(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

i thot best is to let the bb latch on for the first few days since latching can help stimulate milk supply?

i dun intend to bring my pump to hosp leh.. thot of using only after returning hm from hosp..

xoxo: yo u have msn?add me at [email protected] then we can msn each other when sleepless again hehe. Was eamiling my HR at th emiddle of the night and ask them abt my new arrangement of leave to avoid tt stupid clause of theirs.Then hubby came out n nag me to nap for 2hrs coz today be long day at work hehe. now so tired.

Shugar: when u be discharge?Speedy recovery ye

Mrs L/Sotong: ya the raffles hotel champange truffle mooncake very nice, i aldy had 2 boxes, hubby trying to curb me from eating hehe

Re: latching/pump

Ya i was told to latch for a few days before using the pump as well coz no demand hence no supply

ddnikz: pm-ed u
i think it is relatively safe that u cld sterilise when u first want to use it? quite fast one

hippo: roger-ed

shugar: ah. i see.. hey.. u coping well?

sotong: i think same thing. but miser referred to a book. anyway. they all say the same thing..

hi ddnikz,

I also dun plan to bring the pump to the hospital cos based on my past experience I have no milk in the 1st 3 days.
If u plan to bring, the nurse will help you to sterilise the pump foc.

Glass
Usually i oso wear old tees & shorts for bed time. But hvg a front button PJs really helped for me. My cheap PJs served me really well the 1st time and I had to sew back the buttons a few times due to the excessive buttoning/unbuttoning during bfg. This time i juz pampered myself wif a set of 2 PJs set from MotherCare. I figured its not too exp to help in my bfg career. Heee...

Siangjiao
depends on wat toys u buy... most of them r not suitable to b sterilised due to the material used or u r not sure how the materials will degrade under the heat. So better not sterilise. it might do more harm than gd. anyway in the 1st mth or so, no need toys to entertain them. They cant see much colours and vision is limited. mostly blurry images. So u can wait till xmas sale season to get toys. they will b more alert by then and neck muscles oso stronger.

ddnikz
its ok to sterilise the breast pump and bring along. U can keep ur breast pump in a clean container aft sterilising and bring it along. But for 1st time mummies whom direct latch, i doubt there is a need to bring the breast pump along. I direct latch while at the hospital and did not need to use any pump at all. Else u can leave ur pump in the house or wif ur mum. Then get them to bring it to the hospital to u IF u really need it. Not sure if hospital will chrg u for the svc anot.

Roxie
Wah i salute u! 15 tins!!!!

PY
i oso like bubble milk tea!!!!

MrsL
Yep u r right... TMC's gowns r those surgical ones tt we tie at the back, so its recommended tt we bring our own front buttons ones easier for bfg.

Shugar
Congrats to the arrival of baby Samuel!
Hope his condition improves soon and u get to cuddle him.

I have not posted for sometime.. Nice to see so many updates all of a sudden...
My tummy is getting really huge and it's very weird in contrast to my boney body. Just worried baby gets too big.
Just a qn, wonder if anyone knows - I take lots of sweet stuff. About 1-2 slices of cakes or 2 sccops of ice cream per day, does that contribute to baby's weight? But I have not put on more than 3kg overall as compared to my pre-preg weight!! But baby is already 2.2kg at 32 weeks...Not sure why but one week when I indulge in Swensens creations every day, I did not put on any weight! In fact I think I lost it all to babe... Why is this so???

Astro/annette/jRRt>> i only started in the 3T but mostly are MOS milk tea lah. Wasnt told that this could cause phlegm haha.. anyway i've stopped liao hope baby slow down her growth lol.

siangjiao>> i also went to sampled some mooncakes wahaha.. =x my hb gonna get the marriott's durian mooncake lor. hai.. i think i also cannot control one haha!

Sotong_Mum>> mine is not going overseas ah.. just that for 28 29 30 he will be uncontactable during office hours.. gotta attend to some impt delegates from overseas then need to surrender HPs.. i have been telling baby to be patient and wait for daddy lor haha.. and gynae advised me not to walk too much during this period.

Shugar>> get well soon!

tomorrow is my paper! last paper on tuesday! i'm going crazy over them.. ARGH just wanna get over and done it. =\ there's too much infomation liao.. how to remember!!? ROAR!!!

Thanks mummies for all the answers... I need to bring the breastpump to hospital cos I worried that after my c-section, it may be too painful to let bb latch on. That's why bring the pump along.

