(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Blessedcyn and cat02: WE will see how the response goes and if there's more than 5 families for 1 timing, I will check abt the bulk booking. But if less than that, I think we just book on our own, ya. Hee...will pm you details later.

Xoxo: Indeed! The news about the toys that failed to make the cut is very disturbing. Kay is bringing home all sort of toys from her morning marketing with my parents. And some actually look like what they have in the list.

Anyway, mummies who havent seen the list of toys can take a look here http://www.case.org.sg/downloads/central/toy_survey.html

Xoxo: From where did you order the test kits? I think I am going to order too! Or else I will be throwing most of her toys away! Especially when she has been chewing on may of her toys!

Astro: PiC a! Faster do ur passport! If can go, I happy for u! If can't go, I also happy! Haha happy for ur boys cos no separation and us also no separation!! Lol

Xoxo: noted! Yes I think u are right! If we are vigilant, then there will be more gatherings in future! If any mishap again, I think no more gatherings will be very sad! So if bb adults or family members feeling unwell then pls do not join gatherings until alls well.

Hfmd:
Regards hfmd, i heard fm my childcare for the elder children side.. that now, as long as one blister, the doc diagnose as hfmd without doing any blood tests. And even though few days past and no additional blisters appear... So the speculation is that half the numbers reported might not be true case hfmd at all. That is the new 1k+ cases now. Nevertheless, everyone pls watch out for the symptoms.

Tien!
I am interested in the Sso bb prom! Shall we purchase tics together? Looking forward to it!

Test kit:
Xoxo can let me know where u order the test kit? N wat r the symptoms of being "poison" by the toys? I m trying to figuring out kd's mysterious allergy cough is caused by what... Cough it b the case?? He has some cheena toys. Ltr will do more research....

thanks tien for sharing the link. gosh, the toys look like wat the grannies have been buying for A!

xoxo: ya, where to get the test kits n r they expensive? if yes, i rather throw away the cheap market toys!

are fisher price/ little tikes/ vtech/ leapfrog MIC too? i better go n check tonite :S

Tien: I'm interested in the SSO Bb Prom. Can only make it for 12.15pm. Can u pls let me knw the details too? Ya, do hope to attend with some of u too.

I'm so looking forward to tomorrow.
Will leave the hse soon after i bathe my girl... Start my "freedom" early. Go for nice breakfast, hit whichever stores that has opened for the day, meet mummies for dim sum then meet ex-colleagues for cakes and tea! Of cos, after dat got to go back to reality! Haha...

ginger > haha, red liquid!! yeah..think she's fascinated with it..morbid.. :p

tien > http://www.amazon.com/Leadcheck%C2%AE-Lead-Test-Kits-Non-toxic/dp/B000Z8BCAO/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1282180318&sr=8-6

be aware that most criticism levelled at home test kits such as these is that they do not indicate the level of lead present...however, any trace of lead - no matter how miniscule, is unacceptable for babies...so in that sense, these kits should work for us. as mentioned, ditto for phthalates. no such thing as a home test kit for that. drats.

ting >ingestion of lead,phthalates can cause vomitting, diarrhea..seizures and touch wood, even death (occured in the USA) from a MIC product (lead in toy jewellery, 2006). for a good idea of what are some of the risks from exposing our kiddos to unsafe toys, read: http://www.healthystuff.org/departments/toys/chemicals.introduction.php

ginger > no, not too expensive. about SGD16.00 after i factored in shipping. bought from amazon. i believe that home DIY store has such a kit too - but i didn't check that out. brand names doesn't get u much immunity either! if this round from CASE is anything to go by, u are not much "safer". see: http://www.healthystuff.org/departments/toys/ - there's at least three other sites that u can do a check for some of our toys that have already been tested...the list is exhausting. made me really tired ytd. have tonnes of work today/tom..but this weekend, i will go after those..

sigh..even the viet govt is faster on this one: http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Asia/Story/A1Story20100818-232651.html

xoxo, thanks for sharing the link on the toxic toys. Was trying to find the list of unsafe toys but cld'nt. Yes, I'm absolutely horrified by the toxic toys. Honestly can't really run away from MIC toys these days. Even all the big brand name manufacture their toys there - unless we all only buy wood toys from The Better Toy Store or something like that! Hope Dre has recovered well. Uh, I couldn't quite picture what she was doing with the whiteboard and cardborad to sustain that cut.

Astro: I'm one of the few who'd go with B.
I also not to hot for China. My hubby wanted to go to the World Expo, but I told him that I am not sure. Anyway my friend returned from there and it was quite a challenging experience.

