(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

ducklingeshop,

how big is your #1?? cos i heard sometimes period too close better don't try, otherwise the old wound might tear...

btw, strange, my gynae never mentioned about full bladder... moreover whenever i go checkup, before scanning i have to clear my bladder for urine test...

i'm also pro-natural, the nurse kept asking me to consider epi for my #1 and even say she'l leave the form there for me... I insisted her to take away the form, I don't want any epi... i didn't even take the pain injection... think must always try for natural...

Starz, my OSCAR on 13 Feb is at 9am. But I intend to go earlier to process the SBI first. Hope to see you there!! Do you know how long OSCAR takes?

Angel,I'm definitely going for elective c-section cos my first child was C-section. I wanted epi c-section for my first child but last minute chickened out and asked for GA instead cos I scared cannot tahan the sight of blood. I dunno the difference beween the epi and spinal though, I thot epi is administered through the spine?

Size of tummy

Second-time mummies, I feel that my tummy seem to expand faster for second one compared to first one. Anyone also feel this way?

angel,

c-sec there's 2 types if i'm not wrong...1 is epi c-sec n the other is GA c-sec

epi c-sec u'll b awake n they'll use a big piece of cloth to block out your lower body n ur hb is allowed to b in w u....n u'll get to see n hold ur bb when it's delivered

GA c-sec ur hb will not b able to go in n u'll sleep thru the whole process...u'll oni get to see bb when u 'wakes' up

main diff is epi c-sec recovers abit faster then GA c-sec so now more go for epi c-sec

hope this helps

alibaba,

if u're under dr ang again i bet u'll b able to do it...heehee like wad i heard....even if u opt for epi the nurses oso wun dare to approve...provided dr ang gives the go ahead sign

Suika,

Someone told me that if the tummy is small at first, then balloon fast in the 5th/6th month then it's a boy. If it shows up fast in the early months, then it may be a girl...hmmm, dunno if got any truth in this?

soffie,

hope to see u there too... not sure how long the OSCAR will take leh...

my tummy seems to be slightly bigger these few days... can see a small budge le... my tummy used to be quite flat de...

peeyore,

the nurse at my clinic told me to come with full bladder for each gynae's visit. my first visit, bladder not full hence my scan very blurry. urine test is usually done after the scan in my case.

even before the oscar, the lady at the payment counter also instruct me to drink more cups of water cos need full bladder for the scan.

soffie,

yes, i read epi is administered thru our spine. according to TMC maternity package, they have 2 prices - 1 for epi c-section, the other for spinal c-section hence i was wondering whats the difference lor.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm

btw, hope they wont revise their prices upwards in june 2010. otherwise, we all very lugi ahh.

suika,

have cloth to cover the lower body huh? i read some moms say u basically lie there baked leh. if course, if got cloth covers whatever modesty left, its better ya.

angel,

i wanted a natural birth but ended up with an emergency c-sec with my first.

to be frank, the recovery from my c-sec was very very bad.. and i had post natal depression. it was very painful and traumatic. most of my friends who have went through natural birth says with epi, the pain is really bearable. do consider natural if you can.

im still trying for natural this time round. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ask u all, did u all take cold drink or cooling drink? i just drank half cup of sugar cane juice without ice..then i kena brown spotting.

is it the cause of it ? or something else? i read from website that it could be due to placenta tearing etc...

soffie & starz,

how long the oscar will take depends on how co-operative ur bb is. if all goes well, i think the oscar will only takes abt 15mins or so.

if bb not co-operative, then the whole process can stretch to an hr or more.

mine took abt an hr cos i had to go drink more water then come back in 25mins. my bb also not co-operative initially.

eelyn,

thanks for ur advice but i simply dun have the guts to go thru labor birth. my own mom spent 15hrs in labor trying to give birth to ME and she told me she felt like her back is gonna break!! of course, during her times, there's no painkiller etc lah. but think i had enough of horror tales. lol. in fact i select my current gynae (although he also pro-natural) becos i read that those mom who had c-sect under him, commented his stitching is good & cleancut & most could walk by themselves on the 2nd day of delivery with minimal pains so i'm keeping my fingers crossed.

sunflower,

i been drinking cold water daily & like nobody business so far had not experience any spotting to date (touch wood) so i'm not sure if that could be ur cause. why dun u chk with gynae? my gynae tells me to call him if i shd have any brown or red spotting. in the meantime, take care & keep us posted k.

angel,

nope for my case, neither the nurse nor my gynae told me to come in full bladder...

