(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

GG, at least your boy is of a reasonable wt!but my DH said not to worry since he seems to be eating well overall n also developing well, in terms of physically, language n socially...

yunz, u have a little gourmet! hard to come across any parent who doesnt complain about their toddler's eating habits :p

yunzz, wholemeal bread n fruits good right

my boy also asked for moooncake the next morning after trying the night before.. he loves to snack on Post Select cereal..

beenie,
i try to give him healthy food.
he wants to eat fries and sweets too. at most, i give him 1 only. so at least he eats alot, but it's healthy food.

I try to give healthy food also, no processed or fried food. But once I give him try a bit of chicken rice he keep 'yum' non stop!! Guess much more tasty than his usual food with no seasoning!

i also try to give healthy food, at least at home its all possible. when out, then too bad. he doesn't like fries much or burger. lucky me! and din give him sweets...

GG my boy loves chicken rice too!

I put a pinch of salt in his porridge but most other cooking we dun use much salt...

and i still give him avocado whenever i can. he likes ovaltine though.

I read and heard from people, if you want your baby to eat more solid then reduce the milk intake. That's why some people only give milk in the morning and at night. So the child can eat solid during the day.
But cos my boy not eating well these days, I have given him milk 3x a day. But during the day, I give him less milk eg 150 max. But at night, I will give him 180ml.
My boy used to be able to finish 1/2 bowl of rice, but since after his diarrhea incident, he only takes 7 small tbsp of rice.
My boy is 10.2kg height 89, taller than avg (follow after me!)
I think all babies are different and grow at different rate. So there's no fixed rule on eating. Some prefers porridge or milk or rice. What's important is that they are growing well and are active - that's what PD is looking for.

Err my gal only takes abt 3 tbsp of rice each meal. But she drink 240 or 270 milk each time. At least 3 times liao... Tried to reduce her milk but she keep asking for it..
Is there any bad effect drinking too much milk? I hrd too much milk can get very tall?. Is it true??

She is 11kg now..not sure abt height but abt the same wih her peers.

Seems that most mum oready gives all food for the kid to try ya.. So far i only give her rice, salad or pau skin when we r outside..mayb thats why she doesnt like solid ya...no taste hehe

Dont think there is any bad effect from drinking too much milk. But PD said drinking milk alone is not enough. Just have to make sure the child eats a variety of solid even though a little.

My boy has started to eat solid (rice) again 3 days ago, altho not much maybe 7 small tbsp each meal, and milk only 170ml 2x or 3x a day. And I can only feed him milk when he is drowsy otherwise he refuse to drink any.

My lil Keith eats everything. Rice, cereal, porridge, noodles, woof everything down. Probably because I feed fast? He eats adult portion. Like snacks. biscuits, nuts, sweets.. Basically he eats all. Fruits too. Tho he's milk is only ard 100-200ml, 3x a day, I'm grateful he's putting on more wt.

My problem is, his lil bro! Coming 8mo still refuse solids. Dun wan cereal dun wan porridge. Dunno wad he wants. Now still milk strike. Cfm fussy next time.

Wah jeanie ur boy can eat adult portion??
Does he snack as well?

Yeah my pd also enourage to drink less milk n eat more solid..but very diff...she always run ard during meal time..fter few spoon she get bored n even more diff to feed her. It takes 30-40 mins for her lunch. Dinner she can eat faster somehow... She doesnt snack either...

She is still in average weight fortunately..but my family keep sauing she is too thin lol..

GG, mostly some adult oat/wholemeal biscuits, cornflakes, post selects cereals, raisins, wholemeal bread (can be main meal also if he doesnt eat well when we go out), fruits... sometimes hard boiled egg or cheddar cheese slice as snack.. lol.. my boy has a few loves which he will tell us to buy - brocolli, tomato, strawberry, egg. haha..

my feeding routine like this:
6am - breastfeed
9am - breakfast (mostly milk with rice cereal + ovaltine all mixed up or avocado with oat and milk)
11am - snack on a bit of bread or egg or cheese or fruit
1230pm - lunch
130pm - fruit (sometimes)
230pm - his fave snack which he will expressedly ask "CEREAL"
315pm - breastfeed
7pm - dinner (sometimes ask to snack before dinner, I will give whole meal bread or some scraps of my raw tomatos haha)
830pm - fruit
9pm - breastfeed

dunno but my boy still small size... haiz.. his milestones all ok though..

