(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">Mummies who ordered the Donnut Relief pack, please refer to updates in Sept thread posted on:</font>

Posted on Monday, July 13, 2009 - 1:02 pm:

Please ensure ur nick is in, you have paid and ur mode of collection has been indicated.

Astro, speaking from Law of Attraction and all those secrets mentioned by gurus, once you have created a self where people recognise your talents and abilities, you will be the first one they think of when they have opportunities coming up. It's called 'doing more than you are paid for' written by Napoleon Hill. Hence, it may seem that they are giving you the opportunity, but you had been the one who had been getting things done, and getting things going, you are the one who is creating your own opportunity.

Of course, sometimes opportunities may seem be luck, it has to do with what you are conditioned to receive. Some people sabotage themselves despite being given opportunities, because of limiting beliefs and thoughts.

I'm currently rereading books by Napoleon Hill, Anthony Robbins and other motivational leaders. It's interesting to read what you are asking here, because it goes to show Law of Attraction is really there. I just started thinking about this not too long ago, and other people are raising the same issue.

I must admit I had been having some kind of victim mentality, until I was reminded that for good things to happen to me, I must make the good things happen. Change my mindset to that of a winner. Look at Dr William Tan. He had overcome so many challenges, and now he has a new major problem - cancer. After snapping out of his victim mentality, he is now even more fired up about raising funds for the needy.

I think i'm rambling, but I like this discussion!

regarding the mask, today I have bad backache, so I decided to take MC. I wore a mask at the clinic, so that I can't catch other people's germs at the clinic. Wah biang, I started perspiring after a while. Think the N95 would have killed me. Good thing is those who were scared tried to sit further away from me, but I think they are more sick than me.

hi all, i had not been posting for a while.

hope tins are getting well for all.

anyone hvg swollen feet? me hvg it now. sigh

jazol: i have swollen ankles occasionally. Must put them up so that the blood can flow properly. My mother made red bean soup for me, saying it could reduce swelling. You might like to try that.

Hihi....

For the past few days, my leg cramp happened so frequent that now walking also got problem...

hope everyone is doing fine.... I think most of us are now in the 3rd trimster.... the last hundle to cross before our D-day.....

i haven reach 3rd tri leh.. only in 26++ weeks nia.. how many weeks then considered 3rd tri?

swollen feet>> me me me!! esp at night.. so i will raise my feet up when i sleep to reduce the swell..

me having braxton hicks a lot of times n daily leh ... sometimes make me wonder if it's real contraction cos the pain goes all the way to my back haha (which was wat i experienced b4 during contraction!!)

Re: swollen feet
if it is sudden swollen, check yr BP n urine for protein. cos if both not favourable, have to b careful as it could signal pre-eclampsia.

hi all mummies,
anyone experiencing rashes out of the blue? since last week, i've breaking out in rashes around the neck, ear and face regions. they itch very badly and i'm trying my best not to scratch them as scratching will cause the rashes to swell and develop small little red bumps...

astro,
wah. i think glass has already answered your question in the most profound way imaginable. hahaha... if you ask me, u need luck very often as well. but like what glass says, if you create opportunities for yourself, you must of course make sure that YOU are recognised for it, otherwise kinda defeats the purpose. seems like work related politics? the simple guiding principle is - if you are putting in effort and working hard, that's only like half the point won, you need to win the other half the point by making sure that your direct superior recognises that. otherwise LPPL. hehe...
take it easy pal, its only monday.

glass,
i am quite amazed by the depth of your analogy considering your youth. hehehehe... sorry i know i shouldn't stereotype based on age, but anyhow, will like to "take your brain apart" when and if we meet. ;) i'm intrigued... bwahahaha

swollen feet/fingers
i came back from europe with like swollen everything. but that has since subsided. am quite glad to realise i can still wear my engagement ring. hehe... phew!

miemie,
think my preggers book mark week 26 as 3T already leh?! *shrugs*

pinkiemie
think 28 wks onwards is considered 3rd trimester...

cat02
think some preggers will suddenly experience rashes. u r right to try ur best not to scratch them thou i know its super hard. i think there is nothing docs can do. juz try to keep dry and apply powder??? perhaps triggered by heat oso.

