(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

jeelomeelo: its sticky. cfm is phlegm. is not snoring leh. is phelgm sound, when he drink milk also got.

sporty: not pi sai, i clean his nose everyday. u can try to use cotton buds. i saw the PD did that and i tried and really can dig out.
my MIL say last time she use the black hairpin to dig out for my hubby when he baby

sporty, I know this sound yucky but I was taught by my ex-CL to literally use my own mouth to suck it out... suction is better than those nose cleaner ... but baby will definitely cry.. ;p

i just called SBCC..Hep B for 1st month cost $80 / 6 in 1 cost 160.50 per dose, total need 3 dose..haven includes doctor's consultation fee..

hmmmm...expensive?

hmm duno wat happen to my bb these few days.. now she have to be carried to sleep. If not she cry n cry. Carry her liao, she can sleep but when put her on bed, she cry loud loud again. So we practically have to carry her for long hrs. Is this normal?

And she got rashes.. sian 1/2. PD say its normal leh.

hmmm...i got a Question..

6 in 1 - it includes hep B (2nd dose) + 5 in 1 ah?

so for 1st month, what to inject? just hep B will do ? or need to inject hep B + 6 in 1 or hep B + 5 in 1?

i'm so blur cos i called my GP, they say only need to inject on the 2nd month..

2nd month - inject 6 in 1
4th month - inject 5 in 1
6th month - inject 6 in 1

each dose is $120 for my GP...

me back from PD. brought my #2 for her 1 month review and Hep jab. My gal put on 1.2k so now weight 3.9kg.

My gal also got pi sai in her nose lor and she got nose congestion even. I brought her down to PD 2 wks ago for this cos i see she has greenish pi sai. Turn out to be dunno simi virus and was on antibiotics for 5 days to clear that bacteria. Now still got pi sai but not green liao... I saw the nurse use cotton bud (the bigger ones) to remove the pi sai and thus i do the same at home.... but cannot push it in.. push it to the side and slowly push it out from the side lor...

And oh, the PD asked how much my girl drinking now... i told her 110ml which the PD says is a little too much... she should only be drinking 90ml at the moment actually and asked me to cut down slightly... but i told her if i gave 90ml she like not satisfied.. then we realized 110ml if thru bottle feed is just nice for my gal cos my girl tends to let the milk spill out onto her bib / tissue / clothes.. and it can easily be about 20ml out lor so come to think of it, 110ml thru bottle is ok cos she prob only take in 90ml anyway....

piggy, if you are going for 6-in-1, the jab will be taken in 2nd month... if you are going for 5-in-1 (like my girl), the hep jap is taken in 1st month and then next jab is at 3rd month.

Starrz, I'm having the same problem. Last night, bb sleeping when i carried her, then when i put her down, she woke up n cried so loud. In my case, bb has a bloated tummy so after she farted then she feels drowsy again. Took a few tries, then when she finally sleep when i put her down, i use my tiny pillow to put ontop of her legs, and she slept for 5 hrs. Going to buy that beansprout pillow.

Agata,
hmm not sure if my bb has a bloated tummy but i got giver her colic drop coz i tell the pd i had difficulty burping her and PD say can give her colic drop.

so which is better? 6 in1 or 5 in 1?

meaning if i take 6 in 1, i dont need to go for jab at 1st mth ah? just go for 2nd mth injection which is 5 in 1 + hep B, 2nd dose right?

piggy, i go to Raffles Hospital Childrens Centre. She was the assigned PD for my #2 and my #1 has been seeing her all the while. I go to this PD for all vaccines and the more serious sickness. For the milder ones, I will go to another neighbourhood PD instead cos cheaper. But for me actually no diff cos I can claim my children's medical bills (except vaccines) from company.
For 5 in 1, the hep jab is taken separately. My gals' PD advise to go for this cos 6 in 1 has too many vaccines in 1 jab and will tend to cause fever. so her advise is go for lesser vaccines in 1 jab.

last night i went out for midnight movie with hubby.. haha.. the movie sucks but at least i got to eat nachos with cheese and a jumbo hot dog n i had a whole coke (of course without ice) to myself! yummy!! got home only at 2am.. quickly pumped and fell asleep immediately when my head touched the pillow!

ru yun,
wah.. good suggestion -root beer!! that'll be my next aim! ..

piggy,
what a waste to throw away! just freeze la.. you mever know when u might need it.. n anyway can keep for 6 months..

