(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

MVH, teach me how to massage? i wanna learn that. as soon as gynae told me my bb size ok liao, say maybe above 2.5 kg? then i start my massaging?

use warm water? or wat? for how long?

Charmaine,

yes I probably get from Mums2Kidz website, u ordering yourself?? or u want me to order for u??

recomendation only huh... to order it yourself so that item can be send to u...

wah, busy at work, haven't been in for 1 week and so many posts to catch up...

ahNah >> can i still request for a CD too if possible ? If not its' ok.

MVH >> yeah do share how to massage. i am also thinking of full BF, and latch on, so dun know if still need to buy breast pump. But scared that no milk, waste money to buy breast pump and milk storage bottles.

Any experience mums can share is it necessary to buy breast pump & milk storage bottles now, or only during confinement see if got milk first then ask hubby to buy.

ah Nah,

thanks ! i can meet u tomorrow night. Let me know where is convenient for you. I stay at the Coris...can meet u either at Sengkang / Buangkok MRT / Varinice ;)

hi hi, anyone knows where to buy Carter Bibs are a cheaper price?

it has a inner waterproof layer right? is it better to get such bibs? how many bibs u ladies intending to get? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

June,

That time i bought it for 3 for $10 at the recent baby fair in expo. Otherwise, if you search through the threads, there are some ppl selling at $3-4 per bib.

QQ,

I aos KS like you, i bought a lot of diaper cloth for #1. I also bought those from TMC Parentcraft; towel and wrap cloth. All very good quality; i stl using for #1.

MVH,

Yes I know; i was very hestitate to use FM, in fact quarrel with my hubby over this, haha! But no choice when the PD said baby jaundice still very high so we used FM for 2-3 days while the jaudice subsided. I think what is impt is keep an open mind and listen to the pd's advice what is good for the baby.

Hey your method is very interesting; i will try to stimulate closer to delivery date. I know first 2-3 days no milk usually and baby feeds on colostrum.

June,

I use a combo of both both cloth and waterproof bib. I find the waterproof ones work better as my son grows older.

Try to get those with a larger neck size or using string to tie together instead of the velcro.

As the baby grows, the fasterner for bib may be too tight.

Cloth: can absorb milk more easily but may stain the top

Waterproof: I usu get those with a pocket below to 'collect' any food

Hi all, actually not sure whether massage is useful for everyone or not. My fren told me this method, I tried n work for #1, hope it works for #2 too..

E same method as checking for lumps in breasts. Clockwise massage from outer of breasts n slowly move to e inner of breasts till reach nipple. Then use thumb n finger to squeeze e nipple gentlely 3 times, change angle of fingers each time. I also scared early labour, so I only massage once a day..

My #1 comes out on 39 weeks though gynae wrote 38+ on her health booklet.. Dunno y..

Some jaundice r breastfeeding jaundice.. Some r not.. So really have to depend on circumstances.. In any case, continue to express milk if advise not to feed baby.. Can store n feed later, most imptly to stimulate milk supply.. My CL also mention that BFing mums should eat too much tonics during confinement coz baby gets jaundice easily.. In fact, for my #1 I only get to drink those tonics soup with boiled alcohol after 2 weeks of my delivery...

Hi Dreymin, thanks for your link [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way, anyone intend to buy the LG or Parklon playmat?

What is the difference between the 2 ah?

is LG or Parklon brand better?

MVH,

I didnt eat much tonic in the beginning of confinement as advised by CL, but stl the baby jaundice level didnt go down. Oh well, it was just 2-3 days before we switched back to TBF, so it was not so bad.

June,

I didnt get LG or Parklon playmat coz i find they are really expensive! My fren passed down the ABC mat but i find the pieces really small and very hard to clean, dry and assemble. So we got 2 sets of larger piece 6-pc mat from Carrefour or Giant; my maid wash and dry them every week. They come in solid colours, the nett floor space covered is same as ABC mat.

QQ > i just change it to clueless bbhopes2009.. can call me clueless becos i am quite blurz .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]yeah i didn't know how it was then register already then found out that bbhopes2009 was my username :p

karen > i initially tot like u , what if i don't have milk, if buy now wasted but decided to get one as well. As many mid wife and aunties say, usually first few days after birth, would have little for some people but doesn't mean the mother no milk. U need to know how to stimulate for the BM to flow and u also need to eat the right things and u must let ur baby latch to simulate and if bb don't do it well, there is massage methods to do so. In summary they say very seldom ppl won't have just that some mothers give up easily ... so it depends on how u think.

if u know which model u want, then after 2 weeks of giving birth u know wheer u got milk or not, then get ur hubby to buy but then he would have to get from departmental store and see ur luck got discount or not

I jus got the medela freestyle pump for $470 (no warranty) from online spree, if i get from departmental store it is $800 (afer discount) and if no discount, its $1000 market price. so its really up to ur choice. my choice was to get the pumps so by i deliver i don't have to worry about it hahaha and if really bad luck after 1 month also no BM then sell it off 2nd hand. *thats my logic* [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share =)

Ohh in the market, got a range of BP. I got the high end on from the brand "medela" , got $300, $500 also. One model is City something one model is Pump in Style - cheaper than freestyle.