Anyone signing up with the footprint mould company? Heard this weekend is the last of their promo...

i haf the following for sale...pls PM if u interested...thanks

1) netted underwear (like the type TMC use) - 2 pcs, $4 each incl normal postage
its v good for holding the maternity pads in place...stains r easily washed off too..its washable

2) feeding cups - 3 sets of 10 cups each, $2 each incl normal postage
to prevent nipple confusion...if u need to supplement before ur milk ss comes, its good to use this method

shugar/ong : Congratulations!! My wishes came slightly later as I've not been active here for the past few days.. =)

Anyway, I've seen previous post on maternity pads tat ppl here recommend Pureen rite?? But I cant find it from many dept stores leh.. Anyone can tell me where to get and roughly how much it costs?

hi sweetzinc,

All the best to ur paper.. dun be too stress... cos I remember when I was doing my degree last paper, my classmate when into labour almost immediately she submitted the paper... luckily she was already week 37 liao so consider full term...
So dun be too excited or too stress....
GOOD luck

yee? think I must be blind. Thought I read that the recommendation for maternity pads is Kotex???

jan jan,
I bought those for maternity use. L size no longer fits... sigh sigh...

hippo : Ok.

sweetzinc : You take care ya... Don't stress yourself too much... I don't dare to msn you... Scared will disturb... We chat after your exam.

jan jan : Maternity pad i got Kotex ( i just asked my hubby to get any brand :p) and disposable panties i got those especially for maternity use. I scared later i cannot fit into those normal ones ya...

<font color="0000ff">Hi all,

Can I join this thread? My EDD is 30Oct so am about 34 wks this week. Still some time to go, but my No. 1 came out at 36+ wks.. so am preparing that No. 2 will arrive that soon too.

Baby No. 2
Hospital: TMC
Gynae: Dr LC Cheng</font>

dreamy>> lol cos i was so pek cek la too much info to remember hence my msn nick lol

joyce>> wow that's scary i hope i wont go into labour that fast even though next tue i'll be W36D4 lol

hmm actually i dun mind leh.. as long as she choose the correct timing.. anyday after 22 sept and before 27 sept i'm fine with it. haha if not she better wait till october lol

something funny to share~ LoL

One day my mother was out and my dad was in charge of me.
I was maybe 2 1/2 years old. Someone had given me a little 'tea set' as a gift and it was one of my favorite toys.
Daddy was in the living room engrossed in the evening news when I brought Daddy a little cup of 'tea', which was just water. After several cups of tea and lots of praise for such yummy tea, my Mom came home.
My Dad made her wait in the living room to watch me bring him a cup of tea, because it was 'just the cutest thing!' My Mom waited, and sure enough, here I come down the hall with a cup of tea for Daddy and she watches him drink it up.
Then she says to my dad,'Did it ever occur to you that the only place she can reach to get water is the toilet bowl?

hehe...i remember reading this too but I tot u did it when u were young...hehe.

btw, can anyone pls tell me wat's the difference between epi and spinal?

jus had my gynae check y'day and first time i am feelin a bit insecure and worried abt my bb.
gynae said bb weight is less than 2.4kg (~36Wks) which i saw from her chart is slightly lower than 50th percentile. however i guess the worrying thing is gynae observed that my blood pressure is much higher than normal; swelling in my feet and face; slight protein in urine and she was sayin all these pointing to condition called preeclampsia. this got me kind of worried.. esp when she started to measure the amt of amniotic fluid arnd bb and say will continue to monitor closely in the coming weeks...
she did mention that amt of fluid is related to health of placenta which is related to the condition she mentioned..
although at the end of the day, she said there is nothing major to be worried as of now and she will continue to monitor me weekly..but sigh...it really got me worried
i really hope bb will continue to do fine.
asked her if high blood due lack of rest or diet related - she say "not really" and "nothing much i can do"....
wonder if consequences of my poor diet is now showing up..!??!

vod: rest more.. eat more protein.. less sugar.. ur gynae has a point. it is not withiin anyone's control to have an aging placenta or develop pre-clampsia.. hey. did u post sometime back that u have swelling and double vision?

welcome ilovemaxmax!

Joyce : Thanx.. Will go check it out at Kiddy palace later..

ddnikz : Kotex meh?? I tot I read abt ppl preferred Pureen?? Hahaha.. I also not too sure leh.. Hmmm..

