(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

PY, take it easy. There's difference between MIL & our own mother no matter wat. Sometimes I find myself rather mean to say this. My MIL has been treating me well but somehow I am still not contented. So I will just remind myself to look at the her good points only and tat's it.

Astro, so u have got the sign alrdy? Gd gd.... I still have nothg so far. Went to see gynae ths morning and she said if the bb still doesnt come out by ths Sun, she will induce me by next Wed. Sigh!

Candy,
Don't stress yourself out cos of breastfeeding. I thought I will get postnatal depression also. Told my hubb that might happen if I continue BF. I can feel it. The fear whenever it is time to feed bb. If that's how you feeling, then stop it. Express the milk. Then once you feel better, flow will come

Ewe,
The "Hao Lian" moment is only morning leh. Each breast can get 90ml. Then the rest of the day I have to struggle to get both breasts to contribute to 90ml together. hahaha... Try eating more fish and then drink alot of water. Helps alot. I noticed that if I didnt drink much water, the quantity will drop.

Re your bb's diaper rash, have you tried the desitin diaper rash cream? Heard that it is real good in clearing that. You might want to get one to try out. I really don't think is your EBM that cause his diarrhoea leh. Mother's milk should be the safest to drink.

MieMie, reading ur birth story I start to picture what I am going to go thru next week if my bb still refuse to come out by this wkend. A bit scared. Hope I dun end up wth CS.

astro >> it's possibly thrush. i'd that closer to delivery. you can use unsweetened yoghurt to get the pH back and it'll clear - method introduced by my gynae; otherwise, you'd have to get an antifungal pill/cream but it's not dangerous (unlike GBS) for the baby. the mucus plug is exactly like your nose's snot..can come with or without blood..mine dislodged the day before delivery..without blood..so it was an unbloody show...

sotong_mum >> sister kang does hse calls too...the struggle to keep at the bfg schedule is indeed very tough. thinking back, i want all my insomnia back too. now barely sleeping for more than 2.5hrs at a stretch for the past 18 days..but like astro said in an earlier post, if it is taking such a strain, let's not beat ourselves up over things...more impt to enjoy the memories. i am trying very hard too...not sure how long more i can take this never-ending breastfeed, coax, burp, clean up the poo/pee, breastfeed again, coax, burp, put to sleep, pump, sterilise, store, sleep, wake..and the whole cycle repeats. but let's try to persevere...

mie >> thanks for sharing yr birth story. after reading so much here, i am beginning to realise how great motherhood is. not me, but i began to appreciate my own mother so much more...so i am sure when isabel can read her own birth story..you'd receive lots of love and kisses!

envelope>>

my MIL helped me wipe my sweat for the first time in front of my mom while i'm BF charlotte. WAH got the shock of my life ha hahaha hahaha!

xoxo:u think it is thrush too? i feel likewise. I thought i experienced some burning in urination yesterday. I can't take the yogurt now because Gynae told me to be off any milk cause she suspected my two episodes of diarrheoa cum cramps is an infection more than signs of labour. Maybe I shd call up my gynae tomorrow.

Envelope: i don't think so. It is more likely a thrush/infection. Well, let's carry on waiting. My next appt, I fixed it on monday (my EDD) and I wld be strapped to the CTG on arrival at clinic for monitoring. We will see what happened. Like I mentioned, i am not sure if my gynae is pro induction or prefers to wait thing out.. didn't have a chance to experience this with teng last time. Rayan is slightly big this time round so my guess is she will induce if she observes contractions or dilation/effacemet of the cervix...SO.. i will continue to be bored.. tomorrow' friday huh? TGIF! then sat's activity day for teng.. so still life's per normal loh..

hi mums, anybody interested to buy baby wipes warmer, its like an electrical baby wipes dispenser to keep your wipes warm to clean your babys sensitive skin. Let me know yeah can PM me..thank you

Astro, at least u still have teng to keep your day busy... I hv nothg to do at all... though I have not been working ever since I got pregnant, but I still enjoy my days. Dunno why, I get so bored now and just dun feel like doing anythg.

