(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

I'm trying really hard to increase my supply before going back to work, hope I'll succeed though my pumping only yields 60ml in total without latching. Will keep going for now.

Will go through your blog when I get the address. My sis unfortunately is having a hard time breastfeeding as well. She keeps falling really ill with high fever, shivering and vomitting, and she feels that her baby is really small.

Xiaoxin

Tube dress will be good! Juz pull down, sling over shawl and nurse.

Wahahahaha! No fuss aft that as well.

BP Stuff can be cheaper den retail shop outside.

Like a doraemon Set i got frm BP @ $18.90, outside retail $29.90

Carters 5piece bodysuit $19.90, BP can go as low as $14

Sourcing for cheap things online is juz money saving ways! Suitable for lazy ppl who dread the hot sun oso. =P =P =P

Bluey

Room fan broke down. I can onli relay on aircon. If i take the living room fan, hub Ahmas will nag the hse down.

Doobom

Breastfeeding vows? Can share wat u went through?

re: PHysiogel Cream

Just to share that there is discount going at Watsons. 2 tubes of 150ml at $63.20. Norm price for each tube is $42.10.

bigfish & other mommies

My son is more jialat, still on 2 hrly feed (sometimes 1.5hr), at most sleep 3hr+ but rare. This also happen at nite, so I will hv to wake up 2 to 3 times after his last feed at abt 12am+, so it is very tiring for me. I would like to ask other mommies, is this normal or is there anything i should do so that he is able to sleep through the nite ?

Phsiogel cream -- the offer is better at Guardian, $18+ for a small tube, and if you can find 2 other mom to share with u, i think it is abt $45+. The one watson selling is a big tube.

my baby is still going 3 hrly feed at 10wks... but cos i latch on, i dont know how much he feeds. but generally he feeds each side abt 15mins...

actually i think he can last longer but cos he sleeps very little, he wld cry and cry due to overtiredness and then cos he wld become hungry cos use too much energy liao... hai~

suelynn, i am also trying to build my supply before going back to work. i also have low supply, each time can only pump between 60-80ml per session, fter latching... if never latch, sometimes i can get 130-160ml... but then really not consistent... so envy when i hear pple pumping like 280ml each session.. when can i have such good milk flow?!!

but as i dont bottle feed much, currently i have abt 25 bottles in freezer, but not sure if how long that wld last me when i go back to work...

my baby is still going 3 hrly feed. Now is already 15 wks. Feed around 150ml per feed. At night, he will have one feed that are 6 -7 hrs interval. So around 7 feed per day.

Amy: Try to feed her more per feed and slowly prolong the time to 3 hrs.

doobom

read your blog... I salute you! great mummy you are!

outing

a pity I have to miss this time as well haiz... gotta work....

Today is an extremely lousy day for me.

My #1 is complaining of pain at his wound again, and will cry and shiver in pain whenever he pees. We went to see the doc and he said it's normal to be a bit stinging. Com'on man! Looking at my boy, it sure seems more than just stinging! The last few night I have been sleeping with my #1 (he usually sleep alone). I had to wake up many times to check if he pees in his sleep and clean-up if he does since he refuses to wear a diaper. On top of that, I had to pump. My hubby has been working late. But I found out that he went to the Sands last night after some work event and only got home at midnight! Wah lao!!!!

Just now on our way home from doc check-up, he told me he is going drinking tonight with a friend from out of town. I just wanna screammmmm!!!!!!

To make things worst, I spilt a bottle of my ebm. About 80ml if it!

I can't wait for today to end.

You're not alone - I'm on 2-3 hourly feeds as well and baby doesn't sleep long hours, so it can be as often as hourly feeds at times. He's on complete latch except for the 10pm 150ml bottle to get him ready for infant care.

Bigfish,

I think I need to work harder on freezing BM, starting work first week of October, and I only have 2 bottles now :p. Taking mothers' milk tea now and will move on to my fenugreek tablets as soon as I finish the tea. Bought from Holland & Barrett (there's a branch at the new Cityhall B2), cheaper than GNC and there's a further discount if you pay with the Citibank credit card.

Doobom,

Read your blog, sorry to hear you went through such an ordeal. You have tried indeed, most importantly at the end of the day that mummy and baby stay healthy.

feeds:

my girl can last about 3 to 4 hours if she is fed via bottle about 130ml in the day but when she latch, she takes very long at the breast and can only last about 2 hours or less.

i can pump the 130ml and give her to drink immediately so i dont understand how come she can last shorter period of time when latched on.

at night, she can last about 5-6 hours so by the time she wakes up 2nd time its about 7am which i am happy about it. i am not exactly sure why she can last longer at night because sometimes i feed ebm, she doesnt finish the bottle of 130ml.

by the way, i read that properties of breastmilk changes throughout the day. if you give ebm for the last feed before bed time, do consider giving a night-pumped ebm instead of a day-pumped so that baby gets sleepy property from the breastmilk.

