(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

anette: that's normal. increased vagina dischrage at this stage

ok. i am falling asleep at my table! :S. i think i shd go walk around and get myself lunch.. and come back act busy again.. wah liew.. :S

hippo: thanks
ong: wah, your CL sounds like super gian bng, everything also just take without permission. When I arranged with the agency the other time, I agreed to let the CL use the washing machine for my clothes, but now my mother tells me to get the CL to handwash. Coz she doesn't want my clothes to be mixed with the rest. I just hope they can be harmonious.

BTW, where can I buy a cheap bath tub for baby? THe one I got is some flimsy thing, which was supposed to be put into a real bath tub, but now thatI sold my place, my current place doesn't have a bath tub. So I need a plastic one to bathe the baby.

glass,
yalor, my current CL very daring & nt paiseh type. She even drop hints that she normally charge 2k but she charge me 1.9k is becos of her cousin who can't make it & pass to her.Seems like telling me to give her a bigger Angpao when she leaving.

My previous CL handwash all her clothes(w/o me telling) so i assume this CL will do the same w/o me telling her. Then, I happen to see her using my washing m/c one day. I stil nt sure if she is mixing hers with my family cos i didn't want to see too detail else she may tink i checking up on her & do sometin bad to bb. Cos most of the time, i am hiding inside my aircon room except lunch and dinner time so i have no idea what is she doing outside. Most of the time, she watching TV. Tink she watch more TV than me. Tink telling CL to handwash shld be fine cos this practice is quite std. But problem is u oreadi agreed to let her use the washing m/c . So she may not feel gd abt tat.

Bath tub,
tink u can get fm neighbourhood those "chuck pa rang store" that sells all kinds of things. I assume shld be cheap there.

annette>> hahaha i am a SAHW lah.. lol.. resign from my job since April to concentrate on my studies. now finish study liao.. waiting for baby to come out and entertain me :D

ong>> ur CL is from agency or ?? why so bhb one....

Re: Nipple cream
My hb's colleague told him that it's good to use extra virgin olive oil as a nipple cream coz it's 100% edible. But before he told me, i've bought the medela purlan liao haha but i think i'll use both

Ong
My CL wakes up ard 6-ish am daily to prepare my drinks. Wah, slept till so late???? So who is the one tt is doing confinement now??? She is too much! I think u shld stop her. How can she help herself to the food tt u paid for it and eat w/o asking u? Too much!

Astro
R u talkg abt me???? hahaha... sitting down and tryg my best to minimize walkg ard the ofc. hahahaha!

tien
On the 1st day home, i let baby sleep wif us. but he was making a lot of sleeping noises the entire night tt both me and hb cant sleep well the whole night. so i let baby sleep wif CL. and she'll bring him in for night feeds every 2 hrly, when the baby cries for milk. i think its quite rare tt newborns dun wake up for milk at night. coz their intake is quite small in the initial few days/wks.

Astro,
I read from somewhere that storing BM in bags easy to turn the BM sour leh. but for bottles, was wondering how to label them. With marker? write on bottle?

annette,
how come your bb like suddenly grow so big? you have been feasting on durians???

PY,
wat's bhb? btw, she is nt fm agency. The CL i wanted was booked so she recommend another CL. And that CL last min. say she can't make it so she recommend her cousin lor.

jrrt,
yalor, std practice is to wake up aro 7am mah. But since overall she is doing fine taking care of bb and hsework, i just "ren" lor. Cos oni 1mth nia. And now left 2wk nia. btw, she is 44 oni and her skin was translucent and with pinkish cheeks. My mum was saying no wonder skin so nice, so she been sharing food that we mummies r suppose to eat for our confinement. hahaha.