Envelope: Teng drovve me up the wall just now. I am blogging about it. later go and catch it lah. hope it is amusing! :S

ya.. there are days when i just hit 'F5' repeatedly. haiz.. jialat.

astro >> the burning sensation means it is definitely thrush...haha, i meant, apply the unsweetened yoghurt down there! not eat it :p

funzee >> i was tempted to get the CL to spoon feed her the EBM. then i thought, heck, i am woken up by the swollen breasts anyway every three hrs so i might as well latch. ding dong tactics i call it.

xoxo: alamak.. hahaha. okok. apply downthere? :p ops. i dun have unsweetened yogurt. i have sweetened ones! blueberry, mango peach.. i dun think that's advisable, right?hmmm. better not lah :p hahahahaha..

loke : all e best :D u will see ur babe soon

ewe : my bb fart oso v loud. poop like explosion :p
diaper rash cream. a lot of people recommend drapolene and desitin. but when i ask PD, he told me to find diaper cream that contains zinc oxide? :S duno which brand contains zinc oxide.

funzee:
"She made me sit down and show her how to feed. They weighed the baby before feeding, and after one breast, and after another breast. Baby only got 30 ml after drinking 15 mins from each breast. Obviously not enough. When you say little yield, how little is it? I used to get only a few drops. "

Is it they weigh baby in kg gain after drinking milk and convert to ml?
oo.. my hb better quickly go buy e digital weighing machine.
(hee..but he worry i become paranoid by weighing the baby everyday :p and get worried and depressed if bb no gain)

gal and Ewe,
Desitin contains zinc oxide. but I forgot whether is the creamy one contains more of zinc oxide or the original one. There is one thread in the bulk purchase section with the seller explaining on this. Might want to check it out.

Gal, use desitin creamy. Drapolene too mild for new born and doesn't offer better protection. My elder girl was using drapolene when she was bigger and was ok. So I tot since it's so much cheaper I use it for naia. End up her pee area was red and I saw 2 dot of rashes came out. Quickly switch to desitin and after few rounds the rashes all gone. I notice drapolene us v watery and desitin creamy v thick and thus offer better protection. Oh yeah, desitin creamy has zinc oxide.

harlow, harlow

dropping in again just to say a quick hello.

astro: your turn coming soon huh? good luck, lady!
can't wait to see your yu he

re breastmilk: skimmed tru some of the posts and seems a lot of you are stressed about the supply. mommies, my advise is to take it easy. don't stressa bout your supply. try to latch on baby often if possible. if not, then just pump but don't worry about your output for now (i know, i know, easier said than done.. i've been there too so i totally get it, trust me.) but from my experience with #1 and now #2, i realise that the less i stress about the output, the more plentiful my 'yield'. eat well, rest well so that your body has enough chance to replenish the supply yah?

relax, breathe while you're expressing the milk. watch tv or sthg.. don't watch the amount.

*hugs hugs* i really hate to see y'all so stressed leh. feel for you.. i supplemented with FM for my #1 for 1 month last time too. no harm done and in fact milk ss slowly picked up after that and i managed to produce more than enough after that. as long as you're still regularly pumping even while you're supplementing with FM, your SS will go up one. so DON'T worry! heads up, ladies!

if u suddely find that your baby needs to latch on more or for longer durations, don't be discouraged leh. it's not that your SS not enough!! he/she may just be growing through a growth spurt. so go with your babe. let him/her latch and go with the dd. this will help increase your SS. if you give up during this period of cluster feeding period, then your brain will not get signal that baby needs more milk, and therefore the moo moo factories cannot "up" their production.. know what i'm trying to say here? i really hope i'm making sense man.. i really want to help some of you see the light at the end of the tunnel, you know?

Generally, the major growth spurts occur at 2, 3, and 6 weeks, then 3 and 6 months. so keep an eye out for it. sure will be tiring but think positive: there's nothing wrong with your milk supply, it's just your babe's way (and nature's way) of helping our bodies adapt to babies' growing needs..

so again, heads up and jia you!!

rest well ok mommies. sorry can't 'stay' long.. been up too long updating my blog and replying to all the comments there so now really need to sleep... if anyone is bored (astro?? you bored right? hehe) i welcome y'all to go my blog and look at the photos cos i just uploaded some. do leave me a note if you feel up to it ok?

once again my blog is http://famela.me

i always not shy promote my blog here hor? tsk tsk!

ok ladies, nite nite! and take care, you!

astro: your teng so cute lar! so chubby! his cheeks are just asking to be pinched.. hehe. u also hang in there with his acting up ok? don't throw him out the window yet hor? ;) he'll be your bright, cheery and fun-loving boy again soon.. give him time

PY,
eh she wipe ur sweat to show ur mum she taking good care of u hor?! Sigh.. I also tell myself to count my lucky stars i dun need to live w her so just TRY to focus on the better points n pretend to ignore the irritating ones. Then i can live easier. Otherwise i will b TL all the time. Hurhur...

