(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Mummies, anyone know where got sell vicks babybalsam for baby use? Thought of buying that.. By the way, ryan can be discharged tomorrow.. Then will either buy or rent neubalizer home to continue with treatment. He's still very phlegmy. Dunnno how those phlegm came about...

Shokel, I hv bm sterliser n warmer. Tommee tippee.. Sterliser comes with bottles. Both condition 10/10. If ur gf wants, I sell her both for $100.

ainsley,
ya chloe woke up 4x btw 10+ to 12+. den zzz till 4am wake up again so i latch n let her zzz nxt to me. den 7+ and 10+ she woke again.
i can understand wat u r going thru cos my chloe oso like nn pattern. i dun tink is hungry or teething. for chloe,she wants me to carry her to zz n zz nxt to me. she will keep waking up like nn if i put her in her cot.mayb nn wanna zzz wiv u too? do u realise nn zzz better in ur arms or nxt to u? chloe does lor...wen i have the energy den i start to train her to zzz alone again dee..
its v hard to do it alone as my hubby is always nt home wen she wana zzz....so no choice i giv in to her le.

ains: i ask my gf then revert to u cos she did mentioned tt she preferred pigeon, nuk or avent... tks ya...

wt: i got vicks baby vaporub.. isit the same? cos i bought from BP..

wei ting juz read the forum n heard abt ur boy. Was wondering wat happen when i saw ur facebk. U still bf, if so u may want to avoid the more liang fd n fd that causes phlegm. Massage the centre of the back neck area, roughly along the line of the shoulder frequently. Not sure if u can visualise where. Can pm me if not sure cos i seldom log in. My tcm physician says tat pt helps to reduce n loosen phlegm. My no 1 hv serious cough n phlegm also. Was hospitalise b4 due to white patches during chest xray. Everytime kena cough min is 1 mth type. If he on formula, u may want to consider changing. Cow milk create more phlegm for some. If his body more liang, soy milk also cause prob. End up my no 1 now take the super duper exp goats milk. U take great care.

Cleo-my bb not crawling yet but he wanna stand n keep bouncing!! Ha!! He oso dun like to zzz.. Rather play lo!!

Dreamz always- that time my bb oso constipate!! C him pang sai damn sad.. Keep crying!! Eat papaya n it reali helps!! Start vege oso.. It oso helps a lot!! Now bb poo abt 2 times a day!!

All ftwm- damn sianz man!! Tmr mon again!!

ainsley, hi 5. Kynan still not zzz well. Super inconsistent. Me at a pt really feel like stop latching him but solely rely on ebm. But bu she de. So end up mummy suffer. He already use to not latching in the day so day is ok. But when nite falls.... Xiao monster. Last nite he super persistent. 3am scream to 4am but i refuse to gv in. So scream till tired then zzz. Juz now scream abt 30mins. I already develop nite phobia.

miu miu, my boi also like to stand n jump non-stop. His ah ma already complaining to me liao.

weiting, banana also causes phlegm too

Shokel, the set includes 3 260ml bottle n 1150ml bottle. All bottles in package, hvnt open. Sterilizer n warmer are in boxes. Let me know soon cos I Will b posting in WTS also.

Carol, ya I think we r in the same boat. Last night I buay tahan n put nn beside me. She touch touch me awhile n I put my hand over her chest n she fell aslp without even patting, sigh~ Chloe n nn b best fren. Let them meet up soon. Lol

Hi Ainsley,
Aiyo, poor thing! My baby slept liaoz but now I can't fall alseep. Sigh.

Hi Manunited,
Thanks for ur advice! I will try it. Wat brand of teething gel do u rec?

Hi miumiu,
Ya, my boy very playful too. Very happy when people play or talk to him. He will smile at everybody who talks to him, even the food sellers. Haha!

Finally she fell aslp!! Same like last night. Woke up fr 2+ till 5! Arghhh!! Wat is wrong??? =( nw I alr increase to 2 solids a day... Nap, morning fr 10+ to 12 and ard 3 to 3.45. Then slp at 9. Latch dun slp, carry dun slp, pat dun slp, what is wrong nw? I m running out of patience...

