(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

purelyz,

thks for arranging e gathering..I coming too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

purelyz,

i can't confirm the gathering myself coz there's some change of plans on my side....keep u updated again :)

today such a nice weather to be on leave sleeping sia

angel,

thanks for sharing ur bb's measurements. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

and congrats to all mtbs with good DS results.

i rec'd a call fr my gynae's clinic yesterday, informing me that my DS report is normal. i'll drop by my gynae's later this evening to see my gynae. will scan the report & upload to FB, then post the link here.

SunFlower, I only use a thin cloth (cloth diaper), fold a few layers (2-3 layers) and use as a pillow. Try to use a cloth that does not trap dust coz not good for baby nose (since no neck control, baby face is close to cloth)

purelyz, i can go for the outing. unless got urgent thing crop up last min. think 7pm ok la.. coz some of us might be hungry..

sunflower,

if u wan u can place something below the mattress to tilt it a little will do...hospital oso like that do it

another option is to use the cloth nappy

I just came back from external meeting. So tired and having headache now. We went out taking cab then my colleagues say we come back by bus. Sian!

Welcome all to join for the Aug 2010 MTB Gathering!

Date: 1 April 2010

Time: 7pm to 9.30pm

Venue: Swenson Cafe - Suntec City, B1

Name (Confirmed)

Ednique

Purelyz

Starz

scooby2010

jascmy

ducklingeshop

winnie

Snowy55

MVH

Saffy

(Pending confirmation)

crescent

White Lady

Suika

Eeee... I just puke out a mouthful of avocado juice that I had after lunch. This is my 1st time vomit food out for my 17 weeks of pregnancy. Yucks!

ahNah, I'm 17+weeks now. Still waiting to feel my bb's movement and my hubby can only hear pop pop pop sound from my tummy. Not sure what is my bb doing inside. Initially no sound, so I ask my bb to talk to Papa, then he hear the pop pop sound.

jascmy, my wife last night tell me that she can feel the baby moving ... but i told her most of them it could be the blood vessel or the vein is "breathing".

How i wish to have a ultrasound device on hand to check wat is the baby doing ... is she scratching her head again or putting her hand into her mouth when we saw it during the OSCAR scan at NUH

white_lady,

I also have my DS on the 1st April & my colleague was jokingly telling me "what if my bb april fool me on that day" as in the gender, measurement etc... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so funny

as for the dinner gathering, i will give it a miss. enjoy urself mummies...

Purelyz,

Thanks for arrg for the gathering. Any chance we can change the gathering to somewhere nearer to mrt? Coz easier for us to head home esp when we end ard 9 plus; otherwise we will hv to trot all the way to mrt or hv a wait queue at taxi queue...

Detailed Scan

Seems like everyone is excited abt DS, so am i... esp when you get one day off from work, haha! Mine is planned for 8 Apr... wl share more!

I don have 1 day off leh. Cos my DS and appt with gynea is on different day. Sonographer say they are not doctor so can't give MC. I will have to take half day leave. Hope bb corporate if not I will have to take one day leave.

sunflower: i duno the measurement leh, cuz i forget to take from my gyane, will ask from her next visit..

so far, the sonographer say everything is fine!

Jascmy: just like i can't take coffee..

dreymin,

actually at 1st want to have it at ION but the restaurant dun take reservation. Bugis outlet often crowded. Other outlets are west or east area.

Good News! I've also make reservation at Plaza Sing Outlet (i'm a kiasu mummy). For those that have confirmed, please vote which venue is preferred. SUNTEC OR PLAZA?

suika, can meh. I heard from winnie that our gynea don give MC at all. Even for normal checkup with her also no MC.I want to ask her when I see her in Apr for the very 1st time.

Will tell her that I pay so much to her as compare to subsidized clinic but subsidized clinic give MC but she don't give.

jascmy,

last time when im first trimester, every visit to gynae, gynae will ask me want mc or not..but i always reject.. now he nv ask liao..but if i ask for it, he will give.

sunflower: i completed all the detailed scan liao~

how come ur gyane so ncie gif mc de? mine she neber mention give mc before leh...

