(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

*chiang chiang chiang*
kuai lai kuai lai! go and register interest for rochester playhouse pls! i think tien and cat interested right? ASTRO, wah happy or not? your princess got 3 princesses accompanying leh!!! :p bwahahahaha...

cat
i think we're not 'linked' on FB yet! hahaha... i will go back & 'search' for u tonite!

hippo
u r so funnie! and i din know u can type chinese! always thot u v ang moh type! LOL!

Hippo & Sotong Swim School??? hmmm...
sounds like got seawater adventures!

jRRt: yea ok, "see you" tonight...

hippo: you so funny with the *chiang chian chiang kuai lai kuai lai"... hahaha...
yea interested in the playhouse playdate. confirm then i go apply leave liao. still got 8days ML to clear... :p

xoxo: i can't! i got class leh which starts at 2 pm sharp! :S
23 u cannot? please??? :S

haiz.. *sob*

me rushing some work. so can't chat long.. will reply the posts tonight..
before i go..

*paging for Funzee*

prepared or not? here's a LONNNNGGGG review of GUG for you! did this last time teng went to GUG trial with my other thread.. .. but not at 10 mths.. older..there were more add-on my my other thread frens. but for issues of confidentiality.. i only posting mine here

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

From Astro:

GUG -- how I feel

hmmm.. i quite like it.. and i really understand now why they can proudly proclaim and patent their zoo-phonics success. it is certainly very refreshing and shows evidence of planning in the creating of the zoo-phonic system..that to me.. was the highlight, and by far the most impressive part, for the day..

First half of lesson
- small wonder audrey's son has superior pronunciation compared to kids their age. and again small wonder GUG can so yaya-ly say their zoo phonics is that good.. coz they really repeat it again and again for the first half of the lesson! and i must say they did it well. Though some animals they chose to represent the animals a bit unconmoon for our babies.. like Yak for Y, ..and irish worm (??) for I.. ehh. can't remember.. but still good attempt to increase vocabulary for our bbs lah.

thouugh the primary approach here is using flash cards.. but they brought it one level higher.. to include ryhmes, emphasis (on starting letters and sounds), animal association and matching/identification of animals on the wall by bbs.. was there some actions ah? ya. i think have right? i recalled the action for the elephant.. ya.. have actions.. so aside from just flashing the cards and that is.. they killed 4 birds with one stone! in one activity!! wah,.. impressed. ..:p

- first 15 mins used to explore the toys they have.. ehh. nothing much there.. maybe is just to wait for all to come.. and settle down. but maybe because we all very familiar with one another. i felt the environment was very conducive.. and indeed they have their house rules set and implemented very clearly. heehee.. poor daddies/mummies not in the room can only peep from a narrow glass slit .. haha

- movement and gross motor was a bit lacking.. maybe their emphasis was not that.. so only have tunnel play.. and teaching the mummies the creative use of tunnels vertically (playing peek-a-boo, never thought of that.. hahaha. not bad lah. quite creative).. and of course crawling thru it.. then allow bbs to crawl or play peek-a-boo. quite similar to gymboree PLAY classes.. nothing much there...

- reading of boardbook. i was distracted by teng.. and i really never pay attnetion to that. can't remember the story.. and draw any possible assoications.. hmm. but was good try.. need to teach our bbs to sit thru story telling.. will be useful when they go higher up.. kindergarten or nusery.. sure have this kind of storytelling. in primary school.. they stilldo that? i not sure.. but not bad training..

- numeracy, teaching bbs to count.. with an activity. i forgot liao.. coz i was busy prising teng's pudgy fingers open to count.. !! again a lot of repetition.. haha.. but good lah..got some banging of mat, wave byebye, what else? forgot.. but i think all these included to develop the coordination of our bbs..

- then intro the animal of the day.. i was like wondering how come introduce gorilla? .. SO that was the letter of the day , 'G'. .so Gregro the Gorilla..the peeling of the banana (grrrr..) [but how come peeling of banana will get grrrr sound ah?:p], Green flavouring.. (and when cornflour mixed with green solution)--> Goo.. wah. not bad. again empahsis and repetittion.

