(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

dre's finger > it took many attempts to get the plaster on her right...had to cut up an adult sized one. i thot i am the calm and collected type - but wah, when the bb kena cut and i see the blood here, there, drip drip drip...PANIC!!! hahaha..i think i was the one who was really in pain. she..like not in pain? instead, everytime i managed to get the bleeding under control, she would go and poke her itchy little fingers and get the bleeding going again..jialat! so..here it is..DRE'S FIRST CUT.

gal > call NEA hotline. they are super efficient. i had a mozzie prb here twice this year. called them and they went checking door to door (incl mine) and when they found nothing, they checked the drains, rooftops, sites etc within a 1km radius! then they found the src of the breeding in a drain..and promptly nixed it. prb went away in 3 days. night biters are not the harmful aedes type. it's the day biters that tend to carry the dengue strain - that was what i was told by the NEA guy...can't stop gushing abt the efficiency of NEA..they would even give u SMS updates and check on the situation daily to see if things are improving etc..

Py: u damn funny leh. Abt the bug. Lol!! Hope u faster get the "bug" k!!! Lolx! U want B or G one?? Sigh... I got SO MUCH problems at this home which I do not call my home anymore, I think if I ever have a 2nd one, is the age gap damn big kind!

Angelina: ya I second wat py said! U tell got news but u nv share! Made us all sooooo excited and "nervous" waiting for your news!! Watever it is, take good care of yourself k?

Xoxo: what? Dre cut her finger? Oh no! I hear so many blood everywhere sounds kinda serious. Hope the cut not deep n she wun go n make it "open" again.

Gal: there is this insect repellent I got from pharmacy. Is all natural n can spray on infant too. Try that? I got bcos I bring bb out to beach n stick the tiger balm mosquito repellent sticker on the bb clothing but end up he got this big mos bite near his thumb so I feel it doesn't Wk.

Astro: wah super envy leh!!!! Go Europe for how long? Then who help u take care of ur babes?? Hmm I think it's a good chance to try for #3 n make a girl THAT don't look like ur miser leh! Lol!!! And I love the way u think! Email break apart or pm. Leave here no safe!

ting: going for 10 days.. i wanna go longer but i sabotaged my own leave plans.. how dumb.. haiz.
my helper and my mum. i wld get my sister tocome and supervise thigns.

sunny_ling: i readinga publicity leaflet from gug@mountbatten.. they hvae an internal toddler playzone! ha. ur elder's problem.. solved.

later i will upload into gug.. what they claim they have in gug@mountbatten. as well as the course details for the different classes.. so interested mummies can go google group take a look

I have received tts from the following ladies:
tien
Nlimm
Ginger
Esther
Candy_white
Ting
Sunny_ling
pigsy_sg
Jrrt (offset against my on orders)

correct or not? anyone tt to me but i missed ur name out?
will put indicate this on google group list also..

astro,
wah sound so great huh GUG? then i MUST sign up after already lor. seeing that it's in my "area". haha...

angelina,
congratulations! i think it's quite obvious when you said what you said already. hahaha... i didn't wanna say anything but all these girls here so excited for you already!

xoxo,
Dre is one tough babe. great to hear she took it all in her stride while mummy panicked. hehe... hopefully it heals really soon!

cat, astro,
sending you guys the my gym thing again. something is quite wrong with my email. i dunno what's going on. *faint*

gal^,
yah try NEA. but failing which, you can try getting Citronella oil to put in oil burner or air purifier. i also use the california bb citronella bugs repellent spray on the bb bjorn, or stroller or her bed. all natural remedy.

Gal: ya! The spray I buy is the same type as hippo. citronella bugs repellent spray that can even use on infants too de. U go chk it out and meanwhile call nea up k?

Astro: 10 days very good ler leh!!! So envy!!!

GUG sounds so good I m tempted to sign up too! Hahaha

astro : u missed me :p in the list of payees

NEA and bug spray.
Okay okay. I go call NEA first.
First thing tomorrow morning!
Thanks Ting, Hippo, Xoxo, Astro!

xoxo : was telling hb that the cut dre had.
adult plaster can fit her little finger? I need to go get a first aid kit :S now that our babes are mobile.

hope dre's cut heal soon.

gal: ops

ya. i received from you liao..

tien
Nlimm
Ginger
Esther
Candy_white
Ting
Sunny_ling
pigsy_sg
Jrrt (offset against my on orders)
gal

hippo: ya. saw the emails..

hippo: hahahah.. like that shugar will have a tough time deciding coz all will just upload everything.. she layout till hair hair chuan! :p
Going Hungary.. miser wants to go to these places. coz he sick and tired of me keep going back to more developed European countries. ha.

but stupid passport renewal not approved. they say blur image.. what the @#$$@$.. so have to put up one again.. else flights full.. dun have to go anywhere liao.. miser will kill me one!

