Wanna check which brand of bottles it is compatible with?

Re: BB hiccups

How does it feel like ar? Not sure whether i experience before... hehe~

Re: Central gathering

I also can't make it for the gathering on 15th cuz gng back to my mum's place... almost 3 wks didnt go back liao...

Ednique,

do take care! rest well!