Lydia: In the meantime, you could try to combat the mozzies with those UV (?) lamps? Homefix has one with the blue light and a fan. Must get the one with a fan so that it sucks the mozzie in. Pretty effective. Once I didn't switch it on and poor A kept crying and the next morning we discovered >10 mozzie bites. I felt to bad after that!

A has been giving us headache again - food problems we try to cope by giving her bread since that is what she will eat. Have taken to spreading baby jar food on it. Have to go dream up so toppings for her bread. Past few days she has been screaming herself to sleep. I have no idea why. Mon nite screamed for 45 mins after she had settled down. HOrrifying. Worse than first night of sleep training. It's been about a month since she learnt to settle herself so I am clueless why she is behaving this way. Even for her morning nap she had to scream for half an hour. It's awful!!!

BTW just a poll here - for those who have helpers looking after your kid, do you feel that your baby is very attached to the help? Sadly, I have to admit that A is more attached to the help than me. Breaks my heart.

aiya~ i finally upload my bb pics! phew~

PY:
i saw the list in the google groups! it's together with the 28 and 4th as well... there is oni 1 page to list the different dates..

Dim Sum Mommies Date:
Can i check if any mommies driving there? I do not intend to return to my office... so tat means i need to lug the laptop bag, handbag as well as my milk pump bag... hahaha.. can i deposit my bags in your car first so i can enjoy a great lunch without the Bao Baos?? so excited abt the lunch~

<font color="0000ff">Astro
PMed you my email le

Angelina
wah... u quietly leh.. hehe.. congrats anyway. dunno why but my hair stands each time i think abt the topic of having another kid. I think i'm scarred manz.. *ilovemaxmax shivers in fear*</font>

funzee > thanks..dre was dismantling the whiteboard. it has a plastic (MIC) frame. and there's a hard, cardboard behind the whiteboard..and she practically heaved-ho her entire palm on it, pushing it through and cracking the frame...good description? i didn't realise she had cut herself until i saw streaks of blood across the whiteboard. and yes..i understand how attached the baby can get to another caregiver - and how rotten it feels. i've had a share of these as well the past couple of weeks due to an increased workload. but i suppose we have to be rational abt it..and console ourselves that eventually, they will come round to who is actually mummy and who is the hired help.

ting > i shld be driving. u can leave the stuff in mine if u like.

funzee,
i know exactly what you mean. for my lil one, luckily daddy ranks #1 in her heart by a huge margin. then a distant 2nd would be grandpa and the help. and mummy maybe if i'm lucky is an obvious 3rd. i've not been feeling great about it, especially when the help is getting a bit complacent and giving me attitude. so it's been affecting my general mood on top of lack of motivation at work lah.

Astro: My vote goes to B....

Quite difficult to decide since each pic is so adorable.

Xoxo: Hope she is okay... I can understand your feeling of seeing red in our little one.

Shugar: I think I will email my boy's pic for you. I think is faster...

Angeline: Awaiting for u to share ur good news...

PY: Hope your Project B is coming soon.....

mat: tml got outing? hahaha! i definitely need to go out walk walk.. this little rascal is driving me crazy.
wee says he wanna discipline her liao. she'll grow up to be a very ba dao girl lol. wants everything to be in her way (oops sounds like me) HAHAHAHA =x

Aiyo super busy with tt commando crawler at home yest.

astro: bally passport pic blurred?u try put him in highchair n put white cloth behind , will tt work:p

Angelina: what's the gd news? Giving Josh a playmate?

Xoxo: aiyo dre really brings endless excitement to u hehe

StRegis Mums Gathering:
sobbbbb I can't join
my training 11-2pm ahhhhhhh WTH. They better dun cancel, last time went n trainer din turn up$&amp;&amp;&amp;.,,;x?/ do u all have any prog afterwhich? I can join afterwhich only

Rochester Playgp3-6: I can't again crashed crashed

hippo: email me leh I din receive my email is [email protected]

gal: mosquitoes... Err y not u get mosquito shield for the windows?Me n M too gotten a few bites at our playground yest pm

hippo > aiyoh, what happened to your helper? which one? the one looking after min or helper no 2?

shugar > tom i can't linger abt..it's a sneak trip out and i've to zoom home right after..get DK to look after sam lah..then i can hv lunch with u uninterrupted! *wink*

nlimm > haha, little commando! i like this description of M! argh..i hate conflicting schedules..hmm..don't worry, soon enough we'll meet again!

joyce > thanks..thankfully it was me supervising her then (ought to go and knock my own head)..i think if it was the help or my hb..cfm would have no end of nagging/scolding from me! :p but yeah, accidents happen..can't blame myself enough.

Shugar: I have emailed the pictures to you. Please help me to choose which one is better.

