(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

alicia - re SM

Hmm.. i do see some positive response from no1. I tot he can read simple words at age 3 seems pretty "wow" liao.. (I v proud of it liao! haha) but after Ain says her gal can read at 2-3yr old... so i think diam diam liao! wahahaha

His CC tr did comment that he picks up stuff pretty fast. usu after going thru with the class one time, he can remember already etc. Tr even tot tat my boy had been going for Eng enrichment classes etc.

personally - i only hv 1 kid so far, so cant tell much diff bah. Trs - since they sees a class of kids, so able to make such comments.

MTDT: Actually my girl can also recognise certain words like her name, ball, sheep :p Only weekly Julia Gabriel enrichment + my mom's teaching daily hehe. I got a friend's kid lagi best...same age as my daughter, 2 year old, can read words like motorcycle.

Alicia: oh definitely not me. Cos i am not pro-shichida hehe.

Ainsley: I think my books are going to last me a long long time. No need to go library liao lol! Cos got some more friends passing me some books! So happy hahahhaha...i dun have to buy them.

Calamari-wow k also smartie gal!
. Ya I think most impt is still daily input by caregiver. Gd tat ur mom can teach her.

Last time I dun hv helper, so like all ftwm, only hv 2hrs with kid every nite. Thus only play and read bedtime stories to him.

Hope now with helper, I can hv time to do more with both kids at nite (still 2-3hrs lah! Haha)

Wow.. So many books! Gd leh! Wat I do is exchange books with my frens/neighbour. Another way to expand collection

MTDT: oic...at least u did see some positive response from ur boy. I shall update u after my gal attends the classes.....hehe...

goin home now....

wah.. today thread move quite fast. i was damn freaking busy at work, now managed to slow down and slack a little while waiting for hb to come fetch me..

i also thought i will not be those type of KS parents last time before giving birth, but now being a mother like really want to be KS like that, hope for the best for my kid.. ainsley, u really very superb!! hope i can learn from you.. =)

just now my mum called me & told me tt nowadays ryan keep playing with his blanket, hanky.. if it is within his reach, he will take and cover his face.. and purposely not remove it.. so worried.. thats why i also having second thoughts on using cot bumper.. last time when he was still 3 months+ old, my sis played peek-a-boo using his hanky.. i think he picked up the trick during that time.. so nowadays he thinks its fun.. so regret it to be playing with him that time.. sigh!!!

Wei ting- same leh! Bef being mom also tot won't be ks! Haha. Now ks index climbing until hit ceiling liao. My hubby always need to keep a tab on me! :p

Ryan clever leh. Play peekaboo when young, so fast learn liao!

did any of u tried to do sit ups after birth?
I just tried to do sit up (first time after birth) and guess wat I cannot do even 1 time!
Why ar?

Mummies, avent blender cum steamer on promo. original $198, nw $158. saw it at century sq kiddy palace. Ntsure if they hv it at every kiddy palace.

N also hor, I tot of buying the play may when I move Hse bt by tat time, nn wud b 1yr old. Isit still useful by tat time?

<font color="0077aa">mummyfel, my boy oso sometimes like tat when he is outside.. but like wat anisley sae muz find something to keep them occupied.. i sometimes would feed him first before going out. .then at least not so bad

my 2 cents worth on mummies' KS-ness:

Kids love to learn... so let them!! Just in our KS-ness, dun kill their joy of learning. When we nurture their love of learning, we've taught them to fish in life.

Looking @ how far our 5 mths old hv come since their newborn days.. i cant help but admire their learning ability. They ARE learning everyday, whether or not we teach them.

jeanie,
i will finish the remaining of the avocado.

yunzz,
the balance of the papaya i will finish it lor.if hubby nt ard den i will cut half 1st, the other half cling wrap in fridge.

ang kuku,
i've tried tuck in the bumper sheet oso no use le.she will grap the edges and tear the whole thing dwn.

weiting,
my gal same le,she like to use pillow,blanket,bumper sheet to cover her face and leave it der.gave me heart attacks for few times dee!!!!dunno whr she learn from, i oso play peekaboo wiv her leh!

my gal has been on milk strike and sleep strike for 5 days! today brought her to tcm for bb massage.after massage can see appetite improve and sleep too. tmr going again dee..