- then exprimential play using the green solution and cornflour.. i like it a lot . it introduced physic.. (but still tied to 'G' theme for the day).. powdery cornflour, diffusion of green colouring in water (showing to the bbs, teng was STARING at the water turn colour.. i think all bbs were staring at it?:p) , green solution, then goo (cornflour mixture.. -- did they choose cornflour for a purpose? to produce the gluey goo? coz corn flour can do that.. other flour not as gluey goo?).. then let the bbs play. as thought it was VERY messy. they still inisit on letting the bbs do that.. i think it is good attempt. coz many educators/orgs often shy from implementating things which are too messy.. i think teng was fascinated with the cornflour mixture.. Rae and YT both 'no manners liao'.. haha. keep splashing me the mixture.. teng like boss. (star commented). dipped one pudgy hand test test onli.. then SUCK! so. he was the only bb who tasted the cornflour! haha. taste.. another lesson which he learned.. whahahaa. but he very cute with the cornflour stains around his mouth. i think YT wanted to bathe in it liao!!! right mejo??.. whahaha..

second half of lesson
mood spoilt by the bimbo..

but nonetheless.. quite fun..
star pointed out got live music accompaint. not pre-recorded..not bad.. but the action and stuff very similar to kindermusik lah..

ceiling got dangling stars. teng kept wanting to pluck them down.. and keep lifting his head to see them..huge mirror to reflect.. let bbs see their reflections..--good stimulation..

quality of faciilatators
i think they were relatively enthu without sounding fake.. def very well rehearsed.. and also firm.. had to tell the mummies to show good examples .. and focus on the teachers.. :p.. aiya. we all so naughty. SQ will scold us, never pay attention to teachers.. hhaaa.. so in a way, they were not afraid to be firm to deliver the lesson. i find that commendable. they could also control the class well. and appeared composed.. quite good..
we had teacher fairuz (she has ABRSM theory and is the head of music) to play the keyboard for us.. the other teacher has also a cert in preschool education.. so there was quality in the faciliators..

all in all. i like the class. i find that it is very coherent.. and def. very strong evidence in planning and the thought behind the design of the curriculum.. the deans.. (with their masters in education) reallhy know the pysche of pre-schoolers to involve so much repeition.. i had reservations abt the 1.5 hour. i thought it was too long iniatially but was actually quite fast paced. teng despite badly deprived of sleep did enjoy himself and didn't have time to fuss..too much.. :p and i think almost all the bbs had their eyes glued to gregro the gorilla when he made his appearance..
think GUG is not bad..

my two cents worth <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

cat: i dunno leh. it seems lukewarm :S

jrrt: if i din read gal's comments wrongly, i tink she is available on 10 sep. we just try to make it happen can? cant wait to see how much RN has changed! anyway i try to catch gal &amp; nlimm on msn tonite to confirm again.

hippo: dumb me din suspect anything until jrrt mentioned u sms her abt the class tmr... lol. yay! can meet pretty min! n yes.... i thot u v ang moh pai, gg by ur powerful english. din noe ur chinese oso sak sak! anyway, u haf made me all excited abt tmr's class, all over again!

astro > I date you on Tues if you are available - for the zoo!! Dependent on weather though...haha

Rochester Play Date on 23 Aug, 3-6pm > Tentatively I look OK too! Hahahaha...am dreaming of the cupcakes already! LOL...Astro..u researched? How, 4 or more families they can open up the space for "free" to "trial"?????!?!??!? Erm..one snag, don't hope to spend 3hrs there..more like 2hrs - 1hr play (paid) and 1hr makan. Leave the area by 5pm or get stuck in an impossible jam be it AYE or PIE... :p

YAY Hippo! 20th DIM SUM and 23rd Rochester. No meeting nonsense at the moment and also my sec 4s having prelims around this time. It's supposed to be my marknig season hahahah...

Hmm no carseat shld be ok. You drive slow slow lor...hahah...

Jrrt: Hahah Hippo sound and look ang moh...she is cheena at heart! Muahahahha....her hokkien, chinese powerful one!