Hi candy,
Don't worry, usually Mdm Rokiah will call back once she reach spore. Her classes that she conduct is in JB. Once I had bad engorggement and call her, she was so sweet that she reach spore, call me and reach my hse on that day itself. My fren had her service during 2nd day of hari raya and also she really come although she was visiting her relatives. You wait for her call.

Xoxo,
sounds like u r doing everything on ur own? CL still with u? Can try to delegate the washing n sterilising to Mr SF? Anyways if u r really exhausted then dun pump so much? Or bottle feed ebm? M still trying to decide when i wanna introduce the bottle.

Astro,
the other day u helped tien with gymboree spree isit? Still can tompang or not?

ddnikz: i m already expressing the milk. Stop latching but i still want to try when milk ss goes up. Hopefully not too late.

PY & Anne: Thanks. I hope Mdm Rokiah calls back soon.

Hippo: ya I guess so? Lol so fake right?!

Anyway I pump another 130ml within 15 mins juz now wahaha so happy!! I think the papaya soup really works! Been drinking that for two days Liao. Beside that I've also been drinking milk for preg/lactating mums. 3 times per day.

Py,
cannot refreeze ebm. Unfinished must throw away or bacteria will grow.

Btw, so whats the verdict on sweetest moments full month cakes? I think i need to order something really presentable for returning some really expensive gifts.

Princess Isabel received a Juicy Couture top ok?! Mummy also cant bear to buy that brand for herself... I have very generous frens.

*panda*
when does the 3rd week growth spurt start? Day 12 is it? baby has been crying every 2 hourly since yesterday afternoon till now. i no time to pump nor sleep. so exhausted. how soon after the 2 hrly will our milk kick in ?

my baby also seems to require a lot of milk! last night, I breastfed for 1h on right, and another 45 min on left before CL took him away, saying far too long. then he was still hungry, and then gave him some more. The only good thing out of it was my supply suddenly increased. I was leaking non stop and also woke up with huge engorged breasts, and had to pump every 2-3 hours. thank goodness the engorgement went away after pumping. Finally had 100ml for one pump.

my friend who came yesterday commented that elgin doesn't look like 2 weeks old. he looks much bigger.

will normal digital scale for adults be able to measure such a small baby weight?

*reporting for table updating duties!*

Loke is at hospital. Induced. Gyane broke her waterbag this morning so now she wants to sleep but can't sleep coz contractions.. :p

hippo: spree closed liao.

Famela: thanks. very sweet of u to read the link and 'comfort' me

I called up the clinic just now.. they also think it is likely to be thrush than dropping of the muscus plug.. so i will continue waiting la.

was slightly broody.. but went on facebook and saw The Sound of Music that a fren shared. wah. nice! ha.. so brightened up liao. later when teng is back. will try to make him jiggle his fat body to the tune.. sure a funny sight to behold! :p

AND.. i went to get parenting magazines.. spent 15.50.. ha.. these are the things i do when i am bored! ANYHOW spend $$$.. wonder if Miser feels a sudden sensation of pins and needle when i bought the magazines? ha..

astro: at least your magazines are cheap. I spent more than $200 on books to read, plus new notebook $1500, then some more dunno what stuff. just because i was bored before giving birth.

