(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

QQ/eeyore

i'm staying with mil & i have 1 maid. maid slping in the other room. Either new born or #1 have to slp with me.. my maid definately cannot cope alone with two.. if one slp with me, i am afraid i will disturb their slp. as for my hb no problem he can slp like log.. haiz.. delimma... else mus resorted to pump in the living room~~

angel

for TMC, there is this lactation consultant will come to u to teach how to latch on & u can consult her on BF. that time the lactation commented tat i have a gd nipple for breastfeeding.. cos it's long enough.. but i fail latching on later on cos i find that bb cant really clear my boob. so i prefer to pump instead.. hehhee..

alibaba,

thx! hope i'll come across a helpful & patient lactation consultant to help me with my bf issues. *fingers crossed*

QQ,

yes i worked in woodlands, my mum staying in wdls, my gal studying in wdls...

alibaba,

oh then choose newborn to slp with u instead... but hor if #1 slp with maid, he always does that or u wanted to get him change?? cos changing now might not be easy unless 你狠下心, no matter how he cry or fuss, strongly push him to change his slping style...

angel,

I did not stay in TMC before but Mt. A does have nurses that help us on breastfeeding and they have all the necessities we need, even breast pumps...

your thinking is very weird but i strongly encourage woman to breastfeed if possible, it doesn't matter if u don't latch on... latch on is to increase the bonding and flow but if u're really not comfortable, never mind, u can still breastfeed thru' pumping out the milk...

but take note, all woman should be able to breastfeed even for inverted nipples' woman... so don't worry about that... for inverted nipples, u need to correct it before even u give birth that's what we were taught in the class...

last time i try to latch but pain le. Maybe wrong way. So i pump every 4 hrly. I can't keep up to my bb intake, so i feed FM-BM-FM... I stop aft 1.5 mths, cos nd to travel and start working. This time i hope i can do better!

alibaba,

u also good, stay in wdls and work near home...

the location has been a luxury to be that i stayed here for 10 yrs already...

peeyore,

yes, i agreed i'm really weird in this aspect. perhaps, i need to overcome the mental barrier first. will see how it goes, who knows when bb is born, i'll be happily letting bb latch on. lol.

one thing i'm certain is, i do want to breastfeed my bb, even if its thru exclusive pumping. i understand the importance of breast milk hence i like my bb to get all the necessary nutrients.

especially since i'm opting for c-section, i think breast milk is even more crucial for my bb. i read that bb passing thru birth canals will have natural immunity systems, unlike those by c-section.

not sure i can be hard hearted anot. i am afraid will be not so close with #1.. den if #2 slp with me hor, i mus wake up even more frequent.. cos newborn sure wake up more often for milk..& i still need to pump & den still mus change nappy all these... #1 no need liao..

Just called Mdm Ida, she ask me to thank all of those who are supporting her. She also say she will try her very best to do nice nice for us. She told me if i deliver 1st 2 weeks of Aug, it is her cousin Mdm Suria who will do for me, if 3rd wk then she will do. she did mentioned that all her back-up are trained by her and if I find not good, she will take over. if got any mum's c-sect and she got slot then she will do for me.

Those that wan can follow my fren, she use her hands & latching only. she say more effective.

daintyaqua> sama sama here. i also dun really fancy the idea, so i planning to get a good pump and use it exclusively.

eeyore, where is your gal's school? curious...

how i wish i also work in woodlands. i work too far.

alibaba, u also woodlands.? wah.

i think #2 sleep with u better. but u need to start action to transit your #1 with maid or mil (can or not ah?). maybe closer to ah mah, easier?

angel, no worry, when it is time u will know. some with small nipples also can bf de. no worry.

mvh,

mi oso using avent manual pump....i've got 2 so 1 i leave in the ofc oni brings back once a wk to sterilized...heehee it's light n best of all NO SOUND so ppl from outside duno

i didnt consider #1 to mil is becos my mil dun usually go by routine.. & she used to watch tv to slp -_- few times when she take him over.. i realise he haven slp til even it's 11+.. omg... & worst still she can even told me, my boy is not slpy.. my heart is tinking how u expect pple to slp when u switch on the tv.. i guess my boy inherit me... a light slper.. mus slp with no noise & no light environment... CHamm liao..

dreamz,

haha... someone else to share my thoughts. :p

qq,

thx! was quite concerned if i can express milk with my small nips but after reading all the comments, i felt my confidence grew lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will hope for the best!

