(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahnah,

I also wanted to ask what's the diff from bed to cot??

Mine can convert into toddler bed as well... i think mine cost abt $200+

i try to find pix.

Ednique,

Kiddy palace members sale, i think is until mid of june...

hope everyone has a nice wkend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my hb's uncle cum godfather passed away yesterday in his sleep. my hb went to the wake, i din go becos both my mil & hb did not want me to. then when my fil knew abt this, he was upset with my hb cos he's more pantang. he scolded my hb & told him he shdnt have gone.

anyway, i think for relatives is ok bah. my hb is very close to his godfather so its not nice if he doesnt turn up. in fact, he'll be going again this evening & tmr morning.

actually, think may is a sad mth for us, we have 2 gd frens who lost their mom & dad respectively. these 2 wakes, neither of us went although we got give condolences $$.

btw, my c-sect date is pushed fwd to 15jul. so that means roughly 6wks left for me to go. in a panicky mode cos din realised its so soon & still alot of things unsettled. wish me luck lah...

haitang--> oh ya i heard abt that book too.. its very good.. i have the 'mother and baby' book but it doesnt have week by week updates of baby..just every 4 weeks updates.. would be great if u could share with us some weekly updates? if you free lah hehe.. ;)

ahnah--> both babycentre and whattoexpect also provide good info as well..u receiving the weekly updates from babycentre too?

ahnah--> thanks, yes i've got it installed in my phone.

eeyore_03--> thanks! then i must go and buy earlier before the sale ends [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel--> sorry to hear the sad news.. your c-sect date is pushed earlier! i can imagine ur panic i would too if i were u! but i hope everything will go on smoothly for u.. take care ya..

Charmaine> ok, 11am. when reach we call each other and probably can meet directly at the places to eat lah. since i am not sure if will be taking a cab, bus or hubby's car yet. i'm quite "lazy" to walk much already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angel,

Sorry to hear that.

By the way, how come your c-sect is pushed so early? Soon, you got to pack all your stuff for hospital stay.

ahNah> can't remember the brand of the cot liao, it was bought abt 4 years ago leh. but i guess not diff. to find one. just now someone mentioned abt cot bed? or you go to kiddy palace tell them you need something can convert to toddler bed later. mine is small enough to be pushed from room to room in the HDB flat.

ahNah> you mean the one abt Braxton Hicks? nope, copied from the book i have. there are more description there but i just extracted a small part lah. bought the book when i had #1, till now never finished reading. hehe... just read from index when necessary. :p

Ednique,

Hmm...i am not too sure which type of mattress is gd...but u can go there to take a look...they have different types of size too...mine i bought for $17 during baby fair...

Charmaine,

Think not able to join u all for early lunch as i can only leave the office at 12noon only...

ednique,

thanks, i'll be keeping my fingers crossed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheekrene,

thx! yeah, my c-sect date was pushed fwd fr 25jul (39th wks) to 15jul (37th wks). spoke to my gynae, he thinks its a gd idea to have the ops during my 37wks given that my bb is quite big & heavy in weight so 37wks is ideal.

ya, i was telling my hb we need to pack the hosptal bag in a few wks' time but we still have many bb items to buy lor...

charmaine,

thx! praying & hoping for the best too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ahnah> yeah after the church wedding then go unless got good goodies bag then maybe will consider getting up earlier to go.

ahNah,

I am going to put my bb in the cot right from beginning till he outgrows it. I want him to be independent so the cot will be in the next room.

Ednique,

I think latex mattress cost about $200+. I should be getting the foam type with holes which is cooler.

Kiddy palace discount do not apply to cot/stroller.

Hi Charmaine,

My playpen is bought during the Mar baby fair...the brand is Baby Farlin @ $98(which kiddy palace is selling @ $168 i think now)and mattress is $17...i think its really good deal and worth it lor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also bought huggies new born and S size to stock up as well during the last baby fair as it's cheaper....

Angel> take care. 6 weeks is pretty short... though i plan for natural birth, also dunno when the baby will "burst" out. very stressful too coz try to prepare most of the things asap. can't expect much help fr. hubby since he is busy.

