(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Ann: I hope we find the solutions soon! I cant think of the fact I still have 10 weeks to go..

For the gas, i think you can cut down on legumes so that it wont be so bad.. some foods actually will cause more gas to accumulate in the body causing lots of burps and arh.. kekeke.. =p

i got a question / prob..

my cousin pass me her Philip avent sterilizer..

but then hor...inside the hole where the steam comes out...it has powdery white white stuff..

any one who use philip avent sterilizer has the same prob?

is it dirty? or is there anything we can wash or remove it??

Fumiko, my sis also pass me her Philip avent sterilizer. When I pour out the water after sterilizing testing, its yellow. I try again and the water is not yellow anymore. Hers is abt 1+ yrs nvr use liao.

Maybe u wan to try again, There is a powder pack in the box with instruction to use it to wash every 2 weeks. Thinking of using it. Anyone use it to clean b4?

oh my cousin keep in her store for 4-5 yrs le..

er..nv see any powder pack in her box..

mayb tonite i go check again..

hi all, i've not been posting for quite sometime now.. the thread been moving real fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i just got discharged from NUH yesterday after been admitted for 1 night. i was having alot of pain in my lower abdomen and pelvis/pubic area. i went for my 32 weeks growth scan on Monday and my baby is fine and growing well at 1.917 kg at 31 weeks 5 days. As i was experiencing so much pain in the area below, i decided to walk in at my gynae's clinic. She was shocked to find out that i was actually dilated at 1.5 cm as she said i looked comfortable that she didnt think i was in pain. i was immediately admitted that night and given 2 doses of injections to mature the lungs of my baby if i have to deliver pre-term. they also gave me Adalat medication to strengthen my uterus and prevent further contractions.. phew! i was quite freaked out coz i realised that my baby may come out sooner than expected. i'm now on hospitalization leave for 1 week and was given the medication as well.

to mummies who had been experiencing pubic / pelvis pain and have been having difficulty walking, raising up the leg or getting up from bed etc, i suggest you better go and see gynae to check. if its nothing serious then at least you can be relieved but it's more than that, its better to seek treatment early. i remember purelyz and cheekrene also havign some pains right? and we all thought it's normal. even my gynae thought its the usual pains that preg women have but i insisted that the pain was real bad and she checked down below and she was shocked too.

ednique

wah phew. lucky u went to see gynae if not duno wat will happen next... now u need lotsa rest!

ednique,

thanks for letting us know your experience. i, too, experience some degree of discomfort but it is on and off and not as bad as what you have described. take care!!

ahNah> depends on how long you want to store the breast milk. other alternative way is by hands lor, cheapest and safest.

today I feel really nauseous today...my stomach like dun have much space..

oh i din know when we go for natural birth use normal pad will cause pain below.. hmm.. maybe i buy another maternity pkt and keep...

ednique: that scary leh... my next gyane appt still long.. i will be 34 weeks by then...and my alst visit is 28 weeks.. haiz...

u take care ya!

Ednique, you dilated and only got 1 week leave. Thats very bad. That time I nvr dilate and I got 2 weeks leh. I think u need more rest them me leh.

ednique,

please take care! both of us dilated, so must really take care..as long as your gynae managed to stop the pain, dilation should not continue. no squatting, no more harsh housework till u deliver k..

thanks all..winnie and saffy if u do have any discomforts or pain, do check with your gynae, dont wait till the next checkup k..

jascmy--> hmm ya now also i abit scared to be walking alot .. im still having abit of pain but manageable..hw are u now?

any mummy here not intend to breast feed bb at all ?

my maid only came for 2 weeks plus , sick liao ! so jia liat ! fever , cough n flu .... hai

Ednique, I'm ok now. Still able to go shopping for whole of last weekend. Then feel super tired, so now don't dare to walk too much liao. Must rest.

Maybe u can request for more hospitalization leave. Its best that u rest till u fully recover. 1 week not enough. Take care!

ednique

stil have pain ah.. do call & check with gynae again if continues.. did she ask u to go back for check up soon? tink ur case, ur check up interval mus be nearer already.

I guess now is all the time for August mummy to have slower pace of life and rest more.

Count down soon ... still got 81 days more for my bb.

Ednique, i tink u beta tell ur gynae to give u another 1-2 wk after this week of rest..

normally gynae shld b ok to give since now is critical period

rest well

I have red rice wine (aka Hong Zhao Jiu) for cooking confinement food, it will be ready for collection at the end of July.

The price is $10 per bottle and each bottle is 300ml, sufficient for cooking 3 whole chickens (because this is in concentrated form, no water added). I will also provide you with the instructions on how to cook the food with the red rice wine.

Please PM me if you are interested to place an order.

haitang,

see i m so behind times; dun know wat is "fitflop"!

purelyz,

yup the central gathering is cfm on 15 June [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: sterlizer

you can use part vinegar and part water or just use lemon juice to clean up.

ednique,

must take care gal! you must not walk around too much, hv more bed rest. i think all of us should aso slow down.

gd morning all!

