(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahNah,

that free pot is branded one..not cheap..

by the way, is it Delphin vacuum cleaner? once they demo at ur hse , u will get hooked because its really vvvvvvv good.

but then vvvvv exp..$3k +++

Sunflower, oh ya ... Delphin.

We won't get hooked lor. Got Rainbow ppl try to sell us as well. But our will is strong.

purelyz, for 27 May gathering, I let u know again if I can make it...

ahnah, i believe the vacuum cleaner was from the brand either Rainbow or Delphin right? I went to the expo bb fair 3 yr ago & was given the free gift with the condition of 1 time free demo at my house too... The salesman will tell u that the dustmite is bad for children, causes sinus, asthma, etc, for the good health of children, it's good to have the equipment :p...

At the end, we have spent S$3K+ to bought 1... haha!! Get your mentally prepared ya...

hi Mommies,

Thank you for your suggestion I think Maclaren is good for the price. The gathering seems interesting...could I think it over and confirm only problem is I am veggie so that always makes me do some research before going out.

ahnah, dun like that la, ppl is just doing their job only... Frankly speaking, the product itself is very good lo... at least I felt no regret after buying it la...hehe

ok, i dun use the broom. I will just tell them that I dun wan to buy lor. if they say me stingy like wat the forum say. I will chase them out with my parang.

duckling,

ya, the product is really good..but i saw the price, i heartpain..so im quite persistent not to buy..

btw, are you ET? u just added me in FB?

hello purelyz,

I am also interested in Pre-natal massage.

Which branch did u went? and how was the service and are there few treatment type to choose from?

I am not keen on taking up any package. So I may just pay on per visit basis.

i heard abt the vacuum cleaner too. my fren reco it to me too.. but my hb find it too ex, don even wan them to come over to try on our bed. v heart pain to buy :S

ahnah: the bumbo chair cost $49.90...

playmat, $140.. my fav character pooh bear!..

Purleyz: buy liao then regret forget can get 2nd hand de.. argh...

dreymin: did u get the bumbo chair?

today my back aches is killing me... very very pain...

xpinkxuanx,

usually a stroller is gd for how many yrs? becos if it can be used for a gd no. of yrs, i think its worthwhile to invest in a brand new one lah. thinking of getting either a combi or maclaren brand.

the one our fren gave to us is a combi stroller, pretty lightweight & easy to use.

tikey,

no prob, i'll clarify with woody again upon my next appt with him.

think we'll just go ahead to chk for a few auspicious dates for c-sect then let woody know, see which one's avail & suits him lah. btw, u have any c-sect date in mind alr?? our edd is either the same or just 1 day apart only. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my 38th week start fr 19jul onwards.

mtbs who are coping with unbearable heat,

i'm sweating like mad too. in fact, there was one day i was sleeping with fan on but woke up to find water droplets on my arm! (no kidding!) and i thought my ceiling was leaking water or sth. lol.

now i sleep with air-con thru the night too w/o blanket. still feel quite humid though. hb was covering up fr toes to neck liao.

dreymin & ducklingeshop,

yes, we felt very fortunate to get those hand-me-down clothings in gd cond & material too. its very kind of our fren.

some clothing are fr 6-12mths while the bulk are fr 12-18mths. think we have enough clothing to last our gal fr nb to 1.5yrs. haha.

hb also bought 2 tops meant for 0-6mths, din dare to buy too much cos heard nb grew really fast & during bb's full mth, may rec more clothing as gifts. :p

xpinkxuan,

maclaren quest sport can only be used from 6 mths onwards? The taka salesperson told me its from 3 mths onwards..... I thought ok to buy since I will be using baby sling to carry baby for first 3-6 mths. Maclaren Techno XT is super heavy, that's why I didn't buy. I'm not that strong lah... I wanted something lightweight so quest sport was better for me.

ah beee,

Metro got sell nursing bra?? I didn't know that.... Anyway, I was thinking that we should wait till 3rd trimester before buying nursing bra.... cos dunno if cup size will increase further....

Hey all..... Mums & Babes having trade-in offer for Medela Freestyle pump @ $599 if u trade in PIS or PIS Advanced or @ $699 if u trade in Swing for mth of May. Too bad I just sold off my super old PIS ... if not, I will definitely send it for trade-in.

hi ann, whats "PIS"?

is it a brand of breast pumo? or can trade in any brand of breast pump for the medela freestyle pump

purelyz > can use your welness spa (closed down) package to redeem?? can share how to do it? I got a package with wellness village (PAN PAC) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] don't know what info they need to let me exchange...

