(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

hi bliss, well noted, thanks for yr help..

kelly, ya loh, i didn't even question her tat time when i booked, coz i trusted her to be experienced enough to gauge well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

u taking siew ling?

i will check wif her more on her friend..

PEM agency good? i heard alot of not-so-good comments on GLSP..

good morning Mummies

My cough is not recovering ... sian... though better but still out of breath and still coughing, esp at night. Have applied for leave to stay at home for another 3 more days to rest more.

How's Bliss and Genice? Have you gals recovered well? Hope all is good.

sberry,

ya..i am taking siew ling...i met up with both of them before CNY....cos tat time aso wanted to bk Siew zhen bt she wasnt avail n i am too lazy to search for another aldy..siew ling told me tat she will not look after #1 and agreed to hand wash my clothes n bb clothes ....

i do not pin too much high hopes on the CL...maybe of #1 bad experience bt since i needed someone o look after bb so tat i can slp better at nite then bor bian....so keeping fingers crossed now and hope tat siew ling will be ok..

pls do not book PEM cos i used them for my #1...their CL to me sucks...lazy and always like to listen to our conversations and comment tis n tat...didint wan to sweep n mop flr, all our clothes machine wash...my bb clothes presoak with tons of detergent bt neber rinse clean n cause my bb hv rash...spoil my tap..n hv the cheek to tell me she is not maid leh...

Cath, i'm feeling fine .. still coughing once in awhile too ... At least much much better ...

you tried nan xing bei xing cook with pear and drink ?

Bliss,i have tried but not recovering.. still lotsa phelgm. Taking TCM and antibotics (with 2 hours interval in between) and just see mild recovery. Still a long way to go i guess. Hope will be better soon.

Kelly, ur CL for #1 sucks big time. Oh my! Sweep & mop flr is part of their job what.

Hi bliss, been quite bz with some family stuffs, i will try to confirm the wetbag by this week, if not u just go ahead k. Thanks for organising!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cath.. thanks i am feeling better, i took pi pa gao with hot water, seems to work quite well but it takes a while, usually i take 2x a day, 1 before bedtime.. very soothing..

bliss, i also tried nan xing bei xing, took 2x but not effective and seems to irritae my throat so i stopped. I took them with chuan pei and ji bin.. the medicinal shop pack for me.. normally how u cook ur nan xing and bei xing, pre packed one or u agar agar, i think u must add chuan bei, that is the one that cures cough i think..

Kelly, that CL really "good" leh.. get high pay yet don't want to work like a maid.. hmm... if I were you I will call up the agency, and asked them "your CL normally will carrying what duty during my confinement har? Is sweeping and mopping floor part of your CL duties?" And I say it out loud and make sure that CL is listening to our conversations. We couldn't be paying them 2k and with such service.. if like, I must well hire a maid..(cheaper uh).

Genice, i agar agar only.. i got add chuan bei. cook with pear or apple.

Some cough is cold type some cough is heaty type.

i realised mine is cold type meaning i can't drink liang stuff. i can drink tons of milo and no cough but once i take apple juice i cough like mad.

hi sberry,

for the CL i think it's all depend on u wanna take the risk or not. i m in ur situation too so i will just take my CL friend to do the 2 weeks service for me bcos she said her friend also quite good. i know the most hatest part is my baby have to adapt to 2 deference CL but i really dun dare to take the risk to book another new CL last mins n let her do the whole month for me. i scare those who still available at tis time are really not good. n if i go to the agency now i scare bcos of last mins booking they will just asign me with a not so good CL. i think u may wanna meet up with frogprincess CL then decide. if her is really good the there will be no problem for u leh just ask siew zhen to return u the deposit n book her. if not the just try siew zhen friend i think if siew zhen is good her friend wont be so bad if not there sure have some bad comment abt siew zhen. i was telling my mom my problem n she said CL always have this problem n they always have a few good friend to standby for each other. this all due to our EDD is sometime very difference from ADD. they have to make sure their time is fully utelise.

