(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

yunzz,
so far i hav gave chloe avocadoe,papaya,brown rice powder,and brown rice cereal mixed wiv FM. nxt one i'm gonna try banana and pear.

manuited,
i oni put a few drops of water into the avocado paste.maybe 6 or 7 drops to make it smoother,but not too diluted.i find tat wen its not too watery,my gal can swallow the food better. if i make it too runny,den wen she swallow the food, alot will spill out from the sides of her mouth. @ tis stage she still nt v capable of swallowing, so u hav to guide the food on top of the tongue not in front, den she will swallow.

Mummyfei,

Mi make him face the wall if he cry non stop till he finish crying. If he very stubborn then use reverse method like he want to throw his toys ard I stop him he does not wa.
Wan to listen no choice I throw the toys together wif him then he look at me say mummy crazy then stop . But mine afraid of cane so nt so bad. Or if u try cane him IME tomr

Or u try cane him one time serious one then he confirm scar le. Mine use to snatch cane wif
Me cos he think I playing wif him then gt once my ful cane him till the tight really almost bleed then he scare le. One time only although see Liao heart really pain. So I leave all those to my hubby n fil.

Halo..

Sorry.. went out for a mtg..

All emails/pm replied le hor..

ainsley.. lolx..buy la.. hahaha

mummyfel.. not to sure about the cutting as is not readystock.. but now some of our bb should be able to fit size 80 le..

had a great lunch this afternoon w lynn n cayenne.. lynn very chio n cayenne very slim... so envy.... :p

yuki, when u wan to met for lunch w us?

Thanks for advise, carol and canopy... But I was thinking though it is prob safe to put it around the railings of the cot, but my ryan sometimes can be violent and thinking that he will remove by himself and can pose another danger too.. Confused...

hello.. long time nv come in liao.. hope all are doing well!!

mummyfel, woah.. ur gal is big.. mine also 69cm but 7.8kg nia.. mine able to crawl forward but abit only. move only inches. he'll hold his butt high up and his leg will push forward. i think its a very funny act.

o carol, what do you do with the remaining avocado? cuz i rem cant keep long. i wanted to try but feel that the remaining will be wasted as i dun take avocado..

i've tried pumpkin w/ carrot and apple w/ pear puree. tough job but very fun.

Strawberries: hehe our way is the same. I'll lock Kayla in the room n she can go n cry. Sometimes make her face the wall. Twice I took out the cane to scare her n she is really scared of it.

There were 2 months where my 2 year old is extremely pai see. Nowadays much better liao. She is the eat soft dontceat hard kind. Scold her no use one. Must talk properly then she listen.

Anyway Hubby n I freaked out just now. The house blackout n electricity was gone for half hour. We really panicked n ran everywhere testing where the fault is. Only within half hour then found the source n quickly connect the freezer plug to another socket. Heng mannnn or else my 100+ frozen bm all gone. Now electrician still at my house :p

calamari,
oh no, good thing that the blackout was recovered shortly.
did u open the freezer/fridge during the blackout? Our old folks taught us before, in the event of blackout, avoid opening the fridge and it can last longer.

weiting,
I am using bumper for our baby cot too. Our angkuku has been visiting all corners and we r glad to have the bumper, otherwise he would hv bruises all over.
Our old folks also taught us to tuck the bumper btw the mattress and the side of the cot. It will prevent his leg/hand slipping through. I also find it an additional way of securing the bumper up.
We bought those with vibrant colours and sea creatures. He likes to see and touch touch. We got it from Kiddy Palace.

o carol,
u might want to try by tucking the bumper. It might help to hold the bumper up. At times, our angkuku will raise his hand above this bumper and try to "tear" it down. I hv tied it with the strings. I think the tucking helps also.

weiting i juz started using bumper coz bb leg sometimes kenna trap in between the gaps.

calamari lucky u guys still at home when the blackout happened

sianz going to dr ang again later. isaac eat 1 mth med liao... still coughing leh... like recovered totally liao then comes back in few days time.

Sandy, akk, mushloom: Heng it happened in the morning. Apparently wire inside the wall spoilt :p now electrician still fixing, will amount to $200+ *heartpain*

calamari, lucky u n hubby are ard when short circuit happened.. oh well, guess if FBM gone will be more heartpain than 200 bucks...

Thanks Mummies for the advice.

In fact I have tried all the methods before. Facing wall, caning, standing at corner, lock him in the room together etc etc..but to no avail. He cried non stop for an hr.... stop and cry stop and cry.