Btw who hv yet to decide on a name for baby? I am surfing the websites but din find one tt i really like. anyone wif gd sites to recommend?

fifi>> wa, you still can wear your rings sia.. there was a day my fingers swelled, and i nearly could not remove my ring, from then on, i dun dare to wear any rings on my fingers le..

i tink i prefer to tink 28 weeks as the 3rd tri la.. if not i already entered 3T without me realising it? heehee

hi gal

thanks for ur advice, hope that they as old folks are sensible enough to think the way you think, if they were to think other way, i think it will be very hard for me to set up my home..

now counting down to 1 yr, before the house can be sold...

jRt,
thanks...

long as this is normal, i will bear with the itch...
just got to tahan until when baby is out, then everything will be reverted back to normal...

RE: 3rd trimister
babycenter's ticker shows that we're into 3rd trimister from 26weeks onwards wor...
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/

cat,i ever had rashes all over my entire legs n thighs when i had #1 last time.gp given me some cream 2 apply n d rashes disappear in 2 to 3 days.

hippo,u r lucky!i cant wear my ring since 5yrs ago til nw.

astro: i agree with glass with her comments! and i also like this discussion!! hahaha...

Laws of attraction vs mindsets
>> like really attracts like e.g. in this discussion, the question astro posed will attract like-minded people like glass and i.
>> a defeated or negative mindset for example, will naturally NOT attract/repel people who has a positive and victorious mindsets. in fact the former will irritate the latter.

hence, if you are talking about people having to create opportunities, these are people who are possibly not achieving all the time, but have the right attitude or they are those at achieves, but having the wrong attitude. and those who are always given the opportunities are people who understands the value of relationships and the value of the opportunity given to them. and i think it takes experience and maturity for such people to handle the opportunities.

am i making some sense?

should i just remove option A from our list of people going for the gathering?? lets start the ball rolling again.. haha...

i'd like to meet all of u!!

loke,
hahaha... u picked the ball right up! good on you!
i was just thinking since there's nobody's house to go to, then its like option A doesnt exist anymore! hehe...

ong,
hmmm... then isn't it very waste not to wear it? can resize the ring? btw, i am seriously considering the adjustable highchair/daybed that u recommended. thanks. never thot baby needed anything else other than cot. hahahaha... swa ku first time mummy.

miemie,
yeah. i had that too. one day almost cant take out, so i locked it up since i went for holiday. just took them out last week. heng can still wear. i'm one of those that believe that if can wear everyday will wear everyday to minimise depreciation. hehe...

cat02,
anymore interesting purchases so far?

Dinner
Date: one of the weekends during August
Time: TBC
POSSIBLE Venues: Toa Payoh Sizzler/Somewhere in United Square/Vivo Marche
Possible activities: Kids play at gymboree at harbourfront/waddle in kids pools, biggest belly competition
1. Astro
2. Hippo (except 4-6pm sats)
3. blinkblink/aloevera
4. Dreamygal (TBC. Except 3-4 on sats)
5. Sotong mum (timing?)
6. Siangjiao the Mascot (except 29 August)
7. Miemie (except saturdays)
8. Ong (if she can walk properly :p)
9. Glass
10. cjdg
11. Shugar( except 4-6pm sats &amp; sunday afternoons )
12. joynbaby (except on 29 Aug)
13. gal^
14. xoxolight
15. BB (to be informed via [email protected] if possible)
16. Sunnyling (depends on date)

Dinner
Possible activities: Kids play at gymboree at harbourfront/waddle in kids pools, biggest belly competition
1. Astro
3. blinkblink/aloevera
5. Sotong mum (timing?)
9. Glass
10. cjdg
13. gal^
14. xoxolight
17: Pei Yu, Sweetz (Depends on location)

alamak. i see VERY interesting response.. to my questions.. very interesting. but i am busy doing my grading.. yes. more grading.. let's 'hold on' to the discussion. i will be 'back' tomororw.. on this. hahah. meanwhile.. this is what i post on my fb to fren who tried to answer my questions and suggested that recognition and opps are cyclical..

so i wrote..
"actually it is really cyclical? does the one who create the opportunity get the recognition? does the one who get the recognition create the opporunity for himself to be recognised? Or was the recognition for him created by another person and simply given to him? how could all these be cyclical in the realities of the world we live in today? what exactly is the correlation between opportunities and recognition?? *ponder ponder*"

hippo/blink/glass and anyone else interested, critique! heh.. gosh. this one like philosophy forum liao .. hahahah. ops..

see u gal tomorrow

astro: i like! haha..

i think u r quite right that it isnt cyclical to each other. but it's probably cyclical in itself?