Sunflower,

I'm always on cold water leh... just had a bottle of coke...

angel,

i see..maybe mine weak.. always kena spotting when drink cooling drink.

will check with gynae tomorrow since im visiting him.

soffie,

i think i am the same, my tummy is also larger now as compared to my first pregnancy. headr tat is beacuse our tummy muscles are looser as compared to those who had not given birth before.

btw do try to use stretch mark cream during your pregnancy. i use this brand called Elancyl (dark green packaging) which works very well for me coz the stretch marks are really minimised.

Breastfeeding

I aso BF till my son till he is 21mths, thanks to a pro-family policy by my company. we have a special mummy room with 2 private cubicles; equipped with extra power points, sterlizer, 2 mini fridges.

angel,

i aso had an emergency c-section after 11 hrs of labour due to incompenent cervix; meaning the cervix did not open as expected. i opt to be awake during the c-section. given a choice; i wl stl opt for a natural birth as the recovery is so much easier than a C-section which takes mths. however it is likely i wl be having another C-S as the risk is too high; and i doubt my hubby wans to pay twice for same deliveries, haha!

Gathering,

Aye for me, i will be attending, anywhere with MRT is preferable, prefer not to be at Marina Sq as getting back is a long walk!

my friend told me my tummy can be seen liao... small bump in front..

i will ask Gyane if i can go for natural birth cuz i have spinal operation before.. if she dun allow then i will choose a date n have c-section..

soffie,

issit....last preg it's like that but my colleague had a girl oso like mi 5-6mths tummy then starts to b very big ley

angel

lie there baked? or it's naked? no lah...u'll wear their surgery gown

sunflower

dun drink sugarcane....coz it's not very clean....although now it's alot better then again.... it can contains alot of virus n might not b safe for bb

soffie, not true... my #1 when i was 5,6th months.. my tummy still very small...only till 8months then sudden grow very big.. my#1 is a gal..

p_eeyore, same here.. Dr Ang din say anything abt full bladder .. everytime i go in and scan and see bb.. but last scan he presses my tummy too hard (abit like needle poking feeling) coz cant see bb clearly, but when press hard, can see bb.. so i think not full bladder more difficult to scan and need to apply more force..

SunFlower, I still take cold drink every morning.. 1 cup of cold ribena.. no spotting leh..

dreymin,

wow, so nice to have a company that's so pro-family. lucky u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can i chk which hospital u had ur first c-sect at? do they really cover ur lower body with a cloth huh or u r naked thruout the whole process?

me paiseh to be completely naked under bright lights & with so many people around leh.

i did think of opting for GA too so i can sleep thru the whole thing but i think i better 'ren' cos i really want to witness the birth of my bb lor.

suika,

haha... did i type baked?! lmao... yes i do mean naked, not baked.

Angel, tks for the info, maybe have to check wif your gynae on the difference, also looks like we have to pay the new rate liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. For me I can only do C-section, cos I kena cut 3 times already, 1 for fibroid, 1 for first child and 1 for ectopic pregnancy. But if you have a choice, it's better to opt for natural. The recovery is faster. I really dread the first 2 days after op.

Tummy size

haha, I guess the gender affecting the tummy size thing not so true lah but I think the part on the tummy muscles looser for second time makes sense.

Cold drinks

Think cold drinks also cause spotting for me. I once drank coke and the spotting came very soon on the same night. I love gassy cold drinks though, seems to cure the nausea.

Cold drinks

So far I had been drinking cold gassy drinks almost every day and so far i am fine. i even crave for coke although it contain caffeine.

Tummy Size

Now my tummy begin to look like i am four months. i dont know what to do now as i still need to buy more pants... even my tight tops cant hide my tummy, got to buy bigger size tops.

ednique, i heard from my friends that weight gain start from 2nd tri... so from the rate that I'm eating, i afraid that i will gain alots..

Sunflower, I do take water with 1-2 ice cube sometime. as u mentioned, u might not b able to take cooling stuffs.

angel,

i gave birth at tmc. i think during the prep for emergency c-s everything happened so fast. basically the nurse shaved me in front of all the nurses and they dun even blink an eye! i thk i m partially covered during the op. to be honest, i was not concerned whether i was naked or not; coz everytg is very natural and u know the team is just doing their job.

