(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Re: Lochia discharge
Mine was actually clearing up after a month. But after my post natal massage last week, it came back again and seems more
wonder why...

Dreamygal,
I keep singing over the rainbow to my elder gal when I preggy with my boy... but he not reacting to the song LOLL. Will try again.

Just now he screamed when he woke up. I couldn't stop his cries no matter how I craddled him. CL took over and he was quiet and fell asleep. Stress ahr... don't know how to cope when CL goes home even tho I'm 2nd time mummy.

mymelody,
I'm at a lost too, even tho my elder gal is like that. My elder gal is a cry baby. Little bit she cry. She just cried loudly just because her diaper was so wet her bodysuit was wet. (aiyoh)... don't know how.

for my boy, I don't want to buy the "sarong" to rock him lah... don't want him to get used to it. Prefer him to sleep in cot.

Must find ways to coax him to sleep. I let you know if I find anything that works.

PY: can understand your predicament. Actually I'm already going through a bit of depression cos of this. It's just me n baby sometimes. My CL is the quiet type and I'm the hyperactive person so, it does get me down that I hv to feed the lil milk monster but she is real cute lah. Sometimes after latching on one side n quite happy she will smile n look at you. But cos I went thro csec carrying her is quite a chore.

Jrrt: I tried cup feeding it's not easy. You need to entice the bb to stick out to tongue to 'sip' prefers spoonfeeding. Anyway I already let my CL bottle feed EBM at nite.I will wake up in the middle of the nite to pump. Simple too tired to latch her on. Would rather spend the first 5-10 mins of her first latch in the morning battling with her nipple-teat
confusion than to go through the 1-2. Hr of feeding in the middle of the nite. Dun want to stress everyone up esp when
hubby needs to rest to go to work early next morning.

Gal: my girl is only cute when she is well fed n happy haha.. When she cries sigh stress everyone!!!

Mymelody: the LC I engaged recommended that we feed on demand from 6am to midnight and soon a cycle will automatically estabilshed. Waking up hour is a sign that she is not fed enough. So mus be super clear after each feed that she has had enough. Do not assume that she has had enough when she falls asleep. Regarding cot, think she might have gotten used to the habit of being carried by people right from the start. So my CL suggested that only carry baby from cot to sayang only when the cries get really bad. Meaning must be hard hearted.

Py,

I also thinking of full bottle with EBM cos everytime latch him he hungry so fast duno y. But I still try to latch 2-3 times per day. Cos I discover that latch him will softeren my breast faster than pump. Duno y after pump my lump still there and usually latch it go off faster.

ewe, I also don't want to use the sarong as it is very troublesome. we used the sarong for my 1st one and during nap times he can't sleep outside as he needed the sarong. so very dependent on it which I don't want.

Tien, she is okie during the day, 2-3 hrs interval for the feed but night time is the hourly feed. she has wet diapers and she poos leh. If don't carry her from the cot hor she will cry super super loud leh and they say if cry too long will have wind. dilema leh.

I have problem with my baby during afternoon also. He want to be carry and sleep in the afternoon if put him sleep at the cot he will cry and carry he will sleep soundly. Lunch at night got no such problem if not I shag. I thking if this go on I will take out the sarong and put him in cos got no time to carry him everyday.

dreamygal : i tried singing twinkle twinkle lil star (what we sing every night at 10pm when he was in womb) but...no effect le

ewe : haha.. my boy poo a little teeny weeny bit (think the poop came out with fart) cry... my mom say he super clean..dirty a bit kenot take it :p

tien : how we know 'super clear' that the baby is fed enough? i tried tickle ear, tickle feet, tickle chin but he zzz..then later he will wake up again to feed.

gal: when my baby continues to open his mouth and do the suckling action, it means he's still hungry, and yes, he falls asleep while feeding, and will wake up once i put him back in the cot.

now my baby is 4.2kg. i find he's getting quite heavy for me to carry. and he's not even one month. how to tahan? my cl keeps carrying him. i think i will have problem soon.

Mummies how about unswaddling the baby when they get sleepy. Apparently swaddled babies are more sleepy. Sometimes I just unwwaddle her and she gets to stretch and she will wake up.

Gal: I dun think we can be very clear that the baby is full. For example, today my 2pm feed to 3.30pm feed involves 10 mins of sucking, 5 mins of poo poo n changing of nappy then 10 mins feeding followed by 15 mins of playing and finally fed her till she slept. And she slept soundly for 3 hrs. Now I just finished 10 mins of feeding cos she fell asleep. So now let CL wash her up. After that will continue play till she wants to feed. Hopefully that will make her sleep till 10 plus.

