(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

slightly more painful than VE .. but still bearable la.. but i remember diane was saying it was fucking painful till she cant walk.. so i think it also depends on individual

I have given birth on 06-Oct-09..
Went into hospital becos of contractions (Doc/nurses told me that if i feel pain, admit to hosptal.. Cos free days before given birth, got spotting/bleeding already)..
Reach hospital at 3am+..
Nurse check dilution ,1.5cm only..
wait n wait.. rest in delivery ward..
Water bag suddenly burst at 6.10am..
Nurse check, 2cm diluted..
Went to poop, clear bowels..
stronger contraction starts..
Opt for epidural.. It hurts when they insert the tube..
12.40pm, gynae came n check on me.. 3cm diluted only..
Put drip.. Gynae say earliest expected delivery time is 5pm..
2.15pm, Contraction even with epidural, nurse check dilution.. My god, all opened.. 10cm already..
Able to see baby's head..
Urgent call for my gynae, gynae reach hopital at 2.40pm..
Baby out with forcep by 3pm =)
He is so adorable wailing away ....
Baby weighing at 3.45KG, Out to the world 36weeks plus =)
My bottom, pain like crazy after giving birth, headache, fever, vomited.. (Cos i secretly ate when they dont allow, cos side effect of epi is, vomit... and so, i vvomitted out all the biscults) yucks..
I have to use swimming float to sit now.. Cos swallon !!!!! Cant Sh1T oso.. Cos scare....... Haha..
Back home now, confinement!!
Nipple hurts alot from baby's sucking.. Red now.. Think my milk supply not high..
Try to pump out milk.. But i think, only manage to pump out 1 teaspoon..
Medela breastshield too small for me......
Haiz.. So today gave baby drink formula.. So sad..
Any advice from mummies here ?
Will i be able to pump out milk tmr ???
Wish that baby can continue to have breastmilk........

I tried Breast feeding this 2 days in hospital..
Today is day 3.. But my nipples are ready sore like hell..
baby still in hospital, im home already..
Tried pumping out just now, but only got 1 teaspoon of milk(As in colosum )..
Any solution?
really wish to breastfeed my baby..
Should i get a formula milk just in case ?
Just afraid that once he use milk bottle, he will reject breast feeding..
Anyway to have more supply of breast milk ?
Does it mean that i will have low supply ?
No wonder baby gets hungry so easily in hospital.... Now then i know.. not enough supply for him

Lim: for the first few days the colostrum supply is quite low. Think that's normal. With more pumping it will slowly increase. Also remember to drink more water n dun get too stress !

I am also expressing milk now and for me I noticed when I m tired, my milk supply drops.

sorry for the outdated responses..my life is in total chaos (borrow the word frome mie)...

hippo >> I wished I was more organised. Yep, am using NUK now. The CL is a lifesaver!

Astro >> Yep, I love my gynae more now that I have this much "depth" and "breadth" of interacting with her! She's Dr Sim Lee Ngor. The fact that Mr SF has withheld the consent forms from me has now been relegated to a birth humour. He's making up by being the one dealing with all of bb's poop...first time dad..was horrified that newborns can poop so much. chill chill with your miser ok? best to go to the delivery suite w/o tension yah? anyway, now got more headaches..really preferred the bb when she was inside...hehe

bb pic >> try as i might, can't seem to get e file below 50kb..so will try later when Mr SF is ard to help me :p

miemie >> ((((hugs))))) i hope you are feeling better. our hormones are all displaced these few days..i became emo when audrey couldn't be woken up when she arrived at home. thankfully the CL knew what to do..even then, it took almost 3 hrs for us to wake her up. she is still jaundiced and drowsy, not to mention very cranky, i am up now trying my utmost to get as much milk for her so she the hydration bit can get gg..after all that effort, only 20ml so i suppose i need to supplement. Feeding her has ballooned from a 30mins episode into a 1hr long activity simply because she's so sleepy. bfg journey not gg my way with both nips cracked and bleeding, milk has started to come in but because I find the nips so hyper-sensitive and painful, I can't express properly

i am glad for sticking with my gynae's choice of PD - Terence...find that he is always very willing to make just a second for you even when he's super busy. Pls do take lots of care and be careful abt the surgical wound. Things should feel better after this roller coaster first week.

