(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ahNah,

mi more worried of my boy....coz will b bringing him for his 1st trip out....heehee hv to bring bottles of water over oso....n his FM, strollers etc etc

suika,

hold your horse. I brought my niece 2 yrs old ...

she vomit 1 time when on the way up and vomit 4 to 5 times when on the way down.

Think abt it.

ahNah,

mi taking flight up n then cab....my boy oni 15mths i worried he cannot sit still so long in the coach

ducklingeshop,

is e mop reali gd to use? i'm considering in gettg 1 :p

ahnah,

ur bb can feel ur wife's excitement when she's betting..win alot huh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My bb movement also nt consistence, sm days cn feel more sm day lesser..shld b norm bah.

ahNah,

i taking cab....abt 1hr or less oni better then coach from spore....we travel from hm to east side oso abt that timing mah so shd b alright

so got win anot?

mi not the gambling type so mi most likely no go in there

ducklingeshop, your mop looks good.

huffpuff, you pointed out one bad point. Cannot clean the floor under the sofa, table etc...

snowy, later tonite will go homefix to check with them on the functions of the steam mop. Will also consider spin N go mop.

suika and ahnah, so envious, can go genting. my hubby said no travelling until i give birth...

my bb movement oso very random. sometimes very quiet then sometimes kick all over the place, dunno doing aerobics inside or wat...hee..

suika

Win a bit .. but not with wife. She too tired already.

huffpuff

Got condition one. I forfeit her to go Taiwan or Japan for the next 2 yrs. i rather the baby got lots of movement than no movement.

ahNah,

dn tink coach ride will affect bb, u all monitor closely if stil worried cn consult ur gynae.. dn worry too much.

jascmy,

i hv seen e spin n go mop demo, looks gd but its out of stock..u compare n share with us ok.

ahnah, wow, 2 years is a long time. ur wife agree meh? hehe. on baby movement, i think at this stage is ok not to feel movement for sometime cos bb still small...but i get worried too lah..

snowy55 : thanks, i guess shld be ok .

huffpuff : She had to agree lor. baby got first priority . Now is 19wk day 3 already

huffpuff,

mi more then 3yrs no go holidays liao lor....

ahNah,

how come forfeit her to go taiwan or japan?

i tink i will use the playpen 1st then decide wan to buy cot anot.. thanks mummy for the advice..

Jascmy: how much is the steam mop selling?

Sunflower: Thanks for sharing..another bb fair coming...

my hubby dun allow me to go genting, he say unless i dun go casino...argh... then we can go genting..

i was telling him dun go casino wat we can do there..

Luckily i sneak in now else tonight i will have to read the day's posts past twelve again.

Thanks MVH, i copy and paste what you wrote out to print hehe... gotta to call the CL tonight again just to confirm her attendance and if possible talk about the stuff listed.

Aiya, thanks gals but I have bought the cot already. It is a 5 in 1 cot ... don't know what that means but the cot comes with 3 or 4 levels of adjustment, movable crib door and finally it can be converted into a toddler bed too when the kid is wise enough.

Actually I have given the baby bed a long thought. In the end, we decided on having a cot as a cot makes us feel like having a baby...complete with the baby experience we get to see in catalogues. Like what eeyore wrote, a cot can be decorated....

A friend dissuaded me from using a playpen cos a playpen can be rather hot due to the meshing. Another friend swears by it but a good playpen (those that come with a few levels adjustments, and good mattress) cost almost as much a a convertible .

I have also considered getting a moses cot, it can be carried everywhere ...and later when he grows further he can be tranfered into a single bed with safety side harnesses...and maybe kept in place by a mobile cot..

I have also thought of putting the newborn bb on a mattress on the floor but i think at that level if i am to kena a c-section, carrying the bb in a kneeling position will be a killer to the wound. Besides my floor is not exactly regularly clean, other than picking up respiratory problems he might also end up as a part time vacuum cleaner when he starts rolling.

I don't know whether there is any correlation between sleeping in a yaolan and back posture but I did sleep in a yaolan and i do have bad posture. I have mild scoliosis and it had caused my mother and me lots of inconvenience when i was younger. We had to make regular trips to the outram institute to have my backbone tested. A friend's backbone condition was in fact so bad that she had to have steel tubes inserted. Just imagine having to declare this condition to the immigration officers everytime she comes in and out of the country.

