(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Remember to take your folic acid & multi-vits [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Today went to check my weight and i lost weight! Today dun seem to feel bb inside me... i feel so normal today, dun feel pregnant at all except for the tiredness. Does anyone feel like that too?

I have been craving ice lemon tea all the time but forbid myself from drinking it. Think hb only let me drink 2x so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbf,

park opposite paragon... its still much cheaper than paragon itself.

Hi, talking bout cutting down on caffeine and stuff, my gynea said to me, no coffee no tea and no pineapple. no exercise cos of last MC. nothing but eat sleep tv.

He gave immunity to me to hsework and told these to my hubby.

Being so used to coffee and cola, had stopped bout 3 weeks ago and avoided these stuff.

I found myself smiling with glee last nite when i bought a can of orange juice peel fresh and pouring them out.. my eyes practically lit up. Never have I looked at the cold drink with such appreciative eyes.. Ha.. my hubby was laughing at me...

Morning everyone..

ylc - yes.. i feel the same way as you too.. Feel normal and didnt feel pregnant except being tired most of the time. Little burping as compared to last few weeks. Guess its normal ba.

Good morning MTBs

Did anyone lose weight? I am getting a tiny bit worried cos my current pregnancy is very different from my previous pregnancy. I have vomitted twice already. And due to lower food intake amount, I have lost about 1 kg. But I still eat throughout the day, just smaller portions.

Anyone can advise?

Hi bbf

Can you please add my details in as well?

EDD: 3 May

Gynae: Dr Lee I Wuen

Hospital: Raffles Hospital

morning...mtbs

Today I am on lve so can come in to chat, my maid arrived last evening so take lve to coach her what she needs to do daily. Oh yes, I just threw up my bee hoon just now so xin ku cos i only ate a few mouth n i think my bee hoon also hven digested yet but luckily i puke at hme not at work or train station if not i sure burst to tears anyway regretting buying bee hoon for breakfast shld hv get porridge instead.

Anyone know when we start to do triple test? Cos my next appt will be in 20 Oct at that time i shld be in 11 weeks so not sure the doc will do any test during the appt.

Good day mummies...

ylc & tpanda...me also dun feel preggy these 2 weeks all seem so normal except my stomach is quite bloated......but I just keep telling myself to be +ve...actually when having #1 I oso nvr experience MS...but still am still worries tis round....awy, let just stay +ve together...am sure our bbs are growing everyday healthily.

chubby tiger, usualli triple test is done between 11-13 weeks.

rantinbaby, do not be too worried abt the weight loss, from 2nd trimester, weight will steadily increase when appetite gets better.

So mr loh, didnt get to see bb at all yest? R u still going bk to KKH? When's next appt? Must be so disappointing...

My gynae told mi MS peaks at week 9..so the worst has yet to come...

mornings mtbs

i'm having my first glass of omega powdered milk since preggy (other days just take calcium pill cos more convenient..whakakaka), and it makes me feel vomitty...

xiao liao....

btw, Mr Loh, wow!

i didn't know you had to suffer long waiting times at KKH too! i have the same experience with my gynae @TMC and waiting 1-2hours is no joke, wastes unnecessary parking charges and time off from office.

my hubby sometimes gets agitated with the clinic and rants that they should have allocated more time per patient i.e estimate time more accurately.. i get worried when he questions me about my choice of gynae i.e other gynae cannot deliver also meh? @_@

hihis serene

i think it's more crtical in 2nd n 3rd tri..

but i'm over 30 liao, and don't take much calcium,

so figured, better start now...

btw, there's this article Anne shared previously, and it says that our bodies only absorb 500mg of calcium at 1 go. So I infer from it that those >500mg Calcium pills are quack and we don't benefit from it anyway. So we really just need to take milk / calcium pills at different intervals of the day..

we need ~1500-2000mg / day

ha.. sue.. my hubby same idea too.. He feels if have to wait so long for gynae (private) and same for govt gynae.. then what's the difference. And if govt cheaper, why not save the money.

This is our first baby and we are both pretty lost of what to do actually. Just want baby to be safely delivered...

Last night we were discussing what contributes to a good gynae and what's the difference bet private and public gynae/hospitals.

btw, MTB... I am just taking folic acid now. And taking Anlene only... Do we need to take multivitamins and specific milk ? How much of calcium is needed?

serene, my gynae told mi tt calcium pills at this point in time actualli goes to the mummie n not bb cos bb is still so small. But i still request to take them cos i lost alot of calcium from last pregnancy n i dun fancy milk alot. Gynae told mi tt everyday 1000mg of calcium is adequate during pregnancy. I m tking the 500mg pill. Then she say + a glass of milk then will be enuff.

She actualli prefers us to drink 2 glasses of milk instead of tking the pills cos i tink milk has other nutrition for mother n bb too.

