(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

charmaine,

i wl not buy those jumpers which restrict the baby's movements. if u nd to, you can always add on mittens to prevent them from scratching their face. usu i use the wrapping cloth to mummify my baby. i only use jacket when i bring baby out.

angel

depends.. my #1 got sensitive skin..some wipes not suitable... when poo poo, we resorted to use cotton wool & clear water... or wet hankie to clean his bum bum... til now we still practising that.. wipes only wipe away the poo poo, later still use wet hankie or cotton to clean his bum bum.. so #1 save me from using alot wipes... now the most using it for outside use.. clear high chair.. table... those that my boy is contactable..

alibaba,

oic. okie, will monitor if my bb have sensitive skin first. not sure if this is genetic but both my hb & i have sensitive skins too.

alibaba,

I think u can find cheap 2nd hand steriliser from the forum here... I just bought an almost new avent steriliser for $50 from another mummy.

Angel,

Pigeon has the standard slim bottle and wide-neck bottle. The teats for Pigeon wide neck bottle can fit into Avent bottles, so can use interchangeably. NUK also got the wide-neck bottles but I dunno if Pigeon / Avent teats can use on those bottles... I don't use NUK so can't comment.

dreymin,

I am hoping that my milk can come in fast this time round so I need not need to rely on FM... I must rem to eat more fish during 3rd trimester...

hope so not.. my boy not suitable to those baby bathe shampoo.. we used soap only... Hence, i tink we shldnt stock up too much. until ur finalise a brand that is suitable for ur baby..

ann,

oh dear, i believe my pigeon bottles are narrow neck types. din think too much when buying. sigh...

ann

i tink i'll stick to the traditional method for the time being.... make sure my maid find it's a hassle.. den when i buy a sterliser so she will probably take care of it.. i duno why pple tends to take for granted when the tings are not theirs.. esp the maids..

alibaba,

i also use the same method as you. only clear water and tissue papers to clean the bum at home, we buy the better quality ones (ntuc is good enuff) coz if not the paper will tear into small pieces when wet.

ann,

yes fish soup with green papaya is v good, i drank tat almost everyday for a long while. my milk kicked in around day 4, i rem coz i was gg to be discharged from hosp that day after staying one extra day for baby's juandice.

i carried my baby from bedroom to parentcraft coz suffering from engorgement and i needed help from lactation nurse. i got a scolding coz v dangerous to carry baby after the op, i might drop the baby.

charmaine,

the normal romper/jumper is fine; as long as not cover hands and legs type. seperates are also good coz smtm baby poo or wet the bottom, u only need to change the pants.

charmaine,

the other thing u shld avoid is buy those rompers with ribbons instead of buttons... very troublesome to tie the ribbons!

hi all, if anyone of u have tummy pains or feel vry uncomfy when lying on ur side, try to sleep with a small pillow or cushion supporting ur abdomen. i tried it last night n i could sleep through n when woke up, my tummy pain n pelvis pains very much reduced. also its gd to put a pillow in between ur legs when ure sleeping on ur side to reduce back pains

ednique,

yes, i heard this method really works. i havent try that myself as i'm still sleeping okie.

i agree with alibaba.

for newborn, better dont stock up anything in case they dont like...

like teats, some might prefer those rubber type rather than silicon...

so conclusion until u finalise then ask hubby to buy it during your confinement if really in need.

for my gal i ever switch to sebamed, really exp shower foam but no choice as she got rashes on her stomach area.

my Pigeon sterilizer really in good use... I'm still using it everyday...

bakaholic,

not really like fluttering... something like for air release like that... there will be interval after each buzzing... and can continue for a while...

dreymin,

I'm craving for that hotpot too! been pestering my hubby to bring me there...

Re Maternity Leave

Think I will only be taking mid-Aug. Will be taking 3 months as I need to handle a new project launching in early 2011. =(

Re Fruits

I read that taking apple, especially with the skin, is good for bb. But must wash the apple well. I'm taking about 4 per week. Am also taking papaya and honey dew once or twice a month. Totally skip banana cuz my mummy say not good to take.

Re Tummy Size

Quite a few pple comment that my tummy is small too! I don't look like I'm 6.5 months lor! More like 4-5months only! My MIL said that mine is a bit low...

Re Full Month Celebration

Hubby and I are thinking of doing outside so we don't have to clean up the house after that! hehe~ lazy of us lar... Now looking around for a good & convenient location...