Soft and Hard approach-I did all already..
I think this is going to be very tough to discpline this little rascal of mine.

Anyway I will try the methods again, this time stretch the timing longer.
Thanks.. Sigh!!!

mummyfel..

My past experience when I had my #2 and my #1 was 2yo..

It may not necessary be the terrible 2 ya... bb will also affect him..

In my case, my #1 was very cranky and no one can handle him except me.. all he wants is mummy and everything only mummy...

When we tried to reason with him, is difficult cos he did not know how to express himself at that age..

Then, I realised is b'cos of bb, that why the change in him.. so I tried to spend all my time with him when bb is sleeping.. or had hb to carry bb .. and I will carry him...

Now is also happening to #2.. when I am having the bb.. but she is much more adaptable than her kor kor..

So, please bear with him ya.. thou it can last quite awhile before he can finally accpet bb presence : )

mummyfel,
I didn't get to read the previous post/replies and not sure if this has been suggested.

I read it somewhere before on a time-out thing. something like stand-at-a-corner but this one has a mat to make it "more interesting".

It is something like this one as there are many products out there it seems.
http://www.momsonedge.com/servlet/the-2/time-dsh-out,-time-out,-discipline,/Detail

There seems to be some critics on such approach. I have not read all these as I just happened to see it in the search hit results when I googled it.
http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&q=kids+punish+time+out&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

Just fyi, on another option.

advice needed..
my bb has been coughing for quite some time liao.. but only about 4-5times a day... do i have to bring him to see doctor?

morn

calamari - aiyo, i read ur blackout also scared for u! :p lucky ur BM are saved :p

So many kids sick - sayang sayang loh. hope all get well fast

Shichida - Alicia ooh u joining huh? 7mths means coming july liao loh. u registered liao?
for my no1 - I started when he was 1yo. Shd be doing the same for No2.

mummyfel - Terrible 2 and Horrible 3!!!
I tell... it's a long process. Just hv to be consistent in your mgs.. the kid will get it sooner or later.

I also use all the mtds mention above. Face the wall/lock him outside in the living room(away from me as he is mummy's boy)/cane i only use recently as a scare. never really hit him "yet"!

one min he repent.. next min he does it again!
just be a broken recorder... (no wonder we turn naggy!)

Mummyfel, mayb u wana try the fun method? This age is the exploring stage n it's v hard to gt him to listen. Use fun to gt his cooperation instead? When u want him to do something, dun demand like 'stop it, dun do this,' etc. Instead, use 'let's' it sounds more positive. For eg, if u wan him to pick him his toys. Dun say 'dun leave ur toys ard' or 'pick up ur toys n put back.' try 'let's put bk the toys together', 'let's see if u can help mummy to put back the toys'. when u talk to him, squat dwn to the same level as him.

I guess all mummies knw tat I m against caning. As u can see, ur son will learn fr u n try to hit u bk. Or worse, hit ur #2 in the future.

Hope it helps.

fun mtd - yes.. definately shd be the 1st level to use. pick up toys etc.. can sing song and pick up together. (if u gals goes to those wkend enrichment, tons of songs to learn)
or in toysrus/playground - give warning 10mins more, 5mins more, then say byebye to the toys/place. says will come back again

these are easy to handle i feel.

but once the tantrums starts... or when the kid is rude or purposely doing the opp - tat's the sian part. :p

calamari, actually, everyday when i come to work, i m worry abt short circuit @ home.

really worried tt there'll b short circuit @ home & there goes my fbm...
so, everytime b4 i leave home, i'll make sure all the sockets r off, except the essential ones like the ones for the fridge & pumps in the fish tank. hve been keeping my fingers crossed too.

Sandy, ling lee, thks bt actually I v impatient de la. Lol.. Jus tat those r some things tat I read n learned. The words we use r actually v impt.

Mtdt, ya lor. It's v sian when they throw temper. Last time Phoebe v seldom throw temper bt nw she will. Haha. I tend to ignore her n let her go crazy herself. Wait till cool off alr then talk n discuss.

ainsley - but phoebe now so big liao. easy to talk sense to her?? (pls tell me yes, at lesat i see some light at the end of the tunnel! haha)

my no1 is going 4 now... at times when he really gets on my nerve - I keep telling myself.. he still young.. wait for next yr, he will be more dong shi! but every yr i say tat to myself... wait for next yr! :p hahahahha

weiting, i use cot bumper, now she can reach her hands to pull the top part down to her mouth and eat.. :/ have to use, coz she slide herself upwards when she is lying down. i do the tucking like what angkuku does too.. coz i see a potential danger that her hands may go in between the gaps *scared* *scared*

o_carol, your girl can untie the string! so smart!

sometimes kids hor, u don't raise your voice they don't look at/respond to you. but when you raise your voice, they also refused to listen even if you catch their attention. do you think its true?

i really tempted to bring my girl to shave her hair... her hair hasn't been growing much.. will shaving helps to fasten the growth??