Becos of my fear of weight gain, she said she dun recommend powdered milk for mi, just take HL milk will do.

chubby tiger:

hihis.. i don't think u made a wrong choice in buying mee fen lei..

sometimes we just need to fulfil our psychological cravings, and with our weird MS & tastebuds, anything can cause MS...

who knows, tomorrow you can take mee fen but porridge gives MS...

hang in there oki [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tpanda, my gynae mentioned tt during 2nd trimester then she will start prescribing multi-vits , iron pills n fish oil. Now bb is still small, tk folic n milk will do. BB is onli 1cm at week 7!

uh oh... I HATE powdered MILK!!!!

am now suffering from migraine from the post milk stess and the after taste is so horrible...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sorry ah.. i need to rant...

destiny,

u wanna be hot mummy izit? actually i also fear too much weight gain. thankfully previous pregnancy onli gain 10-11 kg and managed to lose them all. anyway, dr wong prescribed me multivits leh. she did tell me that it's more for me than the bb as the bb is only 1 cm.

jsp,

i stopped coffee totally after the gynae visit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks, bbf

hopefully the MS will stay away, i just have some nausea this morning haiz.

btw, im given folic acid and vit B6 and one more is to protect the bb, cos i told my gynae that we gg on holiday end of this month and I'm quite worried cos still at 1st trimister so he prescribe this soft capsule for me to take for 3 wks till i see him again on 26 oct. =)

nanabear,

kekeke now is the formation part so much remember remember to take folic acid!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahaha when i come in early to post then will remind everyone to take ya! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tpanda,

my gynae gave folic acid & multi-vits for me. She said later on she will add calcium & dunno what DHA, AHA thingy... hahaha think i was too excited seeing bb that everything else also block out! hahahah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so MS peak at week 8 or week 9? I think i'm having mild MS, i feel nausea but hardly puke - only puke 3 times so far. 2 times i overate while the other cus I ate the steamboat and had diarrhoea & vomiting.

Sue,

I hate powdered milk too!!! i don't dare to drink cus I scared i will puke everything out! safer to drink fresh milk kekeke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bx, not want to b hot mama ...just dun wan 2 look like king kong as im overweight to begin with..im the sort of pax who put on weight fast but very diff to shed de. But i m already beginning to put on liao..so i tink tis time also jialat... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sue I also HATE powdered milk..can nvr swallow it! The smell of milk powder is just so YUCKY to mi....!

Thanks Sue for the knowledge on calcium intake. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maybe i shall just drink my choc flavoured HL milk. cold and yummy ...

Morning mtbs!!! TOday im back to work after 2 days of MC... aiyoh so much work piling up... but no mood to work.. how..

my gynae told me to start multi vat n fish oil after end of 1st tri... so guess now most impt is folic acid ... n me drinking enmum.. i find taste not so strong.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ladies, I kinda "disappeared" after my last post about my bad ms. The whole of last week was a diasaster. I was feeling so tired from all the vomitting that I crashed in bed every evening when I got home. This week seems to be a bit better after I slept the entire weekend away. Guess rest is definitely very important at the stage we're at.

Loh, how about switching over to the Private Suite? I think the queue should be slightly faster although sometimes it also depends on whether or not the doctors need to run off halfway to deliver babies or attend to emergencies. For my 1st pregnancy, I was at TPS throughout and usually I get to see Dr Loh in less than 2 hours.

re. losing weight in the 1st trimester, I think that's pretty normal cos' we suffer from ms and bad appetite. As long as the weight loss is not excessive, I think should be ok.

hehe... ylc and destiny:

so powdered milk is our common enemy...

i just had some green apples and it helps just a little to get rid of my milk breath

ylc:

how's ur gal's ba lu ku?oki already?

destiny:

i oso dunno what's the fmi all about, so the next time i pop by tmc (next fri), i plan to ask them at the reception... it says we get preferred gynae rates.. dunno if it's applicable for mine..

i pay $80 / consultation, unlike for u ladies at Dr Jocelyn Wong's clinic $40/consultation (cheaper le)

but i knoe can't compare like that, cos we can't put a price to the gynae we feel comfy wif...

I was taking calcium through the usual carton boxes of low fat milk. but my lao er does not like it, preferring the taste of Milo... so now I have milo about 3 times a days.

I used to drink Anmum when I was pregnant with my lao da, but had to stop cos of gestational diabetes. I am worried that I may get gestational diabetes again with lao er, so felt better not to start.

mattsmummy... yes... did it yterday... will be hv the DS scan on 30 Oct...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not thinking much abt it... take a step at a time

Btw... hvnt' tell my boss me preggy leh... so far almost busted whole yr MC liao... sigh.... maybe wait for end of this mth den tell him loh...

hi MTB,

im from 08 Feb MTB, just foubd out im having my #2 recently, edd 29may, now abt 6wks plus, gynae is DR Yvonne Chan at TMC. my husband ask me not to tell anyone since im not 12 weeks yet, but i text here is fine right? heehee

linda > Like yourself, tested positive last week and very much like to share with new mummies here. BTW, im from the May 08 thread. Yah I know pretty fast to get preg again. So happy.

