(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

dreymin

izzit~? got charge additional for PH? i didnt know tat leh... We'll see if we can meet in the wards. haha..

dreymin,

mine is elective c-sect too but my date is on a sun leh. woody says no prob but dun know abt TMC leh. so the ops can only be done on a tues or fri??

purelyz,

thanks for the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel,

are u giving birth in TMC as well? tat is what i heard from my doc/clinic, she said only tue or fri leh.

ahNah,

wah maybe u r rite, could be double the sum... i thot i heard 50% more which is stl a lot.

wahh..so exp to give birth on PH ah.. den i tink i must tell bb to come out before or after PH.. but i tot we can get some priority for giving birth on NATIONAL DAY??

dreymin,

yes, i'm with TMC too. hmmm that's strange, how come woody never say anything?!

alibaba, ya, I also tot they will give you free gifts if Bb born on National Day.

I telling my Bb to come out on National Day loh.

i tot not only free goodies, but got money to take for national day leh..provided its natural or induced lar..

oh ya , and for those who sign up for the SBI card from TMC , the 3 books u all collected ? been months liao lor ! think give birth lio, the book also OOS still , lousy

nekowong> late morning to early afternoon is confirmed at bedok north.

angel & white lady,

hmm dunno leh that is what my gynae told me. maybe they have a schedule for diff docs?

sunflower/jascmy,

provided yours is the No.1 baby born on the dot of 12:01am! haha!

whitelady,

yah i got the SBI card but i hv not collected the books yet coz my appt at TMC nt due yet; aso i hv one set from FBI already.

i intend to pass the new set to my SIL who is aso preggie.

today super no mood to work. we had a company event till 2plus and we were not given an early release [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ahNah,

sure a not? Or joking only? I tot it's standard price thro out the yr? Last time my #1 EDD is a few days before CNY, my gynae at GlenE also didn't say will charge more if give birth early on CNY. He jus joke if i get bonus for CNY bb, must treat him a drink. Hee...

purelyz

that is wat our gynae said so, unless he is joking. He said the double charge is not him, is the hosp labour cost.

Angel; i'm abit worried.. i scare my bb gal same as urs then i stress liao, need to go for c-section... haiz... will see the next checkup hw many kg have she gain...

eveyone comment my tummy is big like gg to deliver soon...

wah, din know gif birth on national day also so exp de...*phew* then better dun gif birth that day...

dreymin,

for national day 12am baby, will be given $8888

but i heard other babies on the same day will also get some money..duno how true.

ahNah,

i guess if u opt for c-sect bah. Natural birth, nothing u can stop bb from coming mah.

sunflower,

i tink if got other bb arrive abt the same timing, the bonus will be shared. The bonus is to be used for bb education only. Not cash... But i tink can get gifts from sponsors like diapers. I do a bit of read up last time, cos my #1 EDD is so close to CNY.

purelyz,

we even ask him can we select any day for c-sect or not 'cause we want bb to have a good ba zi.

but in the end, both ba zi master and gynae say "let nature takes it course" maybe they are trying to indicate that ever we choose a good date/time to give birth, we might not be able to wait until that accurate timing.

alibaba, modern montessori is the other side of the MRT.. not very good leh.. from what i see from my niece who attends there, din really learn much.. maybe she is lazy la.. i dunno.. no homework, din bring back any books or assignments.. she is K1, btw..

Pampers

Thumbs up for the green type (active baby) I have been using that for my #1 since she is NB. It is softer than huggies/mummy poko. the orange color type (pampers comfort) is not very good coz the tape is plastic and cause rashes to my gal's tummy area.. same as drypers also plastic tape type.. 2 for $20 is cheap.. wondering my hubby willing to drive me there n buy or not.. but getting M for #2 seems a bit too KS?

white lady,

I have yet gotta my books too... that time (ard Apr) they said the new issue will be out in May. So I hope it will be available when I go for my next appt in mid-June.

By the way, I think the books have to be collected at different stages of your pregnancy. Childbirth is before you gave birth and the other 2 probably aft birth (can't remember the details, its stated at the back of the voucher).

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

purelyz,

oh i see..

suika,

got leh..last yr national day..the news showed, they have $8888 for those borned at 12am sharp.

Is it 12.01am or 12am sharp?? Hehee.. will tell Bb to come out on National Day 12.01am sharp. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

what?? if give birth on national day is 50% extra or double the charge?? Sheesh. My EDD is 9 Aug leh............................ my gynae never warn me of the add'l charges if I give birth exactly on my EDD........ and I'm at Mt E......... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sorry to spam the thread

hi mummies, anyone know of any car pool arrangment or chartered bus service from bukit panjang to nus for staff. please pm me. thank u

suika> it's an old chinese medicine shop, which my parents in law has been visiting since 20 years ago... in chinatown, dunno how to tell the address leh.

1k+? hm... even $250 is the special price for my mother in law, also can't be that much difference bah...

my mil's point is, eating own placenta is not as disgusting as eating other's placenta, so is fine. but i still feel yaks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

alibaba, white_lady> my #1 i also got free upgrade from 4-bedded to 2-bedded, so this round also booked 4-bedded, and hope still can get the free upgrade. hehe... anyway, even if no free upgrade, last minute can still change to 2-bedded. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also cannot sleep with any noise, so for sure i will bring along my ear plugs to the hospital!

