(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Breastfeeding:
hi mummies. I've breastfed my elder for 16 mths. And like vocarib not so blessed with milk. I don know but I did mixed my freshly express milk with the chilled ones and my girl did not have any problem. The reason not enough glass bottles if pump so many times a day. When I went back to work, my supply went up and I managed to express slightly more than my girl's requirement and these I stored in the freezer. I would store for 3 to 4 mths because once in frozen state can store up to 6 mths. Well, if you're one with lots of milk, no point keeping as long as me but if not every single drop is sooo precious! Haha.

Nuk caps which can be bought from kiddy palace can fit most glass bottles like similac, enfa, etc. It's a bit costlyas compared to the pharmacies one. I invested a lot in it because I knew then that I'm not stopping at one. Hehe. Also since we need to keep heating and freezing these caps, i feel that I should get a better quality caps. I scared of chemical leak la. Very kiasu :p

hahaha astro, guess Charlotte's weight at birth?
gynae scanned 3.2kg when i was 38 weeks. hehehe.
i wonder if she will become 3.4kg-3.5kg this coming wednesday ... hopefully not so i wont need to induce ha !

Diane>> oh is it... only for KKH right? coz i nv heard before TMC or Mt A that emer c sect hubby is not allow in the OT leh.

roxie: i facicnated by titus's photo.. never read weight properly :p ur son too ham (handsome) lah.. happy ? :p:p:p ok. roger.. 3.51

PY: ha! i am not able to guess. but i can assure u all that.. the weight gain wun be phenonmenal liao.. at most. 300g increase.. AT MOST.. u this wed is week what? ..
i told roxie.. her gyna overestimating. coz she/he was proposing another 700g increase every week .. how can that be?! so i told her.. that visit. 3.2kg.. then bingo.. hahahah :p

Astro>> is it.. my friend also kena emergency c sect but i see her hb took pictures with her in the OT.. she was at TMC then.

Next thursday will be week 39 liao. haha i seeing my gynae on wed. hopefully can make it to see her i dun want charlotte to come out so soon. after wed pls ha ha

PY: heh. oh. TMC allows? :p i dunno.. kekeke..
anyway.. u wanted charlotte come out after exams.. now after exams liao.. how come cannot? :p

<font color="aa00aa">astro, no, I am not angry or offended, because it is very individual. I think is just my luck, this is the only thing I didn't do much research ( like asking around which gynea is good or what, if I know it earlier, I will take Dr irene, the same as famela, she seems to be pretty nice and gentle gynea. I dont think mine is popular or have much raves like the rest of the gynea, really... I just want a female gynea who runs afternoon clinic on friday so I will only blame on my luck to choose her. sigh)

the rest, I am very happy, I really like their neonatologists as I work with them before and the other PDs. very very good instead that's why I come to KKH.

will i still choose kkh for my #2, (erm, now still a bit phobia as the fear of losing a child was really ...*speechless*) I think I will and definitely not Dr Yeap anymore.

because... i dun wish her to have the same bday as my cousin lah. wahahhaah *touch wood* i hope it wont be so coincidence lor! so after wed pls hahaha... i've been talking to her liao. best is 10 or 11 hehe.

Oh yeah, mummies i also haven't pop. Edd is next Thursday 8th. I'm already 39 weeks and so far really like no sign except more and more bh and soreness. To think that no.2 will usually come early. Looks likemy girl still don't want to come out to see the world just like her jiejie, an overdue baby. By the way, we have decided to name her Naia Ng.

Oh, congrats to all mummies who has popped! Soon it's breatsfeeding topics soon

responding to archives...

Mrs Neo: like what i told Roxie.. think Yu He wun come out till i am settled on the english name! u waiting to go see a shi fu to get anchinese name?

glass: wow! a new notebook! :p i will just bring my hp along.. kekeke..
heh. are u Sa*** T** in FB ah? coz for a while. i was wondering what happen to that mtb.. :p
aiya. u dun worry lah. i having 2 kids liao. also behaving like a kid.. but be like a kid.. young at heart!! else how to relate to our children?

envelope: did a quick google.. epidural is by and large.. safe.. but i experienced shivering.. when aircon was off!
http://www.childbirth.org/articles/sideeppi.html

gal: ONLY if u need an induction or something to quicken the labour.. they will ask u before they give u the drip

Mrs Neo/PY: alamak. now TMC only provides Fitti? last time during teng's time.. they provide pampers newborn. the yellow and darn exp diapers one leh.. economy recession ah? cost cutting? :p aiyoh :p

ddinkz: hmm.. how are u feeling now?

Diana: the thing is.. there are many gynaes who run afternoon shifts on friday
.. anyway. it is over.. concentrate on Asher from now on
rest well..