PY,

I got squeeze the lump leh but stil cant totally go off. I remember when having my first boy dun have such problem.

Anyway I got my MIl to cook for me papaya soup also hope to increase my milk. If not my supply cant meet his demand. Sometime he can drink up to 120ml. Especially at night he will drink at least 100ml and last for 3hr+.

Hi mummies, can share how to cook the papaya soup to increase milk? Hai.... my supply for the first week is 60ml then yesterday i pump got 100ml but today suddenly drop till 40ml and cos of this cannot meet the demand my bb wan he nw drinking 70ml.

glass : hee.. mine a bit jialat. he open his mouth for most stuff :p even if he is not hungry and just want comfort. maybe he knows that by opening his mouth it means i will carry him close n let him suckle.

blessedcyn:
Hospital bag -
Which hospital r u delivering in? At Mt A, we hv to bring a set of baby clothes, discharge clothing for yourself. I also packed maternity pads, breast pads,disposable panties,nursing bra, towel and toiletries.

Blurmummy:

Found the recipe while surfing, u can try it out...

Fish and Papaya Soup
by The Asian Parent
Filed under Confinement, Confinement Recipes

Green Papaya
Fish and papaya soup is a great confinement recipe that enhances milk production in postnatal mums. Even our very own superstar Zoe Tay swears by it!

Fish and Papaya Soup Recipe

What You Need

300 Grams Unriped Green Papaya

1 big fish head (choose from carp, snakehead sea beam, pomfret, kurau or threadfin)

8 red dates

20 wolfberries

3 slices of ginger (grounded)

1.5 L of water

Salt to taste

What You Do

Peel and cut papaya into big pieces.

Heat oil in a large pot and brown the fish head on each side.

Add all the ingredients and bring to a boil.

Simmer for four to eight hours.

Sieve and serve soup hot

http://sg.******************/articles/fish_and_papaya_confinement_soup_recipe

tien: i see yu xi's photos. and her BIG BIG eyes.. i lagi more blue! coz this time round.. Mr Rayan didn't get my big eyes! :S.. he got slits from his Father.. Chiam..

Presenting Rayan!

3167451.jpg

Hmm.. not very ham hor?! looks like Miser mah.. *haiz*.. somemore.. miser took his photo when his hair SO messy!

'Little Princesses, pls dun run away.. my character is better than my looks.. hmm. i throw in my better looking Bro (but he is a terror) for free??'

Astro: Congrats again!!!

I'm still around, went for gynae check today and no action yet...looks like will get a Nov baby... i really want an Oct baby...sigh...

My girl from 2.6kg last fri, suddenly grew to 3.1kg, the 500g I put on, she sucked it up..."my vacuum cleaner"... hehe

Congrats again Astro! Finally, your baby is here!

JRRT>> hope can lose more weight in the next 2 mths, then think about toning. As of now, tummy is like a deflated tyre. :p

Tien>> Your girl looks lovely.

Annette>> Same here, hard to capture a nice pic with his eyes open. When his eyes open, it's either I didnt think of taking pics or the camera is not with me. But definitely nice to see our babies smiling. Guess it's an assurance to us that they feel comfortable and satisfied.

will share birth story again time.. just finish latching the sleepyhead.. hmmm. concerned he is SO sleepy.. too sleepy for my liking. going to talk to PD tomorrow before discharging..

evelope shd have delivered?

Angie: best of luck!

will turn in for the night.. night ladies..

thanks all for the well wishes

posting this.. and going to sleep liao.. night all :p
------------
was having a cold. but thought cold will take a week to recover.. so might was well do it now.. was worrying about all the possible things that could go wrong.. cord wrapped ruond neck ah.. meconium in womb ah.. then very leiceh to do fetal mvt count :)P)..

then since gynae said 'highly induceable' (cos cervix already very thin and already 2-3cm dilated).. so just do it, nike style lor.
what more hips breaking liao wor..

--------------------
went for induction at 8am plus.. 9am plus drip and such all ready

sat there wait for contractions. felt manageable..

then 12 noon, started having great pressure.. started gripping miser.. remembered telling him i dun like his cologne. asked him next time dun weat it.. miser said he go shower then. i told him. no! stay!.. haven't start screaming yet.. beared with the pain. but asked miser to go and find gynae..