Glass: These magazines are merely TIP of the ice-berg (of expenditure).. ha..

i think can fight with ur accumulated expenditure so far too.. ha..

i wonder if i tell miser this spending tonight.. does it help? will he immediately wash up, and then drag me to the hospital to be induced?!!

ha.. LAME :p

astro,
aw!
they have a nice little hippo dress on sale!
neh mind lah. loke @ hospital liao? quietly went to pop? hehe...

re: full month cakes
anyone has suggestions??? i dun really want run of the mill type like bengawan solo. so insincere. this kind reserve for those distant relatives that u dun wanna give but HAVE to give one. but for frens i want nicer one leh.

ladies: have u all seen the latest monopoly game promotion gimmick for Mac Breakfast ah? i think it is pretty impressive and creative leh. This game board design and also the way they can incoporate so much information in one tiny game label.. not bad wor.. by far the most creative gimmick i seen from Mac :p
hey. i got $10 off for every $50 spent at Toy rus for one of the game labels.. heh...

hippo: oh.. like that next time i scan thru anything. got hippo grapic. must let u know liao. kekekeke.. yeap. she's induced today. this woman.. jump queue!

u dun like that leh. skali i buy bengawan solo.. i become 'insincere'? hahhahahaha :p

get cup cakes? cute leh. dun want big cakes lah.. see liao. get choked = too full :p
or chocolates? u know thoe promotion leaflets that you get spammed with in those goodie bags?.. have quite of such contacts mah..

yup i saw the monopoly game. think that is more interesting that the food itself.

used to play with my brother, and I kept careful records of every win and loss. haha, and I usually win.

Think i'll teach elgin to play next time with me. hahaha.

glass: hahhahaah. u like the concept as well?
monopoly after a while. i get bored.. hey u know the Settlers, the game cafe? or Minds CAfe? or branches like that..? i like going there with a group of like-minded frens leh.. most of the time i go with my sister and gang.. then we laugh ourselves silly playing all kind of interesting board games.. last time i tried brining teng there.. he kept pressing the svs call bell on the table! the shop assistant keeps coming to us thinking we have orders/enquries!:p
i think teng wants his ice-cream float topped up?! hahahaha..

I also planning ot bring teng there again.. when he i like 7 years old when we can play a decent game together.. hahahah. u bring along ur Elgin and we play together? tag team? *winks*.. hahhaa.

Astro,
for me lah thats wat bengawan will be for. Not judging anyone who will be giving those lah. Anyway im lime dat one lor. I will return an equally insincere gift if i receive one. Heh!

I mean like pple gve me juicy couture then i gve bengawan voucher meh? I will feel very very pai seh lor...

astro: yeah, I went to settlers before. It was some blind date for my friend, and after the game, I was sorry I wanted to intro this guy to her, coz he's such a sore loser and super competitive.

haven't gone to such places in a long time because my husband is not a fun-loving person and my friends aren't that interested.

yeah, next time !!

hippo,

ask yr maid to make cookies to be given as full mth thing lor :p or better yet, make pineapple tarts, ong lai! everyone will b wang wang! *siamz*

mylvera,
Hahahaha!!!! U r not the only one. My parents want her to make glutinous rice which is damn nice too. Then buy ang ku kueh n make red eggs. Prob is she is also the one helping me to take care off bb so where got so much time leh?

The other day she made ox tail stew a la jamie oliver. Omg was so good we couldnt believe it. Heh! I not eatg confinement food, just eating really well

mie: i saw the link. ya. quite atas.. but the price is still affordable! hahaha. but the old auntie and uncle.. get thi. they will go .. 'where is the ang ku kueh?' then 'give me lollipops for what? my teeth no more liao leh'.. whahahahah..

glass: ha.. onz! i like playing games.. whahahahah.. sot liao :p
ya.. from playing games u can tell a person' character quite a lot :p ppl say i look gentle..(discount the built lah) whahahha.. (what bullshit :p) but i am quite competitive when come to playing games.. hahahahah..

hippo: hahahah. i get what u mean lah :p
it's true lor.. if they give very exp gifts.. got headache what to return.. i got a fren.. or rather two close colleagues.. they sot liao. teng' first month. they went and made those cute cute dunno what jewellery branch bb GOLD anklets.. later i go and spy.. cost them $500 plus?.. wah liew.. theni called them up.. asked them their performance bonus a lot iszit? dunno where to spend the $$ izit? hahahah.. my mother only gives ang po to teng nia.. eh.. no wait. she didn't give anything! aiyoh. ha!

Astro,
so what did u return for the gold anklet u received?

Mie,
nice n atas. But i kinda want ang ku kueh leh. Otherwise like meaning of tradition full mth is lost.

Gal^,
u dunno which shop from central?