(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Will be seeing my Gynae again this week, hopefully i can report more! And mind sharing the FB link so I could add myself in?

@Fumiko

When you have a bouncing ball at 16 months.. all sweet and tender and calls you mama.... you wouldn't mind having a 2nd :p like me!.. I went through a C-sect.. all the pains of breastfeeding and whining..weaning.. now i can't wait to go through it again..

Fumiko> my hubby was like if u really decide to have 1 only then just go c-section la. save urself from the pain, cos i got very low threshold for pain. haha

i am 2nd time mummy! Please add me on the list!

LMP: 28 OCT 2009

EDD: 1 AUG 10

GYNAE: KW LEE FROM GLEN

2ND CHILD

AND RESIDING IN KOVAN!

Hope all mummies are doing fine as i am still experiencing bad morning sickness! Going 12th week soon! Jiayou!

angeline,

above all stay positive... think good thoughts... maintain your own mental and physical health...

fumiko,

i agree with suika, after the first you will want more... my first kid who is almost 2yo is very adorable and manja (all mums wl say the same of their children). after him, i just wan to have more kids.

I had a rough weekend, if it is true that wk 9-10 is the worst MS, then i wl brace for it. now in wk 7 going on 8... MS is worst with this one than my previous kid. I keep a plastic bag handy just in case [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angeline,

oh dear, so sorry to hear that! when are u due for another review? in the meantime, try to keep ur spirits up and pray for the best alright? our thoughts are with u. keep us posted again ya. take care!

dreamz,

yeah, me too, got very low threshold for pain too, simply dun have the guts (aka too chicken) to go thru labour birth so even though my gynae pro-natural, alr decide will insist on c-section liao.

dreymin,

i think its quite true that MS peak ard wk 9-10. for me, my MS first started ard wk 7-8 then it kinda stopped for a while (e.g, no more puking etc), only to resume again when i was in my 10th wks and this time round, worse than before. sigh...

fumiko,

can help to update my EDD will be 04-Aug-2010. Thank you!

sunflower,

i am now addicted to ribena, especially the one with cranberries.

my MS was sort of ok last week, only puke at most 3 times a day. but after this weekend, seems like it has come back with a vengeance!!

dreamz and angel,

the downside of having a C-S is the recovery takes much longer. you aso cannot go for any post-natal massages till the 6th month. plus there ia "battle scar" which you wl carry for life... if given a choice i wl not go for C-S for my first kid, but after 11 hrs of induced labour, my cervix stl didnt dilute 100% so no choice but go for emergency C-S.

angel,

oh dear... it must be quite terrible for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i m keeping my fingers and toes crossed the MS wont be too bad when i hit 9-10 wks.

saffy,

i like ribena with peach flavor. the cranberries one, i find a tad too sweet for my liking.

next week is my oscar appt at TMC. excited yet nervous at the same time. excited as in can see my bb in greater details (i always read that mtb can see their bbs' movement etc), so far i have not seen any movements fr my gynae's scans. nervous cos afraid results not good lah.

fumiko,

wad the rest says it's true lah....when u dun hv u long for it when u hv u'll grumble.....so dun worry, like mi when after delivery liao u'll think of 2nd 1....heehee last time i vomit blood all the way MS till i inside the delivery suite mi still vomiting lor....now think back i still shivers sia.....but then look at mi....i'm still preg now....heehee but now preg liao i actually got think of giving up lah

Hi all beautiful MTBs,

Thanks for the add. Unable to join in the chat so frequently, cos everyday is a tired day for me. Cant sit too long in front of the com.

Any MTBs, gynae ask them to go for e OSCAR test?

fumiko,

actually same here, i'm not too big on kids too. dun really think of myself as a mother material and never in my wildest dream, i will think i will be a mother some day. when my hb & i decide to tie the knot, i did tell him i dun plan on having children but he thinks i m kidding. then when he realised i'm not kidding, he got real upset becos he always wanted a family with kids (at least 2!!). he told me having kids would bond our marriage but i disagree. i see alot of marriages around me 'hanging on' just becos of kids and i think its pretty pointless.

anyway, this child isnt planned, happened by accident. lol. when i first found out i was preggie, i din jump for joy like most mtb, i was rather depressed and upset at my hb & was having all sorts of negative thoughts.

but as time goes by & as i read more from these forums, i realised its a blessing to have a child cos they are actually many couples out there trying very hard to have one yet they were unable to.

and gradually, i was looking fwd to my gynae's appt so we could see new changes in the ultrascans each visit & having joy putting up pics of my scans on FB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm trying to enjoy motherhood now though i'm still not very confident of being a good mother yet.

but i'll likely close factory after #1 though. i told my hb that & he just say we'll see. then i told him i'll go have the operation to remove my womb. lol. boy, he really glared at me!!