Gynae came in. did Vaginal exam.. said ..'good.. 5cm. cervix all thinned out.. very soon.. let me help u'..then she meddled meddled and sretched stretched while having contractions! OUCH!!!

then a few minutes later.. gynae said 'ok. she's going to give birth within the next half hour. to the birth room'.. i was like ..wah. so fast?! good!!! and a bit stunned..

never mind. wheeled into birth room.. gynae dunno disaapear where liao. told to push by the midwife.. tried.. and tried.. but was screaming more than pushing. hahaha. i was pushing mah. they said i was pushing on the throat.. and screaming more than i push. haiz..

then gynae came in liao and commented 'i heard a lot of pushing on the throat outside'.. ha.. so kind of her..directed me.. for another 10 minutes.. said good.. good coming..

bluffed me one. head not yet crown.. coming?!
duh.. they think i stupid :S

anyway.. then i remembered i can ask for gas. took a few whiffs at the useless gas and threw it away..i remembered still having the clarity of thought to remember that it was too late to ask for epi liao. so dumb of me.. haiz.. then started 'pushing on throat again'.. gynae kept saying.. 'somemore.. somemore. push down, close mouth, dun scream, conserve energy.. push like constipation like that'..
(honestly dr Chua, constipation is easier than pushing leh.. this pushing thingy machiam needs certification to be able to do it leh! wah liew)..

then 10 minutes later.. i was practically just screaming liao.. giving up :S..kept saying 'could u do something? could u do soemthing???'

pain is actually bearable if they leave me alone.. but they like to push my legs against me so that i can push. wah liew.. that one very painful.. then i told gynae.. i want the vaccum..

the following conversation took place:
Gyane : huh? silly leh u.. can do it urself liao.. want vaccum??

Me: yes.. yes. just get him out

Gynae: u sure? try pushing again? try..(then she instructed the two midwives to push against my tummy as i pusehed) [ i dun feel any diff lor!]

Me: give the vaccum, just get him out!

Gynae: ok. will take only 2 minutes then

Me: ya. i know.. hence i asked! like last time!

Gynae laughs and said.. 'she's so funny'.. (wah liew)

then two more half hearted pushes as gynae vaccumed rayan out..

I looked at rayan and stuck my tongue at him. :S

then delivered placenta.. gynae said 'wah. what a large placenta.. u want to see?'
i said, ' not interested' :S

then gynae switching .. i had a natural tear.. not too bad... she said i 'improved' a lot as compared to drugged out under epi last time.. i paused and asked her. u deliveerd all ur 5 like this? .. she replied ' ya i used epi after the 2nd and pushed all of them out'.. i told her 'u are smart to use epi'.. :S

so there u go.. my birth story lor..
lucky it was quite fast.. :S

ha! i also never thought i cld scream one.. meaning it is not me to even shuot at pple. dun say lose control to scream.. hahahaha
(on hind sight. i must have watch too many documentaries .. u know those ang mos.. they always scream scream scream.. then bbs come out liao mah. so i 'copied' them :S)

and not latching very well also.. realised the non-parent craft nureses at TMC aldo dunno how to latch properly! had that ah-ha moment how come i can get creacked nipples while in hospital too (last time and this time) when it was the nurses who did all the latching for me! now i know why liao.. tomorrow then post.. painful. haiz. i try lah. try.. maybe arrange doris fook to home visit by fri liao.. then nurse just now said yu he already looked a bit yellow. wah liew.. an di thought he will be cleared of juandice.. coz PD keeps stressing heis very healthy and no juandice.. chey..

tired liao. tried to altch rayan. hmm. having concerns he is sooo sleepy and difficult to rouse leh :S.. he has a stuffy nose. most likely i passed it to him.. but i worry about his sleepiness. he never demands to be fed!.. teng was SO different.. he creied the whole nursery down. and the nurses kept wheeling him in.. and told me 'you have a very hungry bb!'.. now i am beginning to conclude.. appetite can be seen from day 1?! :S

.. tomorrow when pd come.. got to ask him if there's a need to be concerned..

sleeping. night all ladies..the bed next to me is empty now. wonder if envelope will be wheeled in? hahahah..

oh ya. remembered telling miser after in the birth room.. still drained.. and shivering massively from the loss of blood..

' u know the oct mums like to share birth stories.. mine wld be v simple.. 11 am -scream, 12 noon- scream.. 1238 sceam- bb out'.. miser laughed.. i also laughed.. then very painful to laugh. whahhahah :p

okok. night

Astro,
congrats agn!!! No epi heroine. Pei fu pei fu. N so short labour somemore.