Jenn, can feel your frustration. sighhh... men!

the day is ending soon. chin up!

Sheryl, u didn't tell me anything abt tomolo's meeting up. u still meeting me or not? must tell me early leh, and i must prepare and pack the stuff that u need

Any of your LOs drinking less milk?

My LO (10 weeks old now) used to love his milk (he drinks btw 120-140ml at each feed) but the last 3 days, he has been rejecting milk after about 70ml? and I have to 'force' him to drink more.. so he drinks about 100ml - 120ml at each feed now.

Do any of you know what's a probable reason for him to be drinking lesser? I am puzzled by his behaviour because I always had to STOP him from drinking more in the past. He is still a happy boy but he poos only once a day now since he started drinking less.

Hi Raleigh

Can I get the avent no.2 from you? I will be going for the gathering tom, so can collect from you tom if the teats are still available.

Btw, hv found a place to "tong bang" my bb while going for the gathering so will not be bring my bb.

zoie kau, my girl also seems to be drinking less these few days. the early morning feed, i usually offer around 130ml and just yesterday, she only drank half of it and refused to drink any further until next feed. today she left about 40ml.

so strange... dont know what's wrong and she behave and poo a lot as usual leh...

sparkle, your gal drinking 130ml oredi huh, my gal only drinking 120ml, sometimes even lesser esp in the afternoon. sometimes will leave 10 to 40ml. i've noticed that if i feed at exactly every 3 hrs, she will leave a lot. if i let her continue to slp, and only wake up crying for milk, then she will finish all.

Elise,

U may wanna try to extend bb feeding time longer eg 3.5 or 4 hrly? Over time as bb grows older, some may adjust to longer intervals eg 4-5 hrly or even 6-hrly.

For my bb, i still wake him up during e day at 4-5 hrly for his feeds. Only let him sleep all he wants during e night. Do diaper change to wakey bb if bb is sleeping.

Oh my jenn

I can feel ur frustration. Goodness why is he leaving u to take care of the kids all on ur own? Sorry not trying to rub into it but just felt angry too after reading ur post. Perhaps ur hubby don know how to handle the kids so he sort of back off in a way.

Today wasn't the best day for me too. My #1 hurt another child at the playgroup today and was complained by the teacher. Then he started throwing things around the house. Even after carefully explaining to him that he must not do that. He still continue. Then he suddenly sneak an attack on #2 and hit #2 with his Thomas train right on #2's face. And that's not the end. After that when #2 cries a little, #1 went right up to the little baby stick his face real close to the baby and gave a loud scream. I was in the kitchen washing the dishes but my parents did nothing to stop him. I ran to the baby and found him shivering in fear. I was so upset with #1 as well as my parents. He's so super spoilt. I was so angry that I shouted at him. Grab him by his hands and confronted him for 30 mins. My mum quickly came and told me off. Told me don scold him and if I'm not happy with the way they brought #1 up can bring them back and take care myself. #1 then pushed me away and said he dun want mummy. So sad that #1 is so spoilt and feels that I'm at fault to leave him at my parents place instead of taking care on my own. So angry with my mum that she always nag at me to quit job and take care of kids on my own when she knows that financially we can't do that. What a day!

Oh dear cath, y is your #1 so notti? R your parents going to tc of #2 for u too? Can your parents handle them together? Poor baby to be screamed at when he's only so small.

Jenn, hubbies...

My mum can't believe that my hubby did not call home at all since Monday. She thot he shd call n talk to bb n dog. Told her where got so free. This is the way we live our lives n she can't accept it. Haha! As long as I can lor.

My bb is still drinking very frequently. In the day, he will ask for milk after 1.5hr, will drag to 2hr to feed him. When he's napping, he can last abt 3-3.5hrs. When he's sleeping at night, it's abt 4.5hrs. Very irregular drinker. I just latch n latch n latch.

Enjoy the buffet tmr ladies! I'm staying at home to eat my chap chai ben, with my dog begging under the dining table.

Jenn,

really a bad day for u, sometimes doc can juz be a bit more emphathetic isnt it.. pain to a kid is of course unbearable wat. As to yr hubby, sigh... i rem he is gd at "outsourcing" rite, maybe he din feel he can do much by being at home earlier too?