Wah, skinneybeanie your boy eats v frequently! But can see all v healthy snacks!! And he loves fruits and veg! So good! Can they take Horlicks now?

I gave my boy normal full cream milk powder since abt 1 yr. and milo and ovaltine since abt 16mths. So i'd think horlicks can be given? i'm not too strict on foodstuffs, as long as no empty calories things like biscuits n candies on a daily basis

what does your boy take for snacks?

Hi skinnybeenie.. what brand of full cream milk powder do you give your boy? as my girl tends to get heaty, my PD also recommended to put her on cow's milk, since she has passed the 1 year mark...

mummies here.. may i ask how do you girls celebrate their 2yrs bday.. quiet one or party?

Skinnybeanie, I give snacks like pau, cereal, bread, cheese, biscuits. Nowadays he always dun really ear much of his main meals. Wat u feed for main? Follow wat adults eat or separate cook?

main is straightforward.. one meat/fish/ and/or egg+ veg with rice. he prefers rice to porridge.. he sometimes takes an hour and only half way thru i would just let him be.. or if he is in the mood, half an hour finish his portion still want to eat my portion.. though that is getting rarer these days.. last nite brought him to dian xiao er, ate mostly peanuts for dinner only... and a few spoonfuls of rice+duck..

usually just eats what we eat, even sardines i let him try, unless he is eating his codfish (only bought for him specially)

case in point that he is a health conscious kiddo - i offered him delicious buttery british shortbread from marks & spencer, he tasted and then din want anymore... went back to eating his whole grain post selects..

also let him try coke, he has this want to puke look.. :p not that we purposely gave him, in fact we don't even have any can drinks or packet drinks in the house.. but when we ate at subway he wanted to try the coke, so let him (anyway, there will be a full blast tantrum). he liked the subway cookies though

mummy relle, i just give fernleaf milk powder, or even fresh milk if we do buy,, or soy bean milk..

for freshmilk personally i prefer the taste of farmhouse...

Skinnybeanie, lucky you!! Your boy has a hearty and healthy appetite! My boy will spit out meat, chew chew chew then pui!!

is it?? i think he is very hard to feed.. can u imagine, i hjave to blow his food, scopp for him, talk to him and read to him while he eats or else he will move ard too much..

byt the way he also sometimes spits.. green leafy veg and salmon esp..

My boy can eat a plate of porridge or those bowl u see outside. Rice, about half a bowl.

Mine schedule

7.30am milk
8.00am bread/biscuits
9.30am oats cereal w fruits(apple/pear/banana)
10.30am snacks like a small pkt of juice or Milo
12pm lunch. Porridge.
Nap
3pm milk
4.30pm snacks. Bread or biscuits or yogurt or fruits
6pm dinner. Porridge or rice w soup
7-8pm little snacks
9.30pm milk
Sleep

My snacks like biscuits are usually those pigeon rice cereal sticks or others alike. Cuz he tends to feed didi so must be infant food.

Btw my feeding only takes ard 10mins. Maybe cuz he is used to my speed since young. Rice about 15mins. I used to put him on highchair. Now I make him sit in front of tv(bad example) n feed. He's not very into tv. But just use to distract him n prevent him running around for that 15mins.

Mine schedule just to share..

630am – 180ml Milk
8am – breakfast (mostly bread on weekdays, weekends, we tend to go out for breakfast and she eats whatever we eats.. prate and fan choy is her fav)
10am – shower time
1030am – nap
1230pm – lunch (can be fried noodle, pasta, rice or even soupy stuff)
2pm – fruits (pear, apple, papaya)
330pm- 180ml milk = nap
630pm – dinner (she will eat what we eat)
8pm- shower time
9pm – 180ml milk + sleep

And is another day~

jeanie, lucky u have a fast eater!! if my boy can finish in less than 40 mins, alr considered fast for him!!

today had some toilet training success. he actually went to the potty himself to pee and poo. usually a bit of pee will leak by the time he gets there. today no leak at all! so happy.. n he went to poo in the potty by himself when i dozed off for a short while on the floor! :p

My boy drinks v lil. About 100-150ml only.

My mum used to scold me the way I feed. Cuz I feed v fast. As in once he swallow I'll continue. Nv pause. So now he's used to fast feeding. He eats a lot at hm. But v lil of outside food.....

