(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahnah

so u mean we have to avoid ev where that have reno works? cos the "gaurdian angel" is with us everywhere... not sure. but if can, try to avoid. but alot of tings are unavoidable.. try to dont loiter too near that area bah...

Can someone please enlighten how a pregnant woman can suffer a miscarriage (or stillbirth)just by being close to a drill work ? Believing something blindly is extremely dangerous. It is worrying that the education system is still producing such a generation.

haitang,

ok i will check out Amazon US as well. Funny how much the products are marked up so much here! The single Avent manual pump is RM330, my goodness. I will prob check out better deals here/US/UK and get for my cousin-in-law too, she's delivering in Oct!

eeyore,

it's gd if your gal is willing to pee in plastic bag. i think my son will refuse it, he is quite 'jie pi' one. he even refuses to pee in the pull-up pants that we put on for him. but i think his bladder control is quite powerful la, better than mine at least.

charmaine, sunflower,

i may join you guys for motherhood fair on thursday

wah! i see 'someone' talk until very chim... hmmm....

i'm going motherhood fair on thursday too!

eeyore,

i would also request to move further away from the reno site if possible. if anything, the dust, noise and loose stuff that may drop or coz you to trip over can be quite dangerous.

孕婦禁憂慮。人們相信母親的精神作用會影響胎兒的身心發展,因此孕婦如果整日愁眉苦臉或心神不寧,則將來所生的子女也必定眉目緊蹙,會有勞碌苦悶的命運。

ahNah> luckily i'm not a crocs fan. :p

ya, 胎神 is believed to protect the baby. though it's a myth, in fact many of those can be explained by science nowadays. when i had my #1, we bought our flat and renovated. every night after work we visited the flat to check out the renovation. before i did that i check out, even motherhood magazine and bbcentre also advise, the reason to avoid mainly coz the site will not only be messy and dangerous for preggies to walk ard, but also noisy to affect the mood of baby (that's why we are advised to play soothing music for babies). we shifted in to our flat during my 3rd trimester. probably that led to my #1 born at 36wk? who knows.

as for sewing on bed, my aunt did that when she had #2. her #2 was born with cleft lips. but later i read abt lacking or excess of one vitamin in the 1st trimester (can't remember which one exactly) actually lead to cleft lips, i asked her and she admitted that. she said she did the sewing also 1st trimester. no one can prove which is the actual reason loh, but yes, no harm to avoid if we are not sure, right? who want to risk on our beloved baby? we are all RESPONSIBLE mommies and daddies...

Heard real stories. Eg. my Mum told me that she had nail a hook on the wall to hang things during preggie so my Sis born with a one ear not in nice shape. Also heard she told me someone painted the wall during preggie and BB come out with a very black birth mark.

Old ppl 吃盐比我们吃米多. Better to believe then sorry.

孕婦不能隨意更動居家環境甚至搬家,否則易傷害胎兒?

古代說法:

古老的想法非常尊敬鬼神,所以認為胎神進駐後,孕婦就不宜隨便搬家、更動居家環境,以免驚動胎神,影響胎兒。

現代觀點:

這個禁忌主要是與動到胎神有關,因為胎神每天都在不同的方位,如果隨便搬家,容易影響胎兒。因為搬家時多少會要整理東西,搬重一點的家具等等,對於孕婦來說,發生意外的機會的確比較高一些,不過這些工作建議還是找家人或者專業的搬家公司來代勞。

不過,若是孕婦真的有這個需要搬家時,該怎麼辦呢?建議初期最好不要搬家,如果有搬家的必要,為求安心,可依生辰八字對照黃曆擇日,挑選一個合適的日子搬家。

古代說法:

孕婦家中隨意施工、更動擺設,會影響到胎神,導致流產的危險。

現代觀點:

居家施工時,孕婦難免需要搬重物,這可能會造成下腹部用力、子宮肌肉收縮,若不小心碰撞到腹部,還可能導致出血或胎盤早離剝離,這論調與古人建議孕期不宜搬移住所的道理相同。

所以若是非必要,孕婦還是儘量以「休養生息」為主,若碰到比較勞累的工作時,如搬移粗重的東西,還是最好請他人代勞,或者改到生產後再進行吧!

Although only 27 to 30 weeks, the fetus' ear is mature enough to start to respond to sound waves vibrations filtered thru your tissues they are muffled — his ear canals are filled with amniotic fluid and thus the ear drums cannot work as intended- sound amplification.  So even sounds that are quite loud to you won't be for the fetus. You have to be standing next to a working jackhammer for 8 hours to cause any problem to the fetus.

Motherhood fair on 3rd June

- Charmaine

- Haitang

- Cheekrene

- dsqyvonne

- saffy

- xuanx

- sunflower (tentatively)

Actually for myself I don't really believe in old traditions, but I think everyone should be entitled to their own beliefs and their views should be respected. It is incredibly rude and offensive to call others 'ignorant' when their views are different from yours.

bakaholic,

I am in the talk tomorrow night..

See if I can share anything with you if you not going?