velo,
today 3rd day only so dont worry..what you have is colostrum which is very little in amt. you're probably gonna get engorgement within these two days so be prepared to suffer a little more before your mature milk comes in and then u'll find bf a breeze although a tiring breeze. =D

are u pumping exclusively or latching on? you can read the archives, we did quite a bit of discussion on increasing supply in the past couple of days.

sporty,
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3296311.html?1259647328

here's the BP thread.. i find it safer to freeze if got ziploc, then at least when my freezer got meat..etc i wont worry too much abt contamination la.. since its already air tight..

but next week i moving to my mil's place.. her fridge is much smaller than mine, dunno got space to store anot eh.. must remind her to clear the chiller and freezer before i move over..

magical: u are making me jealous with yr nachos n coke. argh..mum say 4th den i can go out. shld i drink pearl milk tea 1st of root beer?

ru yun,
4th will be here very soon!!
hm.. i think drink root beer first, then pearl milk tea then you can slowly enjoy the pearls.. ha.. must have strategy..

im frm the dec09 thread..but my baby delivered prematurely in nov...
can i ask if those mummies with stitches if its still painful even after day18??

by the way, if i want too use cda account to pay for the 5in1 jab at polyclinic, wat documents do i need to bring?

hihi!
i miss my CL so much... life was so easy with her ard.... now abit blue blue... coz no one to help me n talk to in the day... :p

anyone using avent baby bottom balm for their baby? i overbuy during philips carnival sales... :p now intending to sell off at cost price ($10/tube).. if interested, i can bring it along if we are meeting for tea on 7th Dec..
else i can mail it to u at no cost...

Shihui,

I sent you a pm..

anyone knows when is the next philips sale?

These two days i been carrying my baby.. the whole days.. he can't get to sleep and wants to be on the breast, till my nipples very sore, and i dunnoe whether its a feed or just pacifying..

i tried to pump again.. its around 78ml.. then after 30mins.. i pump.. only 38 ml.. trying to stress test.. oh no.. how? seems like very little leh..

now finally he is sleeping.. but can i go pump? i go scared he will wake up again. and want a feed..

I thinking to start bottle.. so maybe 2 feeds by bottle a day.. but i really dunnoe whether i can up my supply.. how to achieve this? then i can pump a lot.. i hope to do until i can totally bottle feed.. possible?

for mummies who totally pumping.. is it possible that your supply increases? even without the stimulation of the baby's sucking?

ruyun... u pump 200ml per pump? from the start?
how many times u pump a day? and how u pump? every 2 hrs?
via electic? how u can do tat?
how u incease ur supply?

I wondering whether i am too stress.. or tired..

I am very sad.. cos i scared i dun have enought to pump out.. then my baby no milk to drink.. i dun wna to give formula.. cos i scared he might be allergic.. as my husband is lactose intolerant...

catechin: 1st few days v little ma. then my mum use fish bone make soup for me. aft 1st week every pump ard 100ml. so when he admitted for jaundice he had enough EBM . it will slowly increase. by 2nd week i can get ard 150ml . aft that 200ml. i pump every 3hr. if i lazy pump after 5-6hr i get ard 300ml. i have 1 medela mini electric n 1 avent manual. i prefer the manual coz not as pain. but more parts to wash.
dun be stress, it will affect yr ss

ru yun,
ha.. why not? but to soften the transition to taking cold drinks maybe dont put ice loh.. try to get an excuse to go out yourself la.. that day i went to do hair myself i could have bought my honey red tea, but then i didnt dare to la.. what if drink liao really body ache then i really ask for it 1 loh.. in the end i bought iced milo from mcdonalds, but without ice la. n i munched on old chang kee fish nuggets.. yummy!!

catechins,
exclusive pumping will not lose out to suckling to up supply. the key to increase supply is to keep up pumping schedule.

my daily supply is now 1.5 to 1.6 litres .. n i just do exclusive pumping, never latched on before.

but coz i pump a min 8 times a day, i gotta use a heavy duty pump. i use ameda lactaline dual, electric. in the beginning had to pump 20-30 mins to encourage letdowns, but now supply is more or less established already i just pump for 10-15 mins can liao..

high tea @ carousel, royal plaza on scotts (between pacific plaza and dfs orchard) confirmed on 7th dec.

reservation under "Jane Ong"

Price: $28++ before credit card discount of 15%

confirmed pax:

1. Jane, husb and bb
2. Sporty, husb and #2
3. Sponge and #1
4. Ayukie, husb and bb
5. Zentan and ??
6. Ariesgal and ??
7. Shihui and ??
8. Ashley and ??
9. Momoko and bb
10. Fieda?
11. CatMon?

woke up from my nap!

esther/ru yun, suck out with mouth?? omg more gross...