lim >> what can i say abt the bfg part? same prbs. i have cracked and bleeding nips from my little snapper here...get a lact consultant to help you...

breastfeeding >> didn't know this is such a nightmare. i have gone almost without sleep at all. is total breastfeeding even possible?

after an inspirational session with sister kang yesterday, and eagerly wanting to bring down audrey's jaundice (i must get mentally prepared that on mon, she may need to be admitted if it doesn't come down); been doing all i can despite cracked and bleeding nips..ultra sensitive and it hurts.

so i stopped all formula, went completely bfg but somehow my supply cannot match her demand. she needs 50ml every 3hrs - or a huge screaming session comes...bfg every hourly..and the bb wakes up in 45mins (so i take that as a sign she's not getting enough)..

sigh. i need a strategy here.

can't remember whether I've updated on my delivery. Naia was borned yesterday at 4.28pm weighing 3.375 and length 51cm through natural delivery with epi. Waited for 7 hours from the time of water bag being burst. This time round both my legs were so numb but thank god I managed to push her out.

Ddnizk,
congrats! Hope to see u during baby bathing demo.

Lim,
i didn't even bother to pump cos colustrum so little. Just hand squeeze. Managed to squeeze out 5ml only! But I'm not sad cos my first one also like that. I'm expecting my milk to come in day 5 just like no 1.

For mummies who hasn't pop yet, jia you!

Oh yeah regarding breastfeeding I'm letting Naia drinking fm for the time being till my supply slowly build up. No point insisting on tbf so early to tire, fustrate and disappoint myself. Just do what I can la. Mummies who are like me and not so blessed with milk might want to take it easy like me? Slowly build ur milk supply and confidence ok? Jia you.

hi all, posting after a long time as my darling daughter keeps me busy :) BTW we have named her as 'Riona'. It means 'queen' in irish.
Have posted her photos at littleparvin.shutterfly.com as unable to upload it here.

Regarding bm: the more baby latches on to you, more milk will come. Initially baby will latch on longer as colustrum is very less. For me, baby Riona latched around 30 to 45 mnts for first 3 days. Though I got sore and cracked nipples, the milk came in properly the third day. Other way is to take fenugreek. Rather than taking tablets, I took the fenugreek seeds directly and it works well. Just swallow a spoonful of the seeds with water. Don't bite the seeds as they are very bitter in taste. :)

For sore and cracked nipples - the best is to apply bm over the nipples after every feed or whenever milk comes and let it dry. This works the best as compared to screams. This was suggested by nurses and LC at Mnt A. Thanks to them!!

hi all, posting after a long time as my darling daughter keeps me busy :) BTW we have named her as 'Riona'. It means 'queen' in irish.
Have posted her photos at littleparvin.shutterfly.com as unable to upload it here.

Regarding bm: the more baby latches on to you, more milk will come. Initially baby will latch on longer as colustrum is very less. For me, baby Riona latched around 30 to 45 mnts for first 3 days. Though I got sore and cracked nipples, the milk came in properly the third day. Other way is to take fenugreek. Rather than taking tablets, I took the fenugreek seeds directly and it works well. Just swallow a spoonful of the seeds with water. Don't bite the seeds as they are very bitter in taste. :)

For sore and cracked nipples - the best is to apply bm over the nipples after every feed or whenever milk comes and let it dry. This works the best as compared to screams. This was suggested by nurses and LC at Mnt A. Thanks to them!!

hippo>>> not sure if we are in the same boat.. went gynae yest and baby measured 3.2kg at 37 weeks!! even gynae was joking, wow ur babe is BIG relative to u. as usual, my weight gain was less than hers.. my total weight gain is less than her 3.2kg now! but my doc is v v pro natural. he wants me to try no matter wat. only do c-sect when sth wrong with babe. cos the machines are always prone to erroe, u might b able to deliver it naturally, so y not try?