Hippo &amp; Sotong Swim School> this will be a winner LOL!!!

10 Sep > Got anyone celebrating birthday on that day?? If not, should be ok...*booked*

jRRt > yeah, i always feel those with kids above age 5....have it easier. our, or rather, my parenting curve now is super steep. everyday got new headaches!

one last post before i locked myself up to do my post..

i am sorry to disappoint you ladies liao :S
the playhouse deal.. to me .. make no diff. cause i asked.. if it is the whole place to ourselves..theysaid no.. they will still allow walk in.. like that..what the difference if we go on our own and just let fate 'decide the condition of play ' that day right? ..hence i didnt ask any further liao. coz weekends crowded.. and with so many of us thre and they still allow walk in. then i cannot imagine..

weekday.. no diff in cost.. coz they still charge by thehours.. and still not the whole place to ourseleves..

:S

tien > bring your papers down, we help you mark. 6 mummies..sap sap sui in 30mins...everyone A1! then u can conc on playing with us, erm, the babies... wahahahaha...my car is available if u need it! Ahmad included!

astro > huh? u mean Dim Sum Dollies, erm Mummies..on the 23rd? Then rush home and fetch the little fellas and go down again to Rochester??? wahh..challenging! how other mummies? I am ok if u are ok...

jRRt > but of course! Hippo's cheena is super powerful! don't play play... :p

haiz.. astro grouchy. coz rochester can't work out. she can't join on 20th.. 10 sept.. can't join coz going overseas with miser..

oh well...

xoxo: no rochester on 23rd la.doesn't make sense what they telling me..very silly concept .. we tell them.. so that 'they book a space for us'.. space? they defined as outside the caffe.. the room upstairs.. not the first level wor..
very dumb leh this kind of gimmick :S

Jrrt, ginger,
the big bad hippo is funniest when she is boted out of her brains. Hippo is v v v cheena one. Cos im married to chinese high/hwa chong helicopter! Hahaha... Of course my hokkien even more power! Especially when lao niang is pissed off! Haha... Dre n Reagan must hve gotten bad tai jiao oredy cos sotong n xoxo heard it all! Hahaha

Astro,
alamak MC lah! Later u go into class n "today i wanna teach u all abt HAR KOW n SIEW MAIs.... Bwahahaha. Hippo has come alive! TGIF yo!

Hmmm... or 23rd just dum sum dollies?

10 Sept Hb want to organise a pinic cum kite flying with his colleagues @ Marina Barrage so, ta boleh! Sigh...Or I can also do the same place and same time for Oct mummies too! Muahahahah....at least I am more entertained by you all!! IDEA HOR!

Astro: If Rochester doesn't work out we find other places lor. Dun be grouchy lah...23rd still on...just dunno do what only nia!

Xoxo: Muacks to you for the wonderful service offered! Poor Ahmad has to pick up 2 zillas!

Hi hi, I read some happening things here... Can I join?

Dim Sum for Mummies: It's a good break away from our babies for a while. I should be ok. By when must I confirm?

Playhouse @ Rochester: Confirm ok! I make sure C sleeps more before going there.

annlim: Nearest mrt stn is bouna vista but long walk to rochester... If u going and really want walk there, I can mit u at the mrt stn but subject to weather condition. Or we can take cab in frm stn.

jrrt/gal: 10 Sept Im free too... usually free on Mon and Fri. Can date me on this date too.

Tien: I can help you mark too... My standard still ok la hor... LOL

Alemak blur me! Forgot my lunchtime not the normal office type! Anyway if 20august, thunk the earliest I can reach is 1.15pm if 23rd, earliest I can reach is 2.15pm.

Anyway I'm home now! Going go snore my Afternoon away cos this stupid migraine has been bugging me the whole day! Will pop in later.

Dim sum dollies????!!!!! ROFL!