Ednique> i would love to update whatever information i could. in fact today login to forum since woke up coz very sian, so many things to do and nothing much can be done as my chauffer is not free to bring me ard and i dun feel comfortable to take bus and walk too much. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ahNah> ya, those information mostly the same coz most pregnancies are similar mah, and due to the limited space available they can only publish the most common information that interest most loh.

mattress> if intend to get the latex one, get it during sales, i think kiddy palace sales should include the latex one. i used that for my #1 coz it is said to be more cooling and better support, but my #1 still sweat a lot while sleeping on the mattress, even with air-con on. didn't really measure the sweat amt and compared to normal foam mattress which comes free with the cot. :p

haitang,

thanks! yeah for mommies planning natural birth, its best to pack ur hospital bag approx. 1mth before ur EDD cos when the time does come, u wont be caught unprepared. in fact, when i browsed thru each mth mtb's threads, i see alot of mommies popping ard 2-3wks before EDD. so even though my c-sect is pretty early on 15jul, i may also not necessarily be the first among this thread to deliver lor.

i think 6wks really will fly by in a flash. especially with the world cup (i'm a fan), before i know it, i think my date is just round the corner. in fact, 4 days after the world cup finals. lol.

i think baby bed, baby cot and baby crib refers to the same thing.

- 2 Sizes of 28cm x 48cm or 28cm x 52 cm (mine is the bigger one)

- adjustable bed level of 2 or 3.

- With 1 drop side

- can be converted to toddlers bed

- sometimes can comes with 4 castors (meaning wheels)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4045176.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4045177.jpg]

accepted facebook request fr. eeyore and ah bee. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunfl@wer> noted on the BHG. i thought BHG is like Robinsons, you need to spend above certain amt then will send you promotion booklets and closed door sales info. :p ok, will subscribe to BHG newsletter later. thx for the update anyway. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel> which wk will you be on 15 Jul? how come pushed earlier? yaloh, 2 to 3 weeks early is pretty common. research also shown that (oops, sound like someone) 10% of pregnancies are going to deliver prematurely thus most airlines do not accept pregnant women after the 34th week.

ahNah> cot is nett price item? then probably you can try motherhood fair, maybe there is good promotion? so go to the fair earlier on Thurs or Fri, then if can't get what you want, can spend the weekend shopping elsewhere.

oh ya, regarding the Baby Hyperstore, i think read it earlier somewhere, got people commented their things are not cheap. i personally feel that depends on what you intend to get loh. some clearance model can get at good price. i got my #1 Maxi Cosi car seats and MaClaren stroller there, clearance model and display set, just a bit dusty, wash can already. quite good price (though forgot how much liao). :p

haitang,

i'll be ard 37wks + 4days on 15jul. initial c-sect date was ard my 39wks, hb & i are worried that bb may come out much earlier than this date so we discussed with gynae again. he looked at bb's weight & development & he thinks its ideal for bb to come out ard my 37wks too given that my bb has a gd weight now.

ednique > i got mine is w anti-dustmite mattress.. aa.. hw muz i 4get le.. haa need go hm chk the receipt. u can try take a look at bb fair.. maybe can get cheaper. I bought it at KP becos i cant find the right size for the play pen tt my collg gave us. She mentioned tt she bought her mattress at KP. I went last mth bb fair, supermarkets or even pasar malam, the size either too small or too big. so decided to go KP buy, easier.

thanks all for ur advices on the mattress..the latex one abit too ex for me.. so i think i will get the foam type then..

ah_bee--> is the anti dustmite mattress the foam type? or isit a padding-like cover for the mattress?

Someone posted on my fb

"Actually pretty much the same. But technically speaking - Baby Bed is the one that looks like a mini bed. Baby Cot is the one with the bars around it. Not a fan of the cot though, prefer to use the playpen as baby's sleeping area."

Any comments ?

ahNah,

coz u all saying kill spider, bb comes out spiderman etc mah...if i wan my bb to b president then wad shd i kill ley? heehee....get it?

bb cot n bb bed wad's the diff?

ahNah> yaloh good enough actually. that's why though i bought the book at home, most of the time i still read online. :p

Angel> my #1 popped out on 36wks2days. 37wks4days should be good loh. all the best. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ednique,

i got the mattress from a neighbour shop in toa payoh blk 177, not kiddy palace. it is definitely not latex as i heard it is very hot esp when baby is not sleeping in aircon. you nd to get the cot first and take the measurements as the cot size differs for brands.

it might be good to put a diaper mat on mattress around the butt area in case baby has accidents and diaper leaks. i cut the whole piece into 2 so it will not cover the baby whole's body and i have a spare as well.

aso the cot protectors may look v cute ( i forgot wat they are called, sorry!) i used to put them around the cot for #1, then i realised it was too stuffy inside and poor boy was sweating :p

charmaine

I got vacuum cleaner to clean the dust mite.. so this one no worry.

you mean latex cannot wash one har ? so you going to buy foam type as well ?