i read so much abt strep B, VE, CTG etc etc here and tried to ask him a little. he says no tests necc at all till labour. PHEW!!! i was so afraid of the test after hearing it's quite painful. his view is" y poke sth into ur vagina when u r not starting labour. wats the point? im sure pp wun like things to be poking inside."

stil awaiting d-day...another 2 weeks for my little (or BIG) babe to continue growing.. hope she slows down a little...

hi ladies, wow so many posts. i cnt catch up with the postings.

congrats to famela and all those mummies who have popped.

i went to see my gynae ytd and was told tat i wont deliver so soon prob will be on my EDD. did CTG ytd, my little prince was so active tat he kept moving ard and din allow the nurse to do ctg for him... haha... thn I place my motherly on him, he stopped moving for the last 10 mins. according to my gynae, my water level had dropped. now still contemplating whether to use epi or not.

hippo>> yeah after talking to him last night.. we have agreed to wait for baby to come choose the date herself.. if till next wed still not out, we'll induce on 15/10 and she'll born on 16 (same day as the father) but diff month lah ha ha..

i think he also accept the fact that if c sect or what most impt is the safety of me and the baby lor... and all these are not what we can control too.. just leave it to god's decision ha.

question on induce :
er..if we are to induce on 9am. do i have to bring my hospital bag oledi? or they will send us home until stronger contraction then come back?

PY: anything nice at taka ytd? just received robinsons mailer on the 25% discount but too bad it starts only on 13 oct. hopefully we are in confinement by then

Just to share a joke.

My little poop monster attack on the CL again 2 days ago in the middle of nite. CL got to knock on my door to ask for a set of new bedsheet. I was so sleepy and i take it that she ask for the bb cot sheet and pass her tat. Later she knock again and look paiseh n tell me she need bedsheet for herself cos bb poop was shooting so far that it reach her bedsheet. the gap b/w both was aro 1m. Nx am, she told me bb pooh all over her hand the previous nite as she was caught off guard as she tot bb finish pooing. she told me she nv encounter this problem of "shooting poop" with other bb. So funni that i can't stop laughing!

Dun tink any bb here can beat my this lil poop monster of mine as his record is 1m.

congrats to famela!

morning all!

aiyoh. i typed a LONG post. then dunno click what. disappear! haiz.. here i go again!

PY: try induction with epidural then. sure numb till u no pain.. and easier on ur hb's pocket
what's more ur bb is engaged.. so at most forceps/vaccum. think difficult to become an emerg c one. unless no dilation that kind.. so try this option first?

i feel maybe ur gynae wants to be very sure coz she is very pro natural? which is good in a way

hippo: i concur.. miser always say 'if can settle by $$ then it is not an issue'.. wah. coming from MISER.. something interesting.. whahaha.. anyway. ya. . i think PY's gynae knows what she is doing wor..

lin: congrats! ur bb good weight! hey! one question at a time. dun let ur mind go on a rampage.. then u get urself into post natel blues/aniexty/depression.. like me that time

what u are experiencing now is exactly what i have gone thru. .. go and read more now and u will be able to be in charge of the situation.. what u are experiencing is NORMAL and to be expected.. so easy.. calm down
if want to continue bf-ing. then dong it out. if not give FM.. nothing wrong with that.....dun let urself be trapped by guilt hor and 'what ought to be done' by others..
.. and enjoy ur bb.. --> that is my ultimate aim this time round too
..rest well

xoxo: u are nice.. if i were u. i will always 'convieniently' bring it out as a reminder pt for miser :p.
ur gyane is good

things are ok with me and miser.. thanks for asking
seldom go on a big war. more of petty 'buay songness'.. often me than him :p. no tension lah.. all focused on teng.. no room to think too much. heh.. teng is our common 'enemy' now.. this little gentle giant.. wah.. i saw him PUSH my maid aside and shouted 'no!' at her coz he doesn't want to shower wor.. last night! wah. first time i see him angry! i got to shout at him on the spot.. told him no!.. then he whimpered.. and frown and started crying and apologiseing 'sorry mama.. soryy mama''. ha he act nia :p. so miser and I 'joining' forces to tackle little tyrant whose horns are finally out.. hahahahha.. :p

hey.. to wake audrey up more. when bf-ing. take off her swaddle.. take off her clothes.. coz warmth can induce the bb to be very sleepy. i think audrey is very comfortable and warm.. so snoozing away.. wah. i rememerbed last time teng was also sleepy bb. i fed up.. on air con, take off his clothes to wake him up. he screamed :p
my mohter also screamed.. :p:p