Haitang: can we chat via fb? u pm me there.. cos i more active in fb. by the time i login here, i might miss ur message.

i refer too late: bb need so many husk pillow?? tot 1 is enuff to put over bb tummy?? i tot asking my mum do 1 for me now to put over my tummy w bb inside.. haa but left 2 mths.. lolx.. so tink no pt too.. lolx =X haa..

nope, don tink im joining the city hall gathering cos i knock off 6pm, by the time i reach boon lay ard 6.20pm.. so rch there 7-730pm le.. guess u all finishing ur meal soons.. hee and im shy =P im a quiet person.

where do u stay? we can arrange meet up over wkend. i yet to meet dreamz to collect my milkbags too =X

Ednique,

Take care of yourself. Just ask for more HL if you need more rest. NUH should be quite lenient to give HL.

For sterilizer, have to descale like every couple of wks. My hand-me-down pigeon sterilizer was super coated that i had to de-scale many times with lemon and water.

I heard some very good news today.

A good fren who underwent 6 cycles of IVF was juz confirmed to be preggie by the doc.

I am so happy for her, can almost cry!

yah exactly...we shld all be thankful for having a little one in our/ our wives' wombs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ednique,

Oh... must take care le. dun walk too much and slow down a bit. As for me, i didn't feel the pain now, cos i tink last time i really walk "too normal". Meaning = fast. My next appt is coming mon when i'm 32wk. I'm feeling great and my maternity shoot is on the same day too. Hee...

Scent,

Sorry I did see some changes but it will during weekends and while I'm at home...

sorry if I didn't reply as the spreadsheet is in office. I thought I would rem when i come back...

memory's falling, very sorry...

Aorry haven't refer to archive post, is your loc change from Jurong to Queenstown??

White lady,

Why do you not want to bf? Breastmilk is very good for bb.

Dreymin,

Your friend very brave to try 6x ivf.

Cannot catch up the posts...

yest was on leave... my gal had fever, keep hovering around 38 degree... luckily it subsides today...

I rem when i was having my #1, I'm the one who is still chasing for buses...

now #2 still can run abit but not always...

Breathing techniques is really no use suring delivery... but there's some use for hb.

my hb reminded me on the breathing, but even if he forgets... the mid-wife will tell u when to push also...

eeyore

So i should start learning how to breath ? so that it is useful for me while I'm waiting outside the delivery room.

ednique,

Pls take good care of yourself...

2 days ago I exp pain on my right pelvic but I thought that is because I walked too fast...

maybe too fast for preggies already... luckily it subsides...

I'm counting down to 8 weeks...

Ednique, take goodcare of yrself.. Bed rest will be e best..

Eeyore, u still can run? I was chasing e bus yesterday.. E bus stop at traffic light n I was walking fast like mad. When I got seated on e bus, I felt super uncomfortable in my tummy.. should have waited for e next bus?

MVH,

yes sometimes slow run but not to chase the bus...

like recently, slow run to carpark to pick up things and pass it to my gal in cc...

chase bus... will rather wait for next bus... as there's always bus coming, dun want to risk my life and dash across the road...

thanks all for your advices and concern.. i'm seeing my gynae again in 2 weeks time when im 34 weeks..

let us all take extra care of ourselves and rest well during this last trimester and hopefully everything goes well for everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bakaholic ,

cos my #1 , i breast feed for 1mth plus , then i got asthma , he also , haha , so my mum was telling me , #2 maybe no breast feed then no asthma ! haha ...

and i didnt latch on , i pump out one , i too lazy to latch on . and if breast feed , confirment like alot of food cant eat , very troublesome , haha

I didn't go for any classes during my #1. So i use my own method. Just to share my experience:

For the early stage, when waiting for dilate, it is very impt to stay relax. Once u r tense up, ur muscule tense up and the dilate time will be longer.

For me, i think of a place relaxing (e.g. a beach) and imagine u can hear the waves and feel the wind. The breathing method i use is to take a deep breath in and let out slowly in a count of 10 (through mouth or nose). It's a yoga type of breathing method.

Then during active stage (when dilate more than 6cm), i close eyes and focus on myself and baby. Continue the same breathing method. For me, i didn't really talk to my hubby. I talk to my baby. I tell him, u must be gd and mummy wan to see u soon. Every contraction, i tell myself, he is coming out so soon... I imagine his head moving lower and lower. Then also he is using his little hands to push and little legs kicking, like he is swimming. Jus use some imagination...

I only "blur out" during the last part of active labour, Transition (from 8cm to fully dilate). I dunno what is going on ard me. The pain jus take over all my senses...

Second stage of labour, when fully dilute, it's time to push! The nurse and teach how to breath. Only take in a deep breath when contraction is coming and let out with a strong push when the contraction comes. Dun waste energy by screaming, no use one.

I tink epidural-free labour need a lot of willpower and mindpower. But it is proven that women can do it!