Only left like 14 weeks more to delivery, some of you even shorter... getting more and more excited! Frankly speaking, I'm don't ready yet!

Having my gynae check-up tml... hope everything is okay...

Angel,

1st time mummy is like dat... I still have those Pigeon slim glass milk bottles and other brand bottles/ teats that I wrongly bought.. kept for 5 years already and dunno what to do with it... Thankfully, all these things are cheap...

Starz: Update us after your gynae check-up[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Does honeydew help with BM supply too? I dun like papaya...

angel,

i only use the bb wipes for bb bottom and for now is the high chair and ntuc trolley. I brought another wipes jus for mouth and hand, safe for bb. As my boy tend to stuff the wipes inside his mouth and say he wan to bite. Very naughty!

I didn't really see other brands, u can go check it out.

There are shops selling hankies, towels for bb. i also brought my open front pajamas, disposable panties from people park complex. Can find quite a lot of things there at a lower price.

charmaine,

i got buy rompers and 2 pcs ones. I agree that u can change pants or top if only dirty one. The older pp will ask to buy ribbons ones, but i also dun like. Very troublesome.

ednique,

now i sleep with my body bolster, a longer type of bolster. It allows me to rest my tummy and also one leg. I use it for my 31, now jus reuse again.

Now on our queen size bed very packed. Cos i put body bolster on left, me, then normal bolster (in case i wan to turn to sleep on another side), my hubby and also my "forever-toss-and-turn" boy! Haha... My hubby say he wake up with muscle ache, cos he got limited space!

purelyz,

I also have limited space on my bed now. I bought additional pillow and cushion. My husband had to give up his bolster to me. Now he complained that he had to sleep until our bay window as our bed was just beside it. Haha

cheekrene: my diet is a complete change from fish and vegi base to beef base.. haha.. think is the hormone and gastric fluid changes..

Purelyz: Should I get short sleeve or long sleeve for NB? usually what are the materials you look into for purchase.. how many sets are necessary? I have stop myself from buying any until I very sure.."P

By the way, how to get the body bolster?

baby movement , starting from this week , i fill my tummy too cramp for my bb liao , always feel like there is a ball rowing hard in my tummy from left to right ! haha

charmine,

i also buy those top and bottom..top is button type for newborn because is easier...i bought 6 sets for short sleeve, another 3 sets for long sleeve

purelyz/cheekrene

sama sama~ my queen size bed squeese 3 pax... including the forever toss and turn little boy.. 4 big pillows, 1 small pillow, 2 small bolster,1 middle size bolster, 1 big bolster. 1 small blanket (for #1), 1 big quilt for two..can imagine how pack is my slping nest... i am tinking to shift #1 down liao.. haa.

sun flower

long sleeve enough? is for at night or raining days use right? does ur bb slp in air con? sometimes, i one night can change bb a few sets of clothes... cos my bb is a pukey bb.. move a little "er ni" liao.. haiz... change & change.. i tink shld buy more in case, if rainy days, the clothes cannot dry in time too!

Charmaine,

Okay! Can't wait to see bb... hehe~

Re Baby stuff

I only bought cot, a few rompers and socks, pigeon bottle steriliser... a lot of stuff still haven't buy yet...

My fren recommend me a shop at Queen St. that sells cheap bb's clothes. I have yet to visit though. anyone interested in the address, can pm me.

purelyz,

where did you get your body bolster? I'm been trying to find one...

white_lady,

that's normal as the bb grows bigger... i'm still waiting for my "kallang wave"... haha~

cheekrene,

so now i noe, it's not only my hubby is suffering. Haha...

alibaba,

ur bed can squeeze more than mine! Cos i jus laugh out when i read ur post. I tot mine is packed enough. I tink in the morning, 1/2 the stuffs are on the floor?! Hee...

charmaine,

depend if u wan to let ur NB sleep in aircon or jus with fan. As my #1 sleep in same rm as me during confi, i cannot tahan hot, so i on aircon at night. So i brought more long sleeve and long pants. During day, i let him wear romper and short sleeve shirt, without bottom (cos got diaper). All the material must be 100% cotton. I got my body bolster from Aussino.

Thanks Purelyz..I will take note

I give up most of my cushions because they will end up on the floor..but would like to get the body bolster.. is it expensive?

Starz.. Queen's street is near my place.. can I have the address?

Anyone tried prenatal massage? When is it good to book postnatal massage? Any recommendations?