We are using a spin n go mop, looked pretty easy, no need to squeeze dry the mop just step on a stepper and its done but its current price tag is quite hefty though... think we got it at $79.90 from OG.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3827302.jpg]

$9 each

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3827303.jpg]

$9.50

any1 interested? I'm trying to get enuff orders for this price

hi suika

i'm keen to get the milk bags. seems like the price went up liao hor.. does the price inclusive postage?

alibaba,

the price went up by $3 lor since last yr....i bought at $6.50 oni

i must get 100pkts in order to get this price... where u staying or working? i can pass u at tiong bahru anytime during ofc hrs....if i'm able to get enuff amt

suika

i stay & work at woodlands area leh.. probably. will see if u can hit the amount. & we meet up on one of the gathering soon before we deliver? hehe..

alibaba,

coz last time i used this so thinking to buy back but the price so ex....if u gals wana buy we can try consolidate lor

woodlands not v far lah can try get ppl help collect n pass lor

suika

last time i used was the cheapest among a few brand.. now machiam pigeon's price.

ya.. can ask pple to pass around.. but i tink i am getting about 6 pack.. hope u can hit the minimum order

alibaba

ya lor....used to b cheap n good...esp with the ziplock n best of all i forget to bring my avent bottle i can slot this bag right at the bottom n it fits juz nice so no nid to pour from here n there :p

for the lazy me lah

i was thinking if the rest of the gals here oso wan then we'll b able to hit the order....last time my thread oso like that

juz that now the price went up alot

i have a playpen for my #1.. Only use for a few months.. Coz it is too hot and stuffy.. I don't on the aircon and my gal cant sleep well even with the fan blowing towards her direction.. the meshing is too close thus wind cant really get in..

scooby, glad to hear fr u that it can convert to toddler bed... actually i was still lamenting whether to buy or not.. my #1 sleep wif me till she weans off breastmilk, ard 22 months.. now she sleeps on a mattress beside me... she still pesters me to let her sleep on my bed at times.. i wonder will she be jealous if her little sister gets to sleep wif us.. so thinking of buying a cot instead.. but my room got not much space left as well... sigh..

my gal also sleeps on yaolan from 4 - 8 months.. so far okay for her back.. but i heard my mum say cannot sleep too much on yaolan coz might have back problems.. dunno how true.. but after scooby said so, i began to believe might have some side effects.

suika, is the bag single zip or double zip? I find that double zip is better, doesnt leak and the milk bag can "stand". Easier for defrosting.. I normally use the brand called lansinoh from mothercare.. ex..25 bags for $18. If get during 20% discount sale, abt $14.40 for 25 bags.. Very good and easy to store..

I slept in yaolan from baby till 5yrs old. My mum say I can only sleep in it and I want her to shake the yaolan until morning loh. She say she nvr sleep when I'm a baby.

Now my posture very bad. A bit band. Remembered during the wedding photoshot, the photographer have to keep asking me to stand straight. And my sis say she can see me from far when I'm in my NPCC squat last time in Sec sch cos I can't stand straight, so its me liao. Hahaa... maybe that is the side effect from sleeping in yaolan/sarong.

sian lolz.. can't go casino can't go theme park.. then no point go there..

suika: izzit a must to buy? can we use bottle to store the milk? am a bit blur liao~

Is the purpose of a milk bag to save space... as compared to using milk bottles? This is my first so I don't really know what is the use of a milk bag.

Yay another bb expo, tks sunflower! I would love to go but i think i will probably hv to give this a missed as my hubby will be having his exams then..haiz.

Erh...actually I don look like 'hunchback of notredame'... at least for now..heheh... don't know whether the condition will exacerbate as i age. As of now, frankly nobody can tell i can scoliosis unless i tell them. A test for scoliosis is to keep your feet straight and legs close together with your knees touching the sides of one another and then bend your body forward and rest your hands straight onto both knees (as in a stiff panting posture). Both sides of the back must be straight and symmetrical. Mine is slightly off... in fact if you look carefully one side of the back is thicker than the other.

Scary right? but there again my disclaimer.. "don't know whether there is any correlation or not in that department or not". But there again there is one benefit of "yaolan", my head is much rounder than that of my brother (he sleeps in a metal cot... yes metal in those days) and hairstylists use to remind me about that ...

Cot/Playpen/Yaolan

I was v fortunate to have hand-me-downs from frens. We had 2 cots, 2 playpens and a stroller from 1st born. I later gave away a cot and returned a playpen.