LAST CALL FOR GUG@ Mountbatten trials

sending email to them tomorrow. if u wanna go or have to do swaps .. please go to google group and do direct changes hor..

shugar/glass: also please remember u need to pay BEFORE the end of AUG..

ok. i stop nagging :p

xoxo: dre is so brave! she never fails to amaze me every time!

astro: wah, so romantic to just go europe w hb! duno when is my turn! no lah, wont trouble u to lug the bags all the way. will probably just get something small in sg. gg to be jobless liao, dun see a need for another branded bag even though i haf been tinking abt it

haha, u r same as my sis. if can guarantee next one will be a gal, she will try. peng san to the max if all 3 r boys!

he is a true blue scrooge lah... always wana eat chix rice at the coffeeshop or economical rice at foodcourt, even on weekends! splurge on son? no lah, i tink it is a necessity since he is so timid n cant crawl.

didnt know GUG has nursery n kindergarten... me soo suaku! hee

astro > budapest is gorgeous!! i am sooooooo envious!! hehe..enjoy enjoy..it's "old", not so "developed" but heck, darn romantic!

ginger > i am not amazed in this case..i am actually thinking is there something wrong with her pain sensor? seriously!...

lydia > adult plaster can't fit of course. i'd to cut it into a tiny strip...can imagine i had tried to apply pressure to stop the bleeding, and while i was trying to cut the darn plaster, she went to dig into her wound..fresh round of bleeding!...plus i'd a hard time positioning the plaster. Thankfully i'd the sensitive plaster range. on hindsight, going to get more. when stuff like that happens, u really karang kabut. then was thinking, shld i be applying antiseptic etc etc..quick check was that NO ANTISEPTIC..cos she gums her fingers..and i had to go find a magnifying glass to check if there's any splinter...cos she sustained this by literally smashing the whiteboard with a plastic frame and pushing the cardboard pc out of the frame...(do i make sense here?)..so the whole thing got spliced agst her little digits, creating a gash with a little pc of skin flapping abt...that was how bad it seemed! drama mama morning! but she's OK now..no worries. thanks all for the kind wishes...but heads up now...time to really re-inspect "home safety" and also, to put plaster in our diaper bags..

ginger,
hahaha... glad that you take it in good humour. cos when we were @ little gym right, when Gerry said "now lift your child up and say HOORAY" i looked at you and hb and thot "wah lau" how they lift leh? heng my ikan bilis 8.1kg. hurhur. sorry ah, i know i a bit cruel. but you know i Ah Q mah. hehe... oh well, we'll see how the GUG class goes.

our forum is getting really lively! and i am very excited to meet some of the oldies here after sooooo long! wahahaha..even hippo..though we meet every week in class..but we are often so distracted by our own babes we hardly have a good time being friends and all! so *thumbs up*...

but do let me be the antsy one here about the coming gatherings and all...especially the gatherings that involve the babies..hope i cause no offence here but wish to ask that all of us cooperate when we have such gatherings. please ensure that you - your hb/mum/relative etc and the baby is in complete good health when you attend as a matter of responsibility to self and others...this is to ensure we don't pass on any germs esp with a flu bug going on and HFMD at an all-time high...and if you/hb/relative/bb is sick, rest is needed. as all of us can see, there are gatherings aplenty..so missing one or two is really not an issue at all ok? a simple heads-up to the organiser that u are not feeling well will be appreciated and taken with a good dose of understanding....ok lah, u gals get my drift...and i am sure we will all have a great time together soon!

sorry it's taken yet another "speech" to send this message..but i really think it's an important one.

Angelina: I like to hear good news! Is it what we have all been speculating? *Wink wink*

Xoxo: Hope Dre's fine now... Don't worry. And your advice on gathering etiquette is definitely welcomed.

Astro: GUG at Mountbatten seems so nice... I like those with outdoor play area... But so far! Btw, Im voting for Pic A!!

Hey mummies!

Xoxo: No worries. I am sure many of us second what you say. Actually this hfmd is really scary. So we just have to be vigilant and considerate.

PY
I thot u r hesistating abt project #2 seeing ur fb status these few days. LOL! It'll b year of rabbit next yr! I like coz my hb is one! But nah, my mum gave stopping orders 4 me & my sis - so no more babies else i hv 2 look aft them on my own!

Astro
Wan a girl gotta do calculations! I thot RN was supposedly a boy based on calculation (of coz i had planned for a girl but sthg went wrong!) n when gynae declared i'm expectg a girl, i refused to believe it! LOL!
I'll chose pix B!

Xoxolight
I cringed while reading ur post. dre is such a cool cucumber babe! And yes, i wld hv panicked too. Thk goodness u were still calm enuff 2 handle. Dre's a tough one & hope e lil one is fine nw.

re: ur lil speech. I'm sure all mummies agree wif wat u say n there's no harm in a gentle reminder. Esp wif e escalating hfmd cases! Cannot take for granted!

Ginger
I'd even peng san wif a 8kg RN, let alone u... And gosh, i'll def go in alone coz hb gotta b wif my elder one leh. Jia lat liao. :p

Btw anyone interested in this SSO Babies Prom concert.

