(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Elise and Bliss

From Babycenter: http://www.babycenter.com/0_braxton-hicks-contractions_156.bc

*** How can I tell the difference between Braxton Hicks and true labor contractions? ****

In the days or weeks before labor, Braxton Hicks contractions may intermittently become rhythmic, relatively close together, and even painful, possibly fooling you into thinking you're in labor. But unlike true labor, during this so-called false labor the contractions don't grow consistently longer, stronger, and closer together.

R your pain growing in intensity and frequency? Then better see gynae quick!

Friends, thanks for feedback on Mt A. But my hubby thinks i shld just stick to TMC, finish everything at 1 hospital instead of registering here there everywhere.

I am also going for c-sect, wanted GA but Dr Tham doesn't "approve" and asked me to do epi c-sect instead, as he said there are less side effects. I read somewhere that Dr Tham is trained in the latest advanced surgical procedures - my colleague who had a c-sect by him also said he did a good job, no pain and the stitches were done very nicely and there's hardly a scar now.

irma,

bliss,

omg, i felt that similar pulling sensation last night too! but i think i might have accidentally 'pulled' my tummy while getting up from my bed.

rainelle,

i know about the false positives but yesterday my colleague told me her sister's friend had passed all the tests confirmed no ds, in the end, the friend got a shock after delivered her bb, realised she has a ds bb. until now still in shock, couldn't accept it. listened liao very scared lor. sometimes difficult to control my thinking lah.

rant:

haiyo. the office next door keep drilling non-stop @ my ear since morning!!!!! how to work???!!!!!!!!! driving me nuts sia. stupid drilling.

my bb has been protesting (moving non-stop) for the past few hours, think he buey tahan too.

really in quite a bad mood now, all thanks to the stupid drilling. plus i still feel tired despite slept early last night. don't know why now that office needs to do renovation now after SO many donkey years!!!!!!!!!!

bliss: i had that kinda pain too... thats y, dunno if its really our tumy pain or bb pain.

whens your next gynae visit?

Yesterday twice and is painful that I got to stop moving. Don't last very long..

This morning pain more instense and last longer. But no increase of frequency.. Got to sit down at the bus stop to rest...

missbluey

can u get away from your seat to escape the drilling? Go away for early lunch? Cos our bb can hear very well now, esp at this stage. Somemore the water bag acts as a very good sound medium.

straw,

i can only walk around in office aimlessly. sighh. my job is admin, so its office bound. =<

bliss,

you better see your gynae. but you managed to sleep last night?

missbluey, u shld felt more assure as it just prove that having a positive result for tests, doesn't mean 100% accurate at all.. many things is left un-cfm till the day our lil one is born.. well, I believe everything is kind of fated one? just like throughout the pregnancy we can nv stop worry as anything could happen to our lil one in tummy only till the day our lil is born and we felt more reassure? den we have to worry about SID till the lil one is 1 year old at least? den this and that? it's just a cycle.. nv ending cycle..

nv keep thinking over past cause it's already happened and nth we could do to change it.. dun worry about future, cos we can nv predict it and we nv noe will it ever come.. so cherish watever u have now.. enjoy ur pregnancy till the day the lil one is out before u start to worry/stress for him/her..

stomach dun feel good today. The feeling is like wanting to shit, but not leh... just dun feel good today.. like the whole tummy dropping off..

haiz..

rainelle,

i just feel that this #2 pregnancy is diff from my #1. i didn't worried about ds then, only $. now seems like other way round.

i know i must have faith in my bb, i keep telling him "mummy has faith in you, then you must jia you" everyday.

anyway, thanks for being my "listening ear". @ least i feel quite better now. minus the drilling. =p

Finally reached home!

Rainelle, Irma, missbluey,

i still able to manage my emotion quite well during first and second trimester. But this week has been super down for me. Maybe also troubled cause of money.... Hb bringing less money home plus csect cost quite alot. and we got to prepare extra cash in case of complication and confinement..

Now i feel like canceling my CL and let her have the deposit so i don't have to spend additional $2000 on CL. But my hb didn't agree as he think csect + a toddler + a newborn will be hell for me and will cause him not able to concentrate at work.

But thinking of spending that $2000 is very sian ....