Jascmy: if u can MC. i also wan..

Old Navy, GAP> Anyone interested to order? I want to place orders on 29th March. If you want to purchase anything from US can email me, i can try to combine the orders.

If want to get anything, please email me at [email protected] and indicate your nick from this forum else I will charge extra according to my spree conditions for handling charges. Subject please put spree

medela> those interested can look at gap.com website. seems like they are selling as well. but price wise i'm not too sure if it is cheaper.

Ah Nah, at week 17 i think what i felt was some fluttering sensation. Only during my week 20 then i felt some real movement. These days the movement is more apparent ard 9pm to 10pm when i really hv the time to relax at home. These are the times where i will get my hubby to try to feel as well.. haha so far is hasn't got any luck.

Hi Purelyz, I would prefer plaza sing as it is closer to the mrt station. Hey I thought preggy cannot eat ice-cream? My colleague was telling me that cold stuff will contribute to asthmatic kids next time ... so i have stopped eating ice-cream and cold drinks eversince.

So far my gynae at sgh have always offered to give me an MC on all my visits, but not once have i accepted it. I am currently working in the pte sector ... too much mc is bad for me. haiz...

Yesterday on my way home so nice i lady let me have her seat....(not that i am really desperate for one but it was really unexpected). i thanked her before i sat down and before i got down the train......that not all... i still ask if she wants back her seat before i got down the train hehehe...

jascmy,

my gynea always ask if i wana take mc for the scans....he can issue like 1mth ahead 1 so i'll juz take n see on the actual day i wana take mc or leave to cover

purelyz,

Yeh! You are the best! Yes, please count me in for Plaza Sing!

Beautiful morning

Woke up at 7am to take a call, aso working from home today coz maid nd to go MOM so i m the babysitter... hope DS wl be very copoerative so I can work, pray this day passes peacefully!

MC

I didnt know some gynaes give MC for every visit and this is my 2nd pregnancy, haha! I agree with scooby that if you are working, better dun take all the time. I only know from the clinic nurse that i wl get MC for DS, not sure it is the case for you gals as well. Have told my boss and she is fine with it.

Usu i hv early morn gynae visits ard 840am or 9am so i clock in ard 10am or latest by 1030am so not too much disruption work-wise. Have tried to get sat appts but they r so packed and long waiting time so i decided to stick to my usual timing.

Seats at MRT

Scooby, you met a nice kind-hearted soul, good for you! I think coz i m quite fat before 2nd pregnancy, coz i didnt shed from the first one, sob sob! Pple cant tell if i am pregnant or fat, hehe! But by now, they should, still they wl ignore or space out or close their eyes. I hv became quite the kiasu mummy so i position myself at the mrt door, no choice when u r feeling nauseaous in the evening... But nothing beats meeting nice pple who gave up their seats; that always make my day!

Winnie,

baby clothings very cute but i dare not buy too much... cos got quite a lot of pass down already... buying dresses for my gal actually, all so nice...

suika,

tentatively set at 1.46, i'm using vpost fro shipping...

i can't make it for the gathering, need to take care of #1... u gals enjoy!!!

I think we are revisiting the hot topic of food! Just last week, my fren told me that when she was preggie with her No.2, she ate a lot of durians. She didnt believe very much about taboo food (just like me) so the result is her daughter was born with a lot of toxins; with pus coming out from her mouth, ears and nose. I was quite shocked when i heard that and seriously considering my own diet. I still believe in eating in moderation; maybe not so much durians & mangos esp now is the season and they are cheap & plentiful.

I scouted for a BabyCentre article for you reading pleasure.

