(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

That one is LG brand thats why so expensive got another parklon brand cheaper my hubby was commenting LG material is really better when he touch it of course in the end it depends on wat you want material verus money ? Of course in the end we choose Parklon brand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hahaha you caught me can't answer you that question wor... But a lot of people is buying at the expo sales... Just feel that its a good training ground for kid to fall while learning walking lor wont be so painful can play and sleep on it also the size that i got can sleep 1 adult also quite big.

i just bought the playmat through their thread. i find it quite useful. my colleague said that it's comfortable to sleep on it without mattress. some more you can put your baby to roll on it without worrying hitting the floor.

ahNah, I find it useful when Bb learn to crawl cos they will crawling on the mat instead of on the floor which is hard and dirty.

i heard that its good for baby becos of the material too... its not toxic like those normal cheap mats outside selling. when baby learn to crawl , they might lick the mat etc..so its not toxic..for example those ABC mat, those are toxic..

Angel

Thk he will ask u soon. When you going to see him again? You don't want to try natural?

Suika

VBAC - vaginal birth after cesaerean

AhNah

Yes, heard abt the cabbage. It also will reduce the milk supply. If i'm not wrong. If got block ducts, can massage the breast and use hot towel to compress to clear e block.

Karenthk

Which day to you prefer weekday or weekend?

Anymore mummies and daddies keen Compass Point gathering?

6, 7 or 8 May? Any other date suggestion?

Compass Point .. every day also pass by.

but hor .. i already bought a soft massage for baby to lie on already (used by my nephew) before.

eeyore, alibaba, duckling & MVH,

glad to meet all of u the other day. was too busy to come in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now busy packing to go back msia tomorrow early in the am and these few days really too busy! and sigh!

and i din put on weight in the past 1.5 week. dunno why. but maybe i dun eat enough? not much appetite. maybe stress?

lets see...

see u all one week later! happy holiday!

Hello.. Just want to share...

The philips avent sterilizer is selling at $109 at the baby expo fair... along with Toddler Spout Magic Cup and two pacifiers as free gift. Retail price for sterilizer alone range between $149 - $180...

ahnah, cheekrene,

I thought of another useful method which i use for the playmat...

there's a type of bubble mat in pink and blue color, that u bought to change clothes for baby after their bath...

sometimes if i came back too late, i use the mat to clean up my #1 and change her when she's asleep...

so i put a pail of warm water on the mat with a small handkechief, lay her down and i'll sit on the floor instead of standing up.

If u put water beside her cot or playpen, u might scared will wet the bed so this is also safer for water.

So when babies are bigger, u can put their play gym mat on top of these mat for extra comfort as these mat are of certain bubble thickness which is very comfortable.

I used to take naps on these mat too when i don't pull out mattress, just put a cushion for my head and it's so cooling...

It's good for them to learn crawling also, whether is it commander crawl or knees crawl, u won't scared their knees will be painful...

i think play mat is a gd idea!at least my baby love it..!and they can learn from the mat..with the alphabets n animals etc..

gd investment if u hv 2 kids la..

Hello eeyore,

Can update my details?

Gynae: Dr Kek LP

Mount E, and baby gender (chose not to know)

Hello chicky,

The avent sterilizer is it BPA free? anyway. the price is good. Cos I help my friend to purchase it @ philip sale carnival last year and the best price is @$128.

This is my first post on this website...

I am 27 weeks pregnant with our first child.

Has been for a check up yesterday, and the doc said i have gained excess weight, I was 55.7kg before conception and am 68.3 now!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Docter said my baby only weighs 900gms now!!!

Does this mean i have put on all the weight????

Can get some advice on how to loose excess weight gained?

Please help!

Hi Mommies and a Daddy,

Have not been in here for some time, have not gotten any chance to sneak in during office hours and after since i am always Ot-ing nowadays.

Jyoti Amin, you should not try to loose weight when you are pregnant, anyway we should be piling on cos the placenta, amniotic fluid, extra blood, larger uterus, maternal stores, increased breast tissue all adds up in terms of kilos. Better be piling than loosing. Lucky you, i don't even know the weight of my fetus. Got to ask the next time. I am really worried, I am not putting on weight! Two days ago i was 57 kg now I am down to 55kg ...haiz... this is worrying...

I was shocked to find out that that nappy cloths actually cost quite alot ... about $1.50 to $2.00 per piece. This is really crazy, isn't it just muslin?

Dear Jyoti,

Since your baby is not overweight, and you gain that much according to your doctor, probably you are having some level of water retention? What does your doctor say?

