(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahNah> a friend of mine used playpen for baby to sleep initially, also coz playpen is usually cheaper. but she told me in the end she got a baby cot still coz playpen is very unstable and not that safe, especially when the baby start to crawl or stand. the support also not good for baby to sleep for hours at night...

Hi mummies, I had fun during the dinner last Thu. Good to see the faces to the nicks!

i went to JB last Sat, it took us 2hrs to reach the shopping place, bad jam at immigration. Jusco has a sale and i got some decent baby rompers at RM4+-RM5+ each! If not for my hubby who kept chasing me to stop shopping, i would have bought more than 6-7 pieces of baby clothing.

I am very tempted to go there again, but so sian when i think of the traffic jam [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dreymin--> ya i saw some furniture shops also selling baby cot mattress..i have a cot given by my sup but she told me i need to get a new mattress coz she threw hers already..ur idea of putting the diaper mat around the butt area is really good! u meant to say the bumpers isit? the protection around the cot that one..

ediqnue, yah cot bumpers! it slipped my mind totally!

yup the diaper mat saved us from copious washing and of coz the smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahNah,

haha, r u sure? my hubby and i are thinking of gg there again. maybe 2-3 weeks from now if i m not too tired by then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahNah - maybe you wanna consider buying a bumper bed? I heard some mummies like it cos this mattress can put on the floor and has sides around it so baby won't roll off.... I saw this selling at places like Carrefour for $99....

The bumper bed looks something like this...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4045595.jpg]

haitang - did you order the Medela Freestyle fr the spree? Just wondering if you found her spree link in the forum....

re: Motherhood expo fair

You gals going without your hubbies? I'm intending to go on 3rd June too but I'm wondering if I will need to bring hubby there to carry all the stuffs...

ahnah,

if u are considering bb cot and bb bed, then u better get bb cot.

Cos sounds like bb bed is smaller leh then doesn't last long enough...

ann, the bed is cute leh... but doesn't last long too,

when they knows how to crawl or climb, they'll be out already... but i don't mind a day bed for the bb...

ahNah> wah, your vacuum cleaner can clean dust mite one, should be very ex leh. then the latex mattress should be small money liao mah.

dreymin> yaloh, this thread is on super express way one. today i very sian login all day in front of my comp, then can catch better... :p

haitang

That one my wife pay installment, technically she is the boss, I'm the worker. Yesterday tried and sweat until the floor wet by my perspiration

haitang, i tot agree with you, today everyone speeding!

ahNah,

what i did is use a cot and change to a mattress when baby can climb out of cot.

my boy now sleeps with us in the same room coz we hv a new maid.

i think the mattress saves space for us coz stackable and easier to clean.

ahNah - no, i never bought this cos I already have my big baby cot.... I read some mummies posting in the forum that they think this bumper bed v useful for baby to sleep at night, esp when the baby is > 6 mths old. I think the only problem is you need to bend down and up whenever need to put down or carry the baby off the bed cos the mattress is on the floor..... Can consider lar...

ahNah,

Banker? NEH....later he keep the $ for his own use kana charged....

cot better lah...can use up to 3yrs like that....at least like my boy's age now u can use that to lock him up....if those normal bed, he gets up n starts climbing dwn n running ard quite dangerous wor

the bed ann shows is cute and good if you put the baby to sleep with you on your mattress. else if placed on the floor, will be hard for us to carry the baby right since we have to bend/kneel down? especially after delivery back is a bit "weak"...

ann,

hahaha, i was thinking of first few months... I still remember during my gal time, I slept on the floor with her for the first few months as I need to feed her during the night until I finally put the cot into my bedroom then i transfer her to cot... first bb mah, dont bear to let her sleep by herself in her room...

eeyore - so your #1 sleep with you now? How are you planning to move her out? My #1 is sleeping on my bed now and only recently then she moved to her own IKEA kid bed but also still same room as me.... I'm wondering how to train her to totally move out to sleep on her own in another room cos was thinking her sleep might be disrupted when #2 is born.... So difficult to move them out to be independent at this age.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ahNah,

yah we use a cot then chg to mattress coz he tries to climb out ard 1yo+.

there r some cots which can convert into a bed. mine cannot convert, it was a gift from a fren.

ahnah> actualli depends on ur bb eh. u need get ur son well train to slp on bed. i had fren son slp on bb cot few mths only, then don like to slp on bb cot, end up slping on the floor mattress or with parents, sharing the same queen/king size bed. as for my collg, she gave me her playpen cos her daughter oso slp inside like a yr then sleep on floor mattress le. but so far her play pen she mention is stable. if u get new 1 oso stable. i oni worry bb cot cos of the bars.. if my bb gt those "lotus" legs or arms.. kanna stuck in between, jia lat..

playpen has addn adv cos when wife cooking, bb can sit inside play his/her toys w/o worry bb will climb over or wat.

u discuss w ur wife which she prefer cos mostly she will b taking care and to her convenience :D

ann,

hahaha, sadly to say yes she still sleeps with us, in bet me and hb...

she doesn't wants to move out although we keep sai go her, she still wants to stick to us...

ahNah> haha... she is the boss and you are the financial manager, to pay! :p

then buy the latex mattress and pay with installment loh.

cot vs bed... so confused already. the one i used and like is like the one eeyore posted in the pic. coz i find it value for money can use for longer time leh... i changed to a Ikea children bed for my #1 only when he turned 3 yrs old.

ann> ya i found the spree thanks. but i guess will still go for avent isis duo (the only thing i don't like is the wide-neck bottles and without battery operation). the lady orders the BP from mybreastpump.com, which the price is higher than amazon for the Avent i'm looking at leh. quite lazy so not yet placed any order. :p

eeyore> nolah, first few mths who will want to let the baby sleep alone one... i used the baby cot, put the mattress to the "highest" position, and next to my bed, so i can carry him anytime to breastfeed at night loh. till he was older he climbed up to help himself when he is hungry, or maybe i was too tired can't even remember if i have carried him to my side. haha...

Charmaine,

Dare not to share the brand here.

But after vacuum the mattress, kill the dust mite, clean the air con filter.. my nose is better .. sneeze less liao.

Dxxxxxx

I also scare .. so I start using lor..

Tonight going to use it as air purifier. Cause almost every mid night or morning I keep sneeze ..

some time even cause asthma attack.

anyone know got 3 in one ...can become a baby cot and play pen and bed can use until 4 to 5 year old hahaha.. cost abt $300.