(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Mtdt, ya.. Girls n boys diff.. Boys more active n 'hands on'. Bt I oso hv seen boys sit down n read while parents eat etc. Also depends on hw parents cultivate their habits.. For me, I will nv tolerate my kids running, playing, screaming in restaurants, mrt, etc. Lol..

Wah, ur son went to both? The shichida method gd? V ex leh..

i finally see isaac flipped.... lol all these while i missed his flips and today i finally witnessed his flip. and how does he prevent his hand from being trapped under? lol he stuff the hand into his mouth and flipped :p

ainsley - sit down and read books... at least needs to be K2? now at age 3-4... how to read books? hahahaha

I also hate kids to run ard in public place. I do try to enforce rules for him. and I wld never run after him to feed too. He jollys well sit down n eat. but end up at tis age, he wld very fast tell me he "full" already. so tat he can get off the chair and go play his toys! ARGH!
Then end up got soooo skinny. so Now i hv new rule... FINISHED THE BOWL of food! :p

Shichida - hmm.. go for their talk? bet u sure wld be impressed. hahaha but but... those examples are 1 in a 1000 lah. not all kids in SM are genius. :p I am not aiming to hv a genius too.. i just tot if can help him to learn faster/easier - why not. makes life easier for both of us (i hope i wont puke blood when i teach him mah :p)

Mushloom - isaac soooo cute! stuff his hand in mouth then flipped! hahahha yesterday I was wking from home.. I also finally sees my boy flipped! so fun! I kept ont turning him ard to see again! hahahaha end up he flipped until sweat sia!

I'm from the Jan 2010 thread. Sorry to interrupt. We are organizing a bulk purchase for Sophie the Giraffe. You can find out more information at www.sophie.sg

Right now, the price is $29.90. But if we get more orders then the price will be lower. Collection points at Clementi, Pasir Ris and somewhere in the East.

Do PM me if you're interested.

hehe.. I enjoyed the moment seeing our angkuku flip also.

when he started flipping, he dunno how to control when he's flipping back to his back and so he actually had a "hard" fall at the back of his head. We r already using the bumper mat and he still cried. it seems to be "harder" than the mattress. He is ok when he did that on the mattress.

as the days goes by, it seems that he has learnt and now he is able to control and do a slow-motion back flip. But there are still times he just went over too fast. But now nvr cry liao. Maybe his skull has also thickened.

I asked my colleague once, on how to prevent babies from knocking their own mouth when they started crawling. She said, let them crawl on a hard floor and once they hv a very bad hit, they will not do it again. Makes sense to me, but I don't think I'll let our angkuku try that.
How true is this statement? I guess the experienced mummy here can share their experience also.

Hi Ainsley,
Unfortunately my son is the type that you dislike most!
Running abt and cant sit still when eating.... screaming and shouting..my hubby and I hate to bring him out nowadays.

That is why Im facing a terrible problem now. But weird thing is, in school he behaves very good, as per teachers comment.

I dont understand...

Mtdt,
No need to wait till k2!! when Phoebe was in k2, she read primary 3 books!
I hv been being Phoebe to library since she was a baby. And fr 2-3 yrs old, she reads books everyday. At first I read with her, read to her, make it fun, etc. Guess hw many library cards we managed to gather nw. 30!! Fr frens, relatives, etc. We borrow 80-90 books a week for her! The librarian asked if we open childcare n Borrow for kids to read. Lol...

wow! ainsley - u power leh! read 80-90 books! and by k2 can read p3 books! then u dun need to go shichida liao lah! u can open a class to teach us! :p

I do read to my boy daily. now at 3.5yo, he can read simple books himself. but majority of the time, still I read to him. but at table... either i feed him or i eating myself. how to read to him. :p he reading himself now - huh.. tough. haha

Library - huh.. my hands v itchy one. alot of books liao. hahaha. u saw in the room when u BF right? tat's only part of it. :p

Ainsley,

Can I send my son to you for care??????
You are a superb mom!
How do you find time to read, teach your kids?

Everyday after work, I am so tired already..need to look after 2kids, wash their laundries, cleaning up...the most I spend is 30mins playing and reading to my boy. Super exhausted...

Any mommies facing the same problem as me?

Mushloom,
my bb same as yours!! he oso put his hand in his mouth then flipped, so tat his hand dun get trapped and he uses his elbow...haha..

ainsley,
phoebe can finish 80-90 books every week???!!