Rgding placenta - There was once, my colleague(a guy with a bb ger) ask me this 'R u going to take ur placenta home, dry it, cook and eat it??' I nv heard of such things!! Can anyone adv?? Haha.. I ask him bk 'How to eat??'

just want to share.. yesterday still ploughing through the english names.. then ithought 'Ashwin' was nice.. then i asked miser 'ashwin nice?'.. he said 'huh? Aspirin?'
haiz. giv eup..

ddnikz:wat promotion the foot print cpy has?

sweetzinc: i not too sure also, is those kuo fu sell tea aunties who told me not to drink too much of milk tea coz if not baby will have slot phlegm. tue be soon over, so do ur last paper hehe.

ilovemaxmax:Welcome

miemie: tts funny

Hi ilovemaxmax: Welcome

Hi Astro: I think your Miser is trying to be funny..... hahahaha

Hi vodkarib: Dun worried too much... Me too also going through the stage.. Now also need to closely monitor my BP... my amniotic fluid is also borderline low now... so next Tues will see if induce is needed...

Re footprint mould,
Bestimprezzione have the sign up services at the taka baby fair. This is held inside Takashimaya 3rd floor, right beside the cashier. I just rec the notification from the company that the promo period is ending next Mon, 21 Sept. (though is mentioned in their website 18 Sept).

Promo details:
• 10% off package price for purchases above $200
• 15% off package price for purchases above $350
• 25% off 24k Gold plating only.

The package offered at the fair I think is $149 onwards instead of the usual $169.

bblov,
I swear I really thought Kotex is the one leh. kekeke, till today, I didnt know the existence of the Pureen one until you mention.

miemie, the story is really funny... hee.

re: maternity pad
i think 3 brands were mentioned here: kotex, pureen n mothercare. seems like kotex was the most popular brand among the 3.

2 days din read post..wah...i missed so many tings

Shugar/Ong : Congrats!!!!! :D So happy and excited for u two!

Baby girl name starting w 'R' : Radiance , Rachel.
Baby boy name starting w 'Z' : i love e name Zachery .. so 'Zack'? (no, my HB no agree so that's not my boy's name)

Astro : many nice 2 syllable names. Any particular alphabet?

Names :
Er..anybody know how to convert e name to dialect?
We are thinking of Chen Jie..so if convert to dialect (teochew) would it be Tan Kiat? or... ?? (yes, only 1 character chinese name + surname)
er..any funny name that may come out from the above?

PY : jiayou!

mooncake :
wah..u all still got stamina to go? my legs are like cannot support me much of late. when I walk I may have muscle pull on left butt downwards or right side downwards.

gal^
Tan Kiat sounds like egg tart (in hokkien) to me. No offence hor.

babytum
sweet stuff def contributes to weight gain. I hv been craving for sweet stuff since many wks ago and i usually give in coz the cravings r too intense! AM oso piling on weight possibly due to the sweet stuff! hahahaha

PY
Mos milk tea? I love them too! Aiyoh but my weakness is the bubble tea with pearls! Simply shiok ah!

All the best for ur last paper! Jia You!

vodkarib
the figures r juz an estimation. anyway hvg a slightly smaller baby does not mean tt the baby is not healthy. Since gynae is not overly worried and u'll b seeing her wkly fr now on, try not to worry so much though i know its super hard. As long as u still feel baby movements, i guess everything is fine. Try to take more nutritious stuff like milk, cheese for these last few wks bah. Guess u gotta avoid salty stuff for pre-eclampsia condition. not v sure so u might wanna read up a bit. Take care and stay happy.
Baby can certainly feel tt mummy is anxious.

sweetzinc : Relax ya. Its going to be over soon.

Mie : Cute... Hope sweetzinc read that.

IloveMaxMax : Welcome!!

vodkarib : Don't worry too much. Don't think its due to the poor diet. Don't feel bad. My hubby's sister also went through this during her 2nd pregnancy as well. Throughout the pregnancy, she got super good appetite and ate a lot of good stuff. Her baby came out on the 36th week.
Like what jRRT said, now just continue to eat those nutritious food and take your supplement. Since gynae said there is nothing much you can do, don't think too much and rest more. Your gynae will monitor you closely.

Bird Nest
How often you ladies take bird nest? My hubby's sister pregnant with her #3 now and she's taking 2 - 3 times a week. Isn't that too much?