Tear the whole day yesterday for nothing .. son cry i also feel like crying, naughty i also feel like crying... like going pre natal depression lor... luckily after crying the whole day i'm feeling normal again .. I guess just need to relieve a bit of stress once in awhile.

got to face my son all day long so i can't let myself be so emo cause he is old enough to feel it already. he also very emo yesterday plus he is not feeling well... sigh ...

bliss,

ya i agree with your hubby. better to have some help around during your confinement.

nvm, if crying doesn't help to relieve, you can pour all your woes in this thread. =>

missbluey, i was okay last night. actually i don't feel is cramp. just like pulling feeling at my right tummy and is always that area ...

this morning when i wake up also got pulling feeling. on and off from 10am to 11am.. now much better after reaching home.

yesterday kept going to the toilet to poo... 3-4 times liao ... so worried leh ... people say if keep pooing means going to deliver.

http://www.askbaby.com/stomach-cramps-in-pregnancy.htm

i'm experiencing this

Sharp pain, particularly on one side

i know this is not braxton hicks and i often experience it. not sure what is this pulling feeling.

since i'm feeling better i shall wait and see how. my boy yet come back from school... so earliest also got to wait until evening to see gynae..

missbluey:

Will be keeping my fingers crossed for you. I can't imagine having to deal with that kind of stress throughout the whole pregnancy.

blues/emo:

Yah, got it quite bad. Find it very hard to control my emotions. Things that would normally annoy me now make me *very* upset. Sigh. Trying to keep calm/ be happy for baby, but not easy leh. Hope I dun get post natal depression. Already told my hubby to look out for signs and to be super patient.

Check-up:

Went for check up yesterday. Am at 34 weeks now. Baby is in position is now between 2.1kg to 2.5kg.

Bad news is that I put on 2.5kg in 3 weeks!!!! But as long as baby is doing well, ok lah. Just have to work harder after delivery.

bliss,

just view the link you gave. i often has vaginal discharge leh, hmmmmmm..

was your bowels watery?

ya, some people say when you have that poo poo feeling, means want to deliver. i had that feeling too during my labour, luckily never poo! haha.

since your boy is in school now, better get some rest. i so dying to hold my 'por por' (smelly) now & sleep in the aircon room. =p

dot,

thanks! =>

i think i have officially put on 10kg liao judging from my weighing machine. yup, must work harder after we pop. heh.

Bliss, a lot of things tends to kick in towards the end of pregnancy.. u surely need to CL unless ur mum or MIL is helping out.. it will be tough on ur own taking care a toddler and baby on the mth u need to rest most for the sake of ur health..

missbluey, we tends to get yeast infection more easily cos being a preggie.. so do make sure it's not very serious vaginal discharge ah..

Re: Blues

I think these are wat ppl meant by pre-natal depression.. think we are still manageable cases.. just rant out ur tots and tears out as and when u need.. btw, crying help to sooth our emotion.. tat y we feel much better after tearing over small/big issues tat's irritating u..

missbluey, not watery stool.. is soft ones. like more smooth than normal lar.. ok abit gross here. LOL!

i do have discharge too. but i guess is normal ? unless it really smells badly. i used to have discharge for my #1 too.

dot, abit normal to have abit of postnatal depression. but got to self control abit. okay to rant, vent and release but don't let yourself explode. with new baby around, mothers will be more sensitive and emotional. also cuz it seems like our baby has left our body.

will visit gynae tonight if pain comes back again.

Rainelle, my mom will be popping by almost everyday. don't think my MIL will even come once lor. even my first confinement done at her place but is like strangers staying together.

i'm more worried for my boy during confinement cause i'm going csect meaning alot of things i can't do without another person help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my mom just called me again after i tell her about the pulling feeling and she asked me to go and pack my hospital bag now. make me more nervous lor.... i yet prepare my hospital bag things leh!

bliss,

oic. i also have discharge in #1. just have to keep changing pantyliner.

im also worried about my son during confinement. if i shift to my parents' house to do my confinement, don't think will bring son along. wonder how will look after him? i bet he will look for maid since he is pretty close to her. if i don't shift, my ears will suffer. if i shift, i worry about my son. -.-"

me too, haven't pack my hospital bag. but already started to have that panicky feeling liao. maybe tonight bah.

oh, just to share this cute blog:

http://mymilktoof.blogspot.com/

hosp bag???

i havent even finish buying things for the hosp bag.. hoW???

hehe~ bliss, pls take care ok... must ok..

Missbluey, bring ur son over to ur mom

place? In this way ur ears won't suffer and your son will not have any negative feelings too. Since maid is the caretaker bring the maid along do at least still together..

I'm so scared of delivering earlier since I already book csect date. So abit not prepared... Still thinking to pack my bag at week 37...

Sberry, yea I'll look out for systoms... My gybae don't open in the afternoon leh.. If afternoon wan to see him means got to go hospital and is different pricing lor. Wondering where he goes in the afternoon. Haha

Irma, I also haven buy things for my hospital bag... Going to pack some clothings later when my son naps... Just in case really contraction... I feel my hospital bag will be very big leh... I wan to bring my nursing pillow there too. Haha!

Sandy, mi not working in shipping line leh.. my company does wholesale, import & export of shoes.. haiz, dunno wat to say lor.. we interviewed another temp last evening, just nw agent called said the new temp staff today on MC and nw asking for alot of benefits.. yesterday she looks ok n nv even ask all these lor.

check with ur ar, what kind of benefits are temp/contract staff entitled to? might be asking for other interviewees to come for interview today. sian sian sian!!