1) the one who creates the opportunity (or TRIES to create that opportunity) MAY not get the recognition (there's no absolutes!)
2) the one who gets the recognition MAY not have created the opportunity for himself to be recognised (here the opportunity is to be recognised). So to me, there's no value in this kind of recognition.
3) there's a real possibility that another person may have created and given that opportunity for that person to be recognised. here, the opportunity its not to be recognised, but rather an opportunity given SO THAT something is done/created/established/achieved for that person to be recognised.

in all these, in my opinion, if opportunities and recognition are put together as closely related, then that opportunity or that recognition has no value in it. because it only supports each other. for an opportunity or a recognition to have value, either one must be able to create new opportunities and new form of recognition.

i'm trying to make sense here at 12.15am. hahaha.. but i like this discussion. feel free to rebut my argument!!!

Hi Hi >_<

I was experiencing problem with posting messages even though I could login successfully - said I had no rights or permission to post. Even at the spree section, I had to email the spree organizer to accept my orders. I emailed the admin here a few times but nobody reply me. On top of that, my work load was piling up like nobody business..haha...anyway, I am glad I can finally post

Baby junior L doing fine. He has been moving a lot stronger these days. Tonight, I had this very first time and unusual experience - he gave me a strong kick that sent a sudden sensation up my butt! Has anyone experienced that before? :p

cat02: i start to experience itches around my waist lately. can't tahan man!

fifi: wahaha, glad that you think I'm young. I'm actually hitting the big 3 soon. I actually keep a blog on all these type of personal development stuff, but it has been neglected for many months.

astro:"actually it is really cyclical? does the one who create the opportunity get the recognition?
--> It takes a thinker and a leader to create an opportunity. If you are just talking about normal opportunities, like your boss giving you this project to do because you have to do, he has the authority to approve certain things you may wish to do, especially if you are going to be a trend-setter. A lot of red tape could kill an excellent idea.

does the one who get the recognition create the opporunity for himself to be recognised? Or was the recognition for him created by another person and simply given to him?
--> We like to get recognition for a job well done. In a way, if you are talking about recognition, then the person who was given the opportunity would have done a great job in order to be given the due recognition. Of course, not every opportunity results in recognition, since you may get people who claim credit. However, when you are able to achieve results on a consistent basis, it would soon be recognised.

At the same time, there are people who create their own opportunities. Using an example from Napoleon Hill again, there was a man who went to a small town on a rainy day. The train he was on stopped just outside the town. He noticed that trams did not enter the town, so he had to waddle in mud to get there. He asked one of the person there. The person said that ten years ago, they had already tried asking the train company, tram company, and another company that owned the land to solve the problem, but each company complained $1 million (this was decades ago) was too expensive for the company to handle. The tram company was interested to build it so that it could make money, but it simply couldn't afford the fees. So you have people who saw the problem, tried to solve it, but were unsucessful.

Now, this man saw that the companies were actually ok with the idea, but simply balked at the money. He now approached them, saying that each company would only pay one-third of the total cost. The sum has now become much more affordable for all the companies.

It takes someone with imagination to come up with solutions. You can't say the former group was not given the opportunity to get recognition. They simply did not think of other solutions. The tracks were quickly built, and the trams could serve the town. At the same time the man did not get this done with the intention of making money. But because of his successful effort, he was offered a high paying job with one of the companies.

Hence, you can't say that the people who gave him the opportunity should get the recognition. The opportunity also did not appear in front of him due to luck. It was someone with foresight, and knew how to ask the right questions, to spot the opportunity and act decisively on them.

miemie and Mrs L, according to my book, also by some US author, 25 weeks onwards already in 3rd trimester. Whatever it is, I am already understanding what it means by labelling the 2nd trimester as the honeymoon period. I'm now getting unbearable pain, plus I think I got a braxton hicks contraction last night. There was a pulling sensation that lasted for some time on the right side of my tummy, just below the boobs. Is this what braxton hicks are supposed to be?

loke: yeah, law of attraction, in fact, I was just thinking and reading about something similar, and I like to talk about them. So in a way, I'm also attracting people with similar thoughts to suddenly think about this.

I'm also currently mapping out my new 5-year plan, and interestingly enough, a friend is thinking about things she wants to accomplish before she turns 30. I hope I get this momentum up and be more positive in my thoughts. Right now I suddenly see what I really want to do with my life.

glass, i had the same pain on my right side tummy ytd too and at nite i felt so uncomfortable in the centre above the tummy, tink tis is the sign for 3rd tri.

can i join in the gathering? all your hubs goin too?