Cath,

omg - is a baby afterall n such actions cannot be condoned! I always remind n scold my ger if she pat didi too hard cos they cant control strength.. but could it be he want to give bb the train? Cos my ger will insist didi hold her fav bunny soft toy n all sorts of toys at times but gd intention turn back cos may end up hurt didi as she will simply grab his hand n make him hold..

It muz hv been so frustrating cos at the end of the day u still need their help. Oh my... cool it n explain to yr mom later u r not directing at them but rather yr boy's behaviour that is not acceptable. That is why we r there to guide them. Terrible 2/3 r horrible lor worse wif a new sibling!! My ger also "Chu pattern" today n kena whack on the butt by me... sigh.

Xiao Xiin,

me also cant join the jap buffet lunch tmr - another long story.. not quite a gd day for me too.

Raleigh,

yr boy uses teat 3 liao ah??

Hi Cyberbabe.. Tomorrow's lunch I'm taking MRT too @ Paya Lebar.. Taking the CircleLine to Esplanade which is abt 6 stops.. nearer to Suntec.. U confirm going? Let me know so we can meet @ Paya Lebar and take together..

Hi mummies who ordered the Sophie,

The Sophie(s) are arriving this Sat @ my place.. How should i pass it to u guys? Shld we do a gathering or just meet at 1 central location for collection?

I'm fine either way. Any suggestions?

Hi Gitz (Kimberland) and tywong

I managed to place the order for Sophie for u.. do u still want it? Its $26 per pc.

PM me lah

For other mummies..btw, i have 1 additional Sophie with me.. anyone wants? Please PM me lah..

Actually I saw someone organizing a local bp @ SMH forum for Sophie.. her price is $32 (usual $39).. So we really have a GREAT deal..!

Hey SueLynn.. i just saw ur post.. okok.. if u taking cab for tomorrow luncheon.. can lah.. i can share with u.. so no need take MRT liao.. yuppie!.. i already PM u my mobile number...U text me once u get this msg so we can make arrangement..

jenn,

cheer up! sometimes men r so .....

if i were u, i would nag until he buey tahan. -hugs-

cath,

can't imagine if my bb is to be screamed @ by #1. i will surely scold him de judging from my temper. my #1 also would sneak attack on his didi eg. he go very near didi smiling then suddenly piak his hand or leg & run away laughing. sometimes doing out of mischief. just have to drag #1 out when nobody is the rm wif him & didi.

doodom,

just sent u the invite nia. heh.

re: up ss

ehh, i still dun hv any bottles in the fridge leh. =<

jenn,

cheer up too. men are like that. hope today will be a better day for u..

cath,

sayang. must be a real bad day for u. cool down and try to explain to ur parents.. though i know it's easier for me to say as not in ur situation, try not to get angry ok. ur parents look after ur #1 day and nite? #2 must be frightened by gorgor. maybe gorgor thot it was fun to play with didi this way but he didnt know the action will frighten the small one.

Thanks Mommies for your comforting words. Today I feel alot better. I told myself to chin-up and do my best for my kids. Don't get upset over my hubby's absence. It's not me who's missing out time with the kids, it's him. So no point being angry and affect my mood with my precious kiddos.

Just got back from my baby's PD 2nd month vaccination. The bill costs S$326.35 inclusive of GST. Consultation was $30, Rotarix(Dose1) was $105 and Prevenar (Dose1) was $170. Wah... more than a Champagne Brunch for 2! Thank god can use baby bonus.

My baby is 10 weeks old today. Hw weighs 6.375kg but only 59.5cm tall. A short and fatty baby! LOL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zinc, hopecg, my sch just told me when my ML ends. They also count 16 weeks straight. Eat up all the holidays. Actually I dun care so much. As long as I dun go back to the same plc after npl ends.

xiaoxiin/zinc

yupz.. my sch doesn't count the holidays in for e 2nd set of 8 wks.. they count by days instead of weeks.. so non-work day is not counted.. for me, my national day hol fall within the 1st set.. so eaten up.. my bb born on 17th.. but for zinc, if yours on 1st, den shouldn't be eaten up.. IF you go by my sch's way la.. i dunno which is the right and wrong.. but really guess diff sch diff way..

xiaoxiin

hw long of npl u taking? taking imme aft ur cc leave? which is aft ur ml? basically u nt gg back sch alr ar?

btw, i shaved my pup.. jus in case.. haha.. he looks weird nw! from a yorkshire to a jack russel!

