(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

May, my #1 has to attend sch in aug oso. Bt planning to go japan during her end of yr holiday. Can celebrate nn's bd at hello kitty land or Disneyland. Keke..

aineley.. icic. I'm bringing the baby to hk over his bday too, but still gotta throw a party for him. Tt's why now receeing for venue. Did you do one for your #1?

n Japan is a great place for babies, tho I got to say tt baby clothes r super pricey there.

May, I nt throwing party le, since gg japan. Keke.. Bt I think will see if can organise a birthday bash for all babies in this thread. =) must b super cute to see so many babies waddling ard. Lol..
If u go hk, u can visit noah's ark oso. It's a new tourist attraction n it's built according to the real measurement. U can see more if u google it. =)

shokel, i have a HAWKINS pressure cooker.. din buy especially for baby, but we also use in our cooking.. it is GREAT and amazing!! cook potatos only stove on for about 10 mins *depending on amount of water* and congee about 15 mins only... save a lot of gas and time!

it's great for making other soups as well and really extract the taste. i dunno what i'll do without it.

sandy i agree with ur sentiments abt babies.. last time when he was 1 mth old, i cant wait for him to be indept and can walk so we can go out more.. but now that he's actually getting mobile, i miss the time when i was preg.. even now jus now tried to make him nap with me also cannot. he wanted to go back to his own bed..

skinny: erm... i heard raves abt it too... so was thinkin ... hahaha...its gd for lazy ppl like me!1 whhaah....

wah, rainy weather, gd to slp... yawn*****

shokel, it's really really great.. and its hardy.. have been using ours for 5 yrs now.. still works! it will make you look like a chef.. hahah

if u do decide to get one, get the HAWKINS brand. Its orig indian brand i think. the cheapest place to get it from would be mustafa..

ainsley, agree with u.
would b cute to see them moving ard.
to think tt we were still expecting their arrival end of last yr, sharing on birth experiences & breastfeeding tips...
真是光阴似箭.

shokel, mine was a gift from my SIL who got it from mauritius, where hubby is from. i saw the ones at mustafa abt 50+ for a medium sized (abt 2-3L) one few yrs ago..

actually re: introducing foods to babies..

i try not to be TOO cautious and scared of this and that.. cuz all these rules are made from americans, who have a lot of food allergies, from peanuts to kiwi to seafood..

but peanut allergy and food allergies are usually not common among us asians, except for maybe seafood allergy.. so it is acceptable for babies to eat most things, except for the obvious ones like egg white, honey, salt and sugar..

but the 3-4 day wait rule is a good guideline.. other than that, some of us already "breaking" rules with ikan bilis and meat, and our babies are fine, right? in fact meat is great for boosting babies' iron stores.. cuz let's face it, you can have iron fortified cereal, but the question is the bio absorption of the iron in the food, not just the amount in it..whatever the body cannot absorb, the body will discharge. that's why formula contain a lot more iron than breastmilk because very little of it can be absorbed by babies, but 50% of iron in breastmilk can be absorbed.. so it is really a matter of giving food that are nutrients rich and can actually be absorbed well by babies

and obviously the iron in meat is most easily absorbed and is the hemme iron which is the best for growing children...

my boy has eaten soup (mix with rice cereal) that made from tomatoes, garlic, old cucumber, and he is taking it well..and we all know these stuff are good for us..

just my humble two cents or one cent on this issue..

skinny,
i totally agree wiv u cos i myself oso break the rules hee...cos i cant wait to feed her wiv all the nutricious food. hee... so far peanut allergy is rare in asia. but most common in austraila n england.and i beleive most of us here grew up without cereals hee...onli congee n heinz teething rusks etc heheh....nowadays its partly due to the marketing skills to which promotes the extra nutrrients in their food which makes me wonder do our babies reaally absorb all the nutrients in it?? something to share here regarding fm/bm http://www.askdrsears.com/html/0/T000100.asp

carol, yah, i was checking prices of brown rice and organic brown rice (as in the real rice grain, not cereal) , it's expensive yes but MUCH cheaper than organic cereal, and i think i will get that soon to make congee for my boy.. natural food always better.. even if they are organic processed food.. but of course cant deny the convenience of the rice cereal

marketing is very powerful.. sell to any mother who only wants the best for the kids, it always works!