re : reading

it is v impt to cultivate love for books. my students who love reading have great linguistic skills. i had students who are in p4 but they can write their own story books with vocab which i prob use only during my college days! i decide to b SAHM partly so that i can teach my son but hohoho.. i haf not been trying hard enuf. hurhurhur.. actually wad contents me now is that he is happy and healthy.. academics can only get one so far in the rat race.. unless u r some A* scholar la..sad truth is that 小时了了,大为必佳. sadly in reality money makes the world go round.. i haf fwens who aim to score 54/54 for O levels becoming doctors and lawyers now simply their parents are rich enuf to whisk them away from the rigid sg educ sys! my sis' ex classmates are in harvard and oxford and they are the ones who prob can make it to AJC the max in sg? such is life. hence i will SAVE up! in case my son cannot make it. bwahaha.

ains.. u power lo.. borrow so many books.. BB oso best.. can read that much.. i used to read like her.. i go library and my dad will buy.. until i got my own walk in library at home.. hahaa.. the books still at my mum's place.. i no heart to give away.. that time i still read enid blyton's magic faraway tree.. wahah!

bbjosh : ya.. looking at him develop amazes me everytime..

Luwen: sama sama!! I'm also SAHM so tt I can teach/spend time with him in his formative years. Also cuz I foresee I cant juggle work plus spend quality time at the same time. So pei fu the FTWM!! So you SAHM until Reyes how old?

Hahhaa... walk-in library... good leh, Reyes can inherit it!

Re: Reading

Yah cant emphasize more le... Really is the building block of learning. The cases I saw are P1 students not being able to read! Very cham, really impede their learning in sch n they get so discouraged.

Anisley: Wow... bb's love for reading will cuz her to do so well... You've given her the best gift!!

Morning mummies, nn woke up once last nite n once early morning. This time I din look at the time. Cos look at time will only make me demoralised. Haha..

Any mummies give those baby biscuits to babies alr?

Luwen, bbjosh, thks. I m Oso glad tat Phoebe likes reading.hope I can cultivate this in nn oso. Heehee..

Ainsley: I havent even start solids lol! I gace Kayla the Gerber stars from 7 months old until now, got different flavours. You can try those

Morning Mummies/Daddies..

Ya.. will also be giving those gerber ones.. but all will wait till when bb 6M n above.. I think I prefer to go slowly hehehe..

O carol, my bb also keep covering face leh! Wonder wats wrong with them. And they think it is fun, laugh and laugh..but mummies will heart attach lor..

mushloom.. ya.. I saw.. but likely will do the redemption at Tampines.. cos I will travelling to East side tml..

Anyone wants to buy anything from me hehehe.. I can pass to you tml hahaha..

my boy has a new pattern a few days ago....he keeps sucking in his cheek..(then his mouth something like kissing pattern)...wonder where he learns from cos' no1 teach him that...

Morning mummies...

Mummy_fel
I had similar problems with my 2 YO then. Eating out could be rather stressful! But I realised if we brought some activities, or let him bring a toy car or two, he could actually sit still and eat! So we do that now.

Ainsley
Your girl borrowed the 80 books one shot?! like what rhyea said, I can't imagine how you carried them. Our family shares 4 cards (Me, hub, #1 &amp; #2) and we can borrow 24 books. To me, that's a lot already leh...hahaha...

MTDT
Eh I think I joined yr Amazon books spree before
Your 3 YO can read? Wow. I'm going slow with my 3YO. He doesn't go for any enrichment classes. Just weekday playgroup. I doubt he can recognise words, but he can recognise numbers so far and he loves being read too as well. Sighs..the rat race...

GG Lee
My baby is turning 5 mths soon, but when we let her lick on fruits or give her super tiny bits, they end up outside her mouth. i take it she's not ready for solids yet.

Smalldream, last time w/o nn, can take la. Cos drive mah. Everytime return few bags of books. Sometimes go twice a week then nt so Many at one shot lor. Somemore we usually borrow when my hb was ard on Sunday. So he carry lor. She read aloy cos her schedule was like this b4 she went primary sch

9am-1pm-- childcare
2.30pm- 4pm-- English tuition by me
4pm-5pm teabreak (she will b allowed to read and have snacks. She usually will read abt 8-10 books)
5-6.30pm-- either Chinese or maths
6.30pm-- shower and dinner
free time, play time, etc till 9pm -- storybook time again till 10pm ( another 10 books)

This is hw come she reads so Many books. Lol... *ks mum*

smalldreams - hmm.. ya ur nick rings a bell

my no1 - maths can count 1-100 and simple additions. Substract stil "blur blur" :p

anyway, at tis age... they can do watever, we parents also v proud liao.
even simple things like can draw a star on his own, i also go take pic, write on blog etc. hahaha.. boh liao one lah.
most imptly is at their own pace

weaning - I havent start... wait for jun bah.

