(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

dreymin,

I will also bring my bb back everyday as the distance is not very far...

I'm just suggesting for those that is rather far apart.

what's neighbour's type door stopper??

btw, the pix i post is not door stopper, it's pinch guard, to prevent door close and pinch on your kids fingers.

alibaba,

I also thought i saw it before but now simply can't find.

I think i'll order from amazon.

Any one wants the door pinch guard?? I'm ordering soon...

eeyore: Do you mind ordering for me too?

can i have the bear and the rabbit?

Sunflower: Hope you are fine

Whitelady: I crave for beef since pregnancy.. still having beef patty or beef steak every week...")

jascmy,

hope u r resting well at home now. take care ya & send news when u can lah.

sunflower,

i been having more discharge too. but mine not those watery type, its clear/white in color & thick in texture. was a little shocked when i first saw the discharge cos never had such thick discharge before.

i went to see woody the other time becos of the discharge too & he did a chk below. he's also concerned if its waterbag leaking.

i think at this stage we are at, its always better to be a bit kiasu lah. if u encounter watery discharge, pink/red discharge, intense contractions, always call ur gynae on emergency hotline or rush down to KKH to be safe k.

it's abt USD 9.99 ea but I haven't include the local shipping and shipment back from US to SIN...

I rem seeing the price locally for abt S$20, that's why that time I never buy.

SunFl@wer & cheekrene,

I didnt go down to gynae as it happened on a sun, so mon i called the clinic. the doc told the nurse to relay the message to me to monitor for these signs: continued watery discharge, abdominal pains, and baby not moving. 2 wks ago durign my check-up, she said i shld go down to the hosp immediately if this happens again esp when i have those signs.

eeyore,

mine is shaped like a C and wedges the door/wraps around the side of door. same function as yours; just less fancy. it can be found in most neighbourhood shops, around $2 for a pair.

Speaking of safety, Ikea has a very good product in the children's section - power socket cover. The fit is very good and cannot be taken out easily by small grubby hands as compared to the neighbourhood shop versions. I lost quite a few coz my son keep taking them out and poking his lttle finger into the power socket. So don't buy the cheaper ones but get those from Ikea. It will come in handy next time.

am doing a little chklist to see what is needed for my bb.

diapers - have decided to use both cloth diapers & disposable diapers for my bb. will be using cloth diapers during the day & the disposable ones during the night. have not bought any disposable diapers yet but been getting different diapers' samples & will see which one best suit my gal before buying a pack. have also bought a few packs of nappy liners for the cloth diapers.

milk - have also decided to give my bb both BM & FM. BM during the day & FM during the night as its said that FM is more filling & that helps the bb to sleep better thru the night. again have not bought any FM yet. will try out samples first.

teats - i understand we need to get different teats as bb grows. any idea how many teats we shd be getting for each stage? there are soo many out there, not sure what to choose & look out for. thx in advance!!

suika,

we bought 12. how many is needed to stand by huh in ur opinion??

Angel,

depending on the frequency u using....i oni used it when bb poos once a day like that...which is abt 2-3mths from birth.....NB time will use diapers abt 8-10pcs per day coz no nid keep washing mah

ahNah,

on avg they poos abt 8-10 times...for clothings my boy no changed v often....1day 2sets (day & nite) but mittens hv to prepare more....coz when burp they puiz a little n their hands might kana so hv to change if dirty....i use hankie at their chin so kana hankie not top so no nid keep changing clothes....all depending on ur caretaker liao

Baby Stuffs:

Till now, I have not done much to buy baby stuffs. I only bought a few pieces of rompers through online. So far, I bought playpen, playmat, stroller, baby bottles together with sterilizers and warmers. What else do we need?

Angel,

I did not know there is a different on the teats. I bought the bottles without checking.

Dreymin,

you got to take care. Most importantly, we need to monitor baby's movements.