Glad to join this forum and see so much active post. Here is my info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EDD: 4 August

Gynae: Dr S.H. Kee

2nd baby - Boy

Hospital: Mt. A

eino> Hi, I'm with Dr Kek too! You chose not to know the gender of the baby? Is it becos Dr Kek ask u to keep it a surprise? She didn't want to tell me my baby's gender too.... but I bugged her non-stop every month. Haha. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jyoti amin> Yeah, you shouldn't try to lose weight now since you are pregnant. However, can cut down on snacking on empty calories like ice cream, chocolates etc. Just try to eat more healthy food.

Dear Jascmy,

Me too won't advise to get a maid to taking care of your NB. NB can't walk and talk but only cry. He/she won't be able to complain to you if the maid doesn't do her job well in taking care of her. My previous maid, which i found friendly and cheerful in taking care of my son when he was 1.5 years old, was spot by my neighbor shouted at my son when he cried. It was not torture, but I already didn't like it when i heard abt it.

Maid will be helpful if you can deposit her and your NB to your parents/parents in law/relatives while you go to work.

Dear ahNah,

I tried cabbage before and it really works. Get round cabbage as the size will fit nicer. As compared to those cooling breast pad sold in the departmental stores, cabbage is softer and more comfortable to be used on our breasts, especially when we are suffering from block ducts. Coolness will help to reduce the swell, same if you knock your head and get a swell, use ice on it (which i tried too everytime when my son knocks his head).

As for hot application on block ducts, I tried before too but it made the swell worse. Since the warmth of the towel increase blood circulation and stimulate more milk production. Just imagine, you already have block ducts, and the breasts continue to product more milk...

i and jascmy got the same problem.. infant care is full..

was thinking to employ maid to...if not who is gg to look after the new born?

i wil prefer maid to nanny leh...at the samt time i also very scare of the maid handing my NB...

we back from baby fair expo. Only manage to get a baby carrier that wrap around your body and 1 free pot from a corner booth. Pic is avail at my facebook

hi mummies, I have brand new pack of Gerber wash cloth (8 pcs inside) to let go at $5 with normal mail. Pls PM me if keen.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3924084.jpg]

happy holiday !

my bb weight at 24 weeks is 799g ,was told by gynae that is not small n not big ! haha ...

start from last night , i couldnt sleep as my body itch Whole night ! anyonen also like that ? my breast , tummy , back , all itch like hell ! now also .... hai ... i look like a monkey keep scratching

Hello ann,

So you are with Dr Kek too. =) for the baby gender, I chose not to know, so i have to remind her everytime during scanning--> not to tell me.. hahaha she did ask me during week 16 whether do i want to know anot. But i want a surprise...

see how accurate the pple ard me are at "guessing" using tummy shape.. looks and etc..

Hello Jyoti,

don't worry too much, if your Dr did not stress u.. u are alright. I have heard pple gaining abt 21 to 30kgs during pregnancy and the baby is only abt 3kgs plus...

I have gained abt 7kgs plus in total over the last 25 weeks and losing weight during the first trimester.

hello White lady,

I do have "itch" too.. but only near the belly button. it feels better when i put on some cream over breast and tummy area.. u got to put moisturizer too.. cos your skin is stretching.

Hi eino,

Yes saw the good price of $109 and bought immediately. NTUC and Taka selling about $182. Kiddy palace sells at $149.

Some mothers sells unused pieces online at $120.

So this baby fair offering at $109 is a very good consideration for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jyoti,

i gained 21kg with my first baby.. i managed to lose only 15kg.. i sitll have 6 kg of weight to lose. no choice just have to exercise n watch diet. this pregnancy im watching my weight alot more. i've gained only 6kg to date (24wks). last pregnancy, at this stage already gained 11+kg.. almost same as u. my friends all say BF as much as u can. thats how they lost their weight. i couldnt BF due to complications. hope i can BF this time and lose all the weight including my 6kg from before. haha!

eelyn> BF doesn't mean can lose weight hor....... I breastfed my 1st one for 14 months and didn't lose much weight in the process. I only lost some weight when I went back to my gym exercise... even then, I still have 7kg excess weight from the 1st pregnancy. Like you, I also try to control during this 2nd preg... hopefully, I can limit it to max 10kg weight gain by full term....

Tikey > weekdays would be better. maybe 6th May, but I can only reach SK around 7+

ahNah > yeah, the kopitiam sucks, so seldom eat there now.

ann,

thats wat i thought too.. think my friends are just those lucky few who can look thinner than they were prepreg.. (dun u hate those) :p well.. BF is an additional tool to help to lose weight i guess.. cos i read u can lose ard 500-1000 cals by full bf-ing.. will try to add that to watever exercise i can squeeze in. :p i hope i can max 12kg by full term.. already at 6kg now.. haha im not hopefull cos most of the weight piles on in the next few wks.