Tummy size

it all depends on ur build and how fast u gain weight. there is however some old wife's tale that the shape does tell which gender it is. i cant rem round or sharp is boy or gal:p

Cold drinks

I am guilty! I drink at least 1 cold drink a day esp after lunch as it helps me to minimise my vomiting.

Lack of Appetite

Any foods will help to improve appetite? I usu eat v little at dinner; i eat breakfast but my one main meal is lunch and i cant eat too much either.

dreymin,

me too.. i stopped dilating at 8cm. and my baby was too big and got stuck. my worry is if i try for natural and if i end up with an uncooperative cervix again, emergency csec costs so much more. im watching my diet very carefully now hoping for a 3kg baby..

cold drinks,

i have cold drinks everyday for all meals. root beer and 100+ are my fav. before i was preggy i do not crave for gassy drinks at all. :p

soffie,

k maybe i'll chk with my gynae when i see him next wk. will post here when i know the difference btwn epi & spinal c-sect.

dreymin,

thx! re. shaving, think i'll do it myself just before chking into the hospital cos i read the nurse dun use shaving cream so it hurts while shaving. sounds 'ouch', better do it at home first.

re. being naked,

think i read there was this mom who gave birth naturally & gynae alr left the delivery suite. while waiting for a nurse to wheel her to her ward, she laid there completely naked in front of 3 male nurses who stand at one corner chatting among themselves. it was a awkward 15mins for her cos her hb is not with her in the room.

suika,

until now im still bloated .. after dinner, my tummy is double the size in the morning. when i wake up in the morning, my tummy slims down alot.

Realised that I'm not in the list. Can someone input for me? Thank you.

Below is my details:

LMP: 25 Oct 2009

EDD: 19 Aug 2010

Baby #: 1

Gynae: Dr Arthur Tseng

Hospital: KKH

haha, just realise i prob wont be able to shave myself with a hugh tummy covering my view. think have to get hb's help then.

i drink cold water too.. i eat ice cream too.. but i will try to drink without ice lah.. but with coke and 100+ i dun care i just add ice and drink..

just now lunch i just drink green apple juice...

during my DS test i was told to empty bladder leh??

Sheric, I'm staying at Punggol too, near Punggol Plaza, hope to see u around [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel, at first I felt very paiseh abt the shaving, but TMC nurses very pro, I guess they are used to it. At TMC, before the op, they will give u a green gown that will cover the front, so you will be modestly covered.

Cold drinks

I looove Pokka Fuji Apple. Gassy and got Vitamin C, no caffeine also...heheh

Sweet vs Sour

Someone told me...if you like sweet stuff, it's a girl and if you like sour stuff, it's a boy. True or not?? Haha, now I'm really craving sour stuff....dunno if it's a boy.

eelyn, finally i found some1 wanted to try natural after 1st C-sec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My #1 is 26 mth now, by the time i give birth to my current bb, the gap will be ard 33 mth... is the gap long enuf?? what abt u? How close is the gap between urs?

Re: Cold drink

I try to avoid it lo... but i do take ice-cream... haha!

Had a hard time logging in yesterday dont know why. Just finish reading through the thread. I got a call from TMC yesterday morning in regards to my Oscar test that i did 2 days ago and was low risk. Didn't know that TMC so efficient[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Currently i am also having rashes on my leg according to gyane its due to pregnancy so was given calomine lotion to apply on it. Now have to patiently wait for my next check up which will be in a months time in order to know the growth of bb as i have dont have any sign of pregnant symptom that you girls are having. Haiz...

Angel,

I remember i read from somewhere that even though you shave yourself before deliver but TMC will still insist on shaving for you claiming that its not clean and they actually charge $10 for the service which is not stated in the bill not sure how true it is. Wondering can anyone confirm it?

soffie, i'm staying near Punggol Plaza too.

Have anyone of u start buying bb stuffs already? There is a taka baby fair on this mid March, find it abit KS to buy stuffs by then.

Cold drinks - I will drink cold drinks without ice. Then I will keep the drink in my mouth so a few mins to make it a bit warm before I swollow.

Wah, need to pay for the shaving??

Long time never post on this thread, i do read the post here though.

