(2010/03) March 2010 mtb

noscon, pardon me hor, as I was breaking up the prononciation hor sounds like "lu si ao" like "u crazy" leh scared next time naughty children tease her....

carol, boys things very attractive in USA. Instead of blue, white, yellow, there's red, gray, brown, green, orange and many other colors!

I have a checklist but it's a long long one :x

noscon,

1. cotton buds

2. cotton balls

3. cotton roll - one enuf - for poo poo sessions

4. baby oil

5. petroleum jelly - not sure if any mommies use this but tis is great for dry skin

6. yu yi oil - release mind/tummy aches

7. camforated oil - can't remember the spellin - use after bath a small amount over chest to keep warm.

8. hair brush - fine hair can't comb :p

9. diaper cream

10. powder - not suitable for all mommies, some are using talc free.

11. small wash basin, to hold warm water to wash bum bum of a wipe down in the evening.

12. cord drying powder from chinese medical hall - not all practice but it helps dry up the cord faster.

that's the list for bath

noscon, my hb's surname is ngoh, mine is loo. tell u another thing, my name is 罗婷, dialect is loo-ting, terrible right ...sigh.... wonder why my parents like that "shake head"

hi! For those not 'banned' from shopping (yet), can consider joining spree for:

http://www.babymallonline.com/

I got some nice rompers, v soft material. In terms of price inc shipping, maybe comparable to what we can get at stores here, so got to look for sprees tat give disc. But i enjoy the thrill of ordering online and receiving the packages!! haha...

jon

i need people like u to think for me... cos i was asking ard n nobody seems to have found "alternative" meanings to the name... but hor "lu-seal" still not that close to lu-si-ao" closer to like "lu-si" hahaha also not so nice...

instead of petroleum jelly, I used lanolin. didn't try petroleum jelly but lanolin really stays on the skin for a long time even in aircon room.

I used baby lotion instead of baby oil

I also got

1. lots of bibs

2. shower liquid for baby

3. sunscreen suitable for under 6 months

4. soft cloths for baby bath time (cleaning body)and wiping face, body, hands during day time

carol, for this right: 3. cotton roll - one enuf - for poo poo sessions. Do you roll it up or cut it up? My friend says if I roll it up I'll get the "gold" onto my fingers. But I can't figure out how to cut.

cloudys,

yes, kaitlyn is also another way of spelling. V sweet name!

little twin stars,

Thot 'Isaac' is more common spelling? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Dunno why whenever I hear other parents calling their sons 'Isaac' or 'Zack' for short, my ears just perk up!! haha.. that's why considering for my own. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

icy,

thanks for ur suggestions! why surname Liang2 sound weird with Zhi(4) leh?? I rather like Zhi(4)! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I did think of Jun Jie, but dun want pp to ask 'are u JJ fan??'

jonjosh,

i'm also thinking of getting that sling! some Jap name like 'hanamu..g.. sling' or something. Esp cos it looks easy to use! I had an MIM sling for #1 but never got to figure out how to use.. so wasted. But this one can only use when bb's neck more stable I guess.

ladykirvin,

my girl was abt 12-13kg at 36mths leh. Considered small size.

Carol, yes, lanolin is more pricey than jelly, but I suspect it works out to the same.. cos jelly rubs off really quickly.. may need to constantly reapply. lanolin stays on much longer.

serendipity,

unroll the cotton roll and start with 2 fingers 2 roll over for one lump. some cotton rolls have 2 layers then you'd save [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

as baby grows bigger you'd need 3 finger roll, remember to not compress the rolls. just throw the rolls into the basin of water and it should be just nice for baby. - trial by error -

timy, lim,

I ordered liao but note that the jap doll print is out of stock. She told me that after I've made the transfer. I told her I'll wait, she say the fabric of jap doll only come in in feb.

thanks carol

jotting it down liao...

jon

i cant see the chinese character on this pc... what sling r u buying? share link....

icy

thanks for the list n emails...

carol, what's cotton roll?

and the cotton ball, if u buy the balls, ex leh. My sis say just buy the sotton wool then roll yourself, much cheaper.

ryne

Glad you like it, the Zhi4 just pop up like that. :D

But with the surname liang2 Zhi4. It might sounds like 两只结. But I think Zhijie is nice too. My boy's chinese name is Junzhe, actually sounds like ginger haha, but we like it a lot so we just don't care.

ryne,

wow, your girl is really petite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. i have a hefty 18 kgs at 42months daugter.

can post a pic of the cotton roll.? i got some idea but not sure whether its the same thing or not...comes in blue packaging...

And anyone going for bloom shoots?

My hubby don't like leh, he very conservative and find that revealing tummy is not nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Then my mil also support him.

jon, the cotton balls we use for cosmetics not that dusty.

the cotton roll kinda for rough use, i feel. don't need to worry bout all the sneezy if we need to use and wipe eye/nose

noscon, the cotton roll comes in several brands or can buy the brandless ones from chinese shops selling make up. annaku does sell it. it is just stored rolled up in paper. when you roll it out, it is one big sheet of cotton!

noscon, I haven't decided whether to buy the sling. came across it yesterday so just sharing here. u see picture first, if intested then I go dig out the link....actually same link as the carter romper link for me. I mean same seller.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3354558.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3354559.jpg]

timtam

why u post that link huh? now im tempted... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jon

yeah saw it before in one of the spree..but dunno whether good or not cos seldom see it on the street... im afraid the bb will slot out through the slots...

thanks carol...

its the same thing i was thinking abt but wont it be a bit rough? seems like the texture i saw wasnt as good as those used for cosmetics...

btw what is the difference between cotton roll n cotton wool? we can use either one to clean the poo poo right?

noscon, I have transfered the @ to you $156. reference no is 2590859634. pls check and cfm...tks!!!

Noscon, opps is it icy url. Very sorry, I surfing from my Hp. So either I see the post only or I see yr msg post only.

timtam, I used Medela purelan for the lanolin. but you can use any brand which is safe for bb's consumption. another brand is lanisoh

jon, yeap.. but you might wan to think using for eyes or face area as the cotton is not that fine and leaves strands of cotton behind.

noscon, cotton balls for cosmetic is small balls - how to wipe bum bum?? you'd finish one pack in less than 2 days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tollyjoy cotton roll in Msia is RM4. It's going for S$4.90 in Kiddy Palace. After rolling into small balls, I find that it is not so dusty anymore. Buying balls by itself is really expensive, especially the ones from Pigeon. S$3+ for 100 balls I think.

Icy, me! I going for bloom shots on 2nd Jan. In my 27th week and I havn't even taken a single pic of my tummy.