carol, somemore eating is a joy. very sian to eat boring food. haha.

my hubby likes to use cinnamon, tumeric, rosemary and black pepper in his cooking and we love coriander and parsley and basil too.. of course won't introduce all at once to my boy, but will let him try a mouthful of the soup or stew..

anyway we seldom use salt in our cooking at home. have been using the same box of salt for 2.5 yrs, it looks still 90% full.. haha

Long time never pop-in already. Seem like most babies are on cereal n porridge already.

Any mummies feeding their baby with Enfalac (0 to below 12mths)? For those whose baby past 6mths, did you change to EnfaPro instead or still remain at Enfalac?

skinny,
wow lucky got a hubby who can cook hehee....
ya the article is int hor...from der i found out actually for babies who dun zzz thru the nite has an advantage too. dey term it survival instinct heee...it says these bb r actually getting smarter wor...

den from dunno whr i read again for cereal ,actually dun have to buy baby cereal le. can use our own oats . jus put in blender n blend till powdery den cook n giv baby. but again i lazy hee...i oni use the blender to make puree...and looks like she's outgrowing puree stage liao.cos after i gave her grainy porridge, she dun like the watery typr liao. :p

Mummies, I m letting go a box of organix apple rasberry cereal - 25% more ($7.20) n banana porridge cereal ($6.90). Pm me if interested..

Dear mommies

Note of cautious....
Especially For those who are going to HK Disneyland. This is true as it has happened to my SIL's friend, and also 2 of my colleagues' friends. Damn sad for the parents.....

My SIl's friend and hubby went to HK disneyland with their 7yr old son and a newborn bb (abt 7-8mths) during the june school holiday 2-3wks ago. The couple was attending to their baby and within a few mins, their 7yr old son went missing!!! They searched everywhere and lodged police report and stayed a few more days to search for their boy, but in vain. They have no choice but to return to spore without their son. Their son is still nowhere to be found.
Related this incident to my co-workers, and they have heard from their friends the similar case before.
So be careful if anyone of you wanna bring your kids to HK disneyland next time. Don't let them out of your sight.

SPRING Maternity $10 Vouchers (2 pieces)

2 Vouchers of $10 to let go together at the price of 1.

1 Voucher with no expiry date, 1 voucher with expiry date of Oct'2010

Voucher condition: Minimum purchase of $20 to make use of the voucher

Additional perk: Receive free set of baby mitten and bootie with any purchase of $10 at SPRING in single voucher

Accept direct bank deposit, item to be mailed to your home address.

Contact [email protected]

4181428.jpg

ainsley,
by right teething will make nn more cranky. but waking up often i think is want u to carry her to comfort her. so maybe this period will be worst since teething too. slowly ya, 1st stop her using u as pacifier, then slowly later on let her learn to self sooth to sleep.

i like to declare!! Peas is so much work!!! Steam/cook with bit of water, blend, then sieve!!! The skin of pea is alot to be sieve lor... and i dun have a big sieve, do until arms tired.

Ivy, just nw she also kept waking up within these 2 hrs. Sigh~ bt she fell bk aslp after seeing me n hug her pillow. Y her slp so broken de??