Ling Lee: My mom and maid are at my place everyday. But coincidentally, next week onwards, some days I will bring the kids and maid to my place 3x a week (my dad is ill). So now that you mentioned, i am getting paranoid of short circuits!

sandy: eee u scaring me. Cos my place is actually 30 years old liao although i have just moved in and done reno to it last year. But electrician then said wiring ok but he did not thoroughly check cos this current electrician said the wires have been patched before. So now got to change to new wirings.

weiting, me using bumper cot as well..but he likes to pull and pull and put into his mouth...

alicia, where is shichida? how much and when can we send bb there?

calamari.. hehe.. paisay paisay.. cos if internal wiring damage.. can means alot of thing.. hehehe.. of course wear and tear is one of the reasons la.. : )

Mtdt, hmm.. At her age nw, she has her own mindset n perception of everything. Somemore primary sch is reali another influence. It's a great diff fr wat she was b4 she enter primary sch lor. Lol.. jus Gtta deal with every child n every age differently lor.

Thank you Ainsley!

Fun method: I'll try it and let you know the outcome. Really hope this will works!

How abt asking him to eat his meal and stop playing with his food? Any suggestion?

Mummyfel,
as I said, this is their exploring stage at 2 actually. So they tend to b a li'l 'explorer' to everything including food! =)
For me, I used to fee Phoebe when she was 2. So no chance of playing. Bt I will provide some toys or I will talk to her, etc to distract her fr trying to b funny. Lol.. I nv nv nv allow her to step off her chair till she finished her food. *I cnt stand children playing n running ard restaurant, etc*
As she grows older, I nv allow her to get off her chair even after finish heR food when we are outside. Bt of cos must keep her entertained la. So will bring paper, pencils, color pencils, etc and draw with her, play word game with her, etc till the end of the meal.

ainsley - but hor i think gals/boys abit different.

I see my 06 parents kids - gals all guai guai sit by the side. The boys are like MONKEYS!!! sigh...

Genesis - hmm.. depends if u believe in it.
Glen Doman & Shichida - both are believers in "baby learns best". I read their books etc and i believe to a certain extend. Babies absorbs like a sponge. within 2yrs, they wld be able to grasp a (or maybe 2 or 3 including dialect) brand new language. If let an adult learn, think 10yrs also dunno can master it or not? (u ask me to learn hokkien.. can faintz! :p)

but having said tat... such class, best to go with no expectation. U cant measure if it's really useful... Memory/fast learning etc... subjective one mah. There bound to be some kids, by 2yo tat can say ABC/123 even without going classes etc.

Also I feel..ultimately it's how hardworking the parents are. If Kid 1 - mummy daily shows her ABC/123 cards. vs a Kid who doesnt hv such simulation but only go for classes once a wk. of cos Kid 1 wld shows faster in learning.

some pple will think.. once a wk simulation better than none loh. :p

Btw shichida - not cheap hor :p
Wkend class per term is ard $800

btw i did go about asking for trial class... thus share tis info here

this is for BJG at Bukit Timah.

<font color="0000ff">Your baby is in our Crawler 1 program. We have a trial class for Crawler 1 on Saturday 11.30am - 12.30pm. or Sunday 1.30pm to 2.30pm.
4 babies in a class

The trial fee for Crawler 1 is $38.00.
Please kindly note that the trial fee will be waived should you decide to

Please find below more information on our program and course fees.

Program for Crawler 1 (5 - 9 months)
1 hour
- Music and Movements
- Classical Music Appreciation
- Photographic Memory Enhancement
- Eye Training / Sensory Play
- Gym (Physical Intelligence)
- General Knowledge
- Chinese Words Recognition
- Encyclopedic Knowledge
- Mathematics (Dots Cards)

Course Fees for 1 term (10 lessons): $380.00
Deposit: $50.00 (Refundable)
Registration Fees: $50.00 (One Time Payment)
School T-shirt: $10.00

We are now having 10% off all course fees for our opening promotion and
the price stated above is before the 10% promotion.</font>

anyone keen? :p