Q. I was told that there are quite a lot of things I can’t eat now that I’m pregnant. Is this true?

One of the main principles of traditional Chinese medicine is that medicine and food share the same source. In other words, a lot of foods are also medicines. There is no clear boundary between them. All herbs and foods are categorised according to their basic qualities and tastes. They are further divided according to their “nature” or “energy”, which are:

• placid;

• warm;

• heaty;

• cold;

• and, cooling.

According to the ancient book of medicine The Internal Medicines of the Yellow Emperor (Huang-Di Nei-Jing), a wise man preserves his good health by “adapting to the cold and heat of the four seasons”. This is interpreted to mean that people should adapt their diet according to their environment, eating foods of different natures in keeping with the seasonal changes.

In general, placid foods are mild without any bias towards cold or heat, and hence can be consumed all year round.

Foods which are warm and heaty should be consumed in autumn and winter. You should eat less of these foods in spring or summer. Foods which are cold or cooling in nature are best for spring and summer, but not so good in autumn and winter.

However, traditional Chinese medicine practitioners or physicians advise that even within the same season or the same kind of weather, people with different physical constitutions may require foods of different natures.

People with a “cold” constitution may …

• feel extremely uncomfortable in low temperatures;

• have limbs that may feel cold;

• have a swollen tummy;

• have loose faeces.

They should be careful about consuming foods of cold or cooling nature.

People with a more “heaty” constitution may …

• taste bitterness in their mouth;

• have bad breath, inflamed throat and red eyes;

• feel dehydrated;

• have yellowish urine and dry faeces.

They should be careful in taking foods that are warm and heaty in nature.

Experts in traditional Chinese medicine stress that these same principles apply during pregnancy, but with the further consideration of the specific physiological condition and health of the mum-to-be. They believe that pregnant mums are slightly anaemic as blood and nutrients are diverted and stored to keep the growing baby healthy, and to prepare the body for making milk. Therefore, you will probably be advised to increase your intake of nutrient-rich foods, especially those containing protein and iron, such as lean meat, beef, chicken and egg.

Traditional Chinese medicine practitioners also advise that mums-to-be keep their meals light, especially in early pregnancy when nausea and vomiting peak – this means less oil, salt and sugar. You may also be told that traditional favourites such as stewed pork or pork rib soup can still be enjoyed, but in moderation as they are high in animal fat.

It is also believed that a mum-to-be is more prone to internal heat or “embryo heat” because she is not menstruating. Thus, a traditional physician or practitioner may advise you to reduce your intake of heaty foods. These include:

• mutton and venison;

• spicy and hot foods;

• various kinds of nuts;

• cinnamon;

• some tropical fruits such as longan and durians.

You should also be prudent in taking foods that are considered by traditional Chinese medicine to be mildly laxative, including:

• barley;

• purslane;

• certain types of edible fungus;

• amaranth.

After my DS was born; he had jaundice and had to be warded one more day to monitor the levels and the hosp also put him in a special incubator for UV light. As I was BF him, i aso stayed one more day.

The nurses asked if i took coconut drink during my last trimester and i said no. They mentioned that wl reduce the heatiness from the mummy's body which affect the baby. For my 2nd kid, i m definitely gg for the coconut drink!

dreymin,

i was told during our last month of pregnancy, we should at least drink coconut drink once or twice a week.

dreymin,

which hospital u went? i did drink abit of coconut that time but my boy oso warded 1 more day coz of jaundice ley....his lvl no go dwn for more then 2wks lor

Morning all,

Went for DS on Monday, all fine. Doctor mentioned low placenta but he didn't stress on that. So I guess no need to pay too much attention right?

By the way, do we have a running preggy here? I don't understand why my gynae keeps saying no to running. But whenever I read those ang mo websites, they fully support and encourage it. I wanna go running!

Dreymin & eeyore_03,

I also heard that coconut drink is good as it aids in the delivery and we must defitnitely have 1 on the day of delivery itself. I wonder if we can order that at TMC? heehee

but hor, I also heard before that boys get more serious jaundice than gals...

so boys need additional 1 day warded, while gals need not...