Xoxo: Glad to hear that she is okay....

Xoxo: haiz so.,, din know wat to say...so coincident or unlucky. Being waiting for tt training coz tt I could teach this enrichment prog at nanyang pri n at the same time check out the sch, deciding whether to spend tt extra effort n times to pu M there (coz be6yrs sending him to n fro) n with bt timah n fatter rd jam
or just tt rulang pri 5mins walk behind my home

py: shdnt be a prob,C size shd be12-18mth or 18-24mth coz M wearing their 2T now,it's fitting moving on to 3T in1-2mths time

hippo>>> ur babe 8.1 kg u call ikan bilis then my 7.2 is hae bee already! but think daddy n mummy useless.. when that gerry ask daddy to carry her he carry a while also say backache alr.. haha..

shugar>> can i ask wat this collage thingy that u will be doing up? m lost with all the collage talk...

Tien: I'm keenfor SSO baby prom too, but can opt 17nov coz 18nov might need to work, only getting class schedule mid Oct . Aiyo abt toys actually not only mkt toys leh,tt research is donebased on toys fr town shopping centre to neighbourhood wo.more sensible to get the tester if it's ur main concern wo

Xoxo: where u buy those tester ?

Omg, my sickness is killing me. Everytime I read this forum or looking at comp I straight away run to the toilet
hope I can catch up

gug trial : will be joining with shugar, py, n nat

dimsum : hope I'll be okay by Tom so I can join u all. Yl take leave so he can jaga boyboy with the maid. He even offered to jaga Charlotte n Sam Near st. Regis if u want 'wink to shugar n py ;)

Joyce: oh ok i shall go check.

babytum: its a collage of all our oct babies. I uploaded some sample which i got from astro some(quite a lot actually :p) posts back.
the theme for this collage is Our Happy Babies.... so pics of big gummy grins pls!

Angelina: if not i keep you posted via mobile yah! hahahaha ... like your PA :p kekkeke

nlimm: it was my pic blurry. not bally's

angelina: i have already submitted the list for GUG. but for you, i will call up to help you add your name because u were away for a long time and didn't know the existnance of the goggle group.

i have just received an open request to joing google group. the email used was:
sim_winston @ msn.com.

Please private message me to let me know who you are. thanks.

Hi Astro!
understand we need 5 to start a GUG class, so I found a friend to join our Saturday class.
Do you need her details?

xoxo,
i wouldn't be vexed if it was #2. its the nanny (#1) lor. sigh... i'm just irritated cos she will have mood swings and show face once in a while. couple of weeks back she told my mum she wanted to go back. it felt like she was holding us ransom kind of. so i wasn't very happy about it. and the work also a bit slack so i told her off over the weekend. now everyday black face!

but since she's the one that's with Min most of the day, i hesitate to really give her a good one. ARGH!!!

shugar: Debbie called and informed me that you called to verify. In that case, please liaise with debbie directly on the inclusion of ur fren.

ILMM: i have added you into the group..

Hi! I am in super bad mood. Went to taka baby fair just now to buy some stuff, and guess what? My wallet was stolen!!!! Very angry. Argh! I hung by bad at the stroller and my helper was there all the time with Amelie. Don't know how come someone so clever just dip the hand in and take my wallet. *GRRRR*

xoxo, hippo, thanks for sharing. I feel.... just a mite better. xoxo, I thought that Dre will be super attached to you. I think your case not as bad as mine lah. And Dre is very strong! How did she dismantle a whiteboard? I think I would have difficulty!

Hippo: min and A the same - Papa is #1!!! A will wail if papa does not pick her up immediately after getting home. Can't even wash hands! All daddy's girls!

I was/am super heart broken because everytime she cries, she won't be consoled by me. My help carry her - stop crying immediately. And if 3 of us - help, A and me are in the room together and helper goes out, she will want to follow! Boh hew me! I can't express how sad I am.

Eh, Astro, I updated the contact list on Google groups already. I shifted some info up cos there was one blank row before xoxo. Then after I saved and published dunno why the first 4 rows went haywire and the size different from the rest of the rows. Info still intact, just formatting haywire. *sheepish* I have no idea how it happened. Maybe you can work your powers on those rows.

funzee: have you reported loss?

i saw the formatting.. for a minute i thought what happened :p ok. roger that. no worries lah.