Avent pumps also got a few ranges

this morning i had quite bad tummyache so went to poo....didnt feel constipated...but after that i experienced menstrual-like cramps for 30mins....cos first time mum so i was monitoring...don know is it contractions or cramps lor....but it went off 30 mins as suddenly as it came...has anyone experienced this before?

Had my gynae check-up yesterday. I put on 1.6kg in 4 wks, greatly reduced from my previous 2.7kg in 3 wks. BB girl weighs 818g for 25wks 5 days. Happy to know she is growing well. =)

I had difficulty sleeping on my sides and asked my gyane about it. She suggests hugging one adult size pillow for arms and one for the legs. As the pillow has a bigger width than normal bolster, it will provide better comfort.

Also asked about my increased loud breathing when sleeping at night. She mentioned that it is normal due to the nose being swollen. But forgot to ask her how to reduce it. haha~

June,

I am most likely getting the LG playmat. Still waiting for the stock of the design I like. =)

ahNah >> OK see you tomorrow night. I PM you my contact number. You can sms me the time you will be there.

clueless >> ok, thanks for the info. I am thinking to buy now, cos of the GSS cos don't want to last min ask my hubby to buy. He sure not happy... sigh

June >> I also saw some playmats at Mini Toons. I was actually thinking of buying that. Not sure about LG or Parklon. Maybe you can go and check it out.

To all mummies >> I found a good website to share, this is a free online magazine, u can go read some of the articles. can save $$ to buy magazine. ;)

http://todaysmotherhood.com/current

ladies > have anyone started to buy "maternity pads"? supermarket has them ? if so what brand u ladies get? today went to my anetanal class and the teacher mention it...

hi hi , thanks for the reply. I think i also getting LG/Parklon mats.. they look so cute also.. hehe

anyone knows if Carter / Gerber hanky is better?

which is more absorbent ah?

anyone bought or heard of this brand of hanky called Querida?

Hi clueless, kiddypalace sells maternity pads.

I got my M size Parklon mat from Smallsmallworldwhen it is having promotion before the last bb fair at expo in Apr..

As it has double sided print.. I think it is better than the one at mini-toons which is also not cheap.

look out for promotions.

Small small world and World of korea both have updates on singaporemother

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3718497.html?1272931483

SSW should be uploading new post soon.

i also bought the playmat from small small world. Material was good and it's non toxic. And yes, it's printed different pictures on both side of the playmat. It was well-recommended by my colleagues.

Clueless,

you can buy kotex brand at supermarket. You don't need to spend much on maternity pads. Even normal long pads also can be used.

Hi Charmaine, how much did you buy the mat for?

Promotion price was how much cheaper than the original price?

double print on both sides means both sides can be used for baby to play on it?

as in both sides are cushioned?

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow...the thread moves so fast!;)

anyone knows when the robinson sales ends?

So the meeting on 27may is confirmed ya?

hmm will be there punctual this time ;p...cos needs to leave early like 9am...

Re: LG/Parklon Mats

Really must recommend, dont compare it to Mini toons mat.

LG Mats are like memory foam matteress, they are smoother, non-toxic, and printed on both sides...

so alternatively u can switched sidees for kids to learn.

Can be used as changing mat for kids also, which i do so occasionally.

They are smoother so stains are easily cleaned off.

I heard complains on Mini toons mat, they are rough so if accidentally slid your hands on the mat, might even cut your hand, so not safe for kids.

Mini toons are really

For your info, our baby had been active kicking not only 4pm, 8pm and 10pm. Now he also actively kicking from 3am to 7 am ... even when listening to the Abbott CD .. he also doesn't want to sleep.

Anyone has such experience ?

ahNah,

Baby kicking is good sign.

Mine sometimes do not want to move during the day and it freaks me out..

Usually mine moves in early morning and before i sleep. Daytime i too busy to notice.

Pekkle,

If you are concerned, just call your doc.

I am having a pulling pain on the left side since yday. Rang up gynae this morning and he said to see him cos very hard to tell over the phone.

ahNah,

Sometimes my gal also kicks me in the middle of the nite.. especially when I change sides.. actually I just take it that baby also flip here n there even when they sleep.. so got movements is definitely better than no movements..

ahnah> ur bb kick u cant slp? so sweet of u..

my bb is getting super active these few days, few nights and morning. she like don need to slp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] previously, she oni active @ nite.. b4 i slp.. ard 6-10pm.. but nw even 3am she still moving ard.. causing me insomnia too. do u gurls feel tt too?

but i nebe wake my hb up in the middle of the night.. juz keep "patting" my bb or sayang her, hoping she can sleep :D haa

Re: LG Mat

I saw it during the last bb fair at expo.. but din go look into the price.. WOW so ex sia.. maybe can wait till June bb fair see gt sell cheaper or not.

Any1 buying the plastic bib? im thinking getting 1 too.. if have, can i join the spree? TQ[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yalor , active is good.. but maybe just 1 or 2 days..once he is tired, he will go back to slp, then whole day wont be kicking u..

gd morning mummies! i will MIA for a few days, going to chalet and chill out with hubby/son and a couple of frens.

sunflower,

yah the hanky is quite good and soft, unlike those u find in the mkt which can be quite harsh to baby skin. i use them all the time to wipe his mouth, scrub his body while bathing, clean his face and etc. I think i got at least 3 packs of that, maybe need to buy more since no.2 coming.

ah_beee,

she kick her mama, her mama will turn around and change position to sleep, then papa kana wake up by the turn.