Astro
ur review of GUG sounds so much like Julia Gabriels! yeah 1.5 hrs seemed long to me too. When i signed my elder one for JG, it was 2 hrs, i think or was it 1.5 hrs? Cant rem... me &amp; hub took turns to go in. wah liew... to stay in there thru'out wld hv broken my bones! cant tahan!

ginger
yep, i vaguely rem lydia mentioning 10 sep! its a PH!
RN ah? din chg much... she looks abit meatier in pix but dun let the pix fool u! she's super active &amp; cannot keep still... but yet when we had the playdate 2 wks ago @ Royce, she machiam so shy and stuck close to me. refused to join her other frens in the ball pit... hope she gets better as we do more of such playdates.

Tien/Hippo
wah ur hokkien oso powderful?! heee... ahem! me too!!! hahahaha... somehow i was hoping my kids wld at least pick up some dialects fr home... kept asking my mum &amp; MIL to speak dialects to the kiddos but they cant switch! its usually mandarin peppered with lousy engrish! switch on the lights is "open the lights" to them or "open the tap"... *faint*

xoxolight
actually for me, i think once my son turns 3, things got easier.
tts y i wld rather take care of him anytime as compared to RN. i am waiting for RN to turn 3 and hopefully life gets easier... i cant wait to boot them both out of our room!

Tien
hahaha, grading them all F9 easier?! LOL!
Wah ur hub so onz! Organise picnic cum kite flying!
its a nice place and i've only been there once... anythings for the babies? else they all end up "eating grass".... i mean mine will surely do tt! She loves to lick things on the floor now! BTH!

Can sense all of ur TGIF happy mood now!!!

Astro the Guru : Heh... Need your expertise... Teng was in kindermusik's Village? How many semesters did he attend? I m thinking should I just let C continue for another semester or many more? I quite like their programme and most importantly, hubby likes it too! Or should I just enrol her in GUG... its waiting list for trial class is super long lor... Is it better to enrol after bb turned 18 months when they should be able to do more things on their own? And... which programme to sign up huh? The twice weekday regular classes / once weekly enrichment programmes on weekends? There are so many courses in the market really dunno what to take....

Little gym: Prefer to go to the one at marina sq but timing not so suitable for weekends leh....

astro > don't feel that disappointed..they are running a biz afterall. actually, we can have the room upstairs to ourselves and bring along some toys from downstairs! take it easy! 3pm as a timing..i have my reservations. the last time i went there - 2pm - HEAVENLY! only me and yvonne plus her sister! hardly a soul. the angmoh fellas start to come in at 3-4pm..but three should still be quite alright!...only thing now is..the cleanliness..!

alternatives: if the weather is great, the zoo is a good place. i read many babies are pointing here and there...but the zoo hor...we are in for a workout...second alternative, the safra place? third option - gymboree at harbourfront? we go there for freeplay? dim sum mini-session at the new crystal jade place..? or big bosses?

nlimm > rochester isn't too far from your place!

Tien
Happy Snoozing!
Wished I can do tt!

xoxolight
wah gg to the zoo is a challenge! When i went there on mon, i din even wanna consider bringing RN! there r nursing rooms but the weather is a killer! Moreover both our daughters dun wanna b strapped down to the stroller so no way will i Bring her to the zoo! Not for the next 1 yr at least!
Is cleanliness really an issue at Rochester? i am so keen to go there...

tien > no problemo..if we run out of "locations"..maybe your hse! wahahaha...cos got alot of toys! *siam*..in this case, adjust timing for yr benefit...start lunch at 1:30pm..

candy_white > Of course can lah! I haven't seen Charlotte for awhile! just rem that the mummy also very pretty! wahaha...confirm as soon as u can...preferably 3 days before event cos these atas plcs got alot of atas takers..always full!

jRRt > yeah, rochester cleanliness is IFFY..ask Astro! I was there with her and we were..erm..being Maria! sweeping away dead leaves..their no-socks policy is terrible!

wah tts really bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u feedback to the staff?! terrible!
isnt it air-conditioned? how on earth the dead leaves got there? the tods brot them in?!!!

jRRt > yep..the parents' and bubs' feet...god knows! just dirty that day. yucks! but the first trip i went - it was pristine. so the jury's out on this aspect..

wahhh...fast as usual..

Dates:

23rd Aug is it to Rochester Playhouse?
What is the charge?:p
Time?

