(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hippo: ur puma heli is saying the same thing as miser.. i was the one who wanted to put rayner in the bc.. he said no.. so that in future rayner can change the name if he doesn't like it!

hey.. Paige is a nice name!

ya. that's why miser said. if she cannot pronounce.. he wun name his children that name...

CONGRATS Shugar & Ong!!! Can't wait to see the babies' photos!

wow... so many posts on names. i am more or less fixed on Aiden for my boy. wanted Aidan initially but worried some cockster will pronounce it as ai4 dan4! cracking head for chinese name coz hb's surname is Kim... Jin in chinese. super high chance of sounding cheesy if named like some korean star!

angie,
ops. no offense. i really like Paige. u just gotta put up with pple mis-pronouncing it. that's all.

ginger,
i kept thinking i'll be having a boy initially. so i already had my mind set on Aiden. actually i liked Jayden. then i have a fren whose son's name is Jayden. then he complained to me, go out can hear all the kids named Jayden. so much so that they now call the son JJ instead. haha... he said Jayden is the new Desmond/Michelle of our time. hehehe...

astro,
see? we've long agreed that we are married to the same prototype. only difference is, right now, my heli not that busy like your miser. if not i'm very sure it's the same. in the past he only came home after midnight, after i have fallen asleep.

xoxo/astro: hehe ya like wat astro said

ong: congrat

janjan: u better prepare the dialect name.my bro-inlaw parent left it for the nurse to spell end by by right the surname in dialect is Peh became Pay, end up my broinlaw surname diff fr his dad n bros

nomsnosm: means u be next? hehe.

RE: name
guess have to be more hardworking in shortlisting bb chinese name hehe,but orh after u r decide aldy ,r u getting the shi fu to calculate according to ur bb birthdate n time?

hippo: no prob, I'm quite prepared for that too...hehe. maybe some people may also pronounce "pai ger" as in bad girl...hehe

going for my gynae checkup tmr...looking forward to it!

xoxo: i'm glad i got to know all of you here too. at least i know i'm not alone. and we can all share our joy of shopping for baby stuff! haha..

hippo: hmm.. i'll know if baby has engaged next tue when i see my gyne.. its getting quite exciting. hahha... its the final countdown!!

astro: haha.. maybe both having pms? anyway.. i think yu he is a great name. its like unifying the universe.. or universal peace.. sounds so wei da.. hehe...

Ong - Congrats to you!

By the way, i checked out the John Little Mega warehouse sale at expo. Don't bother if you are looking for baby items, they only have about 5-6 trollies, very limited selection. I ended up only buying a bottle organiser for $7.90 and a pair of sterilization tongs for $3.

hippo: ha.. ya. i think they same kind.. hahahahha.. ur Heli is what horoscope u said?

blink: ha.. but i dunno why i keep interpreting it as 'balance'.. ha. my chinese is real lousy.. ya. universal peace.. wah liew machiam now world war like that :p

hmm. misre is suggesting Rayer for Yu He.. hmm.. Teng is Rayner.. what you all think?

hmm. i feel there are 'better' names than rayer leh.. hmm. but brain stuck. argh.. not creative.. then miser still very smugly tell me 'my job is done. now over to u liao ah'.. arghh..

angie: i think Paige is a wonderful name..
i didn't think of pai-ge till u tell me :p

hippo>> the Shi Ting got me laughing like a siao char bo! i asked my hubby if we name Isabelle Shi Ting ok or not, he say is nice, then i tell him to spell it out, he burst out laughing also.. its really damn funny lo..

astro,
my heli is a leo.
rayer and rayNer too close isn't it? test on teng. call him both see if he can differentiate? if not next time u call them what? by chinese name? i think it'll be exasperating calling out RaYer and RayNer.

Astro : My mum staying in Woodlands as well. Next time got meetup at woodlands on weekends must include me... Hee...
I bought Glynnis 2 sets of Thomas the train rail set during the GSS at Kiddy palace. She likes the train set at my MIL's place, so we got her this. :)

shugar / ong : congratulations! Can't wait to see bb's photos!! Take more photos ya!

Name
I think 90% will call my boy Glendon. Chinese names we came up with a list. Will bring all to show the 'Shi Fu' to calculate and choose the best name. :)

miemie,
hahahahahaha... trick the unsuspecting HB. this person that i heard about really did name the daughter Shi Ting ok. poor gal man. kena sabo by the parents like that. i hope they at least try and change her name officially.

a gal friend of mine lagi poor thing. her chinese name got the character 雪 but her dialect cantonese and in cantonese its pronounced as SHIT and her parents nicely spelt it that way. when i saw her IC i felt really sorry for her. no wonder she never write her chinese name EVER.

so be warned when trying to spell your kids name in dialect.

Wow, so many posts! I didn't managed to read all... maybe later after I settle my son. Brought him a transparent piggy bank and he's so excited that he's digging out all the 50cents and $1 coins from his old piggy bank to put inside!