Aria: gong xi gong xi! Naia good weight! wah. day 5 is a bit long for the transitional milk to come in hor?.. anyway. u are a determined moomo.. i will need ur advice sooner or later
rest well

vin: riona is a nice name! congrats later go and peep at ur princess pictures. and yes.. i helping my boys to chope first.. kekekeke

PY: good decision u have made..

GOOD MORNING MUMMIES!!

Congrats Famela, Aria and Lim! Once again Mummy Tien ponder aloud...when's her turn!!

Yesterday day and nite really encountered contractions mostly painless ones except for 2 in the middle of the nite...a bit like menstrual cramp, a bit like LS pain...but just timed them a while (30 secs each) then slept like a PIG! Think if I were to give birth in the middle of the nite, my labour must be those drama type...think I can actually sleep through tummyache.

Astro: Not bad lah...your networking in online networking...already chope so many princesses hahah..

gal: Goodness...moral of the story if I get preggy with a 2nd one...WORK UNTIL POP!! But hey that was my intention until my gynae gave me the long MC cos of my pig trotters!!

Oh no...feeling the tummy cramp again...can't differentiate is it BH, mentrual type of cramp or pang sai feeling...ARGH i hate this!

HAhah Astro...easy...just make sure your hubby snores every night and make you soooooooo restless in the previous nites that you will be too tired to think of anything else...or have a real nagging mum with you for 2 days straight! Hahah

astro: u sound like teng was a guinea pig.. testing testing only. so that u know what to do with #2... hehehe... no offense..

congrats famela and lim!!

loke: ya.. !!! indeed so leh. teng was SERIOUSLY a guinea pig leh. !!
i honestly made so many mistakes with him.. that it wun happen again with yu he this time.. i try lah

sometimes i look at teng.. (even though he is happy and chirpy). i can feel sorry and experienced a sense of guilt one leh

tien: that's what i have been experiencing all the time! everytime miser snores.. i will shake him real hard.. 'DUN SNORE!'.. HEH.
my mum.. ha.. she dun nags. but she gives patterns.. hahahaha..actually i slept very well before these two weeks.. coz i have to get up pee often now.. before that i was consumed by fatigue.. never had problem sleeping!

gal^>> jw told me to bring the bag along or put it in the car.. but if the pain level is like that lady i saw at the clinic the other day i think i'll straight away admit liao lor..

i not sure if her threshold of pain is low or it's really THAT painful. i cant imagine myself going back with that tablet inside and coming back to the hosp at 11pm.. i think i'll die of pain liao.

i told my hb ytd.. and we tot of telling jw to induce me at night instead in the morning at the clinic., this way if i need pain relief, it's easier too.

i asked my hb just now where he wanna bring me to WALK tonight.. he say "skali tonight admit how?" haha i told him "ya i can dream abt that" lol!

astro>> yah if no dilation that kind then bo pian liao. wah ur miser really said that ah! hahaha... actually my hb dun really care abt $$ so much until i told him my friend kena emer c sec and end up with a 10K bill. From then, then he start to worry lol

ginger>> hmmm nth much leh haha i didnt buy anything.. the baby section also the same as before just that got additional 15% discount for taka members lor..

wah robinsons 25%.. i've yet to receive any mailer from them yet.. but it's true lor we'll in confinement liao haa but if baby still not out yet for my case, i can go window shop again lol!

Tien>> yes my tummy keep having BH ytd for like ard 4 hrs and i think i'm quite used to the kind of menses cramp liao. If real labour starts i'm afraid i cant differentiate too haha.. maybe gotta wait till i scream in pain then i know ah that's real labour lol!

hippo: oh! i am not buying extra shields yet. coz. heh.. it might fit.. giving room for possible expansion. yah. my issue is the opp. not need a bigger size. but a smaller one! :p
later going amk hub see see look look first..

xoxo: hippo mentioned u went to ask about medela tubings before.. u went to that shop, The First Few Years?