piggy, the PD i plan to go...6 in 1 less than 100 per dose and includes consultation and medication...

magical, wahh..nachos!!! shiok ah... i also wanna go midnight movie leh but dunno whether my cl can see 2 kids bo...kekkeke... thks for the milk bags link...

shena, my stitches had slight pain for the first week...after tha ok already...could it be u have piles thas why its more painful?

shihui, ur CL must be good tha u missed her so much...heheh :p

catechins, the philips sale was juz held early nov....think wun be so fast till the next one ba... u pumped 78ml and 38ml within short interval thas why it seems very little...maybe u wanna try to pump instead of latching for one feed and slowly try to intro bottles to ur boy?

jane, thks for making the reservation!
cant wait to attack the food

dear all, i just pump out again.. and its is 38ml again.. its around 2 hrs apart.. i sat there for 20mins..and in the frist 5 mins.. there is milk.. later no more..

really very problematic.... really wan to cry!

i using hygenia.. its recommended by mum fairy and she said that it is more powerful than PIS.. so i bought.. now i dunnoe its the pump prob or mine prob.. a friend also gave me avent manual.. got to go home and try... but tat one.. tat day i tried.. less than 20ml.. maybe also baby kept asking for milk.. so i pump and stop pump and stop..

letdown means.. sudden flow of milk right? i got but only a while.. then stop.. i really dunnoe wat is the prob.. = (

really very troubled.. but i trying to up my mood.. and dun feel stress liao.

Sporty, how often do u pump? and how much per pump? so far, 1 pump from both breasts can pump only 120-130ml. and bb now abt 1wk old, drinking 90ml...and i pump only 1-2 times a day....

catechins, u pumped after ur latch or what? 38 ml is per breast or both? have a hot drink before u pump...it will help on letdown...

haitong, i dun pump very often cuz i ran out of bottles but usually i will pump after latch if i cannot tahan the fullness so usually its abt 3 to 4 times a day... usually i can pump more than 100ml depending on whens the last pump... u said u pump 1 to 2 times a day? the rest is latching??

Sporty, your pump of > 100ml is from both breasts? Yup, from morning (6a.m onwards) when bb wakes up, i will latch him directly...initially he can suck longer, now, he sucks 5-10mins, then wanna sleep, then put him down, he cry and latch him again for 5-10mins....so also dunno if he fulls anot...

but if he never cries when put him down, i presume he is full...otherwise, will use the pumped milk in the fridge for the rest....

but he does drink FM in the mid-nite cos' i lazy to wake up latch him...hehehee

When will our ss come more? me just gave brith 1wk ago only.... so dunno if this amt of milk is normal anot...

my GP vaccination package>>
5-in-one from 1st month till 18months, incl consultation all in $380..considered cheap ba..

Starrz,
try not to make the carrying a habit lo...my sil gave in to her bb crying and now at 7mths (and 8+kg), they have to carry him all day long at home..have you tried rocking bb in rocker or bouncer?

CL>>
i wont miss mine coz i dun have one! keekkee..my mom triple up as a CL, maid and babysitter for my #1...=p

Catering>>
Anyone used YLS lately? Still good? Getting them for this sat =D

haitong, yes...from both breasts... actually if u latch hor, 15 to 20 mins per breast then shd be enough leh...5 to 10 mins, maybe not enough time for him to get hindmilk tha will make him full... so who make the FM in the nite? ur CL? ur ss will be more thru more latching/pumping lor...takes a few days to see the effects...

sporty,
i read somewhere that if bb sucking actively will take in 80% of feed in the 1st 5mins of sucking..true?

there's once I ran out of bm and gave bb fm..she refuse to drink..anyone face same prob?

stacey, YLS still ok...i used them last friday...rem to order the kong bak pau...kekkeke

ru yun, will have fever or not depends on individual bb...u can feed the bb with a dose of panadol after the jab as a prevention...i did tha for #1 and it works and he didnt have any fever..

I agree better to ziploc b4 putting into fridge or freezer. I pump put into bott n locklock container in fridge. When want to freeze I put into ziploc.

Enjoy ur hi tea... Still wud b stuck at home for confinement

Stacey,

I am sure many mummies wanna bring their babies to their 1st Xmas party!

Got some questions for experience mum..
At which month or how we know can put baby in stroller (fully recline) and Sarong sling?

If we take public transport, isit bb will be in the stroller 100% of the time, cos I was thinking if I am bringing the bb out on my own. Wont find anyone to help me carry for me to "close" the stroller.
So must plan the route and can take lifts n slopes only?
Dun think I dare to juggle alone on the escalator.