PY,
of course not in public lah. Everytime i fed her cos got room to nurse mah. PD had dedicated room for nursing, same for gynae n hospital lor.

astro,

congrats. my #3 oso never requested to b fed when she was in TMC. she can z for 6-8 hrs without being fed! but come back home hehe every 2-3 hrs? wat a great difference! so, dun wori abt rayan not drinking milk
rest as much as u can. weekends coming and more "unannounced" visitors will visit u, be it in hospital or home.

i m going to have the full mth celebration this sat n sun. going to b a siong 2 days event and on sat, my CL going home liao! ie, i m left with the event + 3 kids to look aft? wat a mess i got myself into haha

Morning gals.

Astro congrat!!!!!

I am also having my full month celebration this Sunday afternoon and night. Afternoon for friends and night for relative. Must be damn tired.

Astro: yOU ARE BACK!! Your birth story is great!! Can imagine the screams and the laughs in the delivery room hahah...but your labour darn short lor! Jealous! If only mine was like that too...

My Yuxi's eyes hor part time big one...haha nowadays they seem smaller and more of slits...hmmm...shall see how it goes...hopefully some miracle will happen hahah...cos me and hubby have small eyes...

And can't believe you say your own Yu He until like this...*shake head* later he grow up to be a very handsome boy for you to see ah!

Yes yes..support you calling Doris Fok for visit...thumbs up...now I not scared scared of latching her on already!

Anyway rest well...

Re Fish Bone Papaya Soup and milk supply
Been hearing so much about this soup but my CL refuses to cook for me. That's because she say papaya is not good for mummies cos they will 'tong feng'. So, she cooks fish bone soup and pigtail black bean soup instead. I have soup every meal also. Most important must keep yourself hydrated and this is from the LC at Mt E. So, I drink one big pot of red date drink everyday. Before bf or pumping I make sure drink 1 big cup of the drink half an hour before hand.

Actually should not stress ourselves out due to milk supply. I am not producing much too but most LCs would advise to trust our babies. As long as we learn to latch well and be more confident, baby will just suckle and help us establish the demand. Also one tip to see if baby has had enough is to poke your own breast. Once baby has emptied the breast (by right it shld be enough), your breast will feel really soft. Then it's time to change breast or burp the baby to see if he/she wants more.

Forgot to add...whatever you drink must be hot or warm...this is to have circulation in your body. Milk somes from blood...so blood circulation is good...

astro>> congrats! dun worry abt sleepy baby. they will grow past this within 3 days...but still check with PD. cos my son was jaundice and PD said usu jaundice babies are sleepier.

waking sleepy babies durin breastfeeding>> i also had this problem initially. but after reading some websites, i realised this method works to wake my baby..maybe mummies can all try i.e. rearranging baby's diaper (whether or not you change a new one) - confirm wake him up. thats why sometimes in the middle of night, i prefer not to change nappy if i can.

conflict with Mother...
have been feelin quite frustrated and down these days due conflicts with my mum. she is doin confinement for me and has been arnd for 1 mth. but for the past 1 mth, she keep disagreeing with me with a lot of stuff such that i am havin 2nd thoughts abt putting baby in her care when i return to work. but then again, i dun really have a choice i.e. i dun think i can afford not to work..sigh...
on breastfeeding: she seems very against the idea. she never breastfed us. keep telling me
"u r havin backaches becos' u breastfeed the baby whole day and sit down",
"r u sure he is havin enough? isn't he hungry?",
"formula milk is better at 10pm then he can sleep thru the night, why dun you give him formula milk?",
"ur stomach got wind, so the wind passes on to the baby"
"ur son is havin phlegm like sound, must be your milk too windy"
"why r u not giving him water? that's why he looks very thirsty and mouth is dry. baby needs water"

on sleepin habits:
she keeps rocking and pattin baby to sleep even though i keep telling her not to. and the way she rocks the baby kind of frighten me but i have been tryin to be sensitive in tellin her not to do so. such that when she is not around, baby refuses to sleep unless i carry and rock him too

she knows i dun agree with her on these and keeps tellin baby that "mummy say cannot rock you. mummy says you are naughty, keep lookin for ah-ma. mummy says cannot pick you up when u r crying" feeding my son with unhappy thoughts.

sigh i dunno how to handle this situation.
am so afraid that when conflict worsens
and phobia that she will start doing things i disagree with when i eventually put him under her care when i return to work..

prob my hormones are at work.. am really feelin very down.

vodkarib, i haf similar problems as well. but for me, its with my MIL. the way she handles my girl whenever she comes over to visit, i dun really agree, but i can't say her cos she will be offended. esp when she's supposedly very experienced as she has been working as a nanny all these years

i also wonder how she will handle my girl when i go back to work.. but no choice, i just tell myself at least i won't be around to see it, I just haf to ignore and forget it...
else i will just make myself upset

U also dun take it too hard. we tend to be more emo now, we need to take care.

