(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

vivi,

my heart goes out to u, especially after all the unpleasant encounters with ur initial gynae etc.

i believe there is a thread under matters of the heart for ladies like urself to gather and seek support and advices there.

nevertheless, i'm sure u have all the support here in this very thread too.

I like to ask.. If you all have a habit of keep touching your belly? cos i just like to feel my tummy, am happy to see it growing bigger each day

angeline,

yeah sometimes i do that. or when i'm in a very crowded place, i will by instinct place one hand over my belly to prevent others accidentally knocking into me. lol.

angeline,

i everyday touch my belly and talk to my beannie..they say talk to them more often so they can grow well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winnie,

It's a gd idea hor. measure size of belly haha

angel

ya i have same tendency when i see ppl, telling ppl, hey i'm a preg woman dun knock me pls

sunflower,

i suppose baby still cant heard yet right? i have friend asking me to put Da Bei Zhou when bb is bigger as his kid he did the same way and when his kid is grouchy the moment he put Da Bei Zhou his son will go quiet..

sunflower,

u start to talk to ur bb alr? i read that bb can only hear sounds after 20+wks.

angeline and angel,

yes i noe its too early..but they say its a myth to talk to them during first tri becos its still not stable..so need to talk to them so that they stick well and grow well..

im glad to know that i'm not the only one who does that hehe... i like to touch my belly alot and always smiling, happy to feel that its growing bigger..

winnie--> wow u actually measure the size.. thats good!

i have this fren who told me she started to listen to classical music when she was 4mths preggie. so i asked her did her girl (now coming 7yrs old) really prefer to listen to classical music, she said her girl only listen to pop songs. lol.

winnie> don't feel like leh. quite a no. of times i like that already. very xinku lor, puke yet nothing. sometimes puke until there will be a shiver down my spine kind and have to keep changing my position to vomit better.

angeline> i sometimes will just touch my belly in hope it will ease the discomfort.

angel,

i like to touch my belly after meal, cos it's bigger.

winnie,

i also measure then i take pics too! I did the same thing for my 1st bb. I measure my bust and bottom too, to monitor my own growing body

actually re. talking to bb, recently there's this $3mil toto, while queuing to buy, i sorta sayang my belly and say wish me luck. hahaha...but never strike also. lol

hee my mum always scold me for touching belly, but it's just so something i will do naturally loh. Feel of like i'm pampering my baby Mummy is sayang u lol

dreamz, ya i did that when i have cramps.

these few days cramps so frequent

yes, mine also bigger, but i ate very little cos no appetite, but still bigger...i second its bcos of alot gas..do u all have alot gas trapped in your gastric at night time? felt super bloated..

dreamz me too sometimes puke yet nothing ,but this feeling really makes tired,I feel my mouth doesn't have so good feeling,feel like salivating more,wonder if it will over ard 13 weeks as my for my #1 I had some symptoms till the day to hospital but it was mild but #2 MS worse ..so wondering this might be boy as my 1 is DD

angeline,

i'll show my hubby my after meal belly, he will go "wat happen?! only 2 mths, so big le?", then i say "if u dun like i'll keep". Then i will suck in my belly and it become smaller. Haha... But it's more difficult after meal.

My hubby has a tendency of touching my belly also maybe it's a long waited baby bah so we really cherish and enjoy it alot.

1 more question leh, more private, haha, doc advise 1st 3 mths no sex, but becos of me and hubby sex life was pretty regular before my preg, now i feel he is quite poor thing when he cant touch me. Do you all face the same problem?

sahamum> my cousin told me that if your MS quite often/serious, tendency of boy higher cos your body needs to change its hormones to meet your baby needs.

angeline,

my gynae never say no sex for 1st trimester & i read before some couples on this forum continue their sex life all the way till delivery.

for me, got MS, heartburn, bloatedness and sometimes backaches and pelvic pain, where got so much mood?! lol.

haha that means i have a problem. I still got pretty gd mood for it after I got preg maybe no MS bah..

Now me and hubby is like, we need but we cant lol

dreamz & sahamum,

so this means if MS real bad, then its likely a boy, likewise not that bad, then mean its girl huh??

no lar, i tink not true..all these are myth..

i've seen pple without MS having boys, and also vomit like mad having boys too..

MS is all about the hormones in our body, and also whether we are eating well or getting enough nutrients.

angeline,

for my 1st bb boy, i tend to have high sex drive from 1st tri to 3rd tri. We didn't stop jus reduce freq and do it carefully. But now for this 2nd bb, like wat Angel say, no mood. Maybe now i also sick la. But doc say it's better to do it during 4th to 8th mths. During the last mth, it is say that sex will naturally induce labour. My gynae got tell me last time dun do it when bb pre-mature, but after 37wks, bb consider full term, can do lo.

yeah, i think those myths telling u whether boy or girl, like stomach round or pointed etc, i think not very accurate too.

best wait for detailed scan to cfm sex of bb lah...

daintyaqua> that's wat i heard from some but dunno if it is accurate. but it sounds logical cos since we being females, the hormones needed for a female baby should not be much difference from wat we already have, so not much changes needed. MS is due to changes in hormones, am I right?

i also think MS can't tell bb is girl or boy. I find the shape of belly can really tell. When ur belly is higher and sharper, it's a boy. But if ur belly is lower and look expend to 2 sides, it's a girl.

thanks all for your replies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya there are a lot of myths lah but i think still up to individual to believe. For me, myths that might not be gd to my bb, like using scissors, sewing on my bed, knocking etc. I try to avoid loh.