Same as u, i shifted the cot out of MBR on 2nd day cos cannot tahan those constant noise that bb is making while sleeping as we keep waking up to check on him.

dnikz: how woudl keeping them in bags turn them sour? ya. write with markers.. but writing on bottles leicheh.. must use washable markers else u have so many sets of dates!but washable markers will smudge.. so not practical at all..

thanks mummies, hee. Titus can come home today' jaundice went down remarkably. Pd said i did a good job by not giving up and continue to give bb breastmilk every 3hours and his intake of 60ml per feed helps alot on his jaundice cos under the phototherapy, bb need lots of hydration. Oh ya btw, mount alvernia allows hb to go in also, even for emerg c section. Oh ya think one of the mummy asked about colostrum. I latched on immediately after my c section (after my side effect of shivering ends from epi) and it's definately enough for bb's tummy, don worry k? On day 2 and 3, colostrum slowly increased from 5ml to 15ml and now on day 5, i have 60ml of milk already. So don be disheartened if your supply is low for first few days, it will increase to bb's demand. But i have experienced bad engorgements n nurses have to give me cabbage leaves and pump to express the excess milk.. I also realised when i am feeding on my left breast, my right one will leak. Luckily i bot avent's breast shells. Can collect about 20ml of leakage per feed! Very useful. Okie i got to rest already, catch up later!

astro,
u reali so "eng" leh. haha. As eng as me now

roxie,
i bot medela and avent breastshell too but seems one pair is enuff cos no chance to use the other pair. My avent one still sealed in box. I oso find it so useful especially if we dun hv alot of milk so 10-20ml leakage is so precious to my bb.

PY,
got it
she reali bhb one lah. she watching TV now and bb sleeping. My sofa is those L shape type and she is using the long one so she can rest her leg

roxie,
you able to get colostrum right after your op? :eek:
That's awesome. You feed directly from latch on or initially use cup first?

astro,
think of the "after effects" after eating and you wont eat so much liao. try to walk around abit. will help.

annette,
didnt eat much... but did you snack?

ddnikz
u write on scotch tape and paste the label on the glass bottles lor.

Hmmm?? Milk bags turn sour easily in milk bags? Nvr heard b4 but then again coz there r no preservatives added to our BM, thus the storage period in normal freezer shld not exceed 8 wks max. U will find tt when u defrost the FBM, there is one strong smell (some says metallic) tt u dun even wanna taste it.

But wif chilled ones, no such smell lah.

Ong
i think most CLs know how to take care of themselves. Coz imagine they r wkg as CLs for how many mths a yr? If they dunno how to take care, they'll age faster. My CL for one does not hv the fan blow directly at her when she sleeps. And so far she's in her 50s but no rheumatism problems at all. But she doesnt pinch the fd fr wat i eat. She'll cook sthg simple separately for her own aft tt.
The day aft CL left, baby started to sleep wif us. Wah tt felt like the longest night i ever had. baby was making so much sleeping noises and wat made it worse is tt i am a super light sleeper. wah liew... almost went crazy tt night... it was then i wonder if i will nvr hv a gd night's sleep anymore.

Roxie
Ur supply is gd! I cld pump abt 60ml on Day 5 oso since had been bfg on demand the initial few days b4 baby was admitted for jaundice.
yep its a norm rxn tt when u latch baby on 1 side, the other side will leak. the amazing thing later when u go back to work is tt when its almost time for baby's feed, ur boobs will hv this funny tingling sensation thou ur baby is not anywhere near u. i experienced tt when i went back to work aft 3 mths. its the bfg bond.

astro
same same... eat too much will b v uncomfy. sometimes i end up puking some fd out so can feel better.

ddnikz: the problem is. i didn't over eat. one person portion. yet it is still 'too much'.. :S

jrrt: i dun puke..haiz.. :S

ong: yalor. not kidding when i say i am pretending to work@work wor..

jrrt,
same as u, the day after CL left, we felt like the longest nite too cos i am light sleeper. so immediate on nx day after pushing out the cot, we sent the bb over to my mum place and told mum we need to sleep else will go crazy soon then we headed back home to sleep zzzz

Astro
dun puke lah. bad habit. its juz tt my MS nvr totally left me during this pregnancy.
walk ard more so tt u can digest faster. wat to do? the last few wks of preg can b quite uncomfy (not tt i am hvg it easier in the initial few mths either!)

ong
so tt makes us both light sleepers no wonder we find it so tough!
I dunno how on earth i managed from the 2nd night onwards but eventually i did coz i still woke up to latch baby at night. i wld rather latch than to wake up and warm up EBM! its more of a hassle to me! hahaa.

jRRt,
that sounds like a good idea. must go and get those can write on scotchtape liao. Cant seem to remember where I read the information on storage bags, saw that long long time ago on someone's feedback. That's why I decided to get bottles instead.