Anyone knows what to pack for hospital bag ?

Now what i have in my bag is

Pjs

one set of bb clothes

Towel

Got to get maternity pads and disposable panties later.

What else should i buy ? my mind is in a blank now and i'm going out to buy later on.

And what else baby needs ?

Bliss..

i've pack my bag wif:

Maternity pads

1 set of bb clothes.

botties and mittens.

swaddle blanket

own towel and necessties for bath.

snacks =x

undergarments

those require doc to reg BC ... etc

bb dun nid anything other den clothes.. mittens botties & the swaddle blanket.

Maybe a cap? else nuttin le..

re: hospital bag

not sure how many maternity pads I should bring? Maybe i should just bring all 20 pcs Pureen Pads..

I can't rem the previous post on where to get night gown with buttons opening infront.. Anyone can advise? Thanks

Envy you guys already settting up ur bb room.. unfortunately for me, i have to set up my own bb room in my room :-(

Looking for playpen now due to space constraint. I have gone to the bb kingdom and the hypermart in Ubi for a look, they don't have much for me to select.. Any suggestion of a good brand that i can go for? Or any shopping outlet that have more variety of playpen which i can decide and order on the spot...

I only know of this brand Graco.. heard it is from US? My hubby very particular.. NO China or Taiwan brand. only US and Europe brand.. now cracking my head cos i only have 4 wks to shop around..

Btw, wat is a swaddle and muslin square?

Prep work:

I am also packing my hospital bag n setting up nursery room.. Washed all linens n first 3 mths clothing, towels, etc.. I rem TMC provide receiving blanket n vest for bb, so I only brought 1 extra top and mitten/bootie n hat. For me will be disposable panties, some breast pads, nursing bra, 1 small pack of sanitary pad tho hospital will provide but for discharge I prefer to use mine.. Simple toiletries n skincare.. 1 set of pj and 1 set of clothes for discharge.. Oh n cardigan incl jacket for hubby.. Camera n HP charger to be put in last.. Think that's abt it.. Can always get hubby to bring the next day shld anything slips my mind..

but koaru, if you are bringing so much stuff to hospital, what size of the bag u need? i am wondering whether my trolley bag for travelling is sufficient or not, or anybody would laugh at me for bringing such a big bag leh

Is better to bring more pads to hospital. Cuz hospital charge

quite ex for extra pads..

Elise, I'm even bringing my breast pump and nursing pillow! I remember mount alvenia doesn't have nursing pillow and is very important for mr as I'm going for csect.. Need mre support..

Hospital Bag:

here's what i have -

For mummy:

Maternity Pads (8 pcs of sofy 41.5cm)

Disposable panties (1 pack of 5pcs)

1 night dress with front opening

1 jacket (in case after op/ delivery felt cold)

Simple toiletries (cleanser + toothpaste)

HP + Charger

Netbook? still pondering.

For bb:

1 set of new bb clothes + mittens and booties

1 swaddle blanket (MtA's swaddle blanket is very short:can't cover all)

For bb bonus:

POSB savings bankbook

marriage cert (for BC)

For claiming medisave:

Pre-natal receipts to claim $450.

Mt A hospital registration form

A pen

Cath,

No lor..she said her priorty is jus to take care of bb n me...bt i said then hse dirty how?? Then she answered me tat she is not maid leh...so i went to ask PEM, they said CL no nd to do everyday, 1x a wk is aso ok ....

So i din wan to make a big hoo-huh..cos my bb was in her hands..so i got to plead with her to do on alternate days ..also, she sweep the flr using magic clean mop and use her legs to mop my flr....so terrible...

Sandy,

Tat time me 1st time hire...so i gong gong lor..until i chk w my frens and agency...tat time agency aso said will sweep n mop...bt since i neber say for 1st 2 wks...she aso pretend dun do lor...agency can say they do this n tat bt until whn u pay them aldy...then differenet case..wanted to switch bt tinking left w last 2 wks...so might as well endure la...