10Sept:this is a friday , Hari Raya.
Tien im onz for marina barrage.Infact i brought M there with his tricycle 1-2wks ago n play with the fountain water, he loves it but not long coz we went un prepare,scare he catch cold.
Was thinking of suggesting potluck or mini pinic there.
Over there now alot of ppl fly kites[new in thing in sg i guess, suddenly most green pasture will see ppl fly kites.Abit dangerous coz some of their string comes low, and this adult just pull not knowing if tangle with anyones things or ppl nearby[this is what i encounter] but can still picnic haha at one of the very end.Anyone onz for this?
Tien what time u gog?

jrrt/gal/ candywhite: 10sept is out with bb or only mommies?abit lost , too many posts. And tt dim sum thingy is when?

kinda get bit n pieces here n there.
Wanna join all but need arrange n haha do my calculation:p

20th Sept:Dim Dum Dollies?Where this?charges?

23rd Sept: Rochester Playhouse 3-6pm. Charges?

10Sept: Marina Barrage- Onz

GUG:
Candywhite im keen for this, u went for the trial aldy?

JG:
Im keen for this as well, but xoxo feedback not too bad leh.anyone else tried b4?

helo ladies
Yeah I mentioned 10th. Just fyi. dun share out..ahaha though this forum is public. I am available on 6,7,9, 10(PH).
9th my nanny take leave so I will be with bb whole day. Any playdate on 9th too :p or any of those dates :p then i arrange arrange.

I want to say, I love u gals :p
I had a horrible ending to my frightday
sigh. Make me so gloomy. My colleague told me today friday + 13th + 7th mth. After I left opis to get out from the negative aura, read the forum..I think I am 'recovering'.

JG and GUG : I'm keen . When you all going? Is now a good time to bring our bb at this age i mean?

10sept = Marine Barrage. Yes on too! You all go what time huh? Is there like aircon cafe near there to hide if it gets too hot? My boy can melt very fast one :p

Cat: thxthx
u gog?

Gal: come let me give u a big hug ^-^ 10th sept u on too? Great hope there not too crowded. There's cafe n restaurant there. But haha I'm looking at ard4-7pm ,3pm still hot hot wo all my heat rashes will pop pop pop again n both my darlings will melt as well( we Singaporean like very pampered hor jialat if there's war how to rely on our boi in future:p)

all: who else going on 10th sept?

Tien: haha I gather ppl for u:p

hippo: oops hehe bu hao yi shi:p

Oh tts $6/HR not ex cheap
is there alot toys for our bbies?1st playgp free tts even better.
Astro , hippo, Candywhite &amp; who else gog? I'm keen too
need arrange w mummy. How many adult per bb allowed?

ladies doing Bugs class tomorrow. after that dinner on? heh. i know a bit early lah.. but bao &amp; bally has their dinner at 5pm. :p

anyway,, i am planning to go Tonkitsu (dunno spelling) at shaw centre . Teng loves their udon and i love their shashimi chirashi :p.. nice place.. so anyone who is on.. please just come and we have a nice dinner together..

Let's meet at 410pm outside Little Gym if you are keen to join me.

going out. pop back later..

Yo mummies! Finally Said bye bye go migraine for today!

Xoxo: thanks for adjusting the time for me'! I can't wait to go yanting! Read abt it and apparently it's the best in town! Yum yum!

Haha *stone coming your way* u better *Siam*! Actually hor, honestly, if the number not very big and my mum ok, 23rd at my place shld be ok! Once I move into my new place sure ok! Hahaha.. That's coming soon!!! Maybe after all the bubs turn
one! Anyway if really cannot decide on venue, let me' know, I ask my mum.

Actually me' been wanting to go gymboree freeplay. Supposed to join astro many weeks ago but somehow couldn't. Heard the harbourfront one is deserted on weekdays. Shall we?

Nllim: I'll need to Cfm again for 10th sept. If my hb colleagues all ok with it then I organize hahahah...honestly lah, Kay is also quite a polar bear and her mummy has this long drawn animosity agst the sun. If not for his outing, I won't go hee...so hor... If his plan is on then I will org picnic, if his plan not on, we go somewhere else with Aircon? Hahahahha.. I very Ma fan hor!