Sorry saffy and xuanx,

I mean PM me.. hee hee

Kate,

I just wonder how old are you and which educational system you are in that is different from the rest of us?

mvh> me at TMC. i heard oni Mt A provide free bath tub.. so i buy lor.. haa..

ahnah> i might b gg on sat or sunday noon cos my hb wrkg till 2pm. but if can, i will try go on friday, less crowded cos i don like to squeeze, esp preggy mums like us..

Oh Kate,

My prental class share with us a different theory.

She asked us not to put earpiece to the tummy cause sounds are amplified in fluids.. so the bb/foetus is greatly annoyed if there are loud sounds.

Are you so sure about the theory you shared?

I see something that is very eye-sore to me. Sound so unfriendly.

Charmaine,

yes I am going on this thursday around 2pm. i need 1 hour to travel from jurong to reach expo =D

haitang and sunflower,

I did see the medela freestyle at $578 but the link you gave did not have. Maybe you can go there and check it out.

bakaholic,

I am going for tmc doctor talk at SCGS tomorrow. Heard there is nothing much to listen.

saffy> ya, some items are more expensive in Malaysia than in SG. guess again due to market demand and supply that affect the price. Amazon is selling Avent IQ Isis Duo at only $213 (promotion now) before shipping. my ex-colleague bought from Amazon before via vpost too and she told me she paid ard S$400 including shipping.

you are right. even if we don't believe or can't find a scientific way to explain it, we should respect too what other people believe. just like respect to all religions...

ahnah,

not u la...

this lady, kate seem to type many sentences which make me so blur. she is so much different from other MTBs.

sunflower, edquine and suika: i only start to feel tighten of tummy when i hit 30 week leh... last thur, i got gastric flu + the tighten of tummy. make me feel like gg for labour lolz.. very scary...

gastic flu make my tummy uncomfortable... hubby almost send me to KKH...

saffy,

u can type from ur pc.. u just need to go.

control panel > language and regional options > text services and input languages

over there , u can add chinese (PRC), then select chinese simplified in different hanyu pinyin.

then u would have the option to switch between english and chinese at the bottom taskbar..

ahNah> your Chinese fonts are in traditional chinese leh... hehe... no need to talk abt traditional belief to those researchers who drinks western salt water one lah. waste time. :p

Jascmy> other than the cleft lips that my aunt experienced, my mil told me another story. she said her aunt last time stayed in kampong, beat the monkey when she was pregnant, then the baby born and looks like monkey. my hubby immediately told her we cannot kill mosquitoes during pregnancy, else my baby will be like mosquitoes...

saffy & eeyore,

rem that day when we met for dinner....the story where i shared on how my boy fussed 1 nite....i oso dun believed such things but when things happened before ur eyes there's nothing u can say lor

eeyore,

dun tok abt the myths lah....normal ppl would oso stay away from reno sites lor...accidents can happen anytime....so for ur own safety pls stay clear lah

charmaine, i got my rubber mat in one of the wet market stall in yishun that sells baby stuff.. I think u can get it from kiddy palace too. When my #1 get bigger, i bought a bigger bath tub for her from kiddy palace. It comes with a in-built rubber mat and a net for infant.

haitang, i search google, if happen to Copy from Taiwan then will be Trad Chinese fonts, if China then will be simplified Chinese fonts.

Lucky I didn't copy and paste 文言文。。 it is even more complicated.

jascmy, y cannot kill ants? I kill ants every day leh.. coz ants like to visit my kitchen sink n rubbish bin.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haitang

Yesterday when cleaning the house, i vacuum a lot of spider and their web.. So means...

my boy going to be a spiderboy and going to be a spiderman in future...

hurray ! ! !

Sunfl@wer> i didn't find any order for Avent in motherhood spree leh. it seems that Medela is more popular. so plan to get directly from Amazon though never tried before.

ahNah> the shipping overseas directly is very ex. but my friend that if you order via vpost, which Amazon will mail to a vpost US address (usually free local shipping) then vpost consolidate order and mail to SG, the shipping can be much cheaper. my friend said for her Avent BP last time she paid less than S$100 for shipping leh.

suika, my mother also always asked me not to touch kids or Bbs. She also say the same to me for both my niece and nephew. Cos preggie ppl will scared the kids.

But my sister and I don believe cos my niece and nephew are consider my Bb's brother and sister. Remember I always bring my niece hands to touch my tummy and ask whether mei mei or di di (b4 detailed scan). One day she finally told me "Di di" and that nite she wake up in midnite crying loudly and refuse to stop and go back to sleep.

My Mum scolded me and my sister won't allow me to touch them anymore from that day onwards.

wah, ahNah, cannot understand you liao. what structure not as straight as you? yaya... spiderman, then you don't need to stay in flat liao, next time stay in the web your boy weaves.

haitang, anyway i give up amazon... too exp for me.

i'm referring to my wife body structure not as straight as me.

She consume .. will kana stuck worse than CTE.

My body system is like KPE, smooth flow one... eat wat come out wat, and very fast some more.

Talk abt this .. i go toilet liao.