Joelle, Graco's playpen is real good. I got 1 from Robinson (sometimes they can offer at 25% discount for card members) at about $300 + and it is very sturdy, nice + functional. My #1 is still using it for night sleep even until now - 2yrs plus. Do go Robinsons at Orchard to take a look. they have pretty good ones there.

Kelly, no lo, that CL and agency is so horrid! CL is supposed to sweep, mop the floor everyday. After they cook, they are supposed to clean up the kitchen, ie wipe the hob to enure that there is no oil stain. If floor is oily, she is supposed to mop the floor to ensure that it is not sticky. After completion of household chores, they have to bath, change clothes before attending to baby. They are supposed to help you with the laundry - be it handwashed / machine wash depending on your preference everyday.

As for whether they are willing to take care of #1 or your hubby's laundry+ food or your parents/ PIL's laundry and food, that's something out of their scope, but it can be negotiated with additional ang bao after they finished the 28days of works.

Cos my CL last time helped me to take care of my parents' & hubby's meals + take care of my guests' drinks + wash dishes for us, we gave her a big ang bao on top of the $1900 that we paid. And of course, we do not stop her when she rest in the afternoon when baby is sleeping. She also has her fave TV shows to catch in the late afternoon during then (Yi Nan Wang).

HI mummies,

Hope you are all well. Have not posted for a while as I need to also study whenever I have time to spare. Have an exam to take tomorrow morning for work purposes, hope I pass.

Meanwhile, to mummies who are not well, hope you get well soon and take it easy for those getting early contractions. I'll be going for another scan this Wednesday as well (after completing week 35) as my scan 2 weeks ago showed that my fluid level was borderline low. Fingers crossed all will be ok, meanwhile I have kind of been eating up a storm to make sure baby grows faster as baby was only 2.1kg at the last visit. Put on 15kg so far!! Yikes right?

As for hospital bag, noticed mummies missed out one thing - some spare breast pads in case you start leaking early, and your camera. I will be bringing the whole 20-piece Pureen pack and in the process of now packing stuff into a trolley bag! hahah.. was using a smaller bag earlier but the pads are taking up a lot of space and did not fit, hence the trolley bag.

Other arrangements otherwise - our cot and stroller will be arriving next weekend too! And we are setting everything up in our bedroom as well as we don't really have space otherwise. Our 4 bunnies are taking up the only other room we have.

Alright, back to work! All the mummies must be getting really excited. Keep well mummies! And Happy Mother's Day again!

Hi Mummies...

A quick one to add-on to the hospital bag.

- Breast Pump.

Some breast pump can be quite bulky to carry around, you may want to check w/ hospi if they have breast pumps to loan during hospi stay.

For myself, I did experience engorgement during hospi stay so in the end got to use Breast Pump to help relieve the engorgement.

@ times, the time for bb's feeding may not meet with our need to 'empty' the breasts.

hi all.

been unwell these 3 days.

suelynn: good luck...! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

had UTI.. terrible, yucky, pain and uncomfortable. gynae gave a tablet to insert into the vagina. disgusted, but what to do right?

sigh.. also had big time braxton hicks in the early morning, till really cant sleep and lack of sleep..very pain my tummy, like cramps plus sharp pains plus everything in the world (as if). *sob sob*

bb's fine.. everything is fine.

bluberi: booked your bed alr anot? the lady was telling us by week 36, we're encouraged to book the bed.

Sleepless Night

Never slp well for the past few nights. Feel so uncomfortable slping at any sides, visiting toilet more frequents and body aches..

I am like a zoombie at work now. feel so restless.

Baby Chinese Name

I am like 4 wks left before bb is born, and i have yet to decide his chinese name. Anyone have any idea where to get those chinese fortune teller to choose the name for baby?

raleigh: you too, thank you. really terrible cant sleep well hor. everytime want to turn, confirm would have to stay awake for maybe at least half hour..! with the freq visits to toilet somemore..