Ow my name drop down a lot lol since the list is change by edd. Although according to my LMP my edd is 31st July, i am convinced that my period is longer than 28 days cycle. And the last NT scans, the CRL count at 7.43cm >.< edd become earlier from 9 to 6 and the latest is 3 Aug. (worried about the baby size already)

Oh and the 3 NT reading was 0.18, 0.17, and 0.16 the blood test also turn out well. its cool to see the baby's brain, 4 chambers heart etc etc. I am still can't believe something is kicking and squirming inside me. We also get to see the butt and i can see something there but the doctor didn't want to comfirm untill later weeks sniff. Oh my placenta is anterior, i read a lot of bad stuff about anterior placenta, try not to think about it.

Any mommies here had given birth at Gleneagles before? when do i need to book? I think my gynae only do delivery at Gleneagles.

About the baby stuff. I have not buy anything yet, and i have no clue what, when, where, how much is the market price for baby product.

Anyone going to the baby products warehouse sale this weekend at Chai chee lane?

ducklingeshop,

yup.. for now, i'm still planning for natural. but my gynae recommends me to decide later in the pregnancy. cos alot depend on the size of baby. my girl was 3.7kg at birth.. and had a big head according to my gynae. i read somewhere i should keep my baby smaller ard 2.8-3kg so increase the success of natural birth. my girl is 15+ mth now.. so the age gap will be ard 23mths.

I'm also want natural birth with epi cos I have heard a lot about c-section and epi that make me even more horrified then labour pain. I heard that the pain from c-section and epi will be permanent for life. And there is a possibility of permanent disability if epi not inject correctly etc etc....

ducklingeshop,

33mths shd b able to...u'll hv to check w ur gynea see if he recommend u try

i went for natural last time n they no shave me ley....i think it's not a must ba....mi at MtA, mayb they no practise that but i heard tmc got shave n they charged like $10-$15 for the shave....n pls bring extra pad coz if u not enuff u get from them they oso charges like almost dbl the price

Thank you eelyn, will take note.

I think i read somewhere there is some one who still got nausea after 13-14 weeks. Well me too, my nausea start when gynae inject me med to stop my spotting, and the dupaston, but it went to full force as i am puking every few days (at night) so she stops the dupaston. And i am still feel nausea every day. Maybe have to do with i always lying down on my tummy after dinner >.<

Regarding preference of delivery, I want a natural birth without epi, because i want to experience the pain, maybe i am crazy, and i always read that if you go without epi you can push faster, i don't know if it is true. But my friend had a hard time push her baby, and need to forcep in the end. She said she can't feel anything lol maybe the dosage was too high.

I guess every hospital charged different things, it is best to ask everything in advance which is free and which is not, to avoid disappointment.

Btw is there anyone who have already start searching for prenatal course? yoga or birthing class etc etc.

Oscar test :

Went to the test today and almost faint ! went into the scan room 4 times !! and stay at TMC for 3hr++ , cos baby dont want to move . for the first 2 time , dont want to move and not in the good position , so they ask me go lunch n walk walk . then the 4th time , still dont move and they show me the screen , bb lying shiok lor and when i look into the screen , still yawn at me ! then immediately face me then immediately change position again , then i think the lady also cant tahan , keep complaining my bb so naughty , either dont move , or super active ! then she shake my tummy SUPER SUPER rough lor !!!! cannot make it ... then finally the 4th time , she say ok lah , i shall let u go , i wonder issit she chin cai scan ! hai .... then my hubby ask is girl or boy , the lady say , ur bb so naughty and active , how to see !

and i went to sign up for the SBI , $128 and my Oscar test i took the package with detail scan , after discount is $390++

read an article and saw tat below drinks are with caffeine/without caffeine..

coke 37% caffeine

pepsi 54% caffeine

mug rootbear no caffeine

sprite no caffiene

tea has less caffeine than coffee

Hiaz i did something stupid today...i went to do pedi n mani..had acrylic nails done...my manicurist was shocked when she knew that i am preggie..stating that i shdt hv done the nails...as its bad for the baby.Due to the solution used to fix the nails...it mayb harmful to the foetus...gosh!i did not know that at all...

i came back n did some readup...seems like its ok..not so toxic...but still i;m so worried!!

Gosh!i wish i had known earlier...;(