Angel (daintyaqua) : depends on which brand though. My maclaren techno XT bought since 2006 still serve me well and it been used for 2 kids already. Gonna use it for my #3 soon. Though the price is abit steep but i feel that its worth it. Rather than i spent $200+ on other brands that may not able to hold heavy weight. My maclaren can still hold my 17kg girl quite well.

I like combi too becos its lightweight but it cannot hold my 17kg girl, will become hard to push.

Ann : Ya cos cannot totally recline. XT can recline for newborn. Actually quest also not very light weight leh. XT just slightly heavier only and its full canopy. If i din remember wrongly, maclaren quest only cover half way.

But different ppl different opinion la. i just thought of sharing nia. hehe...

xpinkxuanx> Yup yup, Maclaren Quest only cover half way.... I thought never mind lar.... at most, I just cover it with my scarf or nappy cloth lor... :p But you are right that the Techno XT is spacious and can hold heavy weight ...

June tan> PIS is Medela Pump in Style. From their website, looks like they only accept trade in for Medela pumps.

i had the Delphin demonstration at home before too. i was really tempted coz the vacuum cleaner really looks good. the sales even told us there is installment payment available, or even if we decided not to purchase, we can engage their service to perform one-time cleaning. something like that if i'm not wrong. But we managed to hold back ourselves from spending a single cent by telling the sales that we will contact her the next day since we need to discuss and decide which plan will fit our needs better. and yes, next day we never called her... we call it "cooling down" strategy. haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eelyn, ann and dreymin> I breastfed my 1st son for 10 mths only, and i was able to lose most of the weight I gained during pregnancy. when he was abt 1 yr old, i went for further study and no one could tell that I have a son. but i started to gain some weight after i stopped breastfeeding. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] planned to breastfeed longer for this 2nd one and see if i can lose more. haha...

purelyz> I'm interested in the outing on 27 May as Bugis is a convenient place for me. Do count me in for now. Will let you know early if last minute my schedule couldn't fit in. Thx. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jascmy> ya, it will be gd if you can leave your baby & maid w your mil. some of my friends did that for weekdays and brought baby home only on weekends. For my 1st one, i was lucky to register him at an infant care near my place, but due to his colic and crying frequently, my mil offered to take care of him till he was 3 mths old then sent him to infant care. yet after he was abt 7 mths old, my breastmilk seems do not give him enough protection from illness, so i started to get a maid. that was also abt the time i quit my job. Now i'm jobless at home, only helping out in my hubby's business some time. usually i leave my maid and son alone at home if i need to go out. but recently when i went for business trip with my hubby, i sent them to my mil's place loh. I'm lucky that my current maid is nice and honest. She is just a bit blur & forgetful sometimes, so i trained my son to be her reminder loh...

having maid or nanny, major diff. as many has mentioned here, maid helps in hsewk. but to me, both are "alone" with your baby without other supervision. but for infant care, yes, sometimes teacher may shout at babies/kids, but there are more teachers ard and even parents will pass by (my pil dropped by the infant care anytime they are free to spot check). i believe the chances for such incidents to happen will definitely be lower with more eyes ard.

the infant care i sent to have 1 or 2 qualified nurses/trained in early-childhood, others are aunties in the neighborhood, whom i still bump into sometimes in the central. These are the people in the neighborhood you can rely on searching for nanny too.

purelyz> i experienced the ear blocked problem 2 weeks ago, it was like when we took the elevator up to 70 floors high or in plane, suddenly can't hear properly. after drinking of some water it just recovered. come back and go for a few days... now i'm having flu, so don't experience that anymore. :p

ann> is Medela PIS good? I read very mixed previews online, so now very confused. some said as good as hospital grade pump, while some said suction is not strong enough to stimulate & maintain milk supply. some even said the suction is weaker than some hand pumps.

I got a Medela Symphony before but spoilt within a month, then got Ameda Lactaline, but now seems not working anymore. Now really confused if should get Medela PIS (lose some confidence in Medela due to the manual pump), Ameda, or Avent. Any others have any feedback?

purelyz

ok for 27may gathering..i vote for manhatten fish market..we preggies must eat more fish!;p

ducklingeshop

is rainbow gd huh?i;m very tempted..cos maid is using normal vacuum cleaner to vacuum sofa n bed everyday..so tot rainbow does help...but hubby refuse to pay for it!so i thought i wanna use my 4 mths "free" pay to buy lor ;p

ann/eelyn

same here..agree that bf does not lose weight..at least not for me until i hit e jogging tracks and gym again...was left with 2kg to shed..then now gain 7 kg all over again!hoping that i dont go above 15kg this time round..praying hard..but tough..for the way i eat haha

ahnan

yr wife really shy leh...join us for the next gathering in the evening as well la..all gals together will talk more ;)

nekowong> indeed i ate more during my breastfeeding, stopped working and stayed home with maid when my son was 7 mths old... maybe i'm lucky bah.