Sunnyling, I'm also doing the full month celebration this Sun! I'm also doing 2 sessions, in the afternoon n evening! hee...

Tien/Bluesea: at least managed to capture it.mine is like very rare occasion he will open big big too but he dun like camera whenever take pic he will close his eyes but at least i know hes double eyelids hahha

Astro: cant conclude yet wo, mine on 1st few days i thought he single eyelids also n eyes slitslit but after few days to a wk he open bigger n bigger ehhe so theres still chance tt yuhe's eyes be like eyes
haha ur birthstory very interesting leh

Tien: fish bone with papaya soup. my cl cooks tt for me quite often,u shd insisit ur cl cooks tt, mine like dripping every 2-3hrs wo now.feed Matthias 1 side n need pump the other side.

cjdg/sunnyling: so envy full mth for ur bb liao. did u order buffet? do let me know if its nice hehe, shortlisting buffet caterer now:p

all mommies:
Re: bloody discharge
Thx for replying ahha so im still normal. yest overflow n i stained my 2 dresses so embarrassed,today nothing again
. fortunately not when im out to see gynae or pd. n hor my cl come ask me y i no panties for her to wash haha, i told her coz i get disposable panties n save her troubles,she said so far her previous cases all nvr buy disposable panties lor n she afternn so free till come ask me wat can she do n i ask her go zz since bb zzing as cl alwyas need wake up at nite to nurse n feed him wo.

Re:pD in the West
Anyone seeing Dr Heng Joo Teck fr Kidlinks at JurongEast ,is he gd? Whats his charges like?
My current Pd, Dr irene chan, super ex lor, 1 less then 10 mins consultation cost70 bucks n so far.Any other recommendation of other Pd in the West?

vodkarib : I also have similar problem. My mum kept asking me to feed whenever baby cry, baby wake up. She kept saying that he is still hungry, now he is bigger so need to nurse more frequent, bf baby need to nurse very very often.

Last night i was so fed up that i asked her does it mean that in another month time, i need to feed him every 15 mins?

This sat i will move back home, but at the same time i am worried about handling 2 kids on my own. Stressed.

No nid to envy us.. Your turn will come very soon too! Though it's 1 month already, it's nt yet e end of my confinement! My mum still wants me to watch my diet. Luckily, she's less strict though! I miss bubble tea, slurpee, n all!

Annette, yup, I order buffet of cos, for both sessions. Will feedback if they r good cos it's also our first time using them, through friend's recommendation.

Mymelody, I'm actually planning to do it AFTER e first month! Ha.. Especially e dye hair part, think will do it later so it lastsvfor CNY also

dreamygal/cjdg>>ya tryim hard to ignore

am also thinkin of colorin my hair. it's been 9 mths since i colored
but need to find time i.e. 4 hrs away from baby

Astro: interesting birth story. Ha v brave to go w/o epi lo. U had epi for first one right? Lol ya the nurses in tmc dunno how to latch one.. When I asked if correct they say yaya but I feel it's. Wrong lo. I'm sufelfering frm cracked nips now cos last night Charlotte refuse to latch as she was really hungry.

V stress.. Then I literally let her cry and I watched.. Cl also bth end up carry away frm me haha.. Dunno wat will happen to me if no more cl :s

Astro: Way to go gal! Love all the screaming birth stories

Vodkarib: My heart goes to you. My mum did confinement for me for 2 weeks before i packed my bags and went home (managed to get a CL last minute). I wasn't able to rest well at home, got very pek chek and was constantly crying. Like you, now i am seriously wondering whether to let my mum look after baby after i go back to work. Looking out for infant care options, but i know she'll be darn hurt if i take this option.

siangjiao: i suggest u dun sent to infant care. its always better to have one to one attention than one to three. think of it this way, if ur mum is that bad.. u wouldn't have grown up well also right? nowadays i also close one eye.. no point getting too worried..