All, am updating the list and sending. pls let me know if hubby can join in :)

Dinner
1. Astro
3. blinkblink/aloevera
5. Sotong mum (timing?)
9. Glass
10. cjdg
13. gal^
14. xoxolight
17: Pei Yu, Sweetz (Depends on location)
18: Vin

morning babes!

i tink all hubbies are more than welcome to attend ya?

i had an almost sleepless night yesterday, woke up to pee ard 5am, and baby started kicking non-stop, real hard kicks and punches, felt as though my stomach was going to be punctured by her kicks and punches and i din manage to fall asleep until about 7am..

haha, I think my husband may be too overwhelmed to deal with so many preggies at one time. He'll probably prefer to go off and shop.

mie: Your baby must be gongfu master!

hey babes
does anyone object to marche vivocity? cos i think that may be the most "central" location given that we are all spread out all over the island? if no objection then maybe we can nail down the location, at least.

glass,
haha... still a young chickadee lah. havent even hit big 3. u hit already then come and talk to big bad hippo.

mie: haha now ur turn to get sleepless nights liao.. i think my bb timing is back to normal. night=sleep morning=bz kicking haha!

hippo: I'm fine with marche vivo. just that the variety of the food not really alot. hehe but it's ok lah
not sure if we can make a reservation anot hor ?

marche vivo ok with me! tink i will try to drag my hubby to go.. marche entertain reservations one ma? i tink they dun leh, and they only allow us to be seated when at least half of the party has arrived..

my gongfu baby is girl leh, how ah? gongfu isabelle..

joyce ;mine was swollen since mths back and i can't walk for long or stand too much else very suan. From book, it mentions dun stand for too long if u have swollen legs. I am wearing 1 or 2 sizes bigger than my usual size for sandals.

3T, my book stated 3T starts at wk 26.

Hippo; in fact i lost my first ring in perth as i accidentally flush it down the toilet bowl while doing some washing as i stay at apartment. Shld not hv worn it to perth due to winter will cause contraction. I bot the 2nd ring with the exact design but can't wear it after i had water retention when preggie with #1. Didn't tink of resizing yet. See c. btw, the combi's high chair is of very comfy &amp; spongy materials which is y it is suitable for infant to sleep on it during daytime cos bb prefer enclose area as they feel safer. Other std high chair are not so comfy as their material is waterproof type &amp; harder as not so spongy feels and no swing function. I hardly swing it since my bb simply find it so comfy that he will just sleep on it easily. Only disadv is such that u need to be careful when feeding cos the material is non waterproof and u need to detach it for washing.

Mrs L ; welcome back! I do feel itchy aro my waist area or belly button area. Just got to bear with it despite putting on more cream.

hippo: yeah i wanna eat their set lunch menu!!!! omg i think for those who can make it for weekday lunch also not bad leh! haa
alot of good deals everywhere

sorry to interrupt. I am a June mother and have received quite a few branded baby clothes which I am looking to let go at very cheap prices.
Brand new baby clothes from Ralph Lauren, Zara, Guess, Carters, etc for sale at very cheap prices. Received most of them as gifts (tags still intact) and wanna let go cuz my gal has too many clothes. Price ranges from S$5-$60. Have uploaded some pictures for you to view on my blog http://lovelybabystuffs.blogspot.com.
I have more clothes which are not uploaded as it is time consuming to upload all the pics. PM or email me at [email protected] so that I can send you the link to view all the other clothes which I have for sale.

sweetzinc,
$15 leh. even if just eat main course also very cheap leh. somemore clarke quay free parking during weekday lunch i think. hmmm... i think one of these days when i very "eng" i wana go. ;)

ong,
i tried on shoes when i was on holidays cos i LURVE shoes. but damn sad cos feet swollen, so didn't bother after trying on like the 3rd time. =(
wah... so heart pain u lost the ring... i left my ring at home when i left for honeymoon, panicked cos i thot i lost it. quickly asked my mum to go my house and check for me. hehe... of course kena scolding lah. hee...
u know i think luckily i not working otherwise i will have to spend a bomb on maternity working attire. cos i only have to buy t-shirts and capri pants. and since my sandals broke, i only wear my havianas everywhere. hehehe... then when pple ask me for lunch i always tell them upfront i wearing havas so dun go to high class places. hehe...

are u consuming very high salt diet, or u think u'r naturally more prone to water retention. cos when i ate those lousy salty food in spain i came back with swollen everything. after i came back i avoid salty things incl like ham &amp; bacon til now, so water retention not so pronounced now.

anyone looking for a good laugh? my fren sent this to me.
----------------------------------------------

Weird science in confinement
by Colin Goh
I must confess my surprise at the amount of mail my recent pieces about the arrival of my daughter have garnered. Are my accounts of grappling with a baby touching some kind of chord? Or do people just like knowing that I'm suffering?