Mummyfel, u ever tried to keep him occupied? I dun like kids to run n scream bt I also dun expect them to b angel n sit there quietly n eat or watch us eat la. Must keep them entertained and occupied lor.
Sometimes I would just b silly. Tell story n said things like 'will there b a mouse to steal the food fr the spoon and look away, etc' then they will tend to participate and be the 'mouse' n eat the food. Haha..

actually for me - i dun bring activites on the table. I rather he eat with us, chit chat etc. (so the rule of dun talk with ur mouth full v tough to enforce him :p)

eg - I hate to see kids playing psp at the dining table too. aiyo.. eyesore :p

my boy knows the rules and follows it generallyo. so he went ard it by saying he "full" v fast. but i know he is not tat full.. just not hungry nia.

outside still not so bad.. as he cant go wathering on his own mah. so he wld sit on the table with us... the most hands itchy, touch spoon/chopsticks/menu etc :p

Mtdt, mummyfel, yunzz,
80-90 is the min I guess. Cos we always max out the 30 library cards. We go ard libraries in sg. Fr Tampines to amk to bishan to marine parade to even jurong! She has an hr of reading time everyday. It's her hobby n habit.
Nw with nn, my mum will borrow books for Phoebe lor. Bt I alr told my hb tat in a few mths time, I will brg nn yo library with phoebe as well. Keke..

Mtdt, I dun read to her during meals la. Bt when she was younger, I fed her n jus kept her occupied lor. As for reading, make him read it loud. If nt, u wun knw what he knows n way he doesn't. Mayb u can read a paragraph n his turn next. Make it fun lor. If he enjoys it, he will cont to ask for it.

ask u all ar... u all give milk 1st then cereal, or cereal 1st then milk??

anyone got a sample routine for introducing semi-solids?

hmmm my boy eats very well infront of tv. if put him on high chair, he fidgets very easily and refuses to eat. coz my mom don believe in putting him at one place to eat. she is the kind who will chase him all over juz to put a spoonful into his mouth. she then tells me "aiyo how can u expect a kid to sit there and eat... last time u all small oso like tat run here n there n eat ma" *faintz*

Mummyfel: I'm not in Hong Leong gardens but right opposite Hong Leong Gardens SC
u staying near me?

Mtdt: my girl was never in shichida hehe

actually one thing I notice abt this thread is that it's not so kiasu haha. My previous thread seem to hv many activities one for their bb's.

Anyway I tried Glenn Doman for Kayla n found that she was not interested at all so sold away the kit. Then at 5 months old, I enrolled her at The Little Gym till 18 months old. Then at 18 months old till now, she's been at Julia Gabriel. Thinking of enrolling her at Dance Artz when she's 3.

ainsley - yes, now he reads aloud. he wld ask me on the words he dont noe... every nite must read books... even at times we home at midnite - he also die die must read then can sleep! but not so many books lah. less than 10books nia. hahaha

mushloom - TV and eating is also a no no rule for me :p

ivy - cereal first then milk.

Hi Ainsley,

This is what Im facing:

At restaurant/fast food outlet: We placed him in a high chair. He tends to get out of the high chair within 5-10mins. Screaming and shouting to get his way out. Told him to behave himself, finish his food first before I let him out, he started throwing tantrum, forcing himself up the high chair. Otherwise, he will be using the utensil to bang on the table, creating lots of noise.

Under such situation, everyone will be looking at us, so no choice, we will carry him out of the chair....

Ainsley: wahhh! Sart man u! I only max 3 books a day. I haven't finish all the books I bought even. N my friend just handed me about 100 books from her sons!

Mushloom, I m same as mtdt. No tv while eating. Bt sometimes gt guests etc then Bo bian.

Mtdt, tats a v good start for ur boy!! At least he's interested in books! =) n fr there, he learns alot of vocabulary..

Mummyfel, Try to keep him occupied b4 he starts to throw temper. Cnnt expect him to sit ther guai guai n do nothing at the age of 2. Try to brg some paper n color pencils n draw with him, Coloring books n color wif him. See If it works.

MTDT, how much cereal now? then the milk remain as her usual intake or reduce?

Those using organix, how much milk mix with how much cereals? I threw away the box... now i forget the instruction haha.

Thanks Ainsley for the tips. I'll do that this weekend when I bring him out.

How abt at home?
He keeps running about and refuse to eat. If he eats, he will be creating a mess...

Calamari, library has Aot of books which cnt b bought!! Lol.. Phoebe will even out English, Chinese n information books everyday. U can use ur hb, ur parents, ur in law, Kayla, Noah to make library cards. Tat makes u 8 cards n can borrow 32 books. Heehee. Dun need to waste money n buy.

calamari - oooh.. tot i read someone asking u abt shichida :p

BJG contradicts? really? the last time i went,they follow GD mtd leh. anyway, I dont follow one sch of tot strictly. I mix and match everything! wahahhaa

I KS lah.. but my hubby is not. so he always pull me back to the ground incase i load n load my boy.

I started No1 at BJG at 5mths, 12mths went to shichida... then 2.5yr change to weecare wkend class. 3yr starts music class at mandeville. usually only 1 class at one time (max 2 for a period of time). ooh.. I joined quite a few hols program also. like JG/kindermusik etc - all are hols program just to get the fun of it

Sandy, ya. I think so. After this then we regretted upgrading the library member. Lol. Bt I oso v long nv go le. =( ever since nn... Nw it's my mum help Phoebe borrow

mummyfei - also, only put ur boy in the seat after the food comes.

last time we put boy in once we reach the table. then hubby go q to buy food right. then the clock tick tock tick tock... the boy gets bored then starts to monkey even before the food comes! :p

so we wld carry/play with boy first... hubby go buys food. food comes - then say to boy.. ok food is here, time to eat. then pop into the high chair. then feed... so kinda of maximise his attention span in using the high chair.

at 2yo, i cant use anything to distract. my boy dun colours etc. at 2yo, he hardly can hold a pencil too! hahhaa.

but now at 3+, yes paper and pencil are his best frens.

ivy - starting only feed few spoons. so i dun reduce his milk.

slowly increase then can reduce or even replace one milk feed.. depends on u.

wah ainsley, you are really a patient model mum =) Must pick up more tips from you! I can't imagine borrowing 80-90 books from the library. Must be quite a sight carrying all those bags of books.