Astro
I'm all along using Avent manual pump during my 14-months bfg career. But now wif #2, i think i'll die if i had to use manual pump entirely. Each session takes me 35 mins for a 6 hrly pump. i cant afford to spend so much time on expressing now. thinking to get ameda dual pump but haven got it yet.

PY
dun dwell on the baby's weight. it will not b precise. i wld like to think a baby's weight will b juz nice enuff 4 the mummy to deliver. think +ve!

Linping
ur nipples hurt coz baby not latching properly. Get a nurse to check ur position & correct u. juz keep latching, dun stress urself by expressing now & not getting much at this stage. is baby peeing/poo-ing? tdy is day 4, so he shld hv 4 wet nappies now. if he has, then def its enuff. else meanwhile supply wif FM 1st. dun stress urself.

xoxolight
i am v keen to know this - has ur MS finally eased off now tt u hv delivered???? pls tell me u hv, coz i am experiencing it more now these few days. Then i thot abt wat u said, the possibility of it continuing aft delivery....

gal^
juz bring ur bag along... i oso dunno wats the procedure for inducing...

PY: ya . he always says that.. he shares what hippo feels. $$ to be earned. and spent.. but of course. he wants $$ to be spent wisely.. (meaning.. dun spend it the way i do! :p).. i dun think my delivery process with teng is that cheap also.. given i had induction, epidural and assisted vaccum deivery.. so i think the bill is quite high also lah.. he just pay lor.. kekeke .. so sometimes.. my frens will tell me.. 'why u call YM (my hb) a miser? he is not what.. ' to which i will smile and say .. 'yes he is...' hahaha. anyway.. Miser can't be bothered with any nicks i throw his way :p

i been having BH for weeks! till i give up.. since like i am ALWAYS having BHs.. stomach is never soft kind :S

congrats to lim and ario again!

By the way, KKH can hv the option of feeding bb with mini cups instead of bottles. Wonder if private hospital uses mini cup? This is to prevent the so call nipple confusion. I opt for cups feeding when supply nt in yet.

xoxo,
to me, waking up at 45mins interval is a signal of nt enuff milk. Cos when my supply is low, bb wake up at aro 1 hr interval. When my breast are engorged and i bf him, i realised he can sleep soundly for 2-3hrs. Normally when they are engorgement, there will be let down in milk and u will notice bb drink faster cos they can't afford to doze off as the let down simply keep coming. They will choke if they doze off. Sometime they will unlatch to take a breath n that's when i realised the let down.

jrrt: avent MAUNAL?! steady ah u! my stupid CL spoilt my electri Uno before i can use it.. so it 'became' a manual.. i pumped once.. wah.. single breast nia.. hands cramped! and miserable yield of 20ml :S.. and u using it all th etime so far?! *stunned*..

hey. i want to ask u.. in the initial days of bf-ing. what put me off was that SHARP shooting pain thru the breast when i first latch teng.. then after a while.. it goes off. but i keep thinking i latched him wrongly.. end up latch, unlatch till everyone gets frustrated.. then i think i over jealous with pumping too. cracked and bleeding ..

my fren told me. that was actually the letdown pain.. very commonly experienced.. true? not much literature on the web for this let down pain..

Hi Ong,

I have the same shooting experience a couple of days back. My baby Nathan managed to shoot his poo out from the baby cot to my matress as well.... end up I need to change my bedsheet and my clothes!!! Hahahaha.... But I did not measure the shooting distance..... :p

astro>> ya my tummy also seldom soft.. but just that' it's not painful. Unless the baby keeps on wriggle and wriggle down then i can feel the crampy feeling..