Astro,
nowadays I eat 2 slice of bread also seem too much. Guess should just half it...

ddnikz: i think that person never freezed properly right?

yalor.. miser keeps asking me how come i am eating so little again? then every night. once i lie down to sleep. keep burping.. gross :S

jrrt: yalor... and i am feeling quite bored. actually i stil have some loose ends to tidy up at home. but i am not doig it.. so very evidently the nesting instinct not here.. not going into labour yet!

ddnikz- yea i have colostrum when i latched on 2hours after my c sect. It's amazing to see your little one suckle so well and your hormones work to produce his supply
mine got big appetite. Today hubby said the nurse commented my bb can drink up to 90ml also! Don want to stop suckling. Ask me to continue 60ml till see pd on wed again for jaundice review. Hey you may be suprised that bb can still pee and poo several times a day even your colostrum is little. Pd said as long as bb got pee n poo and meet the quota, it means its all ok. Don give up k mummies, we all can be successful moo moos! Hee hee

roxie: u no sore nipples?! steady wor..
teng last time barrcuda.. then nurse keeps coming in with him wen i was still in tmc.. almost like 1 huorly! then keep telling me.. ' u got hungry bb'.. aiyoh.. then i latched till i fed up. i told them.. 'u give him glucose lah. '.. but because of the frequent latching.. milk came in on day 3.. and alamak.. i was wearing breast shells. coz sre nipple.. then woke up. wah liew.. to sour milk collected in breast shells.. hahaha. then i knew how breast milk looks like.. then i was wondering.. shd i still feed it to teng.. hahahah. how gross! :p

CL

BTW, just to check if it is a standard package that CL have to wash clothes for both the mummy and baby?

My CL does not wash my clothes and she only handwash bb clothes every 3-4 days (which i tot should be daily)

She too, eats everything where her hands can reach. She finished my son's favourite butter spread and made him cry.

She doesnt sweep floor nor mop floor. she mention if needed to sweep floor will be $100 extra.

Her entertainment time is too long
wakes up at 8am prepare milo for my breakfast but not steaming milk bottle and pump accessories
10am-12pm watch TV, after tat cook lunch for me
then 2pm-4pm (watch TV)
4pm sleep till 5:30pm
6pm prepare dinner
7pm watch TV till 11pm. (fight with my boy for TV)

Haiz. 2 more weeks to go.

ddnikz
i used scotch tape to label on chilled BM coz i keep them all in milk bottles. then juz need to peel it off b4 washing. easy and fuss free.

i had alot of milk bottles then... >10 bottles coz my son wasted a lot of milk when he was taking the bottles. he's a fussy baby - small drinker. so even if i gave him 120ml in a btl, he'll take mayb 90ml each time n waste the rest. so i'll always give my mum extra 2-3 servings of EBM.

astro
tell me abt it! i oso hv loose ends to tie up! haiz... got nesting instinct but the body is unwilling leh.

Rooster & Moo
i will tell the CL off 1st. she's supposed to b washing baby's clothes (plus urs) daily. i rem i chg nothing less than 3 sets of clothes daily coz i perspire so much, esp aft meals. how can she wash only every 3-4 days?! So she muz b so free tts y fighting for TV time wif ur son!!! tts so atrocious!!!
Does she mop the kitchen fl each time aft she cooks? I nvr heard of such things saying they duns weep the fl! if she dun sweep, how to mop? ridiculous!
i think u shld make ur stand clear to her, its another 2 wks but will b enuff to drive u crazy!

jrrt,
when CL is gone, i guess i would rather latch than pumping cos would be too lazy to use bottle in the middle of nite.

