(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Mummies goodnight. Hope to hear more mummies popping soon

ok, finally finished downloading something that took me 6 hours. super tired. going to bed now.

stay at home now super shiok!

soreness below:
hey ladies, any idea how to reduce the soreness below. yest when i was across the mrt platform at tanah merah, i feel like its a 100 metre dash like that. tired. sore. like PY, think i better walk more.. eheh.esp thursday and friday. :p

astro :
ur HB change of clothes? jacket? 3 set of clothes can go into a backpack? i using trolley bag :p and its already full

gal: to reduce the soreness, walk more! seroiusly.. that's what gynae said.. when i complained about soreness.. ur soreness is caused by weight. mine is caused by varicose veins.. but sitting makes it worse.. else go and lie down..

miser wun be staying over.. coz i want him to go home and bring teng back the following day
last time.. i also stayed alone.. wanted some alone time.. i feel uncomfortable if Miser is staring at me as i try to bf.. after i master.. he can stare for all he wants.. not when i still 'trying'.. hehe

why need 3 sets of clothes?

astro : ehhe.. i oso ask my hb to go home. wanted him to rest and accompany my parents. but he v eager to stay with me leh. btw, i opt for 4-bedder (ie. by right he won't be staying over).

okay, will try walk more.

3 set of clothes : day 1 night gown, day 2 night gown, day 3 go home clothes?

Gal,
i also using trolley bag and its full! 3 sets of clothes for hubb also :p luggage seems like he going batam trip xD

astro,
i feel backache loh. Ends up lying down in bed most of the time, bt nw lie on left or right doesn't work as well as before. Feel breathless and slight pain on tummyside

hope I can tahan till Thurs!

Congrats Diana on the birth of Asher! =)

ur gynae really 'super', din even know if baby's engaged anot wor.. else maybe ya wont need to go through such a long labour...

hospital bag: erm, mine's a backpack only, hope will be enough wor..

admittance time: prev had checked with the TMC Patient Services Counter and what was told is that after 12 mn, it will be considered as a new day? Then when we asked if one gets admitted at around 10+ pm, apparently it will be considered as 1 day too.. maybe someone'd wanna confirm on this whether is this really the case?

diana,
Your exp is horrible! Scary... but yeah, I agree with Astro, must change gynae!

re: milk bottles,
my breastpump comes with a few milk bottles. But they are plastic ones... not glass. Are they good as well? or I MUST have glass ones?

Does anyone know how to handle CLs?

I've hired one from an agency. Now just waiting to call them up to tell them when I deliver. The thought of sharing my room with a stranger and my baby just makes me feel a bit weird, but because nobody will be at home during the day, I do need some help. Plus I don't know how to take care of babies.

Anything to take note of?

Astro: why uncomfortable when he stare at u bf hahahaha ask him dun stare la . Can talk to bb at the same time and do other things instead of staring lol

gal: I got nowhere to go on weekdays leh always at home.. So v hard to walk more haha. I Dun feel any soreness below, juz that leg v suan and little bit of backache.. Sometimes when the bb moves then I can feel the pressure downthere lo

vodkarib,
u r less than a wk aft delivery. the amt expressed will not b alot. i think i was expressing per boob like 10 mins to 15 mins max when my son was 6 day old and he was hospitalised for jaundice. dun "overwork" ur boobs. they will become too sore fr expressing. as long as u perserve in expressing and at regular intervals (3 hrs), i am sure ur supply will increase v soon.

think u can get the glass bottles cap fr the TMC pharmacy? not sure leh, coz i din buy and was fully latching then.

aria jo
frozen BM can store up to 6 mths provided its deep freezer. def not those we hv at home. unless u get a separate freezer juz to keep BM. the recommended guidelines is to store 6-8 wks max in our normal freezer, given tt we open up the freezer door say once a day or even perhaps several times a day. the temp fluctuation does affect the FBM as well. it doesnt mean tt a baby will def get sick if they consume milk tt has been stored longer than the recommended guidelines but better to b safe than sorry. hope i din offend u.
coz even when i donate all my FBM, i oso made sure the stash is cleared within 6 wks. I wld feel responsible if anything happened to the baby tt drank my BM.

Diana
I think u r more kan cheong coz u r a medical staff urself n u can understd all the codes they r using. But its a blessing tt both u & baby are safe & sound.

its impt to feel safe & comfy wif ur gynae. So wif one bad experience, i am quite certain u will not go back to her again.