Eeyore,

I think I will buy it on BP if there is any.

angel,

it is good to give FM so you can rest at nite. also if the baby has jaundice; it is better not to BF; tat is when FM will come in handy.

i was v sticky abt total BF/BM, and it came to a point when the baby's jaundice level didnt come down and the pd said to use FM tat nite for a while. DH had to drive to mustafa to buy a can and we used FM for 2-3 days and switched back to total BF afterwards.

teats, i think i had at least 4 teats for each size; coz one for milk, another for water, and another set for standby.

Angel,

For teats, no need to buy alot. If you like Avent bottles, then use the Avent silicon teats first. Cos as to type of teat, it really depends on what the baby likes (especially if baby is used to latching on for breastmilk)........ No point buying a lot of 1 brand of teat and then end up, baby don't like.

For FM, I heard that Nestle NAN 1 is most similar to breastmilk taste... but so far, I can't find those small tins (400g) at supermarkets...

ah bee,

Are u working at Suntec? What kind of position is yr company looking for? My friend interested to apply for accounts assistant position.

ahNah,

you need to provide more hankies or bibs as suika suggested. when they burp/reguritate; the milk can be quite a lot. aso baby drools, so need hankies to wipe their mouths and change them very often. i easily got a dozen or more than that.

dreymin,

I was also super sticky about BF/BM... end up my #1 had jaundice for 3 months........ For her 2nd week, we ended up having to send her back to hospital to put under the "suntan" machine... For # 2, I haven't decided if I should supplement with FM until my milk comes in. Always hear stories of how babies get used to milk teats and have difficulty latching on later.

ahNah,

Babies on total breastmilk may not poo for up till 21 days.... only got urine.. My #1 didn't poo at all for 14 days continuously cos total breastmilk... she help me save on diapers. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheekrene,

re. bb stuffs, what we have currently are mostly handmedown items which incl 2 strollers, bb cot, bathtub, bb chair, pigeon sterilizer/warmer set, bb mats, many bibs & clothing ranging fr 6-18mths.

we did buy another 2nd hand stroller on our own as i din quite like the 2 strollers given to us. bb's clothing, i thought we have a lot to last until bb is 18mths old & we also bought 2 rompers fr 0-6mths but then my mil says must buy at least 6 for nb, those like hospital gown type, use tie string or wrap ard type lor.

also still hesitating abt buying a breastpump. cos not sure will have milk or not so dun dare to commit.

dreymin,

my mil & some frens also told me its a gd idea to feed bb with partial FM esp at night. wow so must get 3-4 teats at each stage huh??

ann,

hmmm... still need to get diff brands for bb to test water ahh... heard that NUK teats are gd? think have to do more research on teats first.

ann, oh really.. that is something new .. my SIL's #2 poo a lot daily.. even on BF.

But who knows ... like me.. poo after every meal.

re. bibs,

i got the cloth types & also a pack of disposable types, which one is more suitable for nb?

and re. poo,

so if my gal is on partial FM, then she'll likely poo hor...

angel,

from the way u describe, I've the same type of discharge as u for more than a mth. I've check with my gynae, he say it's normal.

ahNah,

for baby wipes, liquid detergent and etc, i buy from people park complex, L3. Ocean. Sell a lot cheaper from outside. I also stock up my shampoo, shower foam, floor cleaner and etc from there.

eeyore,

i got my door guard from Daiso, $2 only. Like dreymin, jus shaped like a C.

Angel,

Which brand of milk bottles did you buy? The popular brands are Avent, Pigeon and NUK. I know Avent & Pigeon got BPA-free ones but can't rem if NUK got or not...

i tink i also need to double check my bb thing.. scare later short of thing never buy..

i only not yet buy mattress, i tink other thing more or less i bot liao..

bb bath i bot the johnson bb wan...

purelyz,

yeah, this type of discharge is normal, only the watery type needs to be more concerned as it could be waterbag leaking.

bb wipes is alot cheaper fr people park huh? do they sell all kinds of brands? i'm looking for pigeon brands. kiddy palace selling a bundle pack (forgot how many) @ $7.95, din buy cos i think kiddy palace prices are on the high side.