Hello Chicky,

yep, I went down to the expo after seeing what u have posted here. very good buy. brought some milk bottles too. and I am also very temp to get that warmer @$100 too. but I am not too sure if I will have milk anot. so didn't got that

eino, warmer can also warm normal milk, not necessary breast milk? Anyway I did not buy warmer also.. Sterilizer came as something I want to buy. Hope next fair at June will have more good deals [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Karenthk

Yes I'm fine with 7+. Do you want to put it at 7.30pm?

Gathering on 6 May @ Compass Point

1) Karenthk

2) Tikey

tikey,

my next gynae's appt on 11may, will be 28wks by then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] well, i intend to ask him again, needs to know c-sect date to make arrangment for other stuffs like ordering confinement food etc so no choice but be more thick-skinned.

yeah, decided to stick with c-sect due to a variety of reasons. is ur first c-sect by woody too? if yes, how was ur experience with him overall? stitching wise?? was the pain bearable? how long did u take to heal??

sorry for the many qns! :p thought can get some feedbacks fr u to prep myself up for the day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thx in advance!

so we got a bag of hand-me-down clothing fr our fren. was pleasantly surprised to find that these clothing are in very gd cond still. bonus: there are some really pretty ones fr brands like bb gap & bb guess. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we also got a combi stoller fr the same fren too. but the stroller was in a less desirable cond. cushion seat was worn out & stained. anyone knows if its possible to get just a brand new cushion seat fr combi? or is it better to get a bn stroller instead??

Angel

I thk by then he will also ask you when you would like to hv yr C-section. ;) I did ask Woody earlier like in 1st trimester, when can we hv c-sec coz my hubby always hv to travel overseas, and he need to apply leave to be around.

And he said anytime after 38wks. But sometimes planned c-sec also will end up emergency c-sec. My friend bb was born at 34weeks coz she had bleeding. So I pray hard that mine will not be emergency c-sec again.

My 1st one c-sec was done by another doc. So I can't comment on his skills. But I do heard good feedback from other mummies. That's why I decided to choose him even thou he super chop chop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tikey,

oic, thx for sharing still. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, correct me if i'm wrong but i always thought the term 'emerency c-sect' is used when mtb started out in the delivery suite going for natural first & when it isnt eventful, they have to go for emergency c-sect. i understand they are charged double in these senarios.

what abt in cases when u've a planned c-sect & bb decides to come earlier than the planned date, will this also be considered an emergency c-sect (as in we are also charged double)?

Angel : Lucky you for the clothings. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As for the stroller, i think you can always buy 2nd hand in the forum here at cheap price too.

Angel

I'm not very sure also, coz she told me her doc ask her whether she wan to try natural but she prefer c-section. Maybe as long as your c-section is not carry out on the plan date it become emergency c-sec? Maybe you can ask Woody to explain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My 1st pregnancy is like what you mention, planned for natural but unsuccessful so ended up emerg c-sec. Emergency c-sec hubby can't be in the operation room.

haitang, I really have no choice leh. No one to take care of Bb. The govt asked us to give birth but never help in the infantcare part. There is lot of childcare around but not infant care. Most of the infant care are far away and expensive even after subsidy. Teachers might also shout at the crying Bb mah. Nanny also same problem of ill-treating the Bb and we do not know.

I'm still trying to find ways. Thinking of putting my Bb and maid in mil house then go there everynite to see him then bring both home on weekends.

What will be your arrangement?

Morning all mama.

Karenthk, my wife ask me this big belly man to represent her to attend the meet up at compass point, u say funny or not.

Yesterday nite very warm hor. I sweat a lot till I wet my pajamas and pillow when I sleep with air-con. I feel a bit cold after that so I off the air-con then i continued to sweat cos very warm. Sigh, can't sleep well last nite. Sweat in both air-con and non air-con room.

ahNah,

for the tiong bahru event, i tink we can register on our own la, since u also got the form. Easier to pay too. I'll register for myself today.

jascmy,

it's normal for preg women to feel warmer than normal. Now i sleep with air-con and without blanket. Last preg i sleep with no pajamas during 3rd tri, with aircon. Luckily, only me and hubby in the rm.

jascmy : Same here! I on the aircon cos i'm sweating like mad even though with 2 fans on. But on aircon too long, my nose start to block and i have difficulty in breathing. So i turn it off and i'm sweating like mad again. I just can't sleep well everyday. So angry!!