Astro
I am v particular when ppl pronounce/spell names wrongly. I will always correct the person.
Soreness can b eased by walking??? somehow i juz feel relieved when i am sitting or lying down. its worse if i am feel my urine bladder full. wah liew, gotta practically hold my lower abdomen to support it. so cartoon looking!

PY : my plan since i WFH. night time i will go out for dinner. at least got walk a bit. nmind u going to eat crab right? sure got walk later one

gal^,
orh. that one a lot of pple go to. but thot u stay in the west? come all the way here to attend church? wah...

glass,
seems like from what everyone's saying, it's prolly best to communicate some ground rules with your CL pronto. you tell her what to do, not she tell you what to do. btw, i like Elgin for bb boy's name.

diana,
so sorry to hear about your bad experience. but i always thought gynaes only come in at the last minute for the GRAND SHOW. i.e. like just b4 bb can POP OUT. maybe its just me, managing my expectations to the lowest. but in your case, i think she was cutting the time a little too fine. and yes, i would certainly go for another one for #2. anyways, its over now and you and asher are well, so that's most impt. focus on the good and move on.

gal>> oh yah dinner i always eat out so will get to walk.. but that's consider alot meh? lol ytd i went chinatown.. walk here walk there.. i think that's consider A LOT for me haha.

and i woke up with sore feet this morning.

happen to come across the concern about storing bmilk for too long and affect the quality of milk. Here's my experience.... I have stored 4 months bmilk in freezer and bb have no problem. To me bmilk is very precious as I have limited supply. The best way I find to store and minimize the change of temperature is to wrap each bmilk with a layer of aluminium foil. There was once incident where I wrapped loosely and place it in the fridge. It actually frozed! From that day onwards, i would wrap all my bmilk with a layer of aluminium foil before placing iit n the freezer to preserve the temperature. hope this helps.

hi mummies..
I gt a question to ask..
Wanna ask - for breast feeding. Once bb is born immediately after cleaning up, u put bb to ur breast to feed bb right.. But immediately we have milk meh?
Wad if the milk onli starts to flow in after 3days n meanwhile told the nurses u r in TBF. Wad bb drink?

This has been bothering me since im preg till nw week 24 haha.. Look thru website also cnt find my answer..

Kindly help me pls.. N congrates to mummies who have popped!

glass,
for CL muz close one eye sometimes as long as they take good care of baby.

Mine CL wakes up at 8.30am(the earliest) or 9am and this is consider very late as my previous CL wake up at aro 7am to prepare the red dates drinks etc. And she nap few times a day whenever my bb is sleeping. My previous CL only nap once a day and i am fine with it. My fren CL did not even nap at all. Moreover, she is picky in food and only eat good food. My previous CL eat simply and normal. This CL eat a little bit of rice but lots and lots of meats/fish/veggies etc. She can cook 4 dishes for 2 person but the portions are for 4 persons. She even eat my food w/o permission such as eating the mooncake in which i and my hus have yet to eat. She ate the cakes that i bot for my son and when i wanted to pack it for my son for sch then i realised the cakes is missing. I am fine if she wanted to eat but at least tell me lah. There are many many more but i just try to close my eyes as long as bb is in good care. Taking care of newborn is nt easy(poo alot & messy) and my hus lost 2kg during the first 2 days when back fm hospital cos CL can only come out on 3rd day. Tat's y i can understand why joanne was in panic earlier on when she tink her agent play her out.

ario,
thks for your encouragement . Seems like pumping can be more tiring than breastfeeding. When pumping, i need to keep looking down to check on it and my neck is getting stiff and aching now!

jrrt: hey. i saw ur post.. then reminded myself that i must walk.. so went to pee and to the pantry to get a cup of water and then sit down again :p

my gyane said.. 'maintain moderate activity to reduce soreness'.. i was thinking about that.. guess she must have seen me thinking.. then added 'just walk around.. dun sit all the time'.. heh..