wow... ain - u really hardworking mom.

maybe u can consider opening "home based playgroup" liao!

at the moment - we are always re-reading the same books. My boy never seems to get bored with the same book again and again... so much so I have to "hide' the set of books then can force him to choose new books to read! :p

morning.. now in office sneezing away, sian..

yaya, i understand about the ks index, i mean who wouldnt want the kid to excel and do well, but at the same time i guess i will just have to relax a little and be mindful not to give too much stress.. see how it goes bah.. =)

Mtdt, last time no nn mah. And my sch was till 12 only. Can spend the rest of the day with Phoebe. Nw with nn, my mum helps me with phoebe. Bt I realise alot of contradiction in teaching. So I wana resume my position n change everything again when i move.

Mu, I have been bringing Phoebe to children library when she was abt 1+ bah..

manunited - actually now can start reading liao. just make it a habit to read few books to baby every night.

My no2 sits with us when i read to no1 (if he not koon by 9pm). He wld get real excited, wave his hands/smile and "make sound" when i read.

sometimes even try to grab the book (but to bite lah! hahaha)

MTDT, we did read books to him but once a while only..abit lazy mummy....when i read to him, he does not even seem interested..he just looked anywhere and everywhere...

Weiting, best is tat can cultivate the interest in them lor. Phoebe finds reading v relaxing n enjoying. So she will b stress n sad n cry if we take away her reading time. Lol...

Ainsley
Sometimes I fear my boy won't be able to learn to read. Or learn it later than his friends. But during our time, somehow we just picked reading up eh? I used to love to read. But I think I wasn't like yr P lah. Maybe I read about 5-10 books a week, heh.

Of course with nn, you won't be able to shower the same amt of attention. But she's in pri sch already rite? Shud be OK already.

Are you still 'toilet training' nn?

MTDT
I agree! As mums, we're fascinated by every little achievement. I guess that's good too. We appreciate their little milestones. That's good too instead of pushing the kids too hard. They won't stay kids forever. We want to have fond memories of them doing little things, not rushing here and there sending them to enrichment classes all the time...

Wei Ting
Sometimes we want to relax but if our peers do a lot for their kids, we feel stressed too. Kids aren't the only ones who face peer pressure...adults do to...heh.

Arisz, no la. I oso anyhw anyhw one.. Actually the reading alot is nt the best. I think the best is To read n discuss n talk more on the story. Bt nw nn's slp time clash with phoebe's sleeping time. Gtta try push nn's slp time abit later..

talking abt shichida, my #1 started shichida when she's abt 9 mths... now still in it..

to really maximise their potential, u will need to do lotsa of home practice n be hardworking to see the effects.. but we r not so hardworking, so din really see much effects..

when my girl switched to morn class when she's coming to 2, there's a girl who is 2-3 weeks older than her n she could say" Hi, my name is XXX. What's ur name?" I nearly fall off my chair..

That girl is amazing, she can even tell us the different type of dino n even ask qns like how old is Nathan n things like that..

ainsley.. ya.. am travelling to East tml.. but the set not in yet nei..

Should be in coming week..

Might be going to East again next week.. then I arrange with you ok..

smalldreams &amp; ainsley, yup.. true.. heehee, ainsley, you are my motivation to work towards to.. hahaha.. i will try to instill that reading habit into ryan.. haha! make it an enjoyable process rather than a stressful one..

talking about time spentw bb, i am seriously considering to resign from my job now.. sighhhh!!

Smalldreams, hmm.. Jus give ur boy a li'l time everyday to read lor. Bt nw hor, I think nn is too young to read la. It will b diff kinds of books. Shd b those big picture kind. She will b more interested in those. Afterall nw I only hope to cultivate her interest so give her wat interest her lo. Dun worry, every bb has their own pace. Slower than slower lor. More important to me is their psychological development n which affects their character building.

Ya, I brg nn to toilet regularly except when we r outside. She will pee when she's in toilet bt if I miss it, then she pee in her diaper. Lol..

weiting, if you want to be a SAHM, better to plan for #2 so that both of them can keep u occupy for a few yrs...

last time i always tell my hubby to "feed" me cos i dun like working...hoping can look after kids..

but now, i love working...working is good...stress to stay at home 24hrs...