Myth like eating crabs will have very mischievous babies. my mum has proved that wrong when she conceived both me and brother

purelyz,

but hor, i also read that after the detailed scan, gynae says its 90% girl but end up, belly still very pointed and everyone says its definitely a boy but really give birth to a girl lor. maybe just take these myths with a pinch of salt lah.

purelyz--> yes i heard abt the shape of belly too and some ppl say its quite accurate

angeline--> so meaning you didnt have sex since the day u found out ure pregnant? hmm 3 mths is a long time .. i read also in babycentre.com.sg that its alright to have sex while youre pregnant up till you about to deliver. but if your doc advise you not to, then probably its good to heed his advice. hmm i guess i have to check with my doctor also abt this..

Ednique, Ya no sex until now loh.. cos gynae tell me to ren until 1st trimester finish. For the sake of our little 1 we ren loh..

sunflower, i only confirm my postnatal massage lady. my MIL is doing confinement for me cos i live with her

sunflower,

me nope, think i'll just order confinement food for 14 or 28 days lah. me also living with mil and there's a maid to take care of household chores but think i want to eat 'bu' food so will order confinement food.

angeline,

u mean cannot use a scissors while pregnant at all?? oh dear, i just use it a few times leh.

angleine,

ic..so nice with mil doing for u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel,

oic..but need to practice those strict rules rite? else no good when old rite? the scissors u can use, but dont use it on ur own bed..dont sew on ur bed too..best dont do all these in ur bedroom..

u see.. 1st grandchild... lol

before even i'm married to my hubby, MIL already say she will look after my kid. I dun even have chance to ask my mother to look after lol!

talking about sewing on bed, my office cleaning auntie told me, her personal experience, she sewed on bed when she had her daughter and when daughter came out there was no virgina. so her in law ask her if she did anything before. she recalled and quickly found the pants she sewed and untied it. Amazingly after that, her daughter went back normal.

I dunno how true is it, but my mum only say that may not applies to everyone, sometimes it's just so happen that it clash with the 'timing' shi cheng and bad things happen

I thght it might be boy this time as when I had girl last time MS was mild not this bad.Hence was thinking whether it could be boy as this #2 is much different ,We also wish to strike boy this round as it will be nice to have 1 gal and 1 boy,

oh, so sad to hear that vivi has lost her baby... I getting scared now, have yet seen a gynae yet...

I kept thinking that I want a boy since the 1st one is gal, to match the word 好... but now think of it, my mother got 4 grandson and only 1 granddaughter, if another boy that makes only 1 gal (since my sisters decided close shop liao), seems so lonely for her... now thinking better to have a gal... more 贴心...

p_eeyore, ya.. I also just told my hubby about vivi.. we are so sad for her.. tmr i'm seeing my gynae also suppose to see hb.. now pray hard everything be normal..

can i chk for those long-hair mtbs, i read that its easier to manage during the later part of pregnancy & during confinement if we cut our hair short?

whats ur take on this? for me, had not had short hair like in donkey years, quite half-hearted abt cutting it short but hair texture getting more oily since preggie so quite taxing to wash hair everyday too...

Angel i'm not going to cut my hair becos I have wavy hair, if I cut short will be even more diff to manage. But i still recommend to cut short hair if u are not like me lor.. cos easier to manage thru out the preg.

hi Angel, hw long is your hair..? if you dont want to cut hair short, maybe up to shoulder length? and yes.. my hair is sooo oily too since i became pregnant..hmm i thought i was the only one..changing ur hairstyle would be a good thing too maybe you will look more glamourous! bob cut maybe? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aiyo, if straightaway cut to shoulder length, think i'll feel very heartpain. lol. maybe will try cutting to bra-length first.

bob is nice! those zoe tay like hairstyle ever come across my mind loh like tomboy style.. but no courage cos wavy hair will look like aunty

Angeline,

Ur MIL so gd, wan to take care. Now my 2nd one, my MIL dun wan to take care and my mum say she tired after take care 1st one. Now i also headache. The sewing on bed "story" so scary. I also hear abt painting in the rm will result in black birth mark on bb face or body. Thinking back, i tink i didn't use scissors on bed bah...

Angel,

i read a article before telling MTB dun change hairstyle too sudden. Cos it might result in post depression. After delivery, u will be so stress of everything and when u look in the mirror and see urself with a new hair style that u hate, u'll start to feel inferior and depress. Jus go with a hair style that u like, at least must look pretty and with confident.

For me, i've short hair thro out my 1st preg, now with long hair but dun intend to cut short.

ednique,

the longest part of my hair touched waist liao. mostly, i go for trimming only, usually only cut 3-4inch each time.

ahh bob style is also out for me cos my face is fat. if bob style, will look like hamburger. lol.