Annette : will be going hm tmrw. Think bb will not be able to go home with us though. All I can do for him now is to pump colesterum to try fatten him up n hope he gets well.

Santiary pads: I bought the 40 cm ones I found them better than the kotex maternity ones that the hospital uses for the first 2 days.

jRRt: thanks for the well wishes

ddnikz : I've read it from here somewhere 2 wks ago?? They were discussing on it.. And I've bought it.. $7.95 for 20 pcs fm Kiddy Palace.. Much cheaper than Kotex as it costs $6 for 10 pcs.. Hospital will give a pk of Kotex de.. So if u wana save $$, maybe can try the Pureen one..

ginger : Anything fm mother care is expensive.. Haha.. To me, they r to be worn and disposed away.. So I tink it doesn't make much difference.. Lolx!! Since hospital is giving Kotex brand, then I can try the other brand to compare as well.. Keke.. =P

Hi ladies, visited my gynae and then was busy with work, so didnt hv time to read much into past postings. Hope everyone is doing well.

My 34 weeks baby now has an estimated weight of 2.5kg. Gynae said he's considered chubby and above average, in fact, he measures like a 36 weeks baby! I, on the other hand, had lost about 1kg. Anyone lost weight at this stage?

Gynae told me the slight weight lost is ok as long as baby is gaining weight well. It could be due to my water retention is easing now. Other than that, all is well. I got my admission letter today and people aroud me are asking me to start packing my hospital bag.
Now, it really feels like the delivery date is drawing real close. In the past, I always think I hv got a lot of time!

Dreamygal>> I'm taking bird's nest once a week since 2 weeks ago.

nlimm >> I've added you on MSN! we can go owling together now for the last stretch....

PY >> all the best for your exams! Ace it mummy!!

jan_jan >> I bought the FW ones from Guardian (pack of 5 for $3.95) still roomy enough and soft, cloth-like material ... then realised that Moms in Mind sell the exact same ones (w/o Guardian's packaging, 5 for $3.60)...so I've ordered 6pkts x 5 = 30pcs (should be enough bah...) from MIM...http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/disppants.html

miemie >> that's hilarious!!!! kekekeke...we all do really silly, illogical but perfectly child-sensible, innocent stuff when we are young eh? uh-oh, karma karma. i was older, at 5 yo when i decided to chip in and do my share of the hsework. so i "pretend", took the broom and the dustpan out but got scolded for doing so by my domestic help. so i went to my parents' room and decided to "clean" the toilet...there was the toilet brush next to the bowl and i went "scrubbing" the toilet walls here and there. somehow it occured to me that the toilet didn't smell as nice as it should be after Malan (the helper's name) is done with the cleaning....zap fwd, my mum returned home and i proudly told her that i've cleaned the hse. she looked at me in surprise and she asked me what i did. i said, i have cleaned mummy's bathroom...haha, by now the "pong" of what i did had wafted thru'out the hse...my mother looked at me and was quite horrified when she realised the wonderful, familiar scent she was smelling..came from her YSL Opium bottle! all the expensive perfume, down the toilet bowl...

vodkarib >> my bb is currently has an estimated weight of 2.4kg at 36w3d..she went from 95th percentile at 20wks to 20th percentile at 33wks. don't fret too much abt this because their growth rate isn't at a constant..they have growth spurts and maybe sometimes, they would like to take it easy yah? worrying isn't good for yr hbp. if you've access to a blood pressure monitor at home already, it won't harm for you to take a reading daily....and besides, you're in good hands! at 36w, we are almost ready for the bb anytime...so at the very least, bb's full term!

bblove >> i was talking abt this placenta thingy sometime ago...also spoke to my doc what's her take (i love to see her response sometimes..she's really cute!)...haha, and she was like "why do u want to do that with all sorts of herbs and tonics available?"...plus "it's quite undesirable"...get the drift...

jRRT >> I circle and circle my calendar..tom must get my bubble tea from Toa Payoh..

dreamygal >> I thought I'd be taking bird's nest like anything during my pregnancy since my family are big-time eaters of this (don't see how it improves their complexion though!)...turns out, no one "dares" to feed me cos of the rock sugar...and they felt, if a preggy take, only the best would do..but so sayang..so expensive etcetera...and my mum says her eyesight is failing, cannot pluck the feathers...ok, i can't be bothered..so NIL for me..

shugar >> Samuel will follow you home soon enough! what has your experience been with the breast pump? I suppose your milk will come in soon...