PY: u horrible lah :p..week 39 huh..if charlotte still stay inside.. i think u got chance have 3.5kg bb :p

04-10-09 @ 1.30am, i got some brown discharge..
Call up friend to ask, they say its also consider bleeding..
went to the hospital at 3am.
Nurse did a ckeckup for me, say i do have contractions, 1 cm opened only, but no more brown discharge..
i was told to me stay in the hospital until i give birth, cos also dont know when will start labour..but i insisted on going home.
((nurse saied that within this few days, baby should be able to come out..))
Nurse called up my gynae, gynae say ok to let me go home..
reach home @ 4.45am..
Went to the toliet, saw blood discharge on pantyliner..
I rest on bed after that, try to sleep.. but got mens cramp feeling..
Now, still got light pink discharge.. felt slight contractions..
sigh.. also dont know when will give birth.. Any advice from mummies here?
I got appt with gynae tomorrow, so decided to wait til tomorrow and see how..
Now , still monitoring.. if suddenly got alot of bleed discharge, then i will go hospital and see how..
Anyway, initially i thought of inducing labour at 111009 if baby not out by then.. but i have a diff mindset after i came back from hospital..
Im scared.. Haha.. cos when nurse insert finger inside to check, it hurts like @#$%&amp; already.. So i think induce more pain....
So, i think i will let baby decide when he want to come out

Roxie: Titus is soooooooooo adorable. Lovely boy...congrats!!

I am feeling a little scared after reading the birth story. Throughout the pregnancy the thought of labour hasn't really come to haunt me but as my BH contractions become more often these days I think I am getting kinda scared. In fact today I had the most number of times of BH and the longest. Just now went to Suntec and had it for close to 1 hr after dinner.

astro>> hahahahaha i also tot TMC will give a better brand of diapers leh.. why now fitti! lol. at least huggies or what also good right.

gynae says if her weight hit 3.5kg this wed might need to consider inducing.. and she keep asking me to eat less and walk more.. but i'm still eating ALOT wahhaa.. cannot control. Now i am craving for crabs!!!

lim: are u lin ah? coz got another mtb named Lin.. so i am confused.. hehe..:p
u experienced the show.. i tink pls monitor ur contractions.. if by tomorrow morning. nothing.. then i think ur gynae might induce u.. if not, as u said.. if got bleeding, pls waste no time to get to the hospital..

tien: guess what.. i am being freaked out by c-sections these days. coz i was like. wah. under drug still can experience tugging? power leh. hahah. must be all the documentaries i watched.. jialat.. need to forget all that..

*chants* "peace of mind.. go with the flow. go in.. everything is alright.. ZEN...." heh

PY: pls dun tempt me.. keep ur cravings to urself! crabs.. my fav.. haiz.. :S
i am still walking a lot. but i feel heavy lor.. haiz.. then i lie down side way.. my legs will get very sore. i dunno why
..must ask my gynae this wed.. skali she gives me MC? *dreaming*.. hahaha.. anyway.. yalor. how come change liao? i was still thinking.. 'nvm. i dun need so good diapers.. i just buy huggies can liao'.. wah liew.. :p

hi astro: yeah, that's me on facebook. that mtb had been busy playing computer game! haha. Had been thinking about new notebook for a long time, but one day, all the notebooks I have at home couldn't surf probably, including my noisy desktop, then I just decide to buy. Very happy with my purchase.

linping, if scared pain, use epidural! Guess the others may be able to answer your queries better.

Astro, Thank you
yes aria is my elder girl's name

Naia is pronounce quite close to the brand Gaia. Just replace g with n. Ha ha. Sounds like "may" but with "n" sound
and "year" sound without "r".

astro and py, according to the nurses at my clinic, they say tmc rotates the diaper brands. I think it's for diapers, or maybe for formula milk. Can't remember.

aria: naia sounds nice. naia ng though a bit tongue twister. Think teachers are going to have a hard time in the future.

Mummies, if u really so scared of the labour pain then fall back on epidural la. He he. It's really painless labour after the injection. I did get the shiver but that the most unpleasant thing only. I was induced in my first pregnancies cos my girl was overdue and I had show. Tahan the pain for a while to experience the so call labour pain. Ha ha. When the contraction gets to near, quickly called for epidural. Took me 10 hours to get fully dilated! But Heng ah, still managed to deliver my girl naturally. I really really prayed v v hard during that 10 hours!

glass: wasted lah. .i still thinking of them sponsering me a pack of pampers newborn leh.. wasted.. wasted.. if i tell Miser.. i think he will say shit :p

aria: i still dunno how to pronounce coz i am very lousy with names.. nvm.. u will teach me when we have opp to meet up!

Glass, thanks
yeah, initially I was quite hesitant abt naming her Naia but hubby really like the name. So we just go ahead with the decision. Moreover it has a beautiful meaning to it. He he. I'm expecting people to call her Nai-ya or na-ya or something.

my small suitcase full already, still got a lot of things I think I want to put in. that day at TMC I saw someone with a super huge luggage that she brought for delivery. Super kiasu.

aria:what is the meaning behind it? i having a hard time with my boy's english name. coz i do mind mispronunciation.. and it doesn't help that Miser keeps contorting any names i suggest! ahhhh..

glass: suitcase? :p i brought very small day pack.. and that backpack is made bulky because i include a wooden toy meant to be given to rayner by yu he.. hence bulky.. else it is slim and stylo .. trim trim trim..u wun need so many things

my hp software need upgrading version and thus unable to log in often since wifi function is down.sianz cos need to on PC else cant surf net while lying on bed.