been having stomach cramps at the right side since yest .. n the attitude prob from my hubby certainly doesnt make things better .. sheesh~

sorry but im juz looking for a place to rant ... so damn angry n pek cek nw .. haiz~

ahNah,

You added me liao i think, my name is Audrey.

Winnie,

No, we didnt get the bumbo, but my son did get to sit in one at fren's house. Hubby thinks too expensive and cannot use for too long. For me; i think it is good coz helps the baby to sit up.

Mirai,

I aso same as you, having stomach cramps, take it easy and dun be too upset with hubby.

haitang,

i used the ameda and PIS for my boy. the PIS is def much better; i recommend it anytime. some of a couple of my coliks aso use the same model and we found our yield is much higher than those who use other pumps like swing or manual.

a couple of my frens used freestyle and they said it is very lightweight and good as well. so this is aso worth considering.

dreymin: hw nt to be angry with him? i hate it when gives me attitude prob when he's nt in the mood .. curse n swear when he drives .. or jam brake/accelerate when he gets frustrated ... say wanna control .. yeah .. but oni for the 1st 2 mths lah .. nw back to normal self again .. super irritating ...esp nw when my stomach is getting bigger, n very tired due to the restless slp n backaches ... i still have to put up with all these shit ..

ahNah,

u all hubbies jus find excuse to grow fat with us. Haha...

Shamlee,

Really hope that u can join us.

Winnie,

After u use the bumbo seat jus sell off lo, at least can get back a bit. bb can't sit on bumbo seat for long period, not so gd for back bone. Only gd for feeding time. My boy start to KPO wan to touch here and there, cannot sit still, then the chair like going to flip, then his "drumstick le" can't fit, so i only use for 2 to 3 mths.

eino,

i got to liang seah st outlet. They wan to sell me package, but i dun wan. Cos i jus wan to finish mine. The lady ask me how m i feeling, i told her i got lower back pain, leg cramp. So she conc a lot on the lower back and my leg. I feel a lot better aft the massage... U can call to ask. I tink they have promo $68 per session now.

clueless crystal,

my package also from pan pac. They jus need ur appt card and org invoice. U can call to ask. They will deduct by amt, not by session. For prenatal massage is $180 per session. If u got remaining $1800 from wellness village spa, u can do 10 x prenatal massage. A bit exp la, but i jus lazy to do claims from CASE. Jus close one eye and use it...

2nd/3rd tri MTBs gathering open for "registration"!

Date: 27 May 2010

Time: 7pm to 10pm

Venue: The Manhattan Fish Market (Iluma @ Bugis)

Attendance

purelyz

dreymin

haitang

nekowong

jascmy

ya..maybe after few times use.. i will sell it off.. oh shld i save it for 2nd bb.. hehehe..

i having a headache now.. duno who is taking care of my baby...

Hello Purelyz,

thanks for the info, later during lunch time, I will give them a call to check out the rates, and what type of service is provided.

I am always getting stiff shoulders and neck. not too sure if it is due to my sitting posture at office or sleeping position (cos now i can only sleep sideway, either left or right).

cos i feel that if i lie flat, baby will move "violently' , maybe due to discomfort or what which I am also not sure.

any more info on strollers or pram? I am also thinking of getting a new one when my baby is abt 3 months old. so many choices, and prices. I am sort of "confused" which one is good.

They should make one adult life size for parents to sit and try on babies' point of comfort. we spend so much without even knowing whether baby comfortable anot....

Purelyz,

u still using bio-oil? think im gonna stop using.

everyone told me not to use stretch mark cream/oil with Vitamin A and Rosemary.

Bio oil contains both of these contents. although their website says the contents they used are minimal, but i think i will change.

morning all....

been so busy over the weekends.....whole family falling sick 1 by 1 n now it's my turn.....haizzz coughing now n not much med can take :-(

yest juz brought my boy to see PD oni

eino,

i've gotten Peg Perego P3.

its very rigid , and can use for infants up till 4yrs old. my hb checked out the video clip and decided to buy one. But its expensive, so we ask a friend in US to get for us, its half price of singapore's. Its also quite heavy to carry.