Yet to see my gyne, Dr Adrian W at CCK. Maybe next week when im clearing my Maternity leave.

SK, congrats... actually, i consider slow already. i wanted to get pregnant much earlier but dun have. not very keen on tiger bb... hee

but now have also dun care that much liao....

Hi mummies, its me BMW, im back! have been very sick the past weeks. after i got discharged from hospital i came down with a bad flu and fever. then my asthma came back. my gynae says my right lung got fluid and not functioning well scare cut off oxygen to baby so she gave me a lot of medicine! i was so sick after taking the medicine.

i stop the medicine on sunday, still feeling sick and tired. then yst, i started my new hormone pills...my gynae warned me that it might make me feel sick also but somehow today when i wake up i feel so energetic!

like overnight i become better. i even felt so hungry today. i a bit scare...cos that time i stop MS then suddenly bleeding. but also maybe cos i nearing end of 1st tri so feel better?

any advice from mummies? do you all also have MS stop overnight when you end 1st tri? I'm 11.5weeks now. This fri i'll be doing the neck fold test for down symdrome.

i last saw my gynae last thurs. from then till now no more bleeding. not even spotting. so is my sudden 'good health' normal?

hi mummies to be,

nice to read ur thread leh ...yeah a lot of my collegues have been asking me ..smsing me as i am now on 3 weeks MC and they are concerned over me. just tat we are not ready to release the news yet. guess when go back to office then is time to release the news i guess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehe jus happie and paisheh in the sense that so many of my collegues are concerned over me hehe

Now thinking of how to break the news to collegues as is not after 1st trimeter yet lor hahhaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] felt veri excited when we learnt abt it lor..

is it patang not to attend fren's full month party huh? or is it all rite huh?

hi babymustwear,

tink the tough time will be over soon. i guess it will not last long and soon it will be over. look on the bright side. have more rest first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can we drink HL milk and also yakult huh? cos they are both cold in nature. i wanted to drink yakult cos i have constipation.

there seemd to be a list of food that we have to avoid rite huh? any mum to be here has high blood pressure huh? i am diagnosed to have 140/90 so now trying hard to reduce the high blood if possible. but i dun noe whether can we take celery now that we are pregnant lor.

any good advice huh? doc did gave me pills for high blood problem.

hi BMW, ya, i think your tough time is over. is normal and should be glad. but somehow still take good care of yourself.

sunbelle, why r u on MC?

do u all feel tired very easily? i have been sleeping very early but still feel very tired.

Hi sunbelle, linda...thanks for the advice! i feel more 'relieve' now.

sunbelle, i think better not to go for 1st month...cos quite pantang. if its your close fren i think she will understand.

i drink cold drinks as normal..my gynae gave green light cos that time i puke even when i drink water so she say as long as can keep anything down just take. then when i was in hospital, everyday the nurse give me orange or apple juice. i ask her ok to drink or not she say ok no problem.

i think for chinese, we usually believe in no cold drinks but those ang oh pai one will say ok.

sunbelle, im not sure about high blood pressure...me is low blood..when i was in hospital drop to 60/90 so doc ask me take iron rich food. maybe you eat less 'fried' and salty food?

sunbelle, no problem to drink HL milk n yakult de la. If u worrie then leave it in the open a while then consume when not so cold? for mi i stil take straight from fridge and to my gynae she says she dun believe in tking cold drinks affecting bbs. But then again, realli up to individuals ok.

linda, of cos feel so tired...everytime by afternoon, my eyes wanna close n then bed time has been brought forward to 9 plus liao. Always feel so tired. But i didnt sleep well eversince im preggy ..just feel so uncomfy n neck always pain n stiff.

Thanks for the encouragement! Went for my gynae last sat and we managed to see the lil heartbeat! Phew! was so worried at first cos it's supposed to be the 7th week then. But i think we miscalculated the dates. Based on the size, the edd is ard 25th May.

Thank God!Really blessed to be blessed with the #2, will continue to pray for healthy development till due.

For those mummies, not able to see the heartbeat yet. Don't worry! Just like what the other mummies had encouraged me with positive thoughts and just pray! ;-)

Oh, i just saw Stefie's post. It's really heart-wrenching to hear that. But i believe a kind and positive lady like Stefie, she will be blessed with many healthy kids soon!

BMW,

WELCOME BACK!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Glad everything is well for you!!! I guess once MS is over, a smoother journey for you now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sue,

Yeah her swell went down already. Now a little bruising only. Cough also gone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so glad everything is alright for my little girl.

linda,

yes! I also feel so tired even though sleep really early at night... every morning can't seem to have energy to wake up prepare and send my girl to school... i wonder where all my energy came from at the end of the day!