QQ,

my gal in champkids @ 888 plaza.

sorry alibaba is in sembawang, not wdls... but still near lar...

alibaba,

me too, too comfortable to leave...

angel,

don't be mistaken, I didn't say a must to latch on... as long as u got belief in breastfeeding, pumping out is also another way... for me abit lazy so sometimes i actually latch on, saves the trouble of taking out the apparatus and washing and cleaning stuffs... hehe, lazy mah...

Hi Angel, my nip also a bit small. but i latch my gal on whenever I m wif her. I realized that after 2 yrs, my nip is longer than before (quite ugly though). Hence, I think you should be fine with BF.

Personally I felt that latching on save a lot of trouble.. I don't have to bring expressed BM in ice bag when I go out. I dont waste time pumping at nite. I latched her on whenever I go. At nite, I place my gal beside me on my bed and I lay down nursing her.. hands free.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She released the nip when she is contented or full, so I dont have to bother when she is done...

Purelyz, you should pump every 2 hrs.. 4hrs too long le.. new born drinks milk every 1.5-2 hrs.. so have to be the same frequency.. when they get older, then u can lengthen the pumping interval.

oops. i tot senoko is at woodlands.

so alibaba is in sembwang.

eeyore, oh she is in champkids. i see. i plan to send my gal to my 1st skool in may or june. mean while will let her try kinderland (more exp, but near to my house).

purelyz, i also agree with MVH mum. if u do pumping, pump at least every 3 hours. if supply not improved, pump every 2 hours. like that can help to maintain the flow and increase the flow cause got demand (though artificial demand).

no worry, try again this round.

MVH,

Ok, noted. I'll be more hardworking this time. i'll focus on BF #2 and hope to latch on than pump. Hopefully, my #1 dun disturb me.

i stay at sembawang , my office at senoko. & senoko is woodlands la.. anyway we are still near la.. maybe shld organise one north pple gathering at cwp hor..

i am considering to send my boy to kinderland oh... QQ how big is ur gal? scurly can be classmate... btw have u go book space? cos kinderland is v pop... i heard from sil they already quite fully booked.

peeyore,

no worries, i'm not mistaken at all. just that i myself think that i'm weird lor. to have ur bb latch on feels like the right thing to do lah. its more motherly i feel.

mvh,

thx, hope i'll get used to my bb latching on one day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, have u peeps heard of this?

during CNY, some relatives commented that if the parent, one party big eyes, the other small eyes, then bb will take after big eyes which will be the pre-dominant feature.

they also say if one party straight hair, the other curly, then bb likely will take after curly hair.

i've not heard of these before. my hb has small eyes while mine is big, it'll be nice if bb can take after my big eyes lah. lol. just wonder if there's any truth in them? anyone has experienced this??

angel--> really ah? wah if like that good lor.. i have bigger eyes than my hubby but he has curly hair while mine is straight...so nice if my baby will have my eyes and hubby's hair hehe

ednique,

haha... i also dont know how true is this. my hb's relatives talking about this during CNY so we just hear hear. i was quite amused when i first heard it though.

well, hope that bb will indeed take after ur eyes & ur hb's hair. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

they also say if during ur pregnancy, u keep staring at ur hb, ur bb will turn out like a carbon of ur hb. this one, i did hear it fr my fren last time who lamented how come her girl looked so much like the dad but not her. lol.

so if u want ur bb to look more like u, better stare at urself more in the mirror. haha.

Angel,

funny le.

so if i want bb to have angmoh eyes, then i look at angmoh's baby photos? ")

I tried,... haha!! but my gal came out also small eyes like me.

i think the genes also play the main part.

angel

my eyes bigger than hb but #1 takes after my hb leh.. & is look v alike one.. tink tis time rough i better look into the mirror more.. haa..

qq,

haha... ya, its definitely in the genes too.

so one can only hope either the bb looks more like urself or the hb or a combination of both lah.

for me, i was hoping more towards the combination. i hope bb can take after my big eyes & my hb's dimples. wahaha. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maybe next time, when i look at my hb, i just concentrate on his dimples only. lol

alibaba,

so ur bb din take after ur big eyes?? then that means the big eyes more pre-dominant part is not so accurate after all. sob sob...