Bliss, mi also have sharp pain, particularly on one side (my right).. so far last nite was the first time, but oni lasted for a few mins.

Irma, you are not alone.. i also haven buy the things for my hospital bag.. those disposable panties n maternity pads still on my to-buy list. tink really must start buying n packing the bag liao.

pain:

I have been having some jabbing pains that last 1-2 sec then its gone sometimes few times day so I told gynae.. he said its normal so never thought about it again.. bliss/blueberri is that what you got too?

im feeling terrible nw.. think the "prenatal depression" sets in..

at one time, feeling so exctie abt the upcoming nb.. then in a split second, im so not looknig forwad to it..

just nw GM asked mi how many kids i intend to have.. coz one temp staff is like so diff to get liao. he cannot imagine mi going on ML again. still can cheekily ask can i wait 10yrs then have my no.2. *pengz* i told him i have tot of dat lor, maybe wait till my no.1 is abt 1-1.5yrs old then i try for no.2.

Jus'us, my pain is pulling at my left tummy. last more than 30 secs each time.

today pain last longer. about 1 mins and coming every few mins. in between will feel super discomfort. last for an hour. now much better already.

Irma, same here... excited about baby arriving and feeling so depress at the same time. don't know if i can handle one toddler and a nb at the same time. super stress!

blueberi, talking about disposable panties i yet buy too!!

Bliss, tink i must go n take a look at the bb check-list n see wat are the things i haven get.

for bb, still have bathtub, detergent, cot bedding n those small small accessories haven buy. my cot will be delivered next wk, but i see the cot bedding they give, not good quality one, cot bumper very thin. dun tink i want to use it lor.

Bluberi, cot bumper still can wait. normally start using cot bumper at 3-4 mths old. at first u will not use. can be quite hot when bumper is around the cot. and i feel paranoid that i can look through the bb cot at my baby. haha.

actually bb stuff i got almost everything. i can't remember what i need for newborn too.

just got my changing table as well.

mainly is my own stuff yet to buy. just bought one pjs for hospital only. got to go back and buy another one.

Rainelle, I become more breatheless when starting 3rd trimester...

I have brochities same as some of the mummies here. Was admitted to SGH for 10days due to chest infection and breatheless..

Anyone is keen in ordering WETBAGS ??

i'm going to order some of the wetbags from this seller. i bought from her before and her wetbags is good and lasting! which last me for 2 years.

want to get more wetbags for #2.

Wetbags is very good to use.

Normally i put diaper, one set of clothing and wipes in a small wet diaper. can use as diaper clutch too.

Or put in the bag so clothing don't get dirty with other stuff.

Can put dirty clothing or swim wear.

when bb is on solid, i use to put hot flask, thermos etc so more organise.

their new product is the personalize blanket which i never buy before. but if anyone is keen do let me know. see if i can consolidate enough orders to share the shipping cost which i think is quite reasonable.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/PETUNIAS

price is higher than what is selling in BP but the quality and workmanship is way better than those mummies who sew and sell in BP!!

No profit for ordering ya!

Dear mummies, it's advisable to pack your hospital bag early. We thought it was too early to pack when my wife was 32 weeks and 1 week later, she was admitted to hospital and the bag really came in just nice. Pack all the essential stuff in first. You will find that you will keep adding things in because you may forget some of the stuff. We got our list from babycenter. See the link below for what to bring but not everything is essential.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/labourandbirth/hospitalbag/

i was also having some cramps sort of feeling while working just now.. dunno if it's contractions.. but it's over now so maybe it's fine? kept telling my bb that it's not time for him to come out yet..

Bliss, the personalised blanket is very nice! wonder if convert to SGD + shipping will be ard how much. the $26.50 one seems too small coz oni 16"x19", the $59.50 is like abit exp but the size is good 35"x35".

Sorry to intrude this thread.... just wanted to share some info... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you are planning for 1-month Baby shower or birthday celebrations, you can try this link for pretty handmade decorated baby shower cookies / cute cookies at affordable price:

http://bakedwithlove.wordpress.com/

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3939426.jpg]

Thanks for viewing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bluberi, actually hor, direct shipper is more easier all throw to the forwarder to do only, only prepare commercial invoice and packing list... that tempt staff shouldn't have problem unless she is really newbies lah..

Oh you may ask the interviewees such as:

1) Any exprience in this field?

2) Tell her/him that their main roles is to do what.. (so they have a rough idea what's all about)

3) Set questions for them to handle seeing if they are "clever" to handle and advice you or not..

Missbluey, i suppose so.. hmm, bring ur #1 to ur parent place too will be a better idea.. i scare he later will hab the concept u wan #2 dun wan him anymore after not seeing for a mth.. not worry abt this?