funzee: i went thru a period of that.. when i got my helper.. teng is obssessed with her.. till now he is still her fav auntie ellie.. i felt sad initially .. then i figured out.. the help wun stay with him forever.. i am his mama.. he will come to realise it that i am the only one who will never leave his side.. at this stage of his life.. i think this way.. he has another one person to care for him (auntie ellie).. i can't have the apple (have a job) and eat it (spent my time with him all the time).. as long as u hold the reins when it comes to deciding how amelie is being handled and taken care of.. and ur helper knows it and is not attempting to hold u ransom that amelie likes her.... let it be.. i am not saying to deny that feeling.. it is normal. i am just saying. just dun get too hung up over that

my helper went back philipines for 2 weeks .. when she came back and renew her contract.. she was upset that teng didn't want her anymore! moral of the story.. the kids know who is their mama..

hippo: ditto for u.. dun let the nanny hold u ransom.. kids are adaptable.. esp bbs.. their memory.. once the nanny goes away .. like one week.. she is out of min's memory forever kind..so dun hesitate to let her know u are not comfortabe with such attitude..

hippo: i advise u to just ren based on my own experience. when A was abt 6 mths old, i discovered he had fierce rashes all over body. from the time i reached hm at 7pm to discovery at 9.30pm, both my own n mil's helpers did not tell me anything. naturally i was furious n blasted my helper. the next day, i buay gum buang n told my mil's helper dat as one of A's caregivers, she also shares equal responsibility as my helper, so pls highlight anything abnormal to me. she kpkb to my mil saying she is just helping to take care of A. if she is made responsible, she dun wan to help anymore. imagine my wrath when i heard dat from hb but end of the day, i feel dat i cant depend solely on my helper to take care of A without anyone's supervision so i ren her until now.

now A's best fren is her :S

i am one of the missing (silent) mummies from oct 09 forum.. think my last post was donkey months ago.

hope u gals still rmb me!! been busy working and looking after my 2 kids.. no time to post and follow with the fast-moving thread..only able to peep in once awhile to see whats happening here..

mummies and babies meetup >> How i wish i have ample Annual Leaves to take and meet up with u gals.

Astro> pm u.. able to add this silent reader (me) into the google group? Thanks.

those who are not in my FB>> welcome to add me : [email protected]

however, do indicate ur nick as per in smh, else i will usually ignore those i do not know.

OK... ending here.. got to continue with office work again.hope to see u gals soon!!

funzee: initially, i was oso upset dat A will fuss when he sees mil's helper gg out of the room n chuckles when he sees her coming back but like wat astro says, kids will noe who is their mama. i haf seen quite a few cases around me so dun be too overly upset

Funzee: pat pat, had u make police report? Ic inside?and for bb, cool down ye,same here M will stick to my mum at times, and like what u said when M want my mum carry n not me I was so sad too so me n hb make it a pt to go over n see him n play w him every evening n take care of him during wkend. N no worries, ur bb definitely know u r his mum
last time when my mum was a babysitte during our sch days those who she take care even call her mum n their natural mum mummy till a certain stage the babies will stop calling their caregiver mum (if ever they did) n start to be more attached to their own mummy

Pincer skill:
My bb still can't pick up the tiny puffs with his thumb n forefinger leh... Is there anyway to teach him? Do we need to teach him or it will come naturally one?

limmil: you are not slient lah.. slient not equal to missing
anyway. added u.

Ting: the pincher grasp is a milestone.. it comes 'naturally' but you could speed up KD's mastery a little faster by giving him more opportunities to practiceit.. say used cheerios.. cooked carrot strips.. peas.. or actually anything.. when u feed him.. let him self feed himself with some food on the table.. that would give him more opportunities to practice.. remember practice makes perfect!

funzee > yep, i agree with astro..our bbs are so impressionable. all it took was abt 2 weeks of disappearing acts on my part in the afternoons for Dre to switch allegiance! my helper is also really good at playing with her..makes her laugh etc..so now she tends to go and find where my helper/her dad is at home even though i am right there with her! i guess as mummies we naturally want some indicator that we are special to them, something reciprocal - so we know that we are no. 1 in their eyes, just like the priority we give them so very naturally and selflessly...it's hard! but at least vent your thoughts here...and with your close friends/hb..that might just help you keep a perspective on things and help u feel better. sorry to hear of the unfortunate theft..i hope it wasn't a theft by a desperate mum or something..and at the very least, u can get yr cards back! how did u make yr way back?! what happened to your purchases? oh yah, dre isn't that strong - it's just that...the whiteboard isn't of great quality..MIC..hurhur..

Dim Sum Mummies...turned Dollies...*corny*..the roll call madams...pls check our google groupie page to get specific info for tomorrow's lunch.

1) Hippo
2) Sotong_Mum
3) Tien
4) Xoxo
5) Ting
6) Candy White
7) glass
8) Angelina
9) Shugar

Yoohoo..so excited...can't wait to meet u gals tom, drooling over the delicacies..aiyoh..can't sleep!! wahahahaha!!