ann,

so u mean we can only buy a specific brand of teats to match a specific brand of milk bottles? meaning NUK teats wont fit an avent bottle huh?? i got 2 avent bottles (diff sizes) & 5 pigeon bottles i intend to use for milk storage.

my hb thinks i bought too many bottles liao. i have no idea how many bottles are needed as well cos i read fr other threads, some moms have like more than a hundred bottles to store milk leh.

hankies:

i agree! hankies are needed. I tink i wash hankies more than clothes during the 1st 2 wks.

bibs:

i use cloth type. Disposable type can be use for shopping or dinner trip. But my #1 hate bibs, so i jus use hankies.

ann> my coy is at pioneer walk (near boon lay mrt).. west side. see if any of ur frens looking for acct exec/acct assistn.

ahnah> IT nope.. nt at the moment.

June bb fair is at expo 6B [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee have jot down on my calendar.. frm 3- 6 June, 1130 to 930pm :D

my avents sterliser is spolit -_-" maid told me that my #1 pull the whole ting drop on the floor.. heart pain... 100+ bucks gone...my hb said repair shld be bo hua... i tink i not buying a new one... using the traditional method.. the boiling method. since my maid also duno how to take care of tings...

til date i only got 2 new avents btls for my #2...

i dont tink i need another stroller or bb cot. seems like notin much to buy.. except of smaller size diapers.. no intention of using cloth diaper. cos saving the hassle of washing

same with ann

last time when my #1 on BM, he actually can dont poo for 7days... which worry me alot.. haa.. & found out it's normal... but for the 1st few days , bb anytime can poo poo de... sure use up alot of diaper..

ahNah, angel,

usually i go there once a mth to stock up bb stuffs and family stuffs. Tip: Dun go there buy a few stuffs only, cos dun worth the transport cost. i'll spend over $100 per trip. BB wipes can buy those 3 or 6 in pack, bb shower foam, bb liquid detergent, bb bottles cleaner, body powder, bb oil. I would say u can save quite a lot if u buy quite a few items. Got pigeon brand, usually i buy J&J

eeyore: I want the purple one though mine is a boy.. hee hee

I also currently shopping for NB clothes.. saw some 8 in one package in mothercare.. not sure if I need those.. with hand glove better or those jumper suit with leg wrapped up?

Need the jacket too??

alibaba,

i brought 1 pigeon sterliser for my #1 and put at my mum place. Then for my house, i brought food steamer. I find it work the same. Cos using steam to sterlise bottles. And sometime, i use to steam non-oily food, like buns. 2 in 1 and it's cheaper too.

wad i would suggest is to burp bb facing outwards....that's wad i do lah so it'll kana the hankie n flr or our legs instead of their clothes....i find cleaning up my legs n flr it's much easier then changing my boy lah...coz he last time slps less so once after feed we'll try not to move him let him doze off straight away.....

wad we do is when cries, check diapers first....if dirty then change first....drink later, once drink full liao tends to b slpy so no more big movements

the bb wipes can be used to wipe anywhere on the bb right? like bb's face, hands & legs etc??

Hello.. I apologise for intruding. I have a medela dual breast pump ( pump in style ) that I would like to sell for $400. Used for half a yr , once a day as I fed the bb directly . If u r keen , do pm me !! Enjoy yr preg !!!

purelyz,

do u happened to see nappy liners at the people park's shop as well? i bought 5 packs of the tollyjoy brand. just wondering if its cheaper there. thx!

ann,

yah i think smtm we shld not be too stubborn coz end up the poor kid suffer. I was glad tat after the 2-3 days of FM, his jaundice level came down and i could TBF for 20 mths. my baby poo everyday leh... esp the yellowish watery type, super messy, haha!

angel,

i had 2 sets of everything including cot, sterlizer and playpen, coz my son and maid goes to in-laws house during the day. yes correcto, the teats go with the bottles, so you need to buy the same. store milk, use milkbags lah.. save space my dear!