Sunfl@wer> actually hor, we feel hot especially in the last trimester coz the baby in our tummy also generate heat. so after give birth, without the little heat generator, usually the mother will feel weaker and colder too. that's why we are supposed to take all the "bu" during confinement mah. but i think it subject to individual loh. like my #1 time, in my 2nd week of confinement i already felt "heaty" and cannot take those "bu" my MIL planned for me liao. i even had to see my chinese sinseh to take some herbs to "adjust" my heatiness.

ann> got additional charges meh? my #1 was delivered on 8 Aug, i remember 9 Aug was very busy at the hospital, and the nurse told me many people chose to have c-section on that day leh. so couldn't believe it's extra charges. unless the hospital learnt fr experience and started to raise charge this year... :p

dreymin, anNah> as far as i know, tea drinking is not advised during pregnancy is not only for the caffeine but also the tannis that it contains. caffeine's effect is clearly indicated in the article dreymin posted, but tannis will affect the absorption of iron and calcium, by binding with them. articles could be found easily online, and here is one of those i have read. just for your reading pleasure. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.veetea.com/site/articles/Tea-and-Iron

alibaba> i opted to full-breastfeed my #1 but guess since he was born abt 36 wks, so having problem to latch well. supplemented with formula until he was i think 3 mths old then fully on breastmilk...

MVH> yaloh, they only promo for M & L, that's what i think too, a bit too early for #2... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

baby's weight

ya, i think sugar intake definitely contribute to the baby's weight. a friend's baby's weight increase a lot suddenly simply after she ate durian, which is high in sugar.

caffeine:

what i read abt caffeine is that it acts as a diuretic. but who knows maybe taking a little is good to help to reduce our water retention at this stage? hehe...

Caffeine comes from many sources many in natural forms. Here is another "for your reading pleasure" post

Consuming caffeine at any time during pregnancy is associated with an increased risk of fetal growth restriction (low birth weight), according to research published on today.

Although some previous studies have also shown this, this BMJ study additionally shows that any amount and type of caffeine intake-from tea, cola, chocolate, cocoa, and some prescription drugs, as well as coffee-is linked with relatively slower fetal growth. 

Dr Justin Konje and colleagues from the University of Leicester as well as collaborators from the University of Leeds, examined the association of maternal caffeine intake and individual caffeine metabolism on birth weight. 

From two large teaching hospitals in the UK between September 2003 and June 2006 the authors recruited 2645 low risk pregnant women of average age 30, who were between 8-12 weeks pregnant. They used a caffeine assessment tool (CAT) to record caffeine intake from all possible dietary sources in the four weeks before and throughout pregnancy, and also used a saliva sample test to calculate individual caffeine metabolism. 

The researchers report that the average caffeine intake during pregnancy was 159mg/day, much lower than the limit of 300mg/day recommended by the UK government's Food Standards Agency. Interestingly, 62% of the caffeine use reported came from tea. Other sources were coffee (14%), cola (12%), chocolate (8%), and soft drinks (2%).

Most of the babies were born at full term, with an average birth weight of 3450g (which is around the UK average), while 4% were born prematurely, 0.3% were stillborn, and 0.7% were miscarried late. Overall, the results confirmed that these were low risk pregnancies. However, the authors found a 'dose-response relationship', showing that increasing caffeine intake was associated with increasing risk of fetal growth restriction (FGR). 

Compared to pregnant women consuming less than 100mg/day (the equivalent of less than one cup of coffee), the risk estimates of having a lower birth weight baby increased by 20% for intakes of 100-199mg/day, by 50% for those taking between 200-299mg/day, and by 40% for over 300mg/day. 

There was no level of caffeine intake at which the increased risk of FGR stopped increasing during pregnancy. Caffeine consumption of more than 100mg/day, the equivalent of one cup of coffee, was associated with a reduction in birth weight of 34-59g in the first, 24-74g in the second, and about 66-89g in the third trimesters. This effect was significant and consistent across all trimesters with consumption of over 200mg/day. The authors also noted that the link between caffeine and FGR was stronger in women who metabolised caffeine more quickly. 

The authors explain that, although these reductions in birth weight may seem small given that the average birth weight is over 3kg, a drop of 60-70 g might be important for a baby that was already small and at risk. Pregnant women should make every effort to significantly reduce their caffeine consumption before and during pregnancy, they warn. 

In light of this evidence, the UK Government's Food Standards Agency are altering their guidance on the recommended daily limit of caffeine consumption and reducing it from 300mg to 200mg. 

These findings will reinforce the concern that caffeine is a potential fetotoxic substance, say Professor Jørn Olsen and Professor Bodil Hammer Bech, in an accompanying editorial. But the advice offered by the authors could unnecessarily frighten women who have consumed some caffeine during pregnancy. 

Pregnant women should reduce their intake of caffeine, but must not replace it with unhealthy alternatives such as alcoholic drinks or soft drinks full of sugar, they add. 

It's sad that mothers are willing to put their fetus at risk just to satisfy their cravings and rely on google and current research findings. Every year new research findings debunk previous findings. But I guess not everyone is smart enough to know these facts.

oh man.. mine edd oso 9 aug ley.. tink i need tell bb come out earlier to avoid "baby jam" tt day.. wonder when i deliver will i get to c u all nxt to bed.. haa..

I din slp well last nite again~ i even dreamt of work related in my dream.. haiz~ i tink im sux at stress management.. but i tot i so call "hand-over" my work to my collg le.. i shld b relaxing.. tinking shld i take early leave off my work or not..