CONGRATs to ALL mummies who have just popped over the few days!!!

Wow! Just few days nv log in and so many of u popped liao!!

Joanne(glendon),
for heat rash, u can apply fucicort. It is an antibiotic cream given by PD(EK Ong) fm baby and child clinic.Very effective as keith's face was clear of all rashes by next day. In fact, the cream was given to my #1 last time. It can be used for mosquito bites, itchyness etc.

Joyce,
PMed u. thks!

astro: so far in my suitcase i have pjs, pads, bras and disposable underwear, plus a set of going home clothes. haven't put in my toiletries set yet. will probably add some CDs and books to read, or my notebook. Coz according to the book by Mrs Wong, she said the delivery suite there can put music. I got jazz and some funky music.

THink may get hubby to bring along the breast pumps too. Coz I dunno how to use, haven't open the box yet to see.

Alamak, he hasn't tried putting the car seat yet. I reminded him so many times to test it.

ong: u go to EK Ong? his queue super de long! :p.. but he is quite funny looking.. i still remember how he use two rooms. then he goes to and fro .. from one room to another.. hahaha. and he wears very cartoonish ties :p:p:p

glass: u test ur son's name on me.. if can clear me.. or lagi best. clear Miser (and anothe fren of mine). it will be VERY 'safe' :p

glass: like that.. *putting on trimming hat*.. take that notebook.. Download ur fav tunes from ur CDs into the note book.. and since u have wireless access.. all u need is just ur note book! no time to read one. coz too tired.. bb brought to u for round the clock feeding.. till u dun want to see him! hahaha. that's what happened to me and teng :p

dun need breast pumps lah :p.. what brand u bought?

astro,
just kpo a bit here on the name naia. Spore idol have the maia(pronounce as MaYa) lee right. So i guess same prounciation except Ma become Na and "ia" pronounce as "Ya" . Wonder if i am right.

ok, sleeping now. gg to wake up later to perform my moo duties .

astro: ok, i type now but will delete it after you read, coz i don't want too many people to know who i am. already in another thread my friend realised who i am.

ong: ariajo said it rhymes with may, so maybe sounds more like nay-er than nah-ya

astro: i got pump in style i think. bought super long ago. good idea. i'll download more songs into my notebook then.

astro,
used to go to EK ong last time. BUt his Q dam LONG as i waited for 3 to 4hrs !!! Simply crazy!!! I Switched to another PD in Yishun area instead as nearer to my hse.

Astro, it's a Greek name ant it means "flowing" and also refer to Greek mythology "water nymph". Actually we didn't know it has so many versions of meaning until we google it.

Glass, it's like that la. Many nurses mispronounce my elder's name also. Unless u get those common names, if not very high chance will mispronounce.

Actually the pronounciation I also got it from the Internet la. He he. Glass is close
oh, jiayou ong with ur pumpping session!

aria: my english name so simple and common, even my mother mispronounced it and a lot of other people. sigh, my hanyu pinyin name was butchered by my primary school teachers and classmates, and even the chinese teachers dunno how to pronounce my name. really terrible feeling. esp when kids make fun.

my husband's father never put his dialect name on his IC, coz he's afraid that boys will tease him. coz tuck rhymes with you know what, and i had a student with that name, and he really was teased all the time

aria: wow.. nice meanings.. very romantic meansing leh..

aiyoh.. my son's name.. Rayner.. pple can still pronouce is as Ray-na! haiz.. he also pronounce it as ray-na!!! think my helper pronounced it this way.. so he just continued this way. haiz..

glass: i read liao.. eh. i dunno how to read! :p
wait. i ask my fren.. then i pm-ed u if she can come out with funny mispronounciation.. :p

ario,
Din c your reply to astro on the name. paiseh. Juz realised for the expressed milk, my CL oso mix different temp together and so far keith is fine leh.

astro: haha no lah, just dun want my boss to find out i'm skiving here. hahahaha.

re name - you referring to english or hanyu pinyin?

glass: ha.. i referred to the english name.. ok.. i asked my fren and Miser liao. these are what i have gathered :p

my fren --->el-geen
Miser - L Jeans :)P)
myself.. el-geen.. (but the first word that came to my mind was.. 'alage' )

*siams Glass far far far away* :pPP
joking wor. no offence!

Ong: ya. i also went to other PD liao.. no more with EK Ong..

Glass, no u were close. Slightly diff from Maia. I don't know le. I google the pronunciationand most people with this name swear it should be pronounce as nay-uh (year sound withou the "r").

Oh for my girls, we don't have dialect name. Birth cert just states aria Ng and Naia Ng.