I am a spa fan and wanted some massage for long.. I want massage!!! :p

alibaba,

not enough ar..? my mum and mil very loso, say cannot use aircon and fan during confinement.. i noe fan sure cannot, because its direct wind..but aircon also dont let..so if thats the case, no need so many long sleeve for newborn..because i also duno how big is my baby, scarly wear a few times cant fit liao.

i was looking at the link sunflower provided, whats the difference btwn swaddle wraps, blankets & receiving blankets?? i see that blankets is slightly bigger than receiving blankets.

i'm looking for those that can wrap bb in for the 1st 3mths, which is most suitable? thx!!

sunflower,

u dont buy too many pc of NB size clothes ,(fyi, ususally nb size are for those preterm bb- smaller size) & usually will outgrown v fast.. some even couldnt fit NB size clothes.so buy size 1-3mth & 3-6mmths maybe can wear longer. since u're not allow fan or aircon, den u stock up more short sleeve for ur bb.. i still tink 3 set of long sleeve still too little leh.. wat if rainy days leh.. cold weather..

angel,

i think they works the same..just that swaddle wrap is already shaped for you..so its easier for you to wrap the baby..and if u want to change diaper, no need to unwrap the arms. and this wrap wont loosen so easily in case baby get suffocate..

alibaba,

ahh... all my bb's clothing is short-sleeved types leh... cos sg weather so hot, din think its necessary to buy long-sleeved ones...

my nb will be sleeping with me in an air-con rm, think day & night, cos i cant stand the heat w/o fan. thought of using blankets to wrap bb for 1st 3mths, is long-sleeved rompers still a must?? scared bb will feel suffocated leh...

White_lady,

my baby also tend to roll her whole body in my tummy. It make my tummy wave scarily. I thought what happen and I realise she enjoyed it very much especially before I sleep and woke up in morning. *faint*

alibaba,

i think it's time for your #1 to sleep on his own, otherwise when #2 come out, you might have problem adjusting him.

Starz,

yes, Queen street got a shop that sell baby's clothes in a pack of dozen or half dozen. my mum keep going there to buy for me... hehe!

purelyz,

dont worry. you are not alone. my husband is trying ways to make himself comfortable since my tummy is growing each day.

charmaine,

its at blk 269C. It's hidden at a corner of the block. just opposite the temple.

Angel,

i see some mummies wrap their baby in cloth nappy instead of swaddle.

charmaine,

to activate your PM - click on "Profile" at the top of the page. Uncheck "Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users" under Preferences.

cheekrene,

Yah, it's the same shop.

Charmaine,

Name of the shop is Shen Kwong Trading Co. Opening hours:

Mon - Sat: 9am - 6pm

Closed on Sun and PH. =)

charmaine,

i dun remem how much i buy, but i tink not very exp. After i delivery #1, i put the body bolster on my sofa as a long cushion. Now my son use it as his "train". Consider multi-purpose!

i've went for 2x pre-natal massage. Going to 3rd visit this mth. I'll recommend rustic nirvana, quite gd. U can do massage after 5 mths.

cheekrene,

u mean u can actually see the "waves" on ur tummy?? i can only see my belly jerks when my gal kicks but not wave-like movements lah.

cheekrene & charmaine,

we bought our 1 dozen cloth nappies fr the shop at queens st too. shd be popping by again to see what else is needed.

Angel,

yes, it's a big wave... haha... i realise my girl is really very strong. she can hurt me when she turn.

Charmaine,

yes, i remember it's near the road.

sunflower & cheekrene,

wah, maybe u gals are skinny that's why can see. i have fat tummy so cant see. at times, can feel mega movements in my belly but cant see anything with my eyes lor...

charmaine,

think some of us booked our post-natal massage a few mths back cos the popular ones, their slots are alr full until dont know which mth liao.

Angel,

swaddle wrap is to wrap up bb to restrict their movements (like when they're in our tummy to make them feel safe)....u can use nappy to wrap instead n the material is thinner so bb wun b so hot

blanket is to cover when cold

receiving blanket comes w a hood normally for using when outside

angel: i was bout to ask the diff between blanket, swaddle and rec blanket.. hehhee...

my hubby colleague pass me 3 set os rec blanket , so i guess i no need buy liao...

Starz: the place izzit near bugis?

i tink i got to much clothing cuz most of them is hand down de.. like romper i got more then 1 dozen from 3-6 month de..

NB i got 1 dozen long slv and short slv.. only thing i'm short is pant...

may i know hw many we need for pant?

suika,

oic, thx for sharing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]