Both me and hubby got big eyes. My hubby got straight hair and i got natural curly hair. My boy got big eyes (some say like dad, some say like me) and straight hair with similar hairline as dad. 4 out of 5 pp say he look like dad. But last time at hm, i see my hubby more than anyone. So cfm look like him la... his "seeds" also mah... Hee...

A small joke: When my Thai colleague give birth, i call her hubby and ask him "So ur boy look like u or mum?" He say "Neighbour!" Cos he often not at hm when she is preg. My colleague wan to "kill" him...

alibaba,

sorry i busybody, went to browse thru ur boy's pics. ahh, i find ur boy's eyes quite big leh... think can be considered big eyes liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel

it's ok.. when he was just delivered his eyes were pathetic small.. duno y grow up with bigger eyes.. my boy got big eye black. he takes after daddy's hidden eyelid. hehe.. & yah stil consider big.. but when smiling... cannot see the eye liao...looking back my hb's childhood pics. my boy look exactly the same loh..

purelyz,

wah so good, both of u got big eyes, its quite unlikely for bb to have small eyes since both parents got big eyes liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmmm... for the past 4mths, i've been looking at my hb the most, dun think i want bb to look like a carbon of my hb leh cos mine 90% girl. if can look more like me, better lah. haha.

think must start either looking at myself more in the mirror or just concentrate on certain features of my hb when looking at him. lol.

angel,

that's why when ppl got pregnant, they'll buy bb pix to paste on their bb room...

hopefully bb will like ang moh kids...

alibaba,

oh ur bb was born with the eyes small? but good thing, they become bigger as he grows. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha, my hb also got hidden eyelids, sometimes, he will try to blink his eyes continuously just so the eyelids appeared for a few secs then they disappeared again. lol.

peeyore,

lol. but dun think they'll really work right cos alot still depends on the parents' genes? it'll be quite funny if bb really born with angmoh features, prob got some explaining to do to the hb. lol.

my fren who is dued in early may, married an angmoh. she's very pretty herself & her hb is gd-looking too, so i'll expect their eurasian bb to look just as lovely (if not more) too.

peeyore,

oic, i din know that cos i got browse thru dec-mar mtb threads, they got post pics of their newborns. some bb got really big eyes alr.

eeyore

issit meh. i saw some baby with v beautiful double eyelid .. so nice le.. i go find my ah boy 1st day pic see can show ur anot.. haha.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3664010.jpg] 1st day pic. he also took this portrait pic. the eyes even smaller but i dun have soft copy in office. a total different from now ..

yeah.. counting down.. another 15mins to go~

peeyore,

maybe most bbs start with small eyes first. i'm not too sure myself lah but i did come across some pics of newborns with big eyes alr in other mths' forums. then the other mtbs were all commenting on the bb's big eyes etc.

could it be that these bb has bigger than average big eyes? for e.g, the malays or eurasian bbs usually have much bigger eyes at birth.

i rem when one of my cousins was born, his eyes were really really small (like one line only), the doc voiced out his concerns to the parents then subsequently the bb had a few operations to correct the size. now my cousin alr all grown up liao, he still has small eyes but would have been much worse if he did not had those operations.

my gal 1st day pix

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3664030.jpg]

19 days later

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3664031.jpg]

angel,

dun say out wat u dun wan bb to look like... Dunno how true is it, it seems like bb can hear.

This happen to my #1, my hubby keep saying that he dun wan bb to have my nose, cos his one is higher. He say it's ok to have mummy eyes or lips, jus dun wan to have mummy nose.

In the end, my boy got big eyes (50% dad & mum), my nose (90% similar), my lips (80% mum), dad's ear, face shape and hairline. Haha...

So this time i tell my hubby to shut up if he wan #2 to have his nose. Hee...

peeyore,

wah, ur girl has nice thick hair at birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also rem coming across the pic of a newborn with very thick hair at birth & everyone was commenting that the bb can film a lux ad liao. lol.