Angkuku, think he hit his head on bumper mat not pain one lah, just that the shock of the impact made him cry. Like my little one, sometimes he arc his back while I'm feeding him and hit his head on the arm of the chair. Actually never hit very hard but he'll still cry.

ivy, I usually give cereal one hour after his milk. And don't reduce milk intake. Coz I read that at this age they are supposed to get most of their nutrition from milk. Semi-solids is just to let them try the taste and texture only.

yes ivy, it's 1 spoon cereal and 3 spoons milk ratio. but dun need to follow strictly. u can add more milk to make it easier for yuyu to swallow for a start.

i also feed cereal first then milk..i only decrease 30ml of his milk feed because i only gave him 1-2 teaspoons of cereal now..
i will slowly increase the cereal and decrease the milk bahh..

for those who fed papaya to bb, how do u all keep the papaya ar? not possible to buy 1 papaya everyday and only feed bb a little, right?

Rhyea, ya.. We use a few of those thick recycle bags n gt one bag with rollers. min must brg 3-4 bags. Lol. Nw better Cos phoebe reads thicker books so lesser.

bo bian leh... slowly retrain again lor... coz last time he can sit thru... then my mom started the running n everything goes haywire.

yunzz can freeze in small portion. but try to finish within 1 wk ba. or buy those hawaii papaya, smaller.

rhyea,
but hor, when I asked our angkuku if pain pain or not, he nod his head leh...

just kidding lah, ya hor, u r quite right that it could be the sudden impact or movement. I recalled that he does cried at times while making a sudden turn.

Ladies, thanks for the reply, at least i have a rough idea... cos i keep wondering if im doing it wrong.

So we can feed cereal 1st, then milk. or milk 1st then cereal.

Yunnz, u feed cereal 1st, ur milk is immediately after or u wait a while then feed milk. Eg. cereal at 8am, then 830 u give milk?

Ain, we buy more got special price anot?

Ya ivy, feed cereal first then milk normal amt. Bb ok then feed more cereal then reduce milk amt.

Mi intending to use the Phillip blender cum steamer to make fruit purée this weekend! So excited! Btw the avocado with milk need to steam the avocado anot ah??then add how much milk?

ivy, ya immediately after...coz i think bb is thristy after eating cereal, so let him drink milk immediately after tat.

Genesis, I duno leh. Gtta ask Thomas. Lol.. Bt I m interested in the h2o ultra. Can use for carpet also... Which one u interested? I ask him..

genesis, he said he doesn't earn much from the mop. Tats y put self collect. but he'll see how many we can get and he will see what he can do..

So anyone interested in the steam mop??

ainsley, guess tt's the advantage of being a sahm.
for me, a ftwm, i m always dog-tired when i get home & since i dun hve a domestic helper, wkends r for hsehold chores, so dun really hve the time to read to the kids or read with them, though i hve bought / borrowed books for them.
& i hve been feeling v guilty, esp when i c my kids slagging in their work.

now, with #3, it's worse...
in fact, we r depending on #1 to read to #3, & sometimes coach #2 or read to him as well.
my hubby told #1 tt if #3 can pick up the habit of reading, she'll b rewarded handsomely. hahhahaha...

Hmm for me, I give him plain water after cereal coz so far he's on EBM only. Never tasted water before so want to get him used to drinking water since they need extra water after starting solids.

Plus, my bb already don't drink that much, so I'm trying hard not to replace any of his milk feeds.

ryhea, yesterday i gave my bb water too...but he dun wan lehh..he taste abit then reject...i tink he's not used to the taste..will have to try again.

Calamari, oh I tot u mention before that ur gal attended shicida classes before, that's y i ask u.

MTDT: I have seen positive response from ppl around me who went to shicida class hence i went to sign up. I have already registered in dec when I was preggy. Just duno to start in July or Oct, coz I scared too early my gal duno. My fren advice me to start at 10mths but my hb say start in July coz he thinks my gal is smart. haha. Im also a ks mum, I dun mind spending the money for my gal's education. Hopfully she can be a scholar. haha!

So did u see positive response from ur No. 1?

yunzz, yeah got to keep trying. My bb drink one sip only, after that he gave me this look that says "what's with this thing that has no taste?", and then tilt his head and let it dribble out of his mouth =_=

ainsley i keen but i scared the water will drip drip leh... it is the same one as the tv advertise one huh? the other day i saw 1 on tv. tink 3 sec can see steam liao.