(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

purelyz,

I wan attend the dinner gathering too, i hv rsvp in fb too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Is ther a duplicate of Starz in ur list? In case u gt the wrong no. of pax..Thks for organizing!!!

purelyz,

thanks for making the change...

my next visit is this sat... can't wait too! hope to find out the bb's gender... hehe~

alibaba,

same as me, i only see gynae at 8th, 13th and upcoming 17th wk. Not so excited le and also not much qns to ask. So dun find it a must to go see him and waste $.

After that, i will go see him again on 22nd wk, cos i nd him to write letter for me to go my Japan plus Jakata trip. i still need to fly to BKK in May for training. Dunno shd be happy or wat... Can't do massage, can't shop much...

alibaba,

Ur #1 giving u morg call, so early wake up n talk..cutez..Do u eat anything in particular for preparation of breastmilk for ur newborn huh?

ednique> mine is scan every visit so far so abt once a month

purelyz> oops i cannot make it on 1st April. i forgot i got piano lessons on that day. only saw it when i try to add the event into my calendar. stopped my piano for 2 months already, then totally forget my lessons are on thursdays.

U all still puke when brushing teeth in the morning and at night??

Mine got worst, I will keep vomiting air till some food also want to come out together. So I have to brush my teeth really fast to prevent puking food out. Last time during 1st trimester not like that, the most puke twice. Starting 2nd trimester, it got worst.

I hate to brush teeth now!

purelyz

ya.. u still gotta fly for holiday/work purpose? probably u can ask for prenatal massage there? or else do facial lor.. shopping still can la.. shop for ermmm gal gal dresses!

snowy55

nope. i eat normal.. oh u find this morning call cute? after ur delivery.. u will know the "smell".. hahaa.. cos u will have alot of broken slp. which is superb tiring...

as for breast feeding, i drink alot of red date tea/milo.. fish soup.. etc..to booast the supply.. ultermately... lotsa latching on & pumping will help stimulate more supply..

i'm soo hungry now... only had a small piece of not very nice swiss roll & two pieces of biscuit....

babyt >> how u get the starter kit? i'm also at kkh private suite.. & i'm already nearing 13th weeks.

thanks pinkyluv for updating. my edd is now 3rd sept. it's inching forward 1 day every visit -_-"

just want to share that i bought a bra extender and feel much better now. now thinking if should get the bottom extender from mothercare, but ex at $30... think cant use for too long also. does anyone know cheaper alternative?

and... my DS test went well with risk of 1 in 13000 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] heard some say that might be able to see the sex, but the sonographer doesn't even want to try to see. :/

Aug MTB 2010 dinner gathering

Date: 1 April 2010

Time: 7pm to 9.30pm

Venue: Swenson Cafe - Ion Orchard

Name / Going (Y/N)

Ednique / Y

Purelyz / Y

Starz / Y

crescent / Y

jascmy / Y

MVH / Y

ducklingeshop / Y

White Lady / Y

Winnie / Y

Sunflower / Y

Suika / Y

Saffy / Y

Snowy55 / Y

dreamz, ok noted. Got to see u next time le.

Snowy55, i've added in ur name

alibaba,

all is for work purposes. sianz...

when i upgrade my spa treatment, i've ask for 1x trial pre-natal massage. I'll use it when i'm in 5th mth. Dun dare to do it overseas, in case sth happen due to language barrier or wat. Ya, facial still can do. I still go for facial once a mth. But last time when belly getting bigger, i dun enjoy le. When put on mask, i also dun relax, cos belly heavy on top. Ya, ya... shop for bb dresses! Haha...

Breast Pump

Anyone of u getting? i'm thinking of getting medela, but still comtemplating whether to get freestyle of Pump in style. can 2nd-time mummies advise? i saw a few spree threads, its quite worthwhile to order from them because its so expensive in singapore.. only thing is that, no local warranty, but should be ok la.

sunflower> i will be getting but i have not have the energy to go shop ard to look look see see at the prices. i am thinking of getting avent.

2nd-time mummies> any feedbacks? better to get the dual one or individual one? I'm planning to bring it to work also.

sunflower

i am swear with medela.. i used medela PISA.(brought 2nd hand from another mummy) imported from US. so far no problem. & i has pass down to two mummies.. it's more bulky. if u have intention to BF for long & gonna pump in office & has no transport. freestyle would be better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] overall good investment..

from my previous thread member.

i heard they have problem using avent electric pump. keep sending in for services.. i cant comment much for avents.

alibaba

thks for e info..ya, we gt to sacrifice more than zzz to our little ones. It will be more tough for u since u're handling 2.

purelyz,

thks for ur update! wow, seems like u do need to travel quite abit for ur wk, must be tiring. watch out the food u eat esp in bkk..

alibaba,

ya i heard medela is the best so far..but quite exp leh..actually my company has PISA too, so i dont have to carry my set to office..

how much u bought urs for 2nd hand?