Last night i felt that my downthere abit weird.. like got "hole" and empty feeling.. dunno is it dilation? HAHAHA.. sry ah i dunno how to describe that feeling hehehehe

loke: normally BHs are brief.. and it is not painful.. real contractions are painful..

ong: yeap.. for the inital period. not enough milk hence they wake.. but after like 2 mths.. bbs should be able to sleep longer than 45 mins.. else they have developed a sleeping association

that time ifeed teng with a spoon leh! :p till. his lips all screwed up to fit to the contours of the spoon! :p then i went paranoid again.. coz i realised there seemed ot be a permenent line on his lips after each feeding. and it happens to be where he needs to 'press' his lips to ahdere to the spoon.. then i got so worried that i asked EK ong about it. he just stared at me and said normal lah. he drinking from sppon mah.. then i asked him if teng will be disfigured coz of that :p.. he went speechless.. :p:p.. i think miser wanted to dig a hole in the ground there! :p

whahahhaa. cannot help laughing out loud.. i was SO paranoid!!! :p

<font color="0077aa">Lim,</font>
Congrats on your newborn! I am from Nov thread. here are some notes and tips from books and some are also based on my previous experience. hope this will help. 1st month is very impotant in getting a good supply of milk. Don't give up

it is normal to feed every 2 hours. must work hard for the 1st month to build up good supply of milk. Take a look at this link: http://www.ameda.com/breastfeeding/started/stomach.aspx

<font color="0077aa">Some tips for bfeeding:</font>
1) While latching on one side, pump on the other side at the same time. Is a way of telling the brain u have twins to feed. The brain will adjust the supply accordingly.

2) When baby finished sucking (either 1 or 2 sides), pump and access milk or u can wait 1 hour later (bear in mind that the hind milk will come in droplets form and not spraying form - pump and squeeze till no more drips). If there is another let down (a tinggling sensation), milk will come out as fountain again

3) When pumping, it's better to squeeze of massage the breast to yeild more milk. For me, because supply is always at the border line, I have to squeeze every single time when I pump, else I won't have enough for baby.

4) Be positive and relax. Keep telling yourself milk is coming and is enough. Negative thoughts and worries will reduce milk supply.

5) Drinking hot drinks or soup before pumping can help stimulate milk. Drink lots of warm water.

6) Hot tower placed on breast will help relieve engourgement and stimulate milk.

7) Do not drag feedings else u are telling the brain u don't need so much milk. This is how mummies who decided to stop bfeeding do. They will drag the feeding time hourly till no more milk.

8) Always empty your breast fully each feed or pump. It's very important cause u are telling the brain u really need the milk till the very last drop. When I latch my baby, I do not need to squeeze my breasts as bb's suction is the best in stimulating milk. It is the most relaxing method for me in breastfeeding. When the breast is empty, u will feel your breast very light and feels saggy.

9) When u are in the hospital, learn all the 3 technicques of latching on. Craddle hold, football hold and lying down position. All these 3 postions will come in handy when we have engourgements. Aim baby's chin towards the lump. This way it will clear the blockage.

10) After pumping or latching, no need to clean the nipples till next feed. squeeze a little breast milk (not too much, just apply thin layer) and apply it on the nipple. Air it till dry to avoid nipple sourness or problems. Breast milk heals wounds on the nipple if leave to dry. Time to time, u'll need to clean the nipple with olive oil or nipple cream to remove any recedue blockage on the nipple. Apply cream or oil on a facial cotton and wipe the nipples.

11) During the 1st month, it’s normal that baby need to latch on 1-2 hours apart. They will be times where bb will sleep 2-3 or even 4 hours in a streach. If bb sleeping this long, we have to pump out the milk.

12) How do u know if bb is drinking or just treating the nipple like a pacifier?

- if u can see bb gulping in rhythym, bb is drinking. If bb is not drinking, it’s just light or shallow suckling. If bb fell asleep half way, tickle the ear or lower lip or the top of the feet. If still sleeping, try changinf bb’s diaper to stimulate bb again.

13) If u experience any problems in nursing, call the lactation consultant for advice. There was one time I had a very painful ulcer on the nipple. The lactation consultant adviced me to break the ulcer with a sterilized niddle. Believe it or not, it works.

14) latching bb corectly is very important: http://www.ameda.com/community/videos.aspx

Here are some more tips:

1)Bb’s early hungry signs: bb smacking lips or putting or rubbing her hands on her mouth. Don’t feed only when bb cries, may result in getting sore nipples if latch on a crying bb. Watch out for this early signs to achieve more relaxing latching.

