(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Jeanie :

Well, found out that other courses offer abt the same as SM like MLG, I-genuis & neuro star but cheaper.
I know that I-genuis fees already included home material & 1 parent workshop somemore.

JB class so long - 2hrs ? Can bb focus/absorb during the 2hrs ? My bb during the last 10-15mins already not very patient liao...;p
JB class similar to SM except no flashcards har ?

Ms tan, I see.. I just enquire with genius learning hub, same as neuro star academy huh? But far leh. At TPY.

JG offers a totally different approach. They believe in learn through play. So there's lots of play time, indoor n outdoor. Not those Brain training type. And also to boost confident through interaction.

Jeanie : yes, genius learning hub is d same as neuro star academy. Neuro Star acedemy is for below 3yrs kids.
Where u lived ?
Oh, their class is cheaper than the rest - $600 for 12 class.

Then u can only consider MLG at Jurong liao.

I-genuis is at City Sq Mall.
JG at Forum.
Kindermusik at Tanglin Mall.
SM at Springleaf & TPY.
GUG at Suntec & United Sq.

Kindermusik has got a lot of affliated schs doing it.

I might consider JG at Evans road cuz got outdoor. I'm gg for their trial in July. Cuz June is only special holiday programs on weekdays. Their bilingual playclub she offered is sat 11.30-130, 4.30-630. Sun 1130-130, 2-4. Got to call back in July to book for slots.

Ms tan, where do u stay?

Heee....my girl not attending any school now but am considering putting her to childcare next yr....;p....in the meantime for this yr was thinking of letting her attend some enrichment classes on wkends. Was considering 1 class on sat & 1 class on Sun....;p

Evans Rd is near botanic garden ?

I wld be keen on their bilingual playground (wkedn class) thou....;p
JG trial a bit on the high side ? More expenisve than their actual class ?

Oh, I stay at Redhill.

Ms tan, my boy is not attending any school nor enrichment class yet. Not gg to cc too cuz I'm sahm. Might consider playgroup near me. One sat and one sun? Will it be too hectic? I'm budget constraint. So likely going for one only.

JG Evans is near botanical garden. Hehe. Their trial is $61 as told by the staff just now.

Jeanie Tan : For a start I did laminate the cards because I cannot flash them very fast but a lot of extra works and higher cost too.But after 2 months I am quite used to the cards and quite happy with my flashing speed so I stop laminating.

Happymummy : Ya.. not A5 size , slightly smaller than A5. My son was around 2 years when I started using these cards , maybe for his age I think the size is ok.

Sandy Poh : Don't be too stressful , you can just start with simple topics , eg:animals , numbers, birds , things find in kitchen , hall, bedroom , insects...... Start with those free download flashcards that u can find online , they have very good range of ready made cards. And for small kids also start with a lot of pictures cards so the child will not feel bored. That is my whole purpose why I had made so many cardsfor my son.

http://bentohappiness.blogspot.com/

5400652.jpg

Jeanie : some bb attended 2 times class/playground every wk, so I think shld be ok if my girl attend 1 class on sat & 1 on sun.....;p

Becos my girl is taken care by my MIL now so dunno wat she is being taught everyday & wat she do ? Why u know lar, MIL still think & act the old-fashioned way of taking bb so u know lar when she take care of bb, need to close 1 eye & sometimes even close both eyes....;p

So, thought let bb learn some stuff, so can attend some enrichment class on wkends.
Of course will choose those not too expensive wans.....;p

Ms tan, I see. I also dunno how to teach n use wad teaching materials. Plus I still got a two months old baby. All I do now is reading. I go library borrow those touch n feel books to catch his attention. But only last 5 mins. Lol!!

Lisa, so I print one side pic one side words? In both Eng n chi? Or one side pic w words n another side w words only? Suppose to be one sided or double sided? Thanks!

Ms tan, me same as u. My mum taking care. She does teach him all the basic stuff but I think very soon will be beyond her le. Need to go expose bb to the newer teaching methods and more importantly social interaction esp he is the only bb. Me and hubby wan him to know people dun always give in to him one lor. Dat day we bring him Royce gym and watch how he interacts when others snatch his toys or if he dun get wat he is eyeing. Glad that he still very gracious about it, never whine or cry, not like a few ang mos bbs there quite spoilt. The poor mum was quite apologetic though off his son's hogging of toys.

Is a play gym at liang court. More like a indoor playground with lots of slides, swings, rides and toys! Very safe cos everything is soft. My boy had lots of fun sliding down the slides. Kids there tends to be under 5, mostly toddlers
can go check out their website. Need to join as member but a fren lent me hers to try out. Membership $50. And each time go 1 hr is $15 for bb plus 1 adult. Additional adult $10.