Rooster & Moo,
Wow , seems like your CL is worst than mine. Mine will still sweep, mop the floor on fri. then monday will be vacuum and mop. she wash the toilets as well. It's a std practice that CL must wash mother n bb clothes mah. Yours fm agency right? did u call n ask the agency? Mine will wash my hus clothes as well. Juz put inside washing m/c nia mah. So funni that she fight with your son for TV. Mine will wash bb clothes daily too. Yours seems to be too much leh!

thanks for the advice. I will probably be weighing the options and see how it goes. But think one impt thing I must note is IF i decide to let BB sleep with CL, then I must make sure no sign of FM around so that she bo bian have to wake me up to feed or basicallt warm up milk to feed. Hahah...my mum is still psychoing me to buy FM hahaha...got a feeling she is going to buy a can and hide somewhere in the house since she will be buying the supplies for confinement food. Looks like it's going to be fun! Just gone out to buy a travel cot on standby in case I really need her to look after BB at nite...

Re: CL
Goodness...seems like there are many horror stories about CL. Mine is not from any agency. She is recommended by my mum's friend and she is charging 2k. Apparently, she does help with washing and cleaning and of course, cooking. In fact, according to my mum's friend, she even cook different menu for my hubby and me. Dunno how true it is...I shall see...she is receiving some rave reviews from my mum's friend whose daughter and daughter in-law were both taken care by her and both are bf too...so I am keeping my fingers crossed. Anyway, I can see my mum talking to her more than me...I am still not used to the idea of having a stranger in the house...

Astro,
Don't know leh. Maybe is the brand of the storage bag no good. I heard feedback from my colleague that storage bags no good also.

roxie,
your c-sec op is it GA or epi? so you mean after you wake up immedaitely they let your bb latch on? so cute... glad to know your bb is doing well

jRRt,
ya.. the scotchtape thing is a good idea. Was still thinking to buy labels. but guess scotchtape is better.

One of the benefits of BF is easier to slim down. Does it make a diff if we pump out or if we let bb latch on?

ong
latching def beats hvg to wake up to warm EBM and in turn hear a few mins of baby crying... i will b so awake by then. at least when i latch, i am still half in lala land mode. can go back to zzz easily aft baby is done wif feeding. in fact ard 3rd wk, i was so tired out fr the night feedings tt the 1st feed of the day (ard 6-7am), i'll ask CL to give EBM so i can sleep till the next feed.

Tien
tell ur mum to give u her support by not getting FM 1st. tell her if the time comes & baby really needs it, she can still get a tin easily at supermarkets.

ddnikz
yes, scotch tape is cheap & gd. easier to peel off as compared to labels.

I am not sure if got diff on slimming as compared to direct latching or to pump out. but i know tt if u express all the way w/o latching, the amt will not increase significantly. so i'll still prefer direct latching whenever possible. i shed alot of weight during bfg but sad to say, aft i weaned off bfg, i gained back to my original weight.

VE:
this ve thing. making me doubt. din have any blood discharge. now have a bit. dunno if its a real show or not. assume it isn't until i see 2nd sign then.

jRRt,
oh.. I thought as long as we express milk, be it latching or pump, the amount should increase. Ok, think I will opt for latching till I set off to work again.

The gain back weight part doesn't sound too good
I pinning on hope on BFg that I can shed the 15kgs....

Re: BM storage
Apparently glass bottles are better for storing BM. And according to my colleague, she 'asked' for a lot when she was staying at TMC. For me, I dunno if Mt E will have or not. Actually I was thinking of buying those glass bottles baby food or juice just to keep the bottles...haha

jRRt: I have already told her I want to go full bf...she is sooooo scared that bb will starve. Cos she was one of those who have very little milk supply when she had me and my sister (iguess that's becos last time info on bf was not as available) Been inculcating bf info into her bit by bit...now at least she knows that the more I feed the more milk I should have...although she is not 100% convinced. She is definitely supportive of BF just that she is worried I won;t have milk...

ddnikz
nope, if u express exclusively, amt wun increase dramatically as compared to those whom latches directly. becoz latching will stimulate the brain to produce more for the baby. like wat ppl say, no breast pump is as efficient as a baby's latching.
i think its normal for weight gain to resume once u stop bfg. some ppl r fortunate enuff to not gain it back.

Tien
the older folks will tend to think tt way. even my mum, thou aft seeing i got abundant supply still kept sayg baby is not full aft drinking coz BM v diluted. Tell ur mum due to her lack of knowledge then, thus she had not much supply. now tt u hv read up enuff, u shldnt hv this prob.