I tried toilet training today too. Taking it v slowly. At least he nv wet his shorts for 3hrs. Gotta bring him to toilet every 30mins. Sometimes he will touch his bird n call for me. Still anyhow poo tho.....

Hahaha, Jeanie u not the only one. I also stuff my boy v fast in case he change his mind about eating. Usually feed about 15-20 mins. And if he doesn't wan to eat we will remove the food as dun wan him to get used to us begging him to eat like dat.

My boy takes 3 times 180ml/210ml a day, 3 main meals and 1-2 snacks. He is a biscuit and cupcake fanatic!

Hi Mummies..

Been very busy....

Long Long time never come in le..

Getting ready my boy for his P1.. register bb for playgroup..

All kids just recover from HFMD.. it was a nightmare for us during the past week..

Now, think I can relax abit..

last nite i felt a bit emo abt how my boy is growing up so quickly. first, he seemed to finally have some success with toilet training, tho before we started 2 months ago, he never even saw the potty before.

then he adjusted well to now sleeping on the mattress which we laid on his playmat, since we saw him climbing out of the playpen (where he slept) last sat..

suddenly it's happening so quickly...

wow.. is no nice to see mummies starting their kids on potty training.. but i have a question.. how do you know is time to start them off?

Sandy! Hope all is fine now!

Relle, I started potty training, meaning poo in potty since 4mo. Then now is toilet training, weaning off diapers. I'll make him poo after his meals. Go toilet n pee every 30mins.

Skinnybeanie, yes. Time flies. Rem we were just counting to delivery.. Sometimes I feel it's so amazing. Like suddenly I've got 2 lovely boys. LOL! Looking at didi now, my lil Keith has really grown..

I'm planning to sign my 2 girls up for Julia Gabriel holiday programmes.
There is a 20% group discount if 4 or more children register at the same time. It can be a different programme and venue.

If anyone is interested too, please PM me so that we can all enjoy the group discount.

Information for the holiday programmes. http://www.juliagabriel.com/pdfviewermm1ab.html

relle, u can start if your kid understands what is pee n poo i feel.. at least that was when i got started. the signs are becoming more obvious as time passes.

hi all mummies. hows everyone?
hmm how many times does yr little one nap??/ nowadays my princess refuses her morning nap n she will drag till noon which is near to her mealtime

lollipop, u r lucky. some babies only take one nap before they turned one. mine started rejecting 2 naps a day since abt 18 months and that was already considered lucky. ur baby even easier!

jeanie, ur boy is cooperative to sit on the potty every 30 mins? we tried that n it din work. so ended up i made him sit on his potty n play. so mean huh... then now i told him no need to sit unless need to pee. so he will sometimes go there in time to pee and he will also anounce to me "pee pee" and run to his potty... sometimes halfway thru peeing alr, but sometimes make it all in the potty...

BUT BUT BUT if he is wearing shorts or underwear he will jus pee on himself. only when not wearing anything he will go to potty himself when needed.. what do i do??? i guess keep trying..

hi all mummies!!

My SIL delivered today, so exciting, reminds me of the time when we were all waiting for our delivery and counting down haha

How's everyone? Been a LONGGGG time since I log in

Seems like alot are not feeding so much milk now, I still feed her alot of milk, duno is it good.

Regarding toilet training, my mum managed to potty train her since she was 18 months, now if she is not wearing diapers, she'll tell us ssh ssh or poo poo and we'll let her sit on potty. But still got accidents especially if she is too engrossed in TV or play

Hi roxy!! Milk is good ar!

Skinnybeanie, I started by bringing him to potty to pee every 30mins. Then I ask him u wan to pee? Sometimes he shakes his head n take his pants. Then awhile later try again. Now, when he wants to pee, he will come to me n say mama shh shh n touch his bird. So I say, wait huh wait huh.. He listens n wait while I take potty. Takes time..

Jeanie, tks for sharing. My boy lately refuse to wear his diaper. Keeps taking off then run around naked!

Roxy, hi, my boy v naughty now lor. Getting out of control! Am expecting a dragon gal early next year

Jeanie, oh dats a sign huh? My mum got buy a potty for him but he plays with it only! Use it to cover my mum's head!! Faint!

Now I am training bb to have nap once only as next year.. she will start to go to playgroup.. in the morning...

So, she will have her nap in the afternoon..