Just wanna drop by and say

CONGRATULATIONS to Shugar & Ong!!! You guys have jump start the q! It's so exciting now, waiting to see who's the next! Can't wait to read the birth stories of our thread as well as to see all the lovely babies! Rest well babes

Hey, I'm going for my gynae appointment tomorrow too!

hippo: oh ya. u told me leo before.. my miser is the modest virgo.. who is after leo. ha..
ya.i find it quite close too.. hmmm..rayner calls himself ray-na :S

oh man... our thread mummies have started popping and yet Kelly hasnt contacted. Astro, care to share her contacts? Don't want to contact her last min....

hi mummies, i've popped! Pls update status board.

Congrats to all moms who have delivered. Jia you!

Mummy's Nick: lxlb
BB# : 1
EDD : 11 Sep
ADD : 13 Sep
Wt : 3.33kg
Lt : 53cm
Method : Natural with Epi
BB's Gender : Prince
BB's Name : Dylan
Gynae : Prof. Xu
Hospital : Amcare Beijing

Thanks to all for your well-wishes after my last post, and also to MieMie for adding me to the table.

Shugar and Ong, congratulations!! Hmmm... both of you have the same EDD on 1 Oct and are the first to announce your deliveries on the same day!

My gynae also mentally prepared me for delivery this week but after VE today, she advised that she will schedule a c-sect for me next Tue, 22 Oct, which is good timing as my confinement lady, aka my mum will return from her vacation by then and bb will have reached 37 weeks. BB has engaged (err... not his head but his bum; gynae could even feel it during VE!), amniotic fluid remains constant (i.e. low) but we are relieved that bb’s wt has gone back on track and his heart is beating strongly
. Hope he will break the 3kg mark in the next couple of days. Also given jab to mature bb’s lungs. Gynae warned me that it may be painful but turned out not so bad, probably due to my fat bum. Like Mother like Son? Ha.

Re: Name

Gotta quickly confirm Chinese name liao... I must say you gals really have a knack for coming up with those very 气质 names I wish I could have thought of! On the other hand, your twists on certain names got me laughing hard.

We have more or less decided on bb’s English name – Alexander Ray. Alexander after one of my idols Aleksandr Popov, this cool Russian swimmer. Glad that hubby is agreeable cos he admires Popov’s talent too. Ray as in ray of hope/(sun)light... not too much sun please or our mr ox will be sweating a lot, ha.

Re: C-sect

Also have to decide whether to do the c-sect with GA, epidural or spinal... just got to know of this “spinal” method today... anyone has any experience to share? Ong?

And any special item that we need to bring for c-sect (particularly at TMC)? I have only packed my own necessities in the hospital bag and nothing for bb as TMC is supposed to provide everything. Can or not? Ong, any advice? (sorry to keep bothering you)

Oh it's late, gonna stop my essay writing ... need to go back to gynae for another jab tomororw. Good night ladies.

hydrogen >> so you are 5 days away! congrats!! what time did u arrange for the c-sect? only know that after c-sect, it's good to have a binder..on the positive side, you can relax now and plan for a really good dinner the day before etc...moi feeling the pangs of waiting not knowing which day..hehe, a little hard to bear (literally!)

about names >> i'd a staff member whose name was "fun mud" in dialect; a classmate had the name "sew chin"and the funniest so far was "meow mee".

i was wondering..there's no hard and fast rule to the determine the spelling of the dialect name right?

major insomnia >> if i don't sleep tonight, it will be the 3rd night w/o sleep. think it's time to tell the gynae already. not only am i not tired, i've like boundless energy, just dunno where to channel all of that. so i work and work and work on stuff...but that only serves to make me even more energetic. i am worried. maybe a switch in my system has gone haywire and i cannot feel the "knockout"? the 1hr last night plus the 2hrs this evening...that's not even 1/2 the decent amt required. jeez..

xoxo: your baby is preparing u for the endless sleepless nights!

its the first time i'm soooooo insominia-ic. so hungry, so warm and so cannot-sleep. my brain is working so hard it cant stop...

hello, anyone still up or just woke up like me? :p

gyane wanted me to do a detailed scan this friday to confirm bb measurements but x-ray dept said friday is fully booked and scheduled me to do it on sat morning as someone cancelled their appt. when i last saw the gyane, i asked if it is most likely c-sect as bb is big and he said yes. i asked my hb then why need to do detailed scan leh. i guess gynae is trying to play safe and confirm that bb is out of the safe range to deliver naturally and need to c-sect. all this waiting is making me anxious x_X

then my hb wants to choose c-sect date and timing some more. my hb wants to do it after 23rd so that bb is a libra and preferably on 25th afternoon so that he is available. aiyoh! i told gynae and hb so long bb can wait lah! haiz....

i m also thinking what additional things i should get or prepared for c-sect. will get a binder..anything else?