Either way, I'm grateful for the advice many of you seem to want to share with me. Certain recommendations, however, instead of providing solutions, have raised even more questions - mainly about the confinement period.

'Don't allow the Wife to drink any water during her confinement,' a few of you wrote. 'She should only drink red date tea.'

'And make sure she doesn't wash her hair either,' others added. (To which the Wife responded, 'Ee-yur.')

I'm always tickled that Chinese Singaporeans refer to the month immediately following childbirth as 'confinement'. The actual Mandarin term for this period is zhuo yue, which literally means 'sit for a month' - essentially all the new mother is encouraged to do. As I soon learnt, it's an interval marked by many arcane rules.

'Don't walk about so much,' ordered the Mother-in-Law, when she arrived in New York to administer the Wife's confinement. 'People say your womb will drop out.'

Unbelievably, there were even more peculiar injunctions to come.

'Don't eat durian while breastfeeding,' she continued. 'People say the child will have a smelly head.' Oh-kay, I could vaguely understand that one. But the next was, 'Don't eat hae koh (the shrimp paste used in rojak), people say the baby will have a scaly head'.

'Scaly head?!' I spluttered. 'And who are all these people saying this?'

'People, lah,' she replied, albeit now with the tiniest quaver of hesitation in her voice, which she quickly paved over with another prohibition. 'And don't eat yam. People say the baby's 'down there' will be itchy.'

As Wikipedia was glaringly silent on the effects of foodstuffs on heads and more subjacent parts of the infant anatomy, I decided to consult the Wife's obstetrician/gynaecologist.

'Just do what she says,' replied the OB-GYN (as they're referred to in the United States), who is Taiwanese. 'My mother told me not to cry so much after I gave birth because it would ruin my eyesight, and good Western-trained doctor that I am, I didn't believe her. I went from 20/20 vision to these super-thick glasses.'

But scaly head?

'Just because she can't produce a Lancet article and the results of triple-blind clinical trials doesn't mean her statements are false - only that empirical studies haven't been conducted yet,' she said, adding, 'Want to see scaly heads?' before whipping out photos of babies with seborrhoeic dermatitis. My turn to go 'Ee-yur'.

'Don't sweat the details and just appreciate the good intentions,' she continued. 'It's a good thing for mothers to rest as much as possible after childbirth and to watch their diet since it does affect the breastmilk,' she said.

'I guess these beliefs stem from some experience, even if they're not scientifically evaluated,' I said to the Wife (who insisted on washing her hair right after labour, and wild horses couldn't stop her from doing it, and she's doing just fine thankyouverymuch).

'Maybe some women in rural China went back to toil in the fields immediately after giving birth and injured their uteruses. Or maybe Chinese babies are sensitive to shellfish, even when cooked and mashed. I just wonder if other cultures have similarly weird beliefs.'

I learnt the answer two weeks later, when a nurse dropped by to check on Yakuza Baby. New York State monitors premature babies till the age of three, to catch any developmental problems early.

'Chile doin' jes' fahn,' said the nurse in her Caribbean accent, after running Yakuza Baby through some exercises. But the routines clearly got the child excited because she began hiccupping.

'Lick your finger and draw a cross on the baby's forehead,' commanded the nurse.

'What?' I looked at her incredulously.

'Do it, mahn!' she said, and I obeyed. And to my utter surprise, it worked.

'Won't find dat in no medical textbook,' she giggled. 'But my mother in Trinidad always swore by it. First time I seen it in action, though.'

It was also the last time it worked. Maybe Yakuza Baby was just so stunned by my bizarre action that she stopped. Still, it reminded me to be less dismissive of these ancient prescriptions - you just never know.

Besides, I'm still Singaporean and kiasuism is in my DNA. After all, I wouldn't want anyone's womb to fall out.