(sorry for the lengthy post)

After getting some feedback from MTB, we can decide that the gathering is on wkday, after work. Maybe Friday or PH eve?! Sugg date: April Fool day (easy to remem).

No hubby, no kids.

A place with halal food. Is Marche Restaurant (VivoCity) halal? It's a place we can eat slow and chat for very long. Or Pizza Hut Suntec City.

re: OSCAR

I don't remember but it shouldn't take too long. mine is scheduled for 9.30am, and my gynae's appt immediately after that is for 10.45am. I was also told that the results will be available by 4pm the same day if I wanted to stay on, if not the clinic will call me to update me.

saffy,

mine is on mon morning @9am. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all the best for ur test.

angela,

hey, were u in sgbrides forum?? i find ur nick very familiar.

I'm into my wk 10 this week... early this morning already started with puking without anything but with a little blood... is it really wk 9 and 10 the worst??

i've super sweet fruits craving. I dun eat so much fruits before that. Now i crave for at least one apple a day. Then i also find my usual craving for bubble tea have disappear! I dun love bubble tea now. My hubby is happy, cos bubble tea is unhealthy. I get hungry super fast, 2 hours after full meal, i wan to eat again (so scary). I drink milo or soy drink a lot.

Yesterd after we went to hortpark for a long walk with my son. i got craving for nasi lemak, we went driving ard looking for one using iphone to search on hungrygowhere. In the end, the boon lay power nasi lemak is super long q, we jus took normal ones from other shops. So stupid.

daintyaqua, haha i oso tell my hubby when we got married..tat i dun wan to have kids..at first he pretty sad..

but after i show him hw my cousins behave...he oso tink tat he doesnt wan to have kids

this pregnancy is planned...like wat i say to have a complete family, must have kids..lolz..

ok we shall all be brave and fight against MS and survive till the day we give birth!!! hahahah

purelyz, i m ok with april fool

dreymin,

yes, i've alr read the pros & cons of going thru c-sect so i'm prepared what to expect & go thru. my gynae seems to be quite skilled in c-sect, i read that many mothers under him, experienced minimal pains and the scars will gradually fade away so i'm keeping my fingers crossed. i also read in many cases, mothers have to go thru emergency c-sect due to various reasons & that would double the costs so i think its better for me to go direct to c-sect. for my age, if i go thru labor birth, i have a higher risk of having urinary incontingency lah.

peeyore,

yes, i think there is really some truth in that. i'm still waiting to see how my wk 11-12 will go.

fumiko,

i was secretly hoping by having this child, i make my hb happy then next time, he will also make me happy by bringing me on holidays. lol, i'm an avid traveller. heehee

can i find out, for pregnant ladies, are our body temperature different from our normal temperature? like will it be higher than usual? at wat temp range should we connsider that we are having fever?

Angel > Yup, was from Wedding forum. Now wedding over, hop to motherhood forum. Haha... I oso find your nick very familiar... Hmm...did we chat under Whitelink or Tang Court forum or FB?

Dreamz > Think I read before that pregnant mamas tend to have higher temperature... We'll tend to feel warmer than others.

Hmmm... bout the claiming part when we are due for delivery, I don quite understand how it works... Blur on the claiming of the pre-natal part...

dreamz,

i'm not sure abt this but my mom has very low body temp (ard 34 when the average is 36.9). i ever ask gp does that mean if her body temp rise to 35-36, it means she's having a fever? gp says no, u r only considered having a fever when u hit 37 & abv. not sure if this applies to all (incl preggie ladies).

i rem my highest temp was 40 when i was breaking out with chicken pox. the fever came before the breakout, went to a&e becos i thought i was dying. lol.

angela,

haha, same here, i moved over to motherhood forum when i found out i'm preggie. so u r preggie too? congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how many weeks are u now? think we are in tang court thread?? were u in my fb previously cos i cant seem to find u there?!

re. claim of pre-natal package,

i think u just need to keep the receipt for now then submit to the hospital on the day u chk in for delivery. the nurse will do the necessary. any experienced mothers can cfm this?

daintyaqua> for me last time everytime after i puke i will surely get high fever, my temperature will raise to 38/39 at least, so got abit of phobia to vomitting. that's why i cannot take this MS.

for me now must get thru this 1st trimester first. If the size of my baby bigger than normal, i will opt for c-section straight, cos alot of my frens baby quite big tried normal, in the end also go emergency c-section which will be double cost.

oh gosh, i seem to be sensitive to some smell. does any MTBs experience now?

re. claim of pre-natal package,

i heard about it. do keep all the receipts that you had visited your gynae till the delivery. the hospital will do the necessary claim.

dreamz,

oh dear, i dun really notice my body temp rising after i puked. have u told ur gynae abt this? perhaps ur gynae will give u something for fever on top of the anti-vomit pill or jab?