Ainsley, is nn going through any milestones? How is her poo poo? Ok? Last two nights, raelynn will wake up to stand In the cot n cry. Got to bf her cos she cry so loud n so long in the living room that I can hear her from the bedroom even though my door is closed. Her poo poo also quite hard n sticky due to the extra cereals so she gek sai 3 times n now buttocks red red. Maybe uncomfortable bah. :p

Morning mums

*waves* to Ainsley
Hullo there, are you awake? Poor you, seemed to have had a rough night. Actually I think my situation is slightly similar to yours - mine wakes up VERY frequently too. Sometimes about 1 am, 3 plus am, and recently, at about 5 am & want to play. For the past 3 days or so she wakes at 5 am, I simply latch her and let her stay in my bed. I know it's a bad habit & it's probably the beginnings of co-sleeping (3 is a crowd, 4 is..dunno what to say liao) but at least she sleeps till about 6 plus.

Really tiring huh? can totally empathise.

And yesterday I think #2 caught #1's runny nose. So her nose dripping lor. She was up from 10 plus, waking up each time I put her back in cot. Finally at 11 pm plus, I bottle fed her, she took 25 ml, and drifted off to sleep. Until 3.30 am.

I've accepted the fact she won't be sleeping thru the nite anytime soon, heh.

Manunited
Hope you got the link on the FB page.

Ainsley

I'm quite sure you've tried this. But just in case you haven't, hold her upright against yr chest. Just let her feel your heartbeat and rest her head on yr shoulders. sometimes if nothing works, this works in getting my baby to relax and fall asleep.

I'm not into routines and I hate to hear baby cry, so I don't use any special methods of getting baby to sleep except to latch. she no longer responds to my pats but she sleeps easily when she's with my mom. Gahhh...

i think all babies have ups and downs in sleeping.. mine too, sometimes fall asleep immediately (seems to sleep better when daddy is also around... grr), sometimes cry for few minutes, sometimes can sit and play for 1 hr then happy to sleep, sometimes play too long and tired and dunno how to sleep.. lots of patterns..

i think daytime nap too little the baby may become overtired? but then sometimes babies jus dun want to nap even though u can tell they';re exhausted.. haiz..

for me i dun have patience to pat him to sleep.. let him play until he tired and sleep OR play until tired dunno how to sleep and cry then i come and sayang him to try and make him sleep..

basically trying to ignore the undesirable behavior and give him more attention when he puts on good behavior.. so when he wakes up and happily quietly playing, i will let him be alone for a whle and pick him up before he starts crying.. but when i'm doing something and he cries cuz wants to be picked up, i will not pick him up immed and instead explain that he's got to wait cuz i'm in the middle of something and keep talking but not aceding to his demand rightaway

Dreams, last night I tried to co-sleep with her bt no use. She jus want me to carry n n she will look ard dun wana slp. She slps really little these few days. She didn't increase her nap time oso. For past 2 nights, she will b wide awake at same hr fr 2+ to 5. =(

and because we are a whole family of extremely light sleepers.. my hubby and esp i can be easily woken by my boy grunting in his sleep or my boy can be easily woken by a drawer being closed quietly. we shift him out of our room for less distraction but leave all doors opened so we can hear him if needed...

until now my boy is still a very light sleeper.. only occassionally he will sleep thru noise.. my house is near a major road in tiong bahru so its damn noisy and he wakes v often during his naps.. but i jus leave him be and not see him everytime he grunts and he usually nods off back to sleep..

ainsley instead of trying to increase her naptime, why not try putting her down to sleep more often?
my boy used to take one 2 hr nap a day (and 2 other short naps) but now he seldom takes 2 hr naps.. so i jus make him sleep more 1 hour or 45 mins naps instead.. every 2-3 hours i will pop him down to sleep.. this is the only way i can get him to meet his day naps requirement..

Hi Cleo

I shaved Jovin's hair when he's abt 2mths old. Till now never shave liao but still looks like botak. He's hair v fine maybe like mine
. Actually like that not bad, cos he can't stand heat abit sweat liao.