2)Skin to skin contact can calm a bb.

How to know if bb is getting enough milk? - after the 3 or 4th days

- bb would have 3-7 stools (2.5cm or bigger in 24 hours.

- Should gain 170g (6 ounces) per week or 28g (1ounce) a day.

- Minimum 113 - 142g (4-5 ounces) per week

- Bfeed 8-12 times in 24 hours. (during the 1st month) - this is a guide for stimulating supply.

- Cluster feeding can happen in the evening.

if you have time, do listen to these audio:
http://www.ameda.com/breastfeeding/elibrary/podcasts.aspx

The http://www.ameda.com/breastfeeding/ have very good info on bfeeding. Go through if u can.

Hope these tips helps.

jRRt>> yeah i'm hoping that is an over estimation. we shall see the difference between actual and estimation when the baby is out :D

Astro>> yah i remember my gynae also told me we cant feel dilation lol. aiya dunno.. i also getting paranoid liao. lol.

Astro: Haha I did it to my hubby before too..even tried to smother him to death by pinching his nose haha...but I see him so tired that I decided to let him live muahahha...tink I am a little more fortunate...mummy nags better than giving patterns...have to waste time to think what she wants...speaking of which she is reporting at my place soon...cos today supposed to see doctor so instead of going to her place she is reporting here with all the confinement supplies....she is SOOOOOOOOO convinced that I am going to deliver these few days.

PY: BH is actually a sign of labour even if it is painless I think...just have to time the intervals etc...cos when I am put on CTG nurse always ask got contractions or not...then when I asked them must be painful...they jst said it is tightening and hardening may not be painful. That was what I was doing the whole day yesterday but the interval is like 1 hour apart or 2 hour apart or even 40 mins apart...so that's irregular. But what scared me yesterday was my wet panty...now it has subsided..going to mention to my gynae to see what she says..probably it's urine.

miser asked me very affectionately :)P) last night.. 'dear, are u more ready this time round? wun give up halfway (bf-ing)?'.. then he smiled.. i told him.. ' i will try.. let's not think too much lah..'.. then he fell asleep :p

astro,
mine nipples do expand when pump. However, my nipples are of different sizes so one side seems to fit whereas the other side seems to have more extra space even after expansion. For me, when they r engorgement, i will be able to pump easily even if the size is not very fit for one side.

Tubings
I did not sterilise the tubings for Ameda as it was stated on manual nt to . I guess medela tubing nt require to sterilise as well.

joyce,
haha, so the shooting theory seems to apply more for boys since yours is a boy too. I wanted to take some photos but couldn't as too many poos aro(floor, cot etc)and oso to handle a wailing baby. Now i will stand aside when changing diaper so it dun shoot on my clothes but other places instead. Hopefully this will end soon after my confinement since i will not be taking ginger anymore. hahha!

Tien>> yah some people said it's painless also can be a sign of labour.. i pointed out to my gynae and she says coz some people have higher threshold.. but she say if i feel uncomfortable at night keep tossing and turning and cant sleep, i can just come to the hosp lor. lol!

sometimes my panty wet i will think it's discharge.. wah lao v sian right.. dunno if' it's real water bag burst or discharge.. duno if it's real labour pain or just the normal menses cramp lol.. i think i'm going crazy soon haha!

tien: haha. his nose is so oily all the time that i dun want to touch that! :p
he will just blur blur wake up.. and go 'what? what?'.. i tell him 'dun snore'.. he cannot understand. then i repeat in chinese.. then he said 'orh. sorry'. then continue! :S he really process his thoughts in chinese man.. wah liew..

thanks saphira!

oh yesterday. while i was ascartaining the fit.. got colostrum on the surface.. hahaha. ok. i kow.. some of us are dripping colostrum right now :p.. but i take it as a good sign :p

PY: I think your gynae is referring to the contractions that will follow the painless ones...I went back to revise my parentcraft notes hahah..got 1st stage 2nd stage one and 3rd stage of contractions one. 1st stage usually not so painful but regular. Relax...Charlotte will make her grand entrance when she wants to...I now very zen liao....

Astro: Hahaha...mine is opposite...my ah lao process his thoughts in English...