I used avent manual (single) pump for 22months.. it was tiring at first coz you need to constantly "exercise" your fingers and wrist. However, when I got used to it, it took me 10 mins to express both sides.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I find it light coz I bring it to office and back home every day. Just imagine carrying the pump and expressed milk in the ice bag.. super heavy. unless u get another set in the office la.. I intend to reuse the pump for #2. I bought the rubber spare parts already..

Of course I heard my colleagues using medela and give good feedback. Costly but hand-free.

Initially I thought I only need to breastfeed for a short period, so buying something $300-400 is too costly for me la.. Advent manual is <$100.

purelyz,

i rem u mentioned u'll be going for ur detailed scan during ur 17th+ wks?? isnt that a bit too early? i read that detailed scanning are usually done btwn 18-22wks. most have it during their 20th wks. i also read some gynaes advised mtb to take during 21-22 wks becos some anormalies appeared at the later stage leh.

envy that u can still travel by air. i love to travel too but i had terrible backaches. even 90mins in the cinema is quite a torture. i cant imagine sitting in the plane for long hrs lor. but its nice to enjoy while u still can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've also set my sight on medela. not sure to buy pisa or freestyle. what are the differences huh?? thinking of enquiring for 2nd hand ones fr TMC during my 20th wks scan.

i'm using avent electric single pump. no plan to upgrade, cos medela more costly. i plan to bf for short period, maybe 3 mths this time (#1 less than 2 mths). my supply not a lot and quite slow, so i only empty both in 20 mins. no prob with pump yet. But i heard my colleague after using for 4mths, nd to send in for maintenance.

angel,

i also dunno. for my #1, i do detailed scan at 20wks. So i'm surprise i can do it so early. But i trust the doc words la. He say can then can lo.

http://www.slide.com/r/UqzjL-896T_EHU0A_39XTE1cFOwr-Yse

For 1st time MTB, jus share the pictures for my #1 detailed scan in yr 2007.

My last appt, when i count my date, i shd be 13wks, but doc say i 14wks+. So i'm guessing, i shd be 18 wks+ when i do detailed scan bah.

i still can sit for long time, so hopefully i can handle well the flight...

unable to join the gathering, i will join next round. ok?

sunflower, i wanna give some advice on medela pumps. I used PISA, v good. now the pump is with my sis, she said v good too. many frens who borrowed my pump prior to buying a new pump also said good.

as for freestyle, i did not use it before. i heard that the suction is less painful and less powerful. so some of them are unable to clear their breast, if they go for full pumping (meaning pump during work, no latching). some ppl are ok with freestyle.

somemore PISA is cheaper than freestyle.

but PISA HEAVIER.

So, i still vote for PISA. cause it helps to clear the breasts.

for manual pump, i used avent manual pump too (single pump). it is v good when you already have steady and regular flow. light and easy to carry when we are on the go. i used this when i have functions to attend in town or exhibition halls.

the choice is still up to you.

purelyz,

i think ur gynae must have counted fr ur 14th wks lah. think u r the 1st among us to take this detailed scanning. good luck & let us know how it goes k.

btw, i cant view ur link leh, not sure why??

i'm only decided to buy a electric pump after

i delivered #1. i trial their pump at some women's breastfeeding support foundation before i invest on medela. that time i am really on the verge of giving up due to manual pump..which really take up alot of time from me..estimate about 30-45mins for one breast.. sometimes i can jus hide inside the room for just pumping for 1.5 - 2hrs... or maybe i am just no skilled enough for using a manual pump.. which is why i invest on electric pump & is also becos i have intention to have #2. so it's worth more if i get it earlier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower

i got the pump @$400 2nd hand .. (it's used like once or twice due to owner decided to invest on Freestyle pump)

QQ,

'somemore PISA is cheaper than freestyle. but PISA more expensive. '

so which one is cheaper?

alibaba,

online spree about $460-$480 first export set.

alibaba,

whoa, $400 is still pretty ex hor (even though its almost brand new). i understand the brand new one cost like $700-900?

i'm quite clueless abt these breast pumps actually since i'm a 1st time mtb & have not really read up on them yet. only manage to catch some feedbacks on them here & there.

not sure if its worth spending that amount of money on a breast pump? i was advised by a fren who has just given birth last mth to feed BM during the day & FM during the night as bb will feel more full & that lead to better & undisrupted sleep for the bb.

i read most mtb invest in a gd breast pump for exclusive breastfeeding so u save alot on FM. but since i'm thinking of following my fren's advice to feed partial, not sure if i shd still get the medela pumps leh. this is prob my only child, i have no intention of having another one (yet) although my hb prefer to have at least 2. lol.

sunflower, i got typo... sorry.