cheekrene> me too, actually most strong smell i cannot take. also there was this shower foam smell i could not take also.

cheekrene,

yes, i think its normal. i totally cant go to food court. the smell just turned me off. i smell raw fish or chicken also wanna puke. i heard some mtb smell toothpaste also will want to puke.

daintyaqua> no, it didnt came across to me, until today cos feeling quite cold in the office and yesterday night my hubby was asking how come my body temp like very hot. anyway i not taking the gynae's anti-vomit pills cos not much effect on me. my GP is suspecting i keep vomitting the pills out. so i taking this chinese powder to curb my vomitting.

dreamz,

yup, the anti-vomit pills work nothing for me too. i only took it once and never take it again.

i see, i read fr ur earlier post, the chinese powder does help to curb ur vomitting right?

hope we'll all feel better coming into the 2nd trimester lah.

daintyaqua> not totally curb, still puking on and off like once or twice, but was able to eat more things now. ya praying hard the worst is over and 2nd trimester will be better.

Angel > Im 8 weeks preggy liao. U not in my FB leh... Think I added u b4..ur name is Angel Tham rite? Me forgo wedding forum, jump to here. Haha!

Im sensitive to fish smell & perfumes... Last time pretty like perfumes, but now, it totally shrugs me off... Yucks...

Saffy,

ya me too, addicted to ribena. same as u, MS was ok at week 8, suddenly attack again at week 9.. and do you feel bloated? i was super bloated, guess too much gas inside my gastric..

check with you regarding Oscar test. My gynae say im less than 30, so the risk is not that high.. do you think we shld take?

Hi SunFlo@wer,

As wat my gynae says, he suggest all his patient to go for the test. He told me & hubby that he has got a patient, only 26 yrs, but detected the baby has some abnormalities & he suggested that they abort it away...

Think should just go for it, so can take the ease...

OSCAR test... i think it boils down to personal choices and religious beliefs. some couples are not comfy with the test as this is invasive and carries a possibility of miscarriage.

smells... now that you gals hv mentioned it. i hv developed a sharp nose. i can tell when my neighbour prepares fish for dinner... i aso tell my hubby to sit away when he is munching bbq chips [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

angela,

hmm like that har..ok then i better do..put my mind at ease. how come i didnt see ur details at the chart?

dreamz,

preg women temp is always higher than normal.. usually more than 37deg.

Hi SunFl@wer,

My details are up in the chart.. #28...

Hee.. Like was Dreymin has said, think OSCAR test, boils down to personal options...

The charges are high & heard form my gynae that, its not clamiable...phew...

sunflower,

it all depends, if u worry then take OSCAR lor....it's oni extra of blood test n pay abit more $ to bring up the % in the calculation oni....there's not much risk involved for this

mi oso super sensitive to some stuffs this time....mi no like garlic this time....this morning got someone's hand (i believe) got strong garlic smell...i almost puke in the train lor....lucky managed to 'tong' till i rch then ran to toilet n vomit sia

angela,

oh.. its bunnyling.. hehe we same age! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya its quite exp leh..

suika,

i see.. nvm lar, think i just do to ease my mind.. i super sensitive to garlic and onion also...

suika> actually i went to this famous chinese physician call Chen Mei E. for pregnant ladies she usually will only give prescription like herbs to cook soup(like those double-boiled soup) to drink to help u build up your body for the baby to get the nutrients needed. the soups she prescribe will vary with the stage of your pregnancy, to the later stage she will also prescribe those soup to help build u ur milk supply if you are planning to BF.

The chinese powder she gave me after my consultation with her cos i told her the gynae's pills no use and i cannot eat anything at all, but u must prepare to wait a few hours for your first visit.

My mil told me to take my folic acids & vit from gynae at least 2 hours after taking the chinese powder, don't take immediately.

she is located at Cambridge Road there. if u want the address, PM me.

not only i am sensitive to smell, i do get sick of the same food if happen to eat every 4 days. my mum had been boiling herbal soup to ease my nausea. after taking twice, i already got sick of it.

dreamz,

she famous for preg ladies har? hmm...i see if my MS got better anot....coz my hb's friend sis lost her bb at 37wks n her mum blames it on the herbs that she brew for her that cause the stillbirth (but dun noe how true lah coz can b 'qiao he' oso) so not sure if my hb will agrees anot

suika> my hubby's aunt intro one, alot of his cousins pregnant also go there see. when i go there also see quite a no. of preg ladies.

that i'm also not too sure, maybe also bcos they just buy herbs to boil and never see suitable a not. i checked with my gynae, he say drinking those double-boil soup ok, but try to get it from reputable places and not just go chinese medical hall to get cos sometimes you dunno wat they add inside.

mine also bcos MS until really cannot tahan, then decide to try. when i go see her my face is very pale.