Ainsley

Perhaps a light massage using some ruyi oil or even lotion may help too, say by about 7 plus pm. So by 8 pm, she's all warm and comfortable. That could help her sleep. You're a SAHM rite, so maybe that could help. I wish I could put my kids to bed by 8.30 pm, but with me as a FTWM, that's not feasible. They sleep 9.30 pm earliest sighs.

Morning Mummies/Daddies

Today, on leave.. first day of school..

Ainsley.. ya preserve... I know is tough.. and definitely not ez.. having to sleep only less than 4 hours a day.. looking at the time nn wakes up.. my #2 used to be like that too... but not that bad.. she also will wake up 2-3 times a night.. and one day.. I buai tahan... so I told her every night she woke up.. 'mummy is really very tired le.. need to work the next day.. no energy to look after you.. you also a tire bb le.. fai fai sleep ya.. mummy also will sleep with you .. after awhile she sleep.. and I talked to you continually for a few nights.. then she finally sleep through.. lolx.. imagine I ma cham talking to myself in the middle of the night.. hb thought I siao liao.. hahaha.. till I told him I need to make bb make secure..

Some bb can understand what we are saying.. maybe you try to talk to her more.. give her the assurance... that you are always here with her..

Hope this helps..

Will pass de.... no worries..
jia you..jia you..

Just talk to us and vent your frustration here.. we can't help much.. but we are always here..

yoyo..

WT - Ryan is better liao? pat at the back in a cup manner helps to "breakdown" the phlegm. Also u can consider going TCM.. hv a famous one call "yu guo". u can search on the forum.

Baby sleep -
actually Zayden also went thru this stage. put down for 10mins cry...carry sleep.. put down again cry. I end up carrying him and sleep on top of me. (while i alos carry one sleeping)
but lucky for me... tis way kinds of works and he "grew out of it" after 1wk. really stressful esp I still need to go office the next day.

my personally feel - if "teaching the baby" to self sooth doesnt work.. maybe give him/her all the comfort the baby wants will helps them to outgrow?

becos i let bb continue to sleep on me... he has a gd nite sleep, next day he dun get cranky and rest normally.. kind of break the cycle of "not gd nite/no gd day/no gd nite etc....

and yes.. talking does work.
I always hv a "chant" tat i say to my boys. started from no1. pple sing "lullbye", i will chant my words! whahaaa
so much so tat my no1 knows wat i will say to him.. sometimes he even correct me if i say the sequence wrongly. He also will say it to his didi! :p

*shichida mtd... talking to kids while their subconsciences still at work

Skinney, she seldom nap more than an hr n she only takes 2 naps. alr v little I wonder if this phrase will b over... Seems like eternity.. =(

dreams, I bathe her ard 5 n put ruyi oil. Bt I try to put after her wipe down at 8+ n see if it helps..

Sandy, thks... I will talk n nag at her till she listens. Lol.. I duno where to vent my frustration except here so u all always see my complaints.. Hehe..

AIA Policy - Ivy, sorry u were asking abt tis right?

yes, beside HFMD, can covers other accidents like lao sai aka food posioning or any kinds of bumps/falls/cuts/bites etc. it covers all GP/PD/TCM and of cos any hospital/A&E visits.

MTDT
I agree with you lor. Sometimes if all else fails, I just latch to sleep coz baby sleeps, and I get to sleep too. If not, next day in office, sure zombie.

Ainsley
All the best. Hopefully both our babies are Ok tonight too. Do you nap in daytime too?

Alicia - abt flashcards.