May, I received ur pm alr. I will update n upload it tmr. =)

Ainsley she need security? Strange hor. Just now enyu also strange. 8pm milk wait until 9pm then will drink. After tat I try to do wind down routine for half an hr then she wanna sleep...

ainsley, aiyoh. Did u find another way for nn to self sooth? Think nn n kynan r very stick bbs. Dun noe to cry or laugh. Went nite safari last nite n while taking our break, i went to the ladies. Kynan still guai guai sit on pram. When see me, cry till so ke lian. Always bully me. Last nite was lucky. Kynan slept thru suprisingly. He woke up ard 7.30am cos he roll n knock himself on the carboard 2 mattress away. Faint. Such a 'roller'. Latch him n now zzz again. Think the nite safari wears him out. Haha

Ainsley: I feel for u. My baby is getting very cranky fir the 1 wk! Can't seems to sleep and cries in the middle of the nite. I suspect tat he is teething but can't see any tooth coming out leh.

May & anny: ya lor, now me & hubby ban Hk disneyland. There's apparently no reporting at their end, they just wanna keep these kinda incidents in the dArk so that the business will be affected.

Lileen, sometimes she is ok with her pillow leh. Give her the pillow, she will hug n fall bk aslp. Bt I still gtta wake up frequently to give her the pillow...
Ya, Nn is those v clingy type. Tat time I went shopping centre, toilet w/o her, she screamed the whole shopping centre down. Cry n scream till gt Tears somemore. Think she will never gt lost. Lol..

Canopy, nn is teething nw bt she has nt Been a gd sleeper since abt 2 mths. She used to slp fr 9-2 or 3am then 6am.. Bt nw....Sigh~ Duno wat to do ah..

ainsley,
sometimes being sahm is like tat, bb tends to be more sticky. BUT FTWM also might have such issue. When enyu ok, she dun mind me or terence. when she cranky, want me to carry her. When super cranky, oh well do whatever she still cry and scream...

hi skinneybeenie, babies can't take egg white ar? when can they take egg white leh? i let my boi ate steam egg wor. Gasp.

Btw mummies, my boi is cranky due to teething now. I bought a teething gel, Dentinox, and realised it has a local anaesthtic action effect. Was wondering if it may be too strong/too much chemicals? Any suggestions other than provide cold teething toys for them to bite?

ainsley five! Kynan needs bolster. So muz keep waking up to gv him. Einnoc, if worry go those organic shop to buy teething drops. Cannot rem wat brand but got it for my no 1. Teething... Kynan no signs still.

einnoc,
actuaaly egg white to be given to babies after 1yr is scared of allergy to the protein. but since u have given and ur boi is oki den nt a prob liao lor..can carry on. like honey,it can be fatal to some , but some bbr oki with it. tats y doc advice after 1yr den giv,

einnoc, no le.its different type of protein. protein is good for our babies. normally the wan prone to bb allergy r cow protein and egg white.those bb allergic to cow protein wan hav to take soy milk or other replacement lor.

einnoc, i cannot rem off hand. Where r u staying? There r quite alot now. Many plc i see also hv. Harbourfront hv also. If need i can buy 4 u. Drop me a pm if want cos me at times nv come forum.

einnoc, yup what "knowledge" i have on egg white is same as carol's advice.

today hubby's fren visited us. my boy definitely has stranger anxiety now.. cried like no one's business. after a short whle, ok and warmed up to him and let him carry. when i apeared, he wanted me..

only recently he is showing preference for me.. he didn't use to..

has anyone gotten safety gates for their babies yet? thinking of getting the one at ikea.. any rceommendations?

Nn is having a low grade fever. Could teething b the cause of the fever? Bt I read online, many saying tat teething flea nt cause fever leh..

Joanna

I change my boy to Enfapro when he was 6 months 2 weeks old. I change because we bought the big tin. Enfalac doesn't have the big one.

ains - the doc said teething wont cause fever..but that time my boy also fever when teething...cos after 1-2wks later, saw his little tooth...

btw mummies, can give the contact of the massage lady (i cant rem her name) who is good at unblocking blocked duct? she also good at the after birth massage rite?

canopy!! it sounds so scary!! I tink i will cry my heart out if they go missing.. we are gg hk in sept will prob skip disney land.. n might be gg ocean park instead, will take a special note to be very careful in hk, thanks for the reminder... must be some kidnapper ring in hk...