Re: To-Buy-List stuffs

Yet to get some stuffs like pampers and small small things.. for myself i yet to get maternity pads and disposable panty..

Just to rant, was super pissed off by my mum.. wake me up to pick her call to StemCord.. and i was told the same thing with regard to the cheque.. just send to the company and attention to my sales rep.. told her wat the person said she give me a black face not happy with the answer.. den she go call back herself.. den after a while i go ask so wat the person say? den she said the person say just indicate this cheque is sent by who can already.. den i said her, isn't this wat i'm been trying to say since YTD and she dun believe.. den she can go denying and arguing with me.. PISSED!!

Sandy, yes.. for direct shipper, we throw all the things to our forwarder.. even my supplier email them the documents directly. i oni need to pre-alert my colleagues n warehouse when the goods arriving. even doing purchasing n sales is easy. i tink the diff part are the reports which i have to do monthly..

Thanks for all the concern.

My hosp bag i juz pack the very last min before i admit to hosp thinkin that it mite be due. I was even prepare'd for preterm delivery =(

Lucky doc say its too too early.

Yup, gng to have plenty of bed rest other den tml and fri gng back to ofc to hand over things and tk my rest of MC days till 16 of dis mth.

bluey:

Dun worry too much! many things are forseen de.

i oso worried more for my #2 for ds compare to #1

Current pregnancy is sooo much different frm #1.

Sigh..

We all juz have to endure.!

*jiayou*!

sherly, i was hospitalised for contractions too....bad experience....you sure going back to work after 16 may. my gynae gave me MC till I deliver probably end of may.

now i am experiencing breathlessness.....mild headache.....

just went to see skin specialist at paragon for my PUPPP problem. applied some cream and managed to stop certain itchness. hope tonite dun come back again...

Shld be i guess so.

I have to go back to my gynae on 11 May to review as my medi covers onli a wk.

So prolly if gynae feels that i need longer rest, he will extand agn.

But i sort of feel unhappiness frm my ofc side when i msg my boss ytd that i will be on long mc cos the reasons y i am being admited to hosp.

I puropsely text him if he reali nids mi back as ofc is short-handed i can go back for a few days and he replied " yes pls. i appreciated that"

(&*^&^&%^##%(*)(^&%

Bluberi, is a little ex but is worth getting! My son have a blanket with his name on. I feel is very meaningful cuz can keep until he grow up. Of course no need everything personalise.

Maybe get small one to use in carseat and stroller?

I'll consolidate the order and ask seller to quote mr a

shipping to see if is ex or not. But normally esty shipping is quite reasonable.

Straw, wetbags is to hold wet stuff.. Very useful as bb grows.

Normally I put diapers, clean clothings in one wetbag and put in my bag. This way the clothes won't get in touch of other stuff. After changing bb just throw dirty clothing inside. Is waterproof and keep smell in so no need to worry if got poo or pee on clothing.

I used to used for cloth diaper.. Then to dirty clothings. Very useful during swimming too. Can dump towel inside.. No need plastic bags...

When my son start solid, I put water, thermos, and his feeding bibs inside. So just take the whole bag out when is feeding time. No need to wash spoon after eating and keep inside and bring home to wash.

Actually got alot of use... Cuz is waterproof so u can use it your own way. There is snack bag which can put snacks inside too.

bliss/rainelle,

if i really bring my son over, im afraid he will be bored. basically my parents' place has nothing to play! haha. but seriously speaking, i never think of he will have negative feelings if i didn't 'include' him in my confinement plan. plus my parents' place is quite hot & he never stay over @ there before, not sure he can get used to it.

hais..so many troubles.

i should really get started packing my hosp bag liao. =p

Cath,

thanks, so far blocked nose after taking flu medi, coughing ocassionally..

Bliss, Irma, Rainelle n other mtb or mommies wif blues,

very common esp when we hv so much to consider be it work, finance, illness - ours + kiddo... Try to rest more even tho it's easier said than done, and get any help to relieve u of some workload - like bliss u can hv yr mom to babysit yr boy for a few hours whilst u rest or scrapbooking, etc

I did experience more pain in tummy but not as intense n frequent as yrs - best to see a gynae to ease yr worries. As for CL, maybe can get a loan fr mom or someone if really tight else u may really get postnatal at the rate things go.

Missbluey,

u hv been a brave mommy - I am sure yr prayers will be heard. Hv faith n we r all behind u! Each child is a gift.. to think I hv quite a few frenz trying for yrs but still childless... in fact I myself tried a few yrs n finally get lucky..

I intend to put my gal at MIL place for at least my 1st wk of confinement tho that means she will be skipping cc - at least I am not too worried cos she used to be taken care by my MIL. See how it goes.. I think I better call my CL to check on her availability...