I find the cot to be very useful for me in the inital months as I had a CS; so I cant bend too low coz it hurts. If you use bumpers around the cot; the baby wont kena bumps lah! My DS started to climb outside of the cot even at the loowest level; that is when i got nervous. I think the one i use cannot be changed to bed.

Playpen is a good option esp when they r slightly older coz baby can play inside and u feel safe he/she is not crawling or climbing all over the place. If you are getting a playpen, make sure the sides are ventilated; meaning they are covered by mesh rather than a solid sheet.

Now DS uses a mattress to sleep; it is a no-no for him to sleep with us. You have to "RESIST" this temptation from the very beginning. First for your own sanity! and ahem... privacy :p

The 3rd reason is for baby's safety. There are cases where the parent suffocate the baby unwittingly when they roll over and the baby is too small/weak to push you back. I even read of a case recently which a mummy breastfeeding the kid on a plane; feel alseep and ended up smothering her baby; sad but true story.

I am not an advocate of yaolan; in fact i stopped my bro from buying me an electric one as a gift. For reasons same as those mentioned by jascmy, scooby and MVH: back problems and also over reliant on the caregiver. Sure there are electric ones but they r not as 'natural' as manual ones. I know of someone whose baby cannot sleep unless in a moving yaolan and i dun intend to be a slave to the baby, haha!

Milk Bag

Scooby, they can be stacked and compressed so uses much lesser space than glass bottles. You will be amazed by how much milk we can produce. For DS, my record was more than 100 pcks at my own freezer and my in laws.

Suika,

I used to use this brand as well, and yes i rem the price was much gentler on the pocket[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My fav is stl Lansinoh which i buy during sprees.

I have another lobang to share: Nanny milkbags $8.50 for 25pcs and Pigeon Jumbo Pack breastpads 60 pcs at $11. The usu is 42 pieces for $8.50 or $9.50 i think. The link is below: http://www.***********.com/Promotions.html

mvh,

the bag can stand and can hold up to 220ml.....if no remember wrong it's single ziplock

based on my passed usage no leak

winnie,

it's more for those who r determine to pump when going back work coz easier for storage....bottles takes up more space of ur fridge too

Scooby,

Oh yes the other advantage is you can write on the bag with a marker the date you pump; so you can use FIFO, with bottles a bit tougher to label. Hope this helps!

Travel

If you feel well and your spouse is for it; go and have a short trip!

It will be a while before you can travel again. We did a road trip to Malaysia during my last trimester.

I rem it was Christmas period, so tat will be 2 months before I was due.

Naturally our folks were quite unhappy but we had a fantastic time bonding just 2 of us.

On hindsight however i think it is safer to go now during our 2nd trimester and not last trimester [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika,

i still waiting for my fren's feedback on lasinoh..think i would still opt for that brand.

MVH,

dont need to buy from mothercare, buy from spree is cheaper! cost between $18-$19 for 50pcs

dreymin,

wow u got so much milk... i realised that those with cup size A or B ppl have more milk than those bigger breast size ppl (sorry for saying this) but I took several data point already... really got so much milk is good, can save on powder $$.

eeyore_03, its true leh. My mum told me b4. She say my sis c cup then end up 1st bb no milk at all. 2nd birth, very little milk. Then my Mum will be very proud saying she only A cup and we drink till we don have time to swallow the milk and almost got choke cos the milk flow too fast liao. Then the other side is spraying milk while we latch on one side.

jascmy,

haha, your mum very funny, very proud of her cup size... but if really it's true, I dont mind having smaller cups...

eeyore, lets see loh. I'm also A cup but now grow to almost C cup liao. We look at before preggie cup size rite. Hope I have lots of milk like my Mum. Hehee...

ahNah, no lah, thats for my sis only. What I normally heard is lesser milk or milk supply will finish very early (eg. 3rd or 5mth after birth) for bigger cup size.

jascmy

so means bigger cup only can last 3 to 5th month. Then that is ok. IF i share with baby .. then maybe lesser right ?

ahNah, I'm not sure leh. OMG, u mean u wan to drink the milk. I heard it don taste very nice leh. And it smell like fish market, very stink!. I smell it b4 when I'm at my sis hse. Think u better jsu have a taste of it will do lah. Don fight with you bb.

thanks cheekrene!

jascmy,

our BM not all same taste 1....some can taste fishy whereas some might b sweet