Astro: I love to tonkichi! But after the class I got to report to the west for IL's turn to play with Kay. So cannot join sigh...

gal: u on long leave har? y dun u take 8th as well? hee

10 sep: i m ok anywhere although A n i break out in rashes too, if too hot

tien: u joining the class tmr too? yay! :D

astro: if A dun get cranky n cry during class, we will join u guys for dinner

astro,
sorry cant. we go straight home. cos Min needs to take her bath and settle for dinner. at 5-ish. so we zoom home after.

who's got that last slot? was it funzee? wah... i'm quite blur already myself. btw, its 3.20pm tomorrow yah?

Wah mommies! So happening!

20th aug: lunch at yanting (is it at orchard there? Haha sorry lazy to google)
Is it still on? I can make it!! Join u gals for lunch to chat chat chat! Pls let me know time! Or date if change date. I add my name to below but which is the cfm list?

1) Astro > It's not TUES! *SOB* Can??? Vote of majority..I happen to
be OK on the 20th...plus Hippo, Tien....
2) Hippo
3) Sotong_Mum (Under the Bo Bian Act! - if u can sneak away during
lunch time with a little "extension", I think I can pick u up and
whisk you away!)
4) Tien
5) Xoxo
6) ting

Tien: I hate migraine .hope dun come back for u anymore. I will get it when too bright n hot haha.

Kd mummy/mummies gog: where is this yanting?Tt dim sum dollies? Aiyo I think y not organiser creates events at facebk like wat astro did hehe easier :p

for the benefit of those who didn't scroll through the archive...

Dim Sum Mummies @ Yan Ting, St Regis
Date: 20 August 2010, Friday
Time: 12:30 ~ 2pm
** Will have to make reservations so barring overwhelming popularity, should be OK. Restaurant closes at 3:30pm
** Standard Chart cards 15% off..woohoo!!
** Babies and Male Spouses not allowed :p
** Apologies to Muslim mummies who are fasting and the non-halal nature of this activity...next round, we will choose Carousel or something after the month of Ramadan is over...! Hope to see you gals around! :D

1) Astro > It's not TUES! *SOB* Can??? Vote of majority..I happen to be OK on the 20th...plus Hippo, Tien....
2) Hippo
3) Sotong_Mum (Under the Bo Bian Act! - if u can sneak away during lunch time with a little "extension", I think I can pick u up and whisk you away!)
4) Tien
5) Xoxo
6) Ting

Xoxo: Haha.... I take that as a compliment... ;p Let mi find out if I can be out at that timing on 20Aug since I nid to "deposit" C somewhere first... Otherwise we mit on 23 Aug ok?

nnlim: Yan Ting is @ St Regis hotel... Quote xoxo... Atas place! But nice dim sum.
I haven't gone for GUG trial yet... Which GUG programme are you looking at?

Yes hippo! I'm a hardworking and Sickly 虫 at work! Hahaha... Somehow migraine attacks me' pretty often these days. Cos I hv been pretty irritated by some colleagues!

And so u are the secretive attendee for tml's session!

Ginger: yep yep! I'll see u tml at little gym! Can't wait to meet up with u again and see lil A!

Nlimm: ya I get migraine when it's too hot! So these few days have been hellish for me. Another reason is also be is Kay decided to be notti and woke up at 12.30am to play last nite. Think she only managed to sleep at 2+am. So lack of sleep also gives me' migraine. I hope she won't pull off the same stunt again tonight. She slept around the same time as last nite.

would you ladies be keen in a GUG trial ah?
just for us.. i remembered doing that for my other thread for teng last time..

Let me know call up and ask first for the details.

I tink most of us would prefer weekends?
might be Parent and Babe class (8 to 18mths)
http://www.gugifted.com/articlesgrp/11/GUG_Programme_Schedule_v2.pdf

anyhow, let's idicate our preference first lah..
1. Astro (sat - 930 - 11am)

tired. going to sleep.. yak tomorrow!