By the way, My edd is on 1O oct 09, now i am at 36 weeks and almost every week has to see gynae, costly leh. I was thinking to see her when if i think there is a need. But my cervil open to 3cm for the last 1 week liao, baby still moving but not much as before. should I carry on seeing the gynae today or postpose it to next week?

My suituation this week is swollen leg, face with blurt vision, leg pain and calf pulling me. should i go ask the gynae to delivery earily ? as i have perterm labour for the past 2 babies.

Thanks for all the well wishes ladies

we've yet to settle on bb's name though.

Bb is in nicu as he's on the small side n I hv not managed to get out of bed to go c him due to c-sec wound

hoping all goes well n he'll be able to leave hosp with us.

good morning happyface

i m seeing my gynae every week now. it is part of his package deal. i only paid for things that are not included in his package like ctg monitoring, vitamines, and detailed scan. so far my gynae has not done any VE on me. so, i dont know how dilated i m yet. i feel i m more at peace if i see gynae every week to ensure bb is growing and doing ok. maybe you should see him every week now especially u are starting to have those described symptoms and your first 2 were born preterm?

shugar >> must try to walk abit today and see bb soon...hope you'd a good night's rest...

blinkblink >> the resident owl decided to take a night off..kept telling myself, must sleep must sleep must sleep! managed abt 3hrs of rest...better than nothing.

<font color="aa00aa">darling shugar, you rest well ok... try to walk today, or else, get a wheelchair to go and see your baby boy...take care..!!

Morning everyone!

Diana : 23 days to go</font>

immunisations >> anyone care to share what they think abt this? newsflash have it that pneumoccocal vaccine is now compulsory...personally, my husband didn't take well to vaccines as a child and i am not vaccinated too. hence, quite conflicted abt what to do/think abt it.

<font color="aa00aa"> for Prevnar, the earlier you start giving ( at 2 months old) then baby needs 3+1 jabs ( if I am not wrong, sorry preg brain) and each jab is abt 100+. I used to give this jab while I was with kkh children clinic. It is also cheaper to get the jab done at KKH (if you're bring your child there for check up after birth).

can read up more here:http://www.prevnar.com/</font>

shugar>> so happy to see your post! hope you're recovering well and baby will be discharged with you! take care babe!

diana>> shouldn't the jab be 6+1?

<font color="ff0000">*Mie - 28 Days to EDD &amp; 4 Days to Last Day of Work!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">MieMie, which one is 6 + 1 ? not so many la...scare me..hehe

if baby first dose of prevnar started at 2 months old then

2 mth old - 1 jab
4 mth old - 1 jab
6 mth old - 1 jab
( already 3 dosages)

then
12-15 mth old - 1 jab
( +1 )

so total is 3 + 1 if you start giving the prevnar at 2 months old.

the older the child starts the first dose, then no need so many dosage. if given at 2 years old only req 1 dose means 1 jab.</font>

shugar,
great to hear you're doing well! i suppose today u gotta get off the bed anyhow? hope u and bb are good.
we're all cheering you on here! hehe...

mrsL,
u may wanna check w ur gynae whether she/he gonna prescribe binder for you. then no need to buy. cos i know my gynae will if he does c-section for his patients.

diana, miemie,
yeah i think in one of those many goodie bags were given, i saw a pamphlet that said something about 6-in-1 jab. but cant remember the details cos it was like 1st trimester.

my turn to see my gynae today... will update u guys later!

shugar : Take care of yourself. Baby will be ok.

xoxo : I did give Glynnis her Pneumo jab. At that time, it was not compulsory. Another non compulsory jab i gave her was rotavirus.
She got her 6-in-1 jab at polyclinic which was much cheaper than going to PD for the jabs.

<font color="aa00aa">morning hippo !

6 in 1 is different from prevner (pneumococcal jab)

there are 4 in 1, 5 in 1 and 6 in 1. depends which one you wanna give to your child and of course, your time.

6 in 1 is the most expensive because it includes hep b.

you can give your child
at birth - bcg, hep b dose 1
2 month - 6 in 1 (hep b dose 2)
4 month - 5 in 1
6 month - 6 in 1 (hep b dose 3, also the last dose)

if you wanna give prevnar together with 6 in 1 also can. just ask the pd. of course the bill is scary ...haha..</font>

Shugar:
take care, rest well, u shld be seeing and hugging ur bb soon.

to mummies who ask abt TMC hosp stay:
we do not need to bring anything for the bb.. all will be supplied by tmc, clothings and receiving blanket. the only thing they do not provide is booties if i rmb correctly.

for mummies, bring along at least a set of hosp stay clothings (incl jacket and socks incase the room is cold), coz by 2nd day, we have to change into our own clothing. also, bring along sanitary and breast pads if nec. toiletries are provided. For own entertainment, hpn, hpn charger, mp3 etc..

mummies who have gave birth:
maybe u can share what else i missed out.