Details: http://www.sso.org.sg/index.php?option=com_fwecalendar&task=showdetails&id=3801&Itemid=

I will be going so wondering if anyone will be interested to go as well. Can contact SSO for bulk purchase of tickets. But I forgot about the prices, left the brochure in office. Will let you know tml. I think it's $20/$25. Our bubs will go in free but we have to pay for the adults.

If anyone is 'friends of SSO' even better. That means can buy earlier. As for dates, I will be going for the 17 Nov (Hari Raya Haji hol) 10.30am or 18 Nov 10.30am (will probably take childcare leave for that)

Let me see the response then I see if I need to start a google file too.

astro: Pic A!

xoxo,
yah remember mummy rednose? i came home and started sniffling leh! wah lau! was quite upset actually. then i really felt like i was coming down with something couple days later. so i left work early, came home and slept like 3 hrs in the afternoon. luckily that nipped the bug in the bud. so it was good. *phew*

tien,
hahaha... so we see you what? fri, sun and mon? are you sure you won't OD from us? :p

Wah biang! Hippo, you sound so 'happy' to see me so many days lor hahahahha....And miss ah, what is OD? Me CMI when it comes to all these :p

Astro: I forgot to vote!! It's A

hippo > of course i remember mummy red nose. good thing u managed to nip things in the bud! that's what i meant..i don't want anyone of us to go home after a gathering with folks in the forum and be so dreading the onset of symptoms A-Z.

jRRt > haha, thanks..the cucumber was most annoying with her nit-picking! that was one occasion i wished she doesn't have that pincer grasp to peel the scab! :p

tien > i am going babies prom, for the nov 17 one, 12.30pm i think? 10.30am i cannot make it leh...ahem..

made in china toys > this is another issue that got my goat. can't believe it that the import of toys have no regulation/checks whatsoever! so..why should it be surprising that maybe SG is the dumping ground for toxic toys...and issue that has seen nearly 50% of MIC toys failing independent lab testing for phthalates and lead!

i can't believe it's taken CASE to do something abt it, and that MTI to say work-in-progress!?! at least the major retailers are trying to scurry and do what they can - abit too late if u ask me...a mummy's highly paranoid mind is having a blizzard of the countless times my little one has gummed on her super, highly colourful and malleable ball! blast this tai sing for saying it's none of their biz. i think the whole supply chain is at fault! hmm..thinking of putting up a petition to issue a moratorium for the sale of all MIC toys for the moment until they ascertain how widespread the prb is and certify the appropriate ones for sale; have the govt set up a relevant agency to deal with toy safety testing (like how all cosmetics used near the eyes and mouth have to pass HSA tests) regardless of whether the m'fr claims to have adhered to whatever international guidelines etc...

just freaking unbelievable that we (govt, retailers, parents) might have failed to protect our kids from a known source of harm.

in the meantime, really tired xoxo has ordered a batch of lead and phthalate testing kits to test all the toys at home. but that's hardly enuf cos the range available in these test kits cannot detect contaminant values below a certain range..argh..so what? don't play with toys?

xoxo: really gotta miss u on Mygym trial then coz my boy having his LNT class on sun from 12 to 1, so if continue mygym after that think u will be able to see one boy peng san while carrying out the activities in my gym. Haha.

Dre's really brave.. They are still young will recover very soon but still gotta take care..

And yes I also agree to ur gathering thingy. Coz my boy within 2 mths was down with virus infection, so now I'm really careful abt it.

Astro: yup.. Thank u..
will do the amendment tml in google.

esther: did it for u. no probz

is this the most updated list for rochester play house?
23rd Aug playdate @ Rochester Playhouse 3pm
1) Hippo
2) Cat
3) Tien
4) Esther
5) xoxo
6) glass
7) candy_white
8) Shugar

ok. i have sent my emails with regards to the rochester playhouse and indicate the list above. not sure what discounts they might be..

ditto for the gug trials..

shugar > what sorta toys are u thinking of? haha, it makes me wish i have a whole acre of woody trees and i have carpenter hands to go abt making good toys. anyway, side correction - i can only test for lead using these homekits..no solution for phthalates. i am calibrating my reaction as Dre - touch wood, don't show any issues, real or imagined. haiz. what to do? boycott MIC..

esther > thanks..Dre is fine now..just a scab to remind her and a plastered third finger.

astro, i vote pic A...

hippo, yea got your mail, thanks...

tien, interested in SSO babies prom...

angelina, congrats congrats. take care and plenty of rest...

xoxo, kudos on your reminder for the upcoming gatherings...

astro: i vote for B!

xoxo: dre is such a gungho bb lah.. i m sure she had just brushed the pain aside n explored the red liquid instead. nothing to worry abt

thanks for the timely reminder!

hippo: dun tink we did dat hooray tingy. i dun even rmber there was tis part.. haha.

its times like these i wish A was lighter coz i m nt carrying him much. i dun even know how to bath him now n left it all to the helper

jrrt: u r nt bringing ur son along meh? then just swop plc w hb for the last part?