PISA IS HEAVIER. freestyle is more portable and light.

free style is more exp, am I right? huh???

i hope my memory dun fail me.

if u go BP, around SGd360 for PISA. for freestyle should be about SGD430?

singapore here SGD 650 for PISA, then SGD >800 for freestyle. am I right?

QQ,

for BP,

Medela FREESTYLE BREASTPUMP -- US$299.00

Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump – shoulder bag -- US$239.00

for freestyle, after shipping around $460-$480

In SG, PISA cheapest is SGD$599 at First few Years (Paragon). Not sure about freestyle.

Previously I'm using Ameda, passed down by my elder sis and since then it has been using by 4 hands now... last used was my younger sis and she mentioned like lost it's capabilities liao. So i thought to buy also... thought of the freestyle... but anyone knows if freestyle also as soft sound as PIS?? volume is one of my main concern...

sunflower,

then ok la. freestyle is more exp, ...

FYI. PISA is cheaper.

buy from BP is ok. US 239 sounds yummy.

eeyore,

PISA is quite noisy to me, i feel but it can suck better. my fren told me freetyle is quieter than PISA. so, the answer to your question is: yes.

sunflower

tat time was ermm . yr 2008 & now yr 2010 liao.. price dropped tremendously..as new model launched... hahaa...

definately PISA is cheaper than freestyle la.. freestyle is the less bulky set with dual express function.. so far my fren who use freestyle dont have any complaint leh.. they all can even surf net while expressing.. v convenient i tink..

Angel

new set will be even more exp le... for feeding BM & FM.. purely depends on individual... i oso used this method becos i want more slp. & so i can leave bb to my maid at night..so she feed bb FM at night.. but again, if u want maintain ur supply.. u still have to keep on pumping wor... even at night hor.. fyi, some bb still woke up at night even they are on FM. like my boy.. sometimes still wan milk in the middle of the night... my suggestion is u may try to use manual pump 1st. much more cheaper. some mummies do exclusive latching on.. i heard they didnt pump at all.. i am not pro in latching on.. i did exclusive pumping tat time.

Hi ladies, I bought few tins of Similac® Mum™ (700g)- (Never open)-

Willing to let go at cheap price of $12. kindly email me at [email protected]

Immunify® Ingredients:

Prebiotic Fructo-oligosaccharides (FOS) nourish the beneficial bacteria in your gut to support a healthy digestive system

Antioxidant Vitamins C and E help protect cells from free radicals that may have escaped the natural processes of our body system

AdvanceShield™

Folate helps support foetus growth and development

Folate, taken before and during pregnancy, helps in the mental and overall development of the foetus/baby

Iron & Zinc- an increased need for iron and zinc during pregnancy

Iron is important to support formation of red blood cells, which carry oxygen to all parts of the body

Zinc helps in physical development and is essential for growth

Choline is an essential nutrient recognized by US Institute of Medicine (IOM). IOM recommends higher dietary requirements during pregnancy and breastfeeding

Calcium & Vitamin D support development of strong bones and teeth

Low in Fat: Supports appropriate weight gain and provides a host of valuable nutrients with less fat

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3662854.jpg]

hmm, like that ar..seems like PISA is more value for money, unless need to carry out, then freestyle makes more sense.

QQ,

oh u think PIS is noisy?? i thought sounds ok leh... when we pump in nurse room, we can't really hear the sound of each other and we were only separated by a curtain...

eeyore, i pump in the midnight ma, daytime the sound is ok, at night i scared i wake my hb and bb up last time. my gal refused to latch so i was like alibaba, fully pump.