Welcome arya and afann.. are u ladies new here? never seen ur nicks before.. but my memory is failing me though.. hahahha

PY: coz i haven't mastered the art yet mah.. then he is interested in how i do it as well.. that adds on to my stress.. i that kind like to bi4 men1 xiu1 lian4 before i show to the world kind.. so i dun like him loitering around in the initial days as i struggle to latch lor :S

ddnikz: do u think u are actually already in first state of labour ah? when is ur next gynae visit? contractions getting intense and more regular now?

hmm. dun think need glass bottles per se leh. very leceh. i think milk bags would do the job?
actually the normal milk bottles also can do mah..

oh. i bought a packet (of 2 125ml) of Tommee Tipee BFA free bottles.. just to try try when i start bb on bottles after supply established.. looks so cute leh.. the bottles..
http://www.tommeetippee.co.uk/
this was the Gold recipient from Mother and Baby awards.. cheaper in comparison to other BFA bottles.. so i thought no harm buying just to try try.. :p

my fren also recommended another one.. like tommee tippee.. recommeded coz it mimics breastfeeding.. but it seemed alittle complicated to me.. esp when it comes to sterilisastion and fillin gup of the bottles.. but agian the bottle designs look cute:p

The adiri natural nurser
www.adiri.com/

Goodness I am such a slog...slept till 11.30am. Energy level is really dropping...it better be a sign.

Re: CL
Actually got a question to ask about CL. My mum also got me a CL just that I am having a dilemma whether to let the BB sleep with her or with me at nite. Want the bb to sleep with me at nite so that I can do the every 3 hour feed to increase milk supply. But my friend was telling me that even if the BB sleeps with CL, the CL will wake me up for feeding (although I dun think it will be 3 hour, likely to be when BB needs the milk) So, if I am 'lucky' BB doesnt need milk at nite, I probably need to wake up every 3 hour to pump. Hence, I guess I need some advice here.

Tien: let the bb sleep with u.. then u can wake the bb up.. to help establish regular latching.. next time when CL leaves. u also have had experience dealing with the bb when he fidget liao
so more prepared. in my opinion..

Backpain: me stay lakeside hehe. next time we can have gathering at jp with our bb liao hehe

Diana: wa u shd file a complaint leh tts to help them to improve the service haha

roxie:I like titus yawn hehe. all bb r just so innocent n cute

Astro/PY: r both of u on leave aldy? i just started mine.wa today dun know wat bb doing, like pushing to come out abit of menses pain.

ddnikz: ger i read one of teh book.some ppl will ahve terrible backache n called backache labor due to the position of bb.y not u go see dr choo b4 ur c-s date to have another scan of bb position.

Astro: No worries lah, I welcome all ideas. That's my initial idea too. In fact was lamenting earlier also that CL was employed cos my mum wants me to build my health back during confinement. Actually I am thinking taking care of the BB for the 1st 2 weeks and then pass to CL after that. So that I can at least have 2 weeks of rest. My hubby too...dun really want to tire him out cos he is also a teacher, needs to wake up early and also have many graduating students to deal with. But if I go by this 2 week arrangement, it might be distressing for the BB too. Fan ah!

anette: no leh. i still pretending to work @ work :p
i also experienced that .. yu he fooling around inside!

tien: hey. the long hols coming soon.. well at least.. students are not around.. for ur hb.. it is better for both parents to lose some sleep then for one to be sleep deprived..

after birth.. body will experience a burst of energy. hormonal.. but that is quickly depleted too.. kekeke.. but i think it is ok to reverse our cycles a bit bit.. we wake up more in thenight.. then day time rest a bit as the CL deals with the bb, bath etc.. but stick to the 2 - 3 hourly feeding times.. dun let the bb oversleep and mess up their day/night..

then have the bb on some form of schedule.. which will work for ur family..
of course. these are ideal. just try to do ur best.. and see how..

Astro/Annette,
No more gynae visit liao. Last sat is the last one. I popping bb this Thurs. but the thing is, I put on panty liner everyday. Do have some moist feel on it but not sure if it is the fluid leaking or not. My guess is that if is fluid leaking, it shouldnt be just "moist". Since yesterday have dark yellow discharge. Hope bb can wait till Thurs morning...

Re: milk bottles,
Seen alot of post on glass bottles. Thought will need those. Mine is medela plastic bottles. Do look sturdy enough. Think maybe I won't place them in the deep freezer...

oh ya.. i sent ellie to TMC's parent craft to do the infant training course.. was told it was long cause they really made sure all the caregivers (mostly maids sent) can do it properly, one by one. so much so that they end up class supposed to end at 1230.. then end at 1pm instead.. ellie said they were so hungry.. and miser and i forgot to give her $$ for lunch. she ended up paying for her own lunch. kekkekee

anyway. saw her revising using the notes.. we will see how she fare when yu he arrives :p

ladies, if u all plannign to get a maid.. can try sending ur maids to the class.. i feel it is useful. think $140 plus per class..