Imra & raleigh,

Hi^5... same boat. Sleep deprived, simply can't find the right position to sleep. If manage to fall asleep, in no time will be the bio-clock to visit the toilet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

How? I am so counting down to the d-date.

I rather be busy looking after bb then to stare blankly in the air in the middle of nite, not knowing what to do.

Haiz... but it's hard to tell lah... No matter what, it's quite sad to be sleep deprived and behaving like a zombie during the day.

Let's hope time will fly pass faster... can only look forward to welcoming bb. Nothing can be more excited than this!

kelly, thanks for yr advise on PEM.

jalgal, yes, not much choices now. i will check wif my CL more on her friend.. perhaps just replace with her friend..

bliss: yeah, UTI! sux! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] somemore with lack of sleep. n now im working.

planning NOT to take early ML, dunno how.. sigh..

irma,

for UTI try canberry juice cos that is the only thing my fren does when she experiences UTI... very useful and its all natural [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope you get better soon

all other mummies,

take care we are almost there already..yeah! Im also counting down.. hehe actually counting till week 37 when its ok for baby to come out then if not out will count down to maternity leave then delivery.. hehe easier then count all the way... feels shorter and faster

doobom: yala.. zombie now at work even though i had a nap just now during lunch. then, made a mistake. so embarrassing. haiyo!

Irma/Doobom,

True True! Sian lo.. haiz.,.

Plus my hubby snorning! I really wanna scream out loud at night.. hahaha....

Few wks more!! Endure Endure!!

dear ladies..

i decided to take leave earlier to rest..

tummy getting too big n heavy, moreover feel very tired n cannot sleep well.. if don't rest now, once bb popped, we will be even more tiring.. :p

Irma you get Oceanspray Cranberries juice.. is not thick kind.. is not so sweet as other brand too.. don't have to add water.. drink from chill will be nicer.

1 day finish the whole bottle, you will be better after that.

Imra/raleigh,

So sad for me... I even got to forgo my lunch hours just now for site visit. Only manage to do a quickie lunch and rush back to office. Cun even nap while in the cab, coz scared cabby drive me elsewhere. *crazy me ya?* [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sberry,

*Envy you...* Can take leave and rest @ home b4 popping. U have lotsa leave to clear?

Irma,

Yes, cranberry juice does help for UTI. In addition, lotsa lotsa water ok?

sandy: Oceanspray. right, NTUC shd have hor?

sberry/sandy: i also contemplating if shd take early leave. but..haiya.. dunno lei..i scared ah, if take early leave, then bb decided not to come out early or on EDD, then wasted my ML..

irma,

I not sure I only drank cranberry juice with apple its nice for me lah but I heard that cranberry juice only not that nice... but there are many brands around maybe you will find something that is better tasting.... no lah not thick... just like any other juice.. think the thick juice is tomato.. keke

Just got the chance to log in..

Sandy

Agree with u.. This last stretch seems to be the longest...

To all mummies who are sick ...

Wishing all of u a speedy recovery ya..

Me have not been well.. Especially this morning.. Felt totally breathless and was breaking out in cold sweat.. Anyone ever experienced this.. So scary.. Till now I feel very weak.. hope all is fine with me.. My gynae appointment is only next week.. Sighz..

Been down lately also The mood swings quite bad I should say.. Another bad news is that my hubby will be away from the 24th of this month due to work.. I just hope that he can make it in time if my contraction kicks in.. I will be lost without my pillar of support.. Dun wanna think too much. Just taking one thing at a time. I am gonna miss him ;(

Over the weekend managed to start taking out old stuffs and clearing up the place for baby's arrival.. Am doing it slowly.. Hope can get it all done.. Not really in the mood to do anything .. Very sianz that hubby is going away.. I better buck up and get in the mood..