But dun let her worries get to u. muz tell urself u def hv more than enuff to provide ur baby. and show ur mum tt she is wrong by producing a lot of milk to prove it to her!

ddnikz: Here's a short extract from the web. Apparently glass bottles means lower chance of contamination and it allows space for milk to expand when frozen.

"The most important thing that you should keep in mind when selecting breast milk storage bottles is that how long you plan to store the milk. One of the milk storage options, the storage bags are especially meant for freezing. If you are looking forward to buy those bottle liners, which are disposable, then they may need additional protection for preventing leakage and possible contamination. If you would want to freeze the milk in harder containers, then it is best to opt for glass bottles and storage containers. This is so because they are least absorbent and thus provide the maximum protection. They allow the milk to expand when frozen.

Plastic containers versus glass containers
Ample researches have been conducted to find out which of the breast milk storage bottles are best - the glass ones or the plastic ones. Most of the studies claim that the glass bottles should be the first choice as they are better for the purpose of storing milk as they provide utmost protection from any plausible contamination. The second choice should be the hard plastic and the third should be the cloudy hard plastic."

JRRt: I love this from you, "show ur mum tt she is wrong by producing a lot of milk to prove it to her". I shall store lotsa of milk in the freezer so that she has no space to keep the food when she comes to top up the confinement food supply!! Muahahhahah

re:storing of BM,
still learning on this. When we mention freezing. Is it the compartment that we put cold drinks? As in the normal compartment. Or is the freezer where the ice are?

Can we put the BM at the normal compartment then?

ddnikz: Yep...freezer = the compartment we store ice
So, when u need to warm up the milk, must defrost then warm.

If you store BM in normal compartment, think it must be consumed within 2-3 days. Think earlier in the thread, it was mentioned.

Tien,
Thanks for the info. I am using the Medela storage bottles. Guess that one should be hard plastic?

3066938.jpg

but think I better standby some glass bottles too...

No problem. Actually I am not an expert hahah...first time mum too but because I have soooooo many colleagues who popped this year, happened to 'learn' and hear a lot. I also got the medela ones cos they come with the pump. Got the pigeon bags on standby. Will see if I even need to use them or not.

Regarding glass bottles:

What i heard from Mrs Wong is that it's ok to use glass bottles but must be careful and not to have any class fragments lor meaning must wash carefully
if not baby will consume the glass fragments also.

ddnikz
i think glass bottles r preferred as compared to plastic btls coz for plastics, chances of chemicals leaching onto milk during storage seems higher. whereas in glass there is no such issue. u can buy glass milk btls nowadays oso. pigeon has it.
Freezing means the top compartment where u keep ice, where ice is being manufactured. any liquid stored in freezer is solidified.
BM kept in normal chiller (0-4 deg) is considered chilled BM and muz b used within 48 hrs fr time of expressing.

Tien
hahaha, i did tt to show everyone tt i had more than enuff milk back then oso. i occupied all the shelves on the wall of the freezer and the space tt had compartments!
so tt shut everyone up. i had to donate my BM out once a fortnight so i had space for fresh ones.
One word of caution if u r stayg wif other family members (eg mum, MIL) whom r using the freezer to store frozen uncooked meat etc is to ensure u segregate the FBM well away fr these frozen stuff.

Rearrange in a way tt frozen uncooked meats shld occupy the lower shelves (coz dun 4get they might drip bloody fluids in their chilled state) while FBM shld b on the top shelf. and to play safe, u can store ur FBM (regardless in btls or milk bags) in a container b4 keeping them in freezer. I am darn cautious when it comes to storing BM. Even for chilled ones, i occupy solely the middle compartment tt is a separate area fr the lower chiller and the freezer.

once i caught my SIL storing her can of half drank soft drink in my chilled compartment for BM, i went up to my hb and pointed it to him wat was the can of half drank canned drink doing there???? there's bacteria on the opening alrdy! i dun need more bacteria to multiply in my compartment. fr then on, no one dared to touch my compartment.

now tt i am stayg on my own, i wun hv such a prob anymore coz i am v particular abt fridge hygiene. any unfinished canned drinks/food muz b properly transferred to a container for storage. nvr in their opened exposed stage in the fridge.