Mstan, I emailed them le but they havnt reply, according to their class schedule, there is a class at 330 pm that's suitable

Btw, anyone heard of "Positive Focus" ?

Currently they hv promo on trial - Bring A Buddy Promotion!50% off Trial Fee for weekend classes! Promotion ends 21st May.
Trial original at $40, so now only $20 (60mins).

http://www.positivefocus.com.sg/

Heee....I keen leh but so busy over the wkends + I only hv first 2 wkends available....;p

Re: JG
FYI, there is already a wait list for Term 3 (July) 2011 for JG Bilingual Playclub. I have put my son on wait/queue list since Nov 2010 and still have not got a confirmation on slot for the July 2011 class when he turns 18 months. So for those still contemplating, must book soon if got interest.

Juz called Positive Focus.
They focus more on activities, play & yoga for their class.

Who is keen to attend trial class at Positive Focus on 28 May, Sat at 4.15-5.15pm at City Square Mall (i-genuis location) ?
Min 6 bb & up to 8 bb in a class.
Cost : $20 each (after promo).

Anyone keen, plse PM me yr details asap ?
Thks !

Calamari, you gg for Evans road branch? The sales person nv told me about waiting list tho. Hmm. She just told me to call back on first week of July to book the trial tho their term commences at end of June.

14 May, Sat 3.30pm trial class is for kindermusik right ?
firipy is organising it.

Positive Focus-Positive Tots trial class on 28 May, Sat, 4.15-5.15pm at City Sq Mall ($20/class) :

1) Ms Tan
2) Jeanie Tan
5)
6)

jeanie: I put Evans 1st choice, Forum 2nd choice. Cos kid will only turn 18 months in July mah, so they can only ask u come for trial in July.

Positive Focus-Positive Tots trial class on 28 May, Sat, 4.15-5.15pm at City Sq Mall ($20/class) :

1) Ms Tan
2) Jeanie Tan
3) Caroline
5)
6)

Plse add yr name above if keen ?
Once I reach min 6 bb, will confirm with them & will let u know if need to make payment ?

Calamari, I see. Hmm. If it's good then I'll prolly be in the waiting list too. Lol!! Think by the time when it's my turn should be ard 2yo Liao...

jeanie: yah lorrrrrrrr, that was my dilemma for my first kid when I registered her. In the end, I skipped the trial and just enrolled her straight :p Now doing the same for #2

GG Lee: there is actually another 3rd branch at East Coast. The Evans branch has outdoor activities like water play and sand play but not the Forum one. And the parking is way cheaper at Evans. But the Forum one has shopping haha

jeanie: kayla's time I also put her name on the list 6 months before, so she did not have to wait. Immediately when she turned 18 months, JG called liao. But I am suspecting whether its all to generate false demand only :p

Jeanie Tan (jeanietan): Ya...Double sided.One side picture and one side English or Chinese words.Normally I will separate my flashcards into English and Chinese version. For shichida flashcards they do not encourage to put words and pictures on the same side.

GG Lee (gg_lee): I used to print my own flashcards with Microsoft Publisher using index cards.
U can have a look at my flashcards :
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=hp#!/pages/Bentobake/124219534305096

http://bentohappiness.blogspot.com/

5403468.jpg

mstan :
added my name in the list :

1) Ms Tan
2) Jeanie Tan
3) Caroline
4) Dreamz (happyfluffy)
5)
6)

Plse add yr name above if keen ?
Once I reach min 6 bb, will confirm with them & will let u know if need to make payment ?

Positive Focus-Positive Tots trial class on 28 May, Sat, 4.15-5.15pm (60mins class) at City Sq Mall ($20/baby) :

1) Ms Tan
2) Jeanie Tan
3) Caroline
4) Firpy
5) Dreamz (happyfluffy)
6)

http://www.positivefocus.com.sg/

Anyone keen, plse add yr name above ?
Once I reach min 6 bb, will confirm with them & will let u know if need any details to register and/or need to make payment ?
Thks !

Jeanie,
i first got heart burn that result continuous throat infection due to stress and exhaustion.. then i think headache due to heatiness (according to TCM) for taking too much anti-biotics... :p

Ivy, wah.. Work very stress? I'll get headache and dizzy when I'm too heaty. N I did heard anti biotics are heaty. That's y sometimes eat western med n can't poo..

Better drink more water.
especially now the weather is killer.

Juz checking anyone hv contact for labour to do wallpaper ?
I juz need the labour/manpower to help me paste the wallpaper, I can supply the wallpaper.
Anyone hv plse PM me ?
Thks !

Jeanie / firipy / Dreamz : can u PM me so that I can email u details & application form for the trial class with Positive Focus ?

We will need to make payment before the trial class.

Thks !