Hi missbluey koaru xiao xiin cherish

Today my mum is still very upset with me. Sigh whatever.

I think she's gonna nag at me to move back home and not enlist their help. Sigh. It's just so difficult.

Yes cherish my boy used to stay wif my parents day and night only comes home on fri thru sun. My parents just do condone all his bad habits. So hopefully now he can slowly change over. He's a real disappointment.

Apparently he knows I m very angry wif him so be dare not to talk to me. I somehow don know why still can't get over his bad behavior yesterday. I know I should but it's weird that somehow I still feel upset wif him.

Koaru

actually I told my mum off when she kept nagging at me to stop. So that's why she ' s very upset with me. She said she helped me to look after the kids and yet I'm still blaming her.

We re exploring other options to tc of the kids cos I think it might not work out. #1 was taken care by mil when he's under 1 yrs old so my mum has no confidence to tc of infants When baby cries she quickly put him on the bed and walk off. Says she dunno what baby wants.

Limbox

Do U know of any good infant care or nanny around our place?

Cath

Where is your workplace? Best to use infant care either near your home or your work. So that if baby is down etc you can get to them easily.

Also, your #1 is almost 3? can consider going to cc too. Then no need to depend on your mom. In school, he'll learn to work/ share with other kids.

Mezzo,

No, I didn't use my Medisave. It's ok lah. Left pocket, right pocket. Still our $.

Hope, Xiao Xinn, Zinc

Why not check with MOM or MCYS or MOE on how ML is calculated? Doesn't make sense that every school is different. Sometimes these govt sectors ah need to kick-up a fuss a bit for people to get moving. Don't lugi on your entitled leave!

Jenn

Ya considering to plc #2 at infant care and #1 at cc . Financial wise is abt the same if not lesser cos my mum demanded quite a lot Fr me. The only thing isid the kids are down with flu etc , we 'll hv to take leave.

Cath, it's be tougher in the beginning but after a while they will build their immunity and fall sick less. It does get easier over time so must persever. Good luck in finding a suitable cc for your kids.

Cath,

not just that, u need to consider the add'l work on u (esp if yr hubby not a hands on one) when u bring the 2 kiddos home. Even tho i am not working now, but handling 2 young kiddos n hv to work is tough. Esp when one is going thru tantrum stage n the other is a bb.

For one, most grandparents close both eyes when their grandchildren throw tantrum, mine too! So i always say she is the queen when she is at IL place but we scold n remind n repeat when we r back home. The difference is, even at IL place I will reprimand my ger n they wont interfere. (My hubby has long set down the expectation that no one can rescue my ger if the parents r doing the scolding) Yr mom prob takes it personally n being defensive as u think she has not done a gd job handling #1. Find a gd opportunity n hv a gd talk wif yr mom.

Cath,

my ger like yrs stay at IL place during wkday for the 1st yr or so, then once i stopped working i still let her stay there overnite cos only grandchild n both PIL not working n they very attached to my ger.. but we always go out together. Starting this yr, my PIL got to tc my BIL daughter so we put my ger to CC in Mar. Now my ger only stay with PIL during CC holidays or day/nite when i din send her to CC (either cos she is sick or her CC got HFMD or we r going out..)

Coincidentally, my ger so-called bad behaviour became much worse after going into CC, hving a new sibling n also cos terrible 3 (she din hv much terrible 2 actually..) so cant juz pin point what is the trigger point.

Koaru

Omg u mean there's also the terrible 3?!!!

I was hanging in there thinking that 6 more mths down the road I 'll see light at the end of the tunnel. Oh no.

Found this on a newsletter and was motivated.

Nurturing our children is wonderful, deeply moving, thoroughly challenging, and difficult. These are just some of the challenges we face.

We expect ourselves to be naturally good at a job we haven’t been trained, mentored, or prepared to do.

It takes a lot of attention to stay flexible and patient with a young child for even a couple of hours.

There are no "second string" players to call in when we are worn or sick or don’t know what to do.

cath,

i like the newsletter u just posted. ya, really need a lot of patience to tc bb and young children. i'm a gan chiong person and sometimes i dont understand why my bb behaves such way. cant he go my way? happened to talk to a friend and she said even adult need some time to change his/her habit, how could i expect a little bb to make changes so fast? i'm such an impatient mummy. still learning to be patient, patient and more patient.

my baby's ears sometimes gets folded when he turns his head left/right when sleeping.. so tempted to use tape to tape his ears down so they dun get folded... >.< how do u all keep baby's ears flat flat ar?