Annette,
During my last visit to Dr Choo, she said my bb's head is down but not so much as in coming out soon. So I guess I still can wait.

Tien: think let bb sleep in the cot n let CL take care at nite better lor.

Astro:y gynae still dun give u HL ah? me taking my time to clean up n wash bb stuff haha,all very last min:p u decided on bb 's name to be yu he? not getting anyone to calculate? Mine most likely be Yu Ze or Kang Lei, but then need the shi fu to calculate n tt shi fu will only be back in sg on 20th oct,my other frd shortlisted 5 all rejected maybe shd think of a few more.

tien,
If i were u, i would let the bb sleep with the CL. Cos newborn tends to make alot of funny sound and as new parents, we tends to wake up at their slightest sound or noise and by morning, u would become a panda liao. If your hus is sleeping with u and bb, then i guess he would be affected by the sounds as well. Btw, bb wake up constantly for feed. Worst can be 1.5hrs apart. If u r lucky, then it will stretch longer.

For me, I am not latching at nite but only pump once/twice at nite so CL can feed bb and i can have a rest too. Just pumping once/twice a nite is oreadi making me so tired liao. If CL went back in another 2wks, i wonder if i can still cope with the bb....

ddnikz: oicc.maybe tt yellowish discharge is the 'show'thing tt diana they all mentioned earlier on. Mine also down since wk 32 but just not engaged,bb gained 800g last wk hope he dun gain another 800g this wk if not i will faint.tummy getting so heavy, walk also can feel the wt now

Re: nipple cream

Previously u all mentioned abt nipple cream,when do we apply tt since we gog to BF bb?i ahvent buy mine yet, but guess will need it as nipples getting very painful sicne last wk

anette: cause i din't ask explictly for it yet.. :p.. this wed i will ask for MC first.. 4 days.. then hint i dun have mc liao. see how she reacts :p

ya.. decided the name to be Yu He.. we not looking at other options liao.. kekeke. lazy to think liao.. we calculated teh strokes ourselves.. okok.. but not matched to the time of birth one.. as it was with teng last time

my mum wanted ellie to wash another round allthe bb clothings! *fainted*.. i told her dun need lah.. what for? washed once alreayd mah.. she said.. gathered dust.. no good for bb. wah liew.. then she used what i always told her 'ellie do mah . not u do.. ' i then tell her.. waste of money and electricity!!! that one miser pay one..right?! duh...

anette: show is not yellowish. it is pinkish/browish.. tinged with blood..

no lah. bb cannot keep gaing that much weight at such phomenenal rate one.. urs more stylo.. i thought roxie's is classic liao.. urs is 800g per week? :p

ddnikz: ya. dun freeze using bottles in freezer.. glass or plastic both cannot! will break.. and waste bottles! use milk bags.. cheaper.. and can label.. neater.

glass bottles
I find it too heavy and dangerous as u risk dropping it onto the floor when in panic due to wailing bb etc. Not very practical oso.

astro,
i oso tink i very patience cos i told my frens and they r surprise i can still tahan with her. My fren chg 3 CL in 5wks cos she is particular abt small details. For me, priority is bb and the rest i can chin chai.

annette,
maybe u can get a small tube first cos i realised i oni used it for first wk when bb still learning to latch. If nt enuff can always buy again. I still hv one big tube left! Shld hv gotten a small tube instead. Now no choice, just apply for maintence purpose else wasted.

astro: oicc tts easier. then is extra more normal transparent discharge also symptom?my gynae assistance ask me look out for tt as well. last time my bb dun gain so much wt, at wk35-36 only 2.5kg then last wk at wk37 bb wt 3.3kg wo while i only gain 600g, gynae quite stunned.she said see this fri if bb gain alot n hit 4kg, maybe need consider c-s lor but she also said wt gain shd be stablilised now by rite.

re glass bottles
and then hor.. imagine if it cracks slighlty. then have bits of glass which we can't see and we feed the milk to bb? OMG?!
okok. i got nothing better to do.. so anyhow IMAGINING.. ignore me pls :p