Saphira: Thanks for sharing...already saved a copy in my comp hahaha...super kiasu.

astro
I had no choice! It was actually Avent UNO electric cum manual pump tt i bot. then apparently for some reason, i cant seem to express a single drop using the electric one on day 6 of my delivery. so had to use manual mode. interestingly, milk ducts were v active and both me and hb were so astonished by the numerous milk ducts tt squirt milk out. so i sold off the electric part and was using manual only. then shortly aft full mth, i bot ameda dual electric pump. initially it yielded gd supply. then within a wk of using, my supply kept dwindling until i dared not use it. so sold it off. imagine my highest record of using manual pump to express fetched me 470ml at one go! so my boobs def prefer manual pump. sigh, i wished electric ones works 4 me so i cld save time!
but this time round i need my boobs to get use to electric pump liao. no choice! i got so used to using manual pump tt hands dun ache at all even aft 35 mins. hahahahaha... its like when u r left wif no choice, u juz hv to do it!

yah i think its letdown oso. i dun really experience tt feeling but somehow i enjoyed the latching experience and always feel v blissful when i see my son latching. I was quite hooked on this feeling then, serious! so each time i latched, i felt so good! hahahahaha... crazy hor? and the initial few days uterus will contract when they latch. wah biang, it was so uncomfy. however thankfully my son managed to latch well miraculously w/o any LC guiding me and i din hv any sore nipples till end of Wk 2 when it suddenly hit me. one side was sore so i latched him ont he other side while i pumped the side tt was sore. it was ok aft a few days and since then no sore nipples for the entire of my bfg career. i was lucky then.

so funny abt u saying teng's lips comformed to the shape of the spoon! u din try cup feeding?

y ur hb so discouraging abt u bfg??? my hb is quite sure this time i will not stop bfg b4 2 yrs is up.
he knows i enjoy the experience v much... but i hate to express thou. spend too much time!

PY
yes, juz maintain a +ve mindset. u need tt when u r in the labour ward! i kept telling my son to quickly hurry down twds the birth canal (coz nurse said he is still quite high up and hv yet to fully descend down) so we can see him soon. i keep talking and coaxing him, i find tt it helps.

Astro, Tien,
You're welcome. I was having so much pain and discouragements for my first child due to lack of knowledge and support. Luckily I persevere but my supply was alway botherline although I manage to fully breastfeed as I did not know how to build up supply in the 1st month. This time I want to make sure I will achieve more milk and less stress. Till today my daughter (almost 3 years old) is still benefiting from the wonders of bfeeding.

The links are very very informative. Equipt yourself before delivery will make a huge difference in your success of bfeeding. Wishing all mummies here an abundance of bmilk and heaps of storage in the fridge and freezer
3086129.gif

jrrt: i readig some articles on that letdown pain now. later i share with u all

got lah. i let teng try everyting.. that's why loke said he is the guinea pig lah! we had the cups also

no. miser is very pro-bfing (cause it saves him $$ remember?).. in fact he was vry calm and assuring when i was fretting last time.. he wld take off (miser leh! take off leh! wah. amazing :p).. be beside me.. try to latch teng.. and if cannot coz so painful.. he will sayang me and tell me it is ok.. slowly. give fm first.. then slowly slowly more bm.. it was me who gave up. not him

tien: i like ur 'very zen' comment :p i also very 'zen'. i very high! dunno high for what.. hahaha.. then ur ah lao and me can communicate. i process my thoughts in english also: P

sphira.. i like ur rainbow!
so positive! thanks for sharing again! i concur with u.. reading up. that's the best way to ensure success

saphira: thanks! i like the last statement! "...abundance of bmilk and heaps of storage in the fridge and freezer." cool.. i shall start visualizing that now.. and then NO FEAR!! since we gonna have moomoo kids, we should have the moomoo mindset too!

jiayou all mummies!!

hi all juz an announcement:
my bb boy came into this world on 5oct 11.36am!weigh 3.15kg at 38wks 5days.nurse said medium hgt n wght but head circumference a bit big.haha...
only now have e mood to post an update here cos too tired n frustrated...now pumping n typing at e same time mooooo