I din buy any cards from shichida itself. over priced leh! :p All my flashcards are from BP (my yr, alot of bps going ard)... and any outside shops with gd deals.
after awhile - I also dun stick to the "rules" of the flashcards size/words etc. as long as cards - I can use i feel

hope ur gal enjoys the shichida class!
feedback to us after tat

Trials - our kiddos are 6mths old!
anyone keen on any trials? music kind like kindermusik or gym or JG/busybuddies etc.

ainsley, agree that its really tough and super tiring. Me already a walking zombie. At times feels so malu when i go customer's plc. I told hb its like spoiling my reputation by stoning at wk daily. Last nite kynan woke up abt 4 times also. Lost track of the time as looking at the time makes me more fustrated. Rgd chant, do that 5 to 10mins aft nn sleep. They say its the best. Yes agree that we just have to make do and hope that this phrase will pass as our bbs are not a gd sleeper. Now whem nit falls, i also scared. Die le.
Nothing much we can do at times. U just try to nap in the day to catch up lost sleep lah. Do sleep for my share too. Lol. Guess there are a few other mummies facing same prob.

ains! ni hai hao mah!! gosh! 2 to 5! u must jia you ok!! mtdt i chant to myself instead! hahaa.. when the going gets tough, i jus tell myself it wont b forever! haa..

i m keen on trial classes! dunno which to choose yet..

MTDT, ya i going to get it the aia plan.

Ainsley the day nap is bit short, by right need about 3 hrs of nap. Try to give her 2.5naps.

My routine, sometimes early sometimes late but agar agar is like tat.
7am - feed (sometimes woke up 6am then fall back asleep abt 1.2hr, then woke up 730am, then we bring her ifc where she will have another short nap before her 11am feed)
9am - nap (at most 1hr) her this nap not long one

11am - Cereal
12pm - milk
1pm - nap (1 hr to 2hrs)

3pm - milk
5pm - nap (1hr to 2 hrs)

7pm - milk
we eat dinner, then shower, read books, sleep about 9pm

11pm or so - dreamfeed

She refuse dreamfeed for past 2 days... today found out she is teething.

ains: ok, i tell my frd go kiddy and see if she likes the brand 1st then get bk to u.. meanwhile, u post under WTS 1st, if ppl interested, then u let go .. cos later my frd dun wan then paiseh...
ya, u jiayou... always catch a nap when nn is asleep..
me started to intro cereal to ash is also becos he cant slp thru the night as before liao.. he used to wake up ard 7-8am, but past few days, he woke up ard 4am + to 5am+, so i concluded he might be hungry cos i latch him, he drink lei.. moreover he is drinking FM for last feed... since start cereal, he nvr ehh ehh ard tt timing... prob u give nn a bit more? hw many tbs u give nn?
any snacks in btw?

ivy: teething arh.. ya, nw so many bb teethin, must be more sensitive w them, as they might fuss or so.... hahahah..

ainsley,
hahaa, ya chloe n nn can be best friends or jie mei lor... oni wan to play dun zzz.. btw last nite was nt bad for me as chloe woke up twice to latch oni. maybe bcos she didnt nap well in the day cos she oni took 2 X 15min naps during noon n evening. i didnt put her in her cot,as i'm v tired myself.i let her zzz on my bed,at least both of us had a good nite.how ii wish she can zzz so well in her cot.
btw,mayb u'd like to drag nn bedtime to a little later tis few days?cos last time i always put chloe to bed @ 10pm,end up she oni fell asleep @12am.imagaine i went thru tat for almost 2 mths !no amount of latching ,carry n singing to make her zzz as she is not tired yet. den my hub decided to let her zzz later since she cant zzz early.it works le.wen i put her to bed later she did fall asleep easier. den slowly i try to adjust her timing bk earlier lor. sometimes her timimng will cock up if we stay out too late too..

ainsley.. no problem.. we can only lend a listening ears to you.. with so many mummies ard.. many many ears lolx...

My bb still bo gei.. hehehe.. but keeps on biting her lips.. and scratching her gum on the milk bottle.. lol..

Hope her teething process is much smoother..

mummies, my poor sophie is having fever after her jab and she has flu too. Any remedies for flu? do u give bb medication? or let it go away naturally? Its affection her drinking..and she hasnt been finishing her milk.

she's only 6.65kg at 6.5mths old....25th percentile only....

Ainsley, is nn teething too? I remember ryan was bit grouchy before discovering his teeth too.. Keep grabbing stuff to put into his mouth.