Sunflower, freestyle is lighter.

alibaba, i heard good comments about freestyle too. one of my frens love it, but the other one said unable to empty her breasts. so she wanna try PISA to see if can clear her breasts better. she will be going to my fren's house for test this weekend or next week. i update u gals again when she completed her tests.

no need to kancheong about pump now. buy only when it is near to EDD or after delivery also can.

i suspect, if we do latching at home, and pump in the office, freestyle should be good.

but if do fully pumping, no latch on at all, maybe PISA better? cause stronger suction, can clear breats easie. Not sure (but my weird theory oni).

my fren's bb in nicu for a long time cause prematurely born, she used PISA to pump all the way until baby was discharged. she was able to use the pump to stimulate flow and the amount increased day by day.

eeyore

seldom have company so pro breastfeeding one... is ur co a bank??? my gf's co oso have PISA too.. my co.. i did my pumping in the changing room.. no air con one -_-" sianz. but at least better than some have to do it in toilet...

alibaba,

thx for sharing! i'll likely do exlusive pumping too cos firstly, not very comfy abt bb latching on. in addition, i have small nips, not sure if milk can even be expressed out??

think i take after my mom, when she gave birth to me, the nurse told her her nips too small, cant breastfeed so i feed on FM only.

my current gynae is a guy, not sure where to go to if i wanna chk if i can breastfeed or use breast pumps leh. >_<"

Sunflower,

your company so good also? then u dun need to bring to office le. if u want to buy PISA then you will end up using it at home oni. is that what you want?

but hor? then u need not buy actually if your baby can latch well. you can prob borrow PISA from your fren to standby, if there is. or get a 2nd hand one.

by the way, u should not buy freestyle, because the accessories for PISA and freestyle are different. if you buy PISA then u can use them when u go back to work too, just bring the funnel, etc etc to office can liao. at home also can use.

where do u stay?

QQ,

i stayed woodlands, y leh?

but hor, during the 4mths maternity, i scare i need to pump if baby dont wan to latch.

QQ

tat's my worry too... duno how when i wan to pump in the middle of the night.. **headaches** later if my #1 woke up. & i have to stop pumping & entertain him back to slp den continue to pump... den i no need to slp liao.... become big panda..

btw, my gf oso cant clear thoroughly using PISA. she always has to clear by handexpressing for the last shot. i guess really depends on individual..

Agreed with QQ, dun have to get pump so early... scurly the warranty period start from the day u purchase... & it's not cheap to buy one..

cause i also stay woodlands ma. i suspect you staying in woodlands. haha!! dunno why.

if stay nearby (which is true) and got emergency then come my house pump and try out before u buy.

QQ,

oh..u also stay woodlands har..ok gd gd..anything emergency i run to ur hse for help liao..hahahah

alibaba,

ya, thinking of researching the pump now, then getting it later..anyway the shipping for spree takes 3-6wks..

alibaba, now start training your #1 to sleep in another room? or u pump in another room?

i think when they are used to the sound, they are able to sleep back.

sunflower, can la. emergency then come my house. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] woodlands is not v big.

alibaba,

my co not pro lar, just that we have industrial nurse in our company and we can make use of her nurse room with curtain partition... my elder sis company more pro, they really have breast feeding room in their office with cubicles...

also, hehe, i don't work in bank... i work in a company where u use their sponge to wash your dishes...

i use ameda for my #1, so far so good, i breastfeed her for 5 mths... i wish it will be longer but when i came back to work aft 3 mths maternity, org change, got busier, more stress, etc... become delay in pumping and supply got low... i really wish this will be longer, need to have more discipline... also one conclusion i have is: big breast is NOT equal to more breast milk... hehe...

angel,

take note that asian woman have shorter nipple so if u intend to latch on, it's best that u try out the nipple aid to help lengthen your nipple abit...

also u are in TMC, they have an expert (Ms Wong) who is very good, can check with her and normally during your stay in hospital, they should have everything that u can borrowed...

alibaba,

u staying with parents or in-laws?? otherwise can go another room to pump...

QQ,

I also most time in woodlands...

Angel, u dun try then u wont know if yours can be latched on. usually should be ok de. you can also get the lactation consultant to go to your place and provide advice if you are not in hospital. i heard that the service is v good.

Eeyore, cause u work in woodlands? because the sponge company is in woodlands?

good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

peeyore,

hmmm... i dun really intend to let bb latch on, my concern is not sure if i can express milk becos nips are small?

do u know if ms wong will chk one's breast during our stay there (having given birth)??

in that case, prob i can only get the pumps after i let her chk. no use buying if really cant express out lor.

qq,

haha... i must be weird or sth but i dun quite fancy the idea of my bb latching on lah.

if i'm able to express milk, i'll use breastpumps exclusively.