Alicia, don't think u should self medicate first. Did pd give u the fever med after jab just in case? Take tt first and hope it will subside by 24 hrs.. Usually tt's the case. As for flu, ryan in hosp is now taking zyrtec.. But u monitor first and go see pd if still not ok

Mtdt, ryan is bit better but pd say still got phlegm and blocked nose, wed then discharging. I'm still stuck at tmc now...sighhh... And he went thru the process of having tube insert into his nostrils to suck the phlegm and mucus out.. Damn heartpain to hear him scream...

Hi alicia..

For me.. I am one who don't give medicine.. to bb or even my older kids .. unless the fever is high..

I will let them recover on their own.. unless they are cranky..

My #1 doesn't take western medicine at all.. so pointless to bring him to see doc.. and he sill cry whenever we have no choice but to feed him with medicine... and now he is older.. he will .spit out the medicine..

So, really depends.. some feel not comfortable not giving..

mummies, thanks so much for your encouragement and advice. At least I don't feel so alone and feel much better after my rant. hehe... love you girls.. (ehh.. a bit mushy. hehe)

I don't usually nap in the day unless I really can't tahan.. And I also want to try putting her to bed a bit later but v difficult cos after waking up at ard 5+, she will not nap till 9pm. And ard 8+, she will start making noise.

NN's usual schedule is like this:

7+am, wake up latch
10.30, latch
11+am, bathe and nap
12+ to 1pm, cereal
2+pm latch
3-4pm, nap
5+pm latch
ard 6pm, bathe
6.-7pm cereal
8+pm latch
9+pm, zzZZZ

ainsley ur routine so many feed ar.
maybe she shld have a nap after the 7am feed say about 9am? From 7am to 11am then slee[ its bit long ar. Then ur 6pm cereal shift up to 3pm? So the tummy not so heavy at night since our baby only 7mths old.

Wei Ting: Yes pd did give the panadol n I feed her yesterday, fever did come down but tdy it came back again. always on and off and last night she woke up at 4plus am coz having been finishing her daily feeds. I juz bought the zyrtec drops but not from pd coz they forgot to give me. I bought from Guardian. The one I bought says from 1 yr onwards, duno did i buy wrongly or its juz 1 type? do u know? maybe I should call pd n chk tomr.

Hope bb Ryan will get well soon. I also heartpain to hear abt him sick...

Sandy: ya, I feel comfortable not giving med coz I wan her to recover asap, i wana shorten their pain lah.

hi mummies, i have a ques, today i feed ash with happy belly cereal with avocado(3rd day but today i tried 1st time HB cereal instead of organix which he took for 3days liao), after feedin, he immed poo, texture is thicker n sticky type, and he cried while pooing, i tot is he gek sai, pain cos poo hard, but no lei, jus abit thicker texture than normal.. and he poo 4times today, each time poo also cry abit, isit becos he nt used to his *new poo texture * or wat? cos when i fed him organix for the past 3days, no such issue lei... all mixed with avocado freshly made.. or isit becos the avocado is more ripe or the HB cereal is more heaty? make him uncomfy? but he nvr reject the cereal when i fed him wor... poo 4 times isit consider diarrhoea?

any advise?

tomolo i shall resume him bk to organix and see.. but im gg to try a new food(apple) and mixed into cereal....

Ivy, sometimes she will slp ard 9-10am oso. Then she will take 3 naps. At 1+ n 5pm oso.. I dun dare to let her nap alot oso..

Her feeding too much? Pd said 2 solids the last time j saw her. Her 6pm solid is supposed to b her dinner. My other frenz also feeding their bb 2 solids by 7mths le wor. Really too much? Bt tats y I said she wakes up bt bcos of hunger nor sleep too much le. Sigh~ Mayb I drag her milk feed longer? feed milk at 4 and cereal at 6 and milk at 9?

Shokel, u see the texture of his poo nt watery means nt diahorrea. How's the color of the